122 Pages « < 94 95 96 97 98 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

Sky_Q
post Oct 14 2014, 09:18 AM

243 posts

Hi...I wanna create a Facebook group for Malaysian who works in Singapore... Does it sound like a good idea?good for those ppl who looking for any kind of help...

This post has been edited by Sky_Q: Oct 14 2014, 09:23 AM
crazy25kid
post Oct 14 2014, 09:34 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 13 2014, 09:07 PM)
I bet you're feeling lost at finding a room now biggrin.gif

I was in that situation like... 2 months back. Luckily now all alright.
Anyway... The best is that you can personally come down here to find one. Else it's quite hard as most owner here want to see the tenant him/herself before agreeing to let you move in. And the worst part is... They engaged the agent yet agent fee is paid by tenant and even though agent fee is paid by tenant, owner still can be picky about their tenant.

Get what I mean? biggrin.gif
Not familiar no prob one. It's really convenient here. Basically if you know your workplace is near Yio Chu Kang MRT, you can just find anywhere near any of the NS line MRT station, find somewhere more towards residential area instead of commercial to get some cheap food court and groceries. I'm now staying near green line, more towards the east coast and I find it really convenient to go around. I have access to the green line, take MRT then can transit to yellow line in just next few stop, transit to downtown line at bugis, transit to NS line at City Hall or even transit another time to get to NE line at dhoby ghaut. Then... Certain places like those along NE line, since need to transit twice, taking bus may be even faster. Just have to look for the right bus. From my area, I have access to most places through bus except those places towards the north so I find it quite convenient.

Just check with gothere.sg or google map, both provide almost 100% accurate transit info *save for the bus arrival time in google map, never accurate biggrin.gif *

Basically, if you stayed before in Klang Valley area without driving a car, just getting around on public transit, it will be an easy task, probably easier task. Just get a data plan asap so you can use google maps/gothere and other SBSTransit/SMRT apps on the go.

wrong
for a tenancy agreement to conclude, there are 4 parties....owner, owner's agent, tenant and tenant's agent
meaning you pay your agent...they pay their agent
on top of that, why can't they be picky?
owners have their right to protect their investment
if during viewing, you give out the impression of being a complete sloth, owner may decide against renting it to you in view of the future.

Fiona Chin
post Oct 14 2014, 10:40 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(Sky_Q @ Oct 14 2014, 09:18 AM)
Hi...I wanna create a Facebook group for Malaysian who works in Singapore... Does it sound like a good idea?good for those ppl who looking for any kind of help...
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Oct 14 2014, 09:34 AM)
wrong
for a tenancy agreement to conclude, there are 4 parties....owner, owner's agent, tenant and tenant's agent
if during viewing, you give out the impression of being a complete sloth, owner may decide against renting it to you in view of the future.
Sack the agent. Normally landlord will state the criteria, discriminative skin colour included and that is perfectly fine. Good one won't bring anything below the criteria. Those desperate will waste both sides' time by bringing anyone there and hopefully there would be a deal.

This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: Oct 14 2014, 10:42 AM
wlcling
post Oct 14 2014, 07:33 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

Just got keys to my new place. No more paying for others investments soon!:D
k8118k
post Oct 14 2014, 08:21 PM

3,658 posts

ocbc open 7days a week.

some tips about saving account in singapore.

for first 50k u earned. try save into ocbc 360 current cum saving account and earn interest up to 3.05.
IwanAGP
post Oct 14 2014, 08:45 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Oct 14 2014, 09:34 AM)
wrong
Eh really?

hmm.gif Then when I engage those agents advertising their rooms, aren't those agents engaged by the owner?

Sometimes it's overly picky. Mindset problem?

In Malaysia, it's a little more money oriented. As long as the houseowner see you are ok, can pay rent on time, not trouble maker type then easily rent to you d. But in SG, of course not to say to show really bad image, doing really bad thing. Just very normal ones like they maybe just see you beh song then don't want rent to you. Like need to check your criminal record, check your health status check everything only can consider to let you move in. That's my impression towards, I won't say all but some of the Singaporean house owners. They're like caring more about these details instead of worrying whether I have rent to pay them on time.

If you get what I meant.
Recycle Bin
post Oct 14 2014, 09:30 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 14 2014, 12:04 AM)
Oh... Work permit haven't approve? Which pass? EP? You can get advice from your HR also or even just ask them help you to look for room. Depends on how nice your HR is, possibly he/she will help biggrin.gif

Know when is your commencement date yet? Plan earlier, otherwise last minute sure panic and worry this worry that tongue.gif

biggrin.gif I'm travelling 40mins each way to work and back. Including the time I walk from home to MRT, wait for MRT, transit to NS line, walk to office.

20mins... Not so easy. Unless the bus stop is right in front of the place you stay and you stay just maybe 4 stops away. Bus waiting time + stops along the way only can make it in 20mins.

My main office actually quite near to the place I stay but now working at site office. Even going to main office, walk to bus station already 5 mins. Wait for bus, if lucky straight board if unlucky max 5mins (got 5 different bus to reach the same bus stop biggrin.gif ). Travel time, around 12~15 mins for 5 or 6 stops (cn't rmb) Walk from bus stop to office also around 7 mins. Total up also more than 20 mins d. My main office is just like 3km away.

You'll get used to it. Sleep earlier, wake up at 7~7.15. More than enough time for you to reach office without being late.

Stop playing Dota, everything will be fine  unsure.gif  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
Is actually S pass, just waiting for the MOM.

It will be on start of Nov, hope I can make it.

The company is actually 5 station from the MRT and right in front of the company building. That's why I expect to able to reach within 15 to 20 min, excluding waiting time.

Any tips when finding for room?
TSdeodorant
post Oct 14 2014, 10:58 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 14 2014, 08:45 PM)
hmm.gif Then when I engage those agents advertising their rooms, aren't those agents engaged by the owner?

Summoning property guru AlaskanBunny and sgrealestate to clarify. But I guess normally the owner agent will spread the word among his/her colleagues then they are the ones who go look for tenant on propertyguru or whatever. 1 year lease = 1 month agent fee split between the tenant agent (who supposed to look out for your interests) and the landlord agent.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Oct 14 2014, 10:59 PM
rawrkun
post Oct 14 2014, 11:57 PM

316 posts

just wondering, where do you guys usually save your money? coz the interest in SG is quite sweat.gif
trade_mark
post Oct 15 2014, 06:40 AM

27 posts

Hi all,was just wondering if anyone had any experience changing employers while holding employment pass. Here's the scenario, let's say you join a particular company already and then after like 2 or 3 months it just doesn't work out for whatever reason and so you apply for another job. Is the application for the new EP much faster as MOM have all your details in their system etc?

Do you know of anyone that the applicant was rejected as well?

Thanks!
ahtom82
post Oct 15 2014, 09:37 AM

445 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Oct 13 2014, 08:54 PM)
yes, if you are not a driver by occupation.
I'm not driver by occupation. But can drive any car ma? regardless of Malaysian car or Singaporean registered car?
Fiona Chin
post Oct 15 2014, 10:52 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Oct 14 2014, 11:57 PM)
just wondering, where do you guys usually save your money? coz the interest in SG is quite  sweat.gif
Lucky you. Most of us don't have anything left after expenditures and monthly commitment.

1. Stocks
2. Properties
3. Yourself
4. Funds
5. Insurances
6. Bonds
7. CPF
8. Banks
9. Genting Sentosa
10. Singapore pools
crazy25kid
post Oct 15 2014, 02:06 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 14 2014, 08:45 PM)
Eh really?

Sometimes it's overly picky. Mindset problem?

In Malaysia, it's a little more money oriented. As long as the houseowner see you are ok, can pay rent on time, not trouble maker type then easily rent to you d. But in SG, of course not to say to show really bad image, doing really bad thing. Just very normal ones like they maybe just see you beh song then don't want rent to you. Like need to check your criminal record, check your health status check everything only can consider to let you move in. That's my impression towards, I won't say all but some of the Singaporean house owners. They're like caring more about these details instead of worrying whether I have rent to pay them on time.

If you get what I meant.

the agent u engage...may or may not be an agent from the owner, even if he/she is, there will still be 4 parties.
owner agent will put the unit they have into a database.
u engage an agent who will then ask for your req and details then find from the database to match.

like you said, if landlord see you are okay, then okay..it is the same everywhere whereby the landlord can still reject u if he/she feels like it and there is nothing u can do abt it.
did u do a medical checkup and submit the report to your landlord? if not, what do u mean by check your health status?
did u go to the police station to request for your record?
mainly, from my own experience, owner is only interested in few things only...nationality (in the end, everyone is racist), occupation (to help ensure rent will not be defaulted based on the stability of job), number of ppl (duh?!) and cooking frequency.
ahtom82
post Oct 15 2014, 03:35 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(k8118k @ Oct 14 2014, 08:21 PM)
ocbc open 7days a week.

some tips about saving account in singapore.

for first 50k u earned. try save into ocbc 360 current cum saving account and earn interest up to 3.05.
Is this the best account already? If I open ocbc 360, straight can apply ocbc credit card or not a?
Recycle Bin
post Oct 15 2014, 05:52 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 15 2014, 01:44 PM)
Hi, can i ask you how you got your job?

Are you a PR? If not, you just apply straight away?

I am thinking of applying but recently singapore put restrictions. I wonder if its harder for non-PR?
Ohh, I just apply and went to interview and they hire me.
I am a none PR, so i guess it depends on the job content.

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Oct 15 2014, 02:06 PM)
the agent u engage...may or may not be an agent from the owner, even if he/she is, there will still be 4 parties.
u engage an agent who will then ask for your req and details then find from the database to match.

like you said, if landlord see you are okay, then okay..it is the same everywhere whereby the landlord can still reject u if he/she feels like it and there is nothing u can do abt it.
did u do a medical checkup and submit the report to your landlord? if not, what do u mean by check your health status?
mainly, from my own experience, owner is only interested in few things only...nationality (in the end, everyone is racist), occupation (to help ensure rent will not be defaulted based on the stability of job), number of ppl (duh?!) and cooking frequency.
Is the medical check up and police record is a must?

This post has been edited by Recycle Bin: Oct 15 2014, 05:55 PM
aLertz
post Oct 15 2014, 06:12 PM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

QUOTE(Recycle Bin @ Oct 15 2014, 05:52 PM)
not really....the most important document would be your pass...
bring passport also just in case biggrin.gif
Recycle Bin
post Oct 15 2014, 06:32 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 15 2014, 06:03 PM)
Oh yes, this must be gooding.

Mind if I ask what kind of job is that? Is it a white collar job?

I am in accountancy line, I want to see if there is opportunity.
Yah, is IT related. Not sure about accountancy, no frens in this field.

QUOTE(aLertz @ Oct 15 2014, 06:12 PM)
not really....the most important document would be your pass...
bring passport also just in case biggrin.gif
Ok Thanks

This post has been edited by Recycle Bin: Oct 15 2014, 06:33 PM
sakai101
post Oct 15 2014, 07:43 PM

QUOTE(Recycle Bin @ Oct 15 2014, 06:32 PM)
Yah, is IT related. Not sure about accountancy, no frens in this field.
Ok Thanks
Dun forget your tenancy agreement. They need a Sg. Address
IwanAGP
post Oct 15 2014, 08:13 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 15 2014, 01:44 PM)
Hi, can i ask you how you got your job?

Are you a PR? If not, you just apply straight away?

I am thinking of applying but recently singapore put restrictions. I wonder if its harder for non-PR?
Most ppl say this policy is just like a smoke. Company will still hire foreigner. Just that... After they confirm you, they put ads and let it run for 14 days. Only apply EP from MOM biggrin.gif

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Oct 15 2014, 02:06 PM)

hmm.gif Now I know...

I don't know la... Just like will question more than M'sia one la based on my expression. M'sia one is like if you can pay the rent monthly on time then ok d. The main factor is rental payment.

Anyway... Will find place to move in the next 2 month like that. Current room found by my cousin is not so nice. *Somemore don't even know legal or not biggrin.gif * Anywhere good to recommend? As long as near MRT and has good bus coverage then ok d. I really quite like staying in this area but the room itself not so good la. Maybe find somewhere close or find somewhere even more convenient biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Recycle Bin @ Oct 15 2014, 05:52 PM)
Ohh, I just apply and went to interview and they hire me.
I am a none PR, so i guess it depends on the job content.
Lol... Health status and criminal record are the example I take la. Not really need to show them to your landlord one biggrin.gif Just expect to be questioned before you confirm your tenancy biggrin.gif
twotwopig
post Oct 15 2014, 10:28 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(trade_mark @ Oct 15 2014, 06:40 AM)
Hi all,was just wondering if anyone had any experience changing employers while holding employment pass. Here's the scenario, let's say you join a particular company already and then after like 2 or 3 months it just doesn't work out for whatever reason and so you apply for another job. Is the application for the new EP much faster as MOM have all your details in their system etc?

Do you know of anyone that the applicant was rejected as well?

Thanks!
I actually changed employer once while holding EP but that is after like 6 months. It actually took longer to approve my second EP, don't know why, maybe second employer's HR not efficient hmm.gif

Don't know anyone who is rejected but neither do I know anyone who changed employer with EP in less than a year.

122 Pages « < 94 95 96 97 98 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:53 AM