Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

gchowyh
post Apr 15 2014, 11:37 AM

860 posts

Guys,

Understand the current Ambank promotion may not be very attractive but I cannot seem to find the details anywhere.

From today's Star: 3.38% for 6 months + 3.7% for 18 months
50% must be placed in both tenures

But it did not say anywhere if fresh funds are required, anyone got any idea? Else will go check it out sometime next week.
magika
post Apr 15 2014, 11:38 AM

2,605 posts

Did upliftment of a few of my FDs at BR. Giro charges OTC at RM2. Ask for Banker Cheque as its free then walk 10 meter deposit in maybank cheque machine. Giro still slow at BR so no advantage over cheque .
bearbear
post Apr 15 2014, 11:48 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 15 2014, 11:37 AM)
Guys,

Understand the current Ambank promotion may not be very attractive but I cannot seem to find the details anywhere.

But it did not say anywhere if fresh funds are required, anyone got any idea? Else will go check it out sometime next week.
bro check out OCBC, 18 months tenure

6 months 3.6%
12 months 4%

6 months interest will be throw in to enjoy 4% for 12 months.
gchowyh
post Apr 15 2014, 12:07 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Apr 15 2014, 11:48 AM)
bro check out OCBC, 18 months tenure

6 months 3.6%
12 months 4%

6 months interest will be throw in to enjoy 4% for 12 months.
I know about that promo but I have some money lying in ambank which I don't plan to transfer out soon.
Besides, is not as good as BR & waiting time at OCBC is really long for every opening of account thumbup.gif
TSGen-X
post Apr 15 2014, 02:01 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 15 2014, 11:37 AM)
Guys,

Bro, it is stated in the Ad, Minimum Fresh Fund RM20K and RM40K for Existing Customers and New Customers Respectively.

Updated Post#1 and My Fixed Deposit Page showing the ad where the Fresh Fund amount was stated.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 15 2014, 02:02 PM
buddy
post Apr 15 2014, 02:07 PM

472 posts

how come ts said BR fd profit not guaranteed?
FD sure guaranteed la..
Pls edit..thank u

BANK RAKYAT - NOT Eligible for PIDM

If you are willing to go deposit with a non PIDM member, then check out Bank Rakyat Deposit Account -i which is based on Islamic Principles and like all Islamic banks' products, the profit rate cannot be guaranteed.

This post has been edited by buddy: Apr 15 2014, 02:07 PM
gchowyh
post Apr 15 2014, 04:14 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 15 2014, 02:01 PM)
Bro, it is stated in the Ad, Minimum Fresh Fund RM20K and RM40K for Existing Customers and New Customers Respectively.

Updated Post#1 and My Fixed Deposit Page showing the ad where the Fresh Fund amount was stated.
Thanks Captain. Just confirmed it too by asking them, didn't see that fine print.
Fortunekl
post Apr 15 2014, 04:29 PM

376 posts

New FD Promo:

SCB 3.5% for 6 months

https://www.sc.com/my/campaign/Saadiq-3-5-T...it-i/index.html
bbgoat
post Apr 15 2014, 04:52 PM

6,614 posts

Was in UOB today. 13 months FD 3.65%. Fresh fund, min 10k. Promo by end of April.
davinz18
post Apr 15 2014, 05:03 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 15 2014, 04:52 PM)
Was in UOB today. 13 months FD 3.65%. Fresh fund, min 10k. Promo by end of April.
interest monthly basis or after maturing?

TSGen-X
post Apr 15 2014, 05:14 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(esy @ Apr 14 2014, 05:53 PM)
... From what have been stated on the first page of this post, I don't think BR need 20K deposit to be paid monthly already. They have drop it to 5K ...

--> Bank Rakyat Deposit Account-i ...

... I may be wrong. Please double confirm yourself if needed ...

smile.gif  ~
RM5K for monthly interest payment... hmm interesting, anyone can confirm this for tenures 2 months and above?

QUOTE(Fortunekl @ Apr 15 2014, 04:29 PM)
Thanks for reporting - Post#1 updated.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 15 2014, 04:52 PM)
Thanks for reconfirming. Same as Post No.1. To add, the UOB 13 Months FD Promo no CASA thingy requirement.

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Apr 15 2014, 05:03 PM)
Definitely not monthly BUT I would like to know if it is semi-annually or upon maturity. I forgot to ask this when I was informed of the promo last week.
shadow16
post Apr 15 2014, 05:50 PM

29 posts

do i need to go to SC saadiq branch for the 3.5% for 6 months FD promo?
or normal branch will do?
davinz18
post Apr 15 2014, 05:55 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(shadow16 @ Apr 15 2014, 05:50 PM)
do i need to go to SC saadiq branch for the 3.5% for 6 months FD promo?
or normal branch will do?
I think SC Saadiq branch only because it's Islamic FD hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 15 2014, 06:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Apr 15 2014, 05:03 PM)
It is paid 6 monthly. Unless I lost my memory, ha ha. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 15 2014, 05:14 PM)
RM5K for monthly interest payment... hmm interesting, anyone can confirm this for tenures 2 months and above?
Was in BR also. The ABM did not know that the monthly interest requirement was dropped from 20k to 5k. But I did not ask if whether it is only for >2 months or only for 12 months & above.

Thanks for reconfirming. Same as Post No.1. To add, the UOB 13 Months FD Promo no CASA thingy requirement.
Yeah UOB, no CASA requirement, but by end of April only.

Definitely not monthly BUT I would like to know if it is semi-annually or upon maturity. I forgot to ask this when I was informed of the promo last week.
Ya, semi-annually for UOB promotion. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 15 2014, 06:09 PM
bearbear
post Apr 15 2014, 07:54 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

for the 18m ocbc promo, if you add in the 6 months interest into the calculation you would actually end up with 3.915% pa.
bbgoat
post Apr 15 2014, 08:44 PM

6,614 posts

Add:

BR ABM mentioned nego rate changed to 50k or above.

UOB counter girl said May will have new promotion. Just have to wait and see.
munkeyflo
post Apr 16 2014, 07:25 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

Updates from OCBC staff this morning

🎉OCBC FD Promotion🎉

*MUST be Fresh Fund*
*Promo until 31 July 2014*
*T&C applied*

A. Pure FD (18m = 3.87%)
B. 50% Saving + 50% FD (3m = 4.30%)
C. New Premier (3m=5.50%)
D. Invesmt Deal (3m=5%)
TSGen-X
post Apr 16 2014, 09:53 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 9 2014, 08:15 PM)

effective 1 April 2014 the crediting and return of Interbank GIRO or IBG transactions will be a lot faster too!

Souce: Maybank
Previously, I copied and shared in the above which was posted by cybpsych at Maybankard 2 Cards Thread as I thought the info would be beneficial to those of us having OD facility. I.e. Withdrawing Bank A FD and then perform IBG transfer to Bank B and then write a cheque at the same time to Bank A to be eligible for FD Promo with Fresh Fund.

And with the short discussion between a few of us, one of us mentioned about performing IBG over the counter. And guess what, I wasted RM2 to try out IBG transfer and I am happy to report that the transfer was credited into the receiving account on the same day smile.gif

Well, I just published another article with the title A Little Bit Of This and A Little Bit Of That. Actually this is the 4th article with the same title. As usual, I will be covering numerous subjects in my series of articles with the same title A Little Bit Of This and A Little Bit Of That. In this new article, you will learn some new stuff or maybe nothing at all.

So, for those of you who have time to waste and more importantly a kiasu like me, please click the link below to read my article and learn more about what I have to say about IBG Same Day Fund Transfer (plus other stuff that may not interest you).

A Little Bit Of this and A Little Bit Of That - Vol.1, Chapter IV.
Zuyee88
post Apr 16 2014, 10:12 AM

117 posts

FYI, Al Rajhi Bank is currently offering Fixed Investment rate of up to 3.5% for placement of 1 year.
leo_kiatez
post Apr 16 2014, 10:33 AM

2,112 posts

Thanks for reporting - Post#1 updated.
Do we need to open a saving account with BR for the RM5K for monthly interest payment?

122 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:42 AM