Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

magika
post Apr 15 2014, 11:38 AM

2,605 posts

Did upliftment of a few of my FDs at BR. Giro charges OTC at RM2. Ask for Banker Cheque as its free then walk 10 meter deposit in maybank cheque machine. Giro still slow at BR so no advantage over cheque .
magika
post Apr 24 2014, 10:57 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 23 2014, 08:22 AM)
To clarify, so Sunday and Monday interest not given by UOB ?

They gave me 367 days of interest. The FD cert printed maturity date is on Monday 21/4/2013 while FD placement is on 19/4/2013. So maybe they gave me short 1 day interest ? Assuming 19/4/2013 to 18/4/2014 is 365 days and then 2 more days to 20/4/2014 ?

Ha ha, never before go into this type of calculation by days for FD interest.  biggrin.gif
To calculate the days you need to use spreadsheet so it will be less confusing, manually count is ancient ways during our grandfather time can consider ok... tongue.gif
367 days is correct calc.

magika
post May 2 2014, 02:25 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 2 2014, 01:16 PM)
The deposited amount was RM 52K, bank called me and needed to know the source of money, otherwise they would report to Bank Negara, finally I showed the bank my CP30 to "settle"... sweat.gif

Top Goat...please check your iRakyat account, somebody just sent you money..  brows.gif
BCC, please share or pm which bank that query your amount deposited. I do not like like mafan , on top of it, they do have the right which compounds matters. If dont appreciate our deposits then we can deposit at banks that dont cause us problem. vmad.gif

magika
post May 2 2014, 02:27 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 2 2014, 02:22 PM)
You just IBG the fund?
Yours is 5 years FD?

If Top Goat did not receive the FD interest on 1 May, then I guess
this only applies to 5 years FD? hmm.gif

I just called to BR toll free, they were not aware of this. But they will call
me back to confirm their new interest payment policy..
I also received hibah only and not FD interest.

magika
post May 2 2014, 04:46 PM

2,605 posts

Nope cant tell which FD interest has been credited. Its compounded for me by having a few certs without monthly interest and the certs all almost having identical sums in batches. Thats why I am opting next time for interest on maturity as could not keep tabs.

The only redeeming feauture is the deposit date.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by magika: May 2 2014, 04:47 PM
magika
post May 9 2014, 02:30 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 9 2014, 02:23 PM)
Hey guys I need your feedback on this. I had 50k to begin with last year and I put all in maybank fd. Company gave me shares that I purchased at 36k which I took out from my Fd. Left 15k which I renewed on monthly. Took out my shares of 36k from my company last week and now I need to invest again in Fd but I went back to maybank and they advised that I open an e Fd for my 30k and keep the 15k with them.

My dilemma is that wouldn't combining 45k into one account get a better return instead of saperating them in to two different accounts? Please advise and which bank do I go next?
Combining all into one cert does not get better return. Separate into as many cert as possible so in case need part premature upliftment does not forfeit interest for total sum.

magika
post Jul 18 2014, 11:04 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Jul 17 2014, 04:43 PM)
High risk (BR FD) comes with higher FD rate compare with PIDM (safe bank)  whistling.gif
It worth to take the risk for juz few %?  hmm.gif
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 17 2014, 04:58 PM)
an evergreen question, which actually keeps this thread busy.

can see there is a mixed camp - some love it, some stay away like a plague.

i m with the no camp, will not take the risk, will not support such shadowy entities.
No PIDM = high risk , better everyone take out faster.. thumbup.gif

Sometimes I wonder how we can achieved HNWI status when every little thing also considered risk. Crossing road also risk must better buy higher personal insurance. Have a bath also risk of falling on slippery floor. In order to progress we must define what is risk and what is relatively safe decision. If we covered ourselves with the common perception then we become common low worth individuals. On a personal note, i did not buy any insurance for my family eventhough the common perception is a no..no.. Its just how are we going to achieved our financial goals when our yearly accumulation of savings has been eroded to achieved perceived safe ways. I am debt free and eat, buy, travel whenever whatever I want in my own concept. It would not have happened if I am kiasu and follows common thought . Feel free to deposit in whichever instituition you like but to put a spotlight on others preference is liken to a godly decision. Oh.. i have been through the kooperasi debacle , only my better half has been affected but no loss. My 2 cents.. yawn.gif

0.0544sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:19 PM