Biostar tforce 6100-am2
2x 512mb Apacer ddr2-667
AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread, discuss our setup/overclocking issues
Aug 25 2006, 10:35 PM
9,027 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
New AM2 users reporting in.
AMD64 Orleans 3000+ with stock cooler Biostar tforce 6100-am2 2x 512mb Apacer ddr2-667 |
Aug 25 2006, 11:01 PM
10,688 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Aug 25 2006, 11:04 PM
Waiting for another board to pair with the x2 3600+.
Will have 2 AM2 rigs soon. Hey soulfly, if u don't mind I ask. I been browsing all the 31 pages just now. You said that tforce 6100-am2 bios sux compared to TF550, would you enlighten me about the difference? |
Aug 25 2006, 11:15 PM
77 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
thanks... cyrus2k
but if i go for corair xms.... 2 x 512 i should get or 1gb? 800mhz or 667 mhz for tat budget? |
Aug 25 2006, 11:47 PM
15,903 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri |
QUOTE(allenultra @ Aug 25 2006, 11:04 PM) Waiting for another board to pair with the x2 3600+. ah... it's nothing big actually. it's just that 6100-AM2 bios memory timing options is limited if you compare with the TF500-series.Will have 2 AM2 rigs soon. Hey soulfly, if u don't mind I ask. I been browsing all the 31 pages just now. You said that tforce 6100-am2 bios sux compared to TF550, would you enlighten me about the difference? TF500-series is quite 'DFI-alike'. QUOTE(Jealousy @ Aug 25 2006, 11:15 PM) thanks... cyrus2k I would suggest Corsair XMS2 6400C5 .... there might be 80% chance of getting Micron D9GMH.but if i go for corair xms.... 2 x 512 i should get or 1gb? 800mhz or 667 mhz for tat budget? XMS2 6400C3 confirm Micron, but it's much more expensive. This post has been edited by soulfly: Aug 25 2006, 11:58 PM |
Aug 26 2006, 01:44 AM
430 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: K.l Cheras |
QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Aug 25 2006, 10:33 PM) Thats my setting now u r using original HSF or wat ?Maybe I will try to push it higher, but only scare the temp would go out of control Trying to tighten the timings for RAM now... @Jealousy For RAM, you could get 1GB kit for Corsair XMS or Mushkin EM for that budget... As for cooling method, depends which type you want. You could get a pretty good air cooler for about RM200, for liquid cooling it will be much more higher. i think ram i will buy 512 DDR800 enuff liao , coz if i buy 1 more 512 ddr800 will out of my budget, so the cooling method i think i will use back my xp90c , izzit will be ok ? |
Aug 26 2006, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(lucklyghost @ Aug 26 2006, 01:44 AM) u r using original HSF or wat ? refer to my post earlier.... u need to use Thermalright special AM2 retention module kit Rev.B in order to use xp-90c.... and the retention kit is not easy to find.i think ram i will buy 512 DDR800 enuff liao , coz if i buy 1 more 512 ddr800 will out of my budget, so the cooling method i think i will use back my xp90c , izzit will be ok ? |
Aug 26 2006, 01:49 AM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Aug 26 2006, 01:47 AM) refer to my post earlier.... u need to use Thermalright special AM2 retention module kit Rev.B in order to use xp-90c.... and the retention kit is not easy to find. i founded at lowyat will get on next week last thing want to ask is my psu will use back my old psu , Enermax 460W <--how? should be ok ? my graphic is x800xt ....enuff power? i saw some graphic card 6800 need 480W psu ..=.= |
Aug 26 2006, 02:40 AM
474 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ampang @ http://himitsu.us |
QUOTE(lucklyghost @ Aug 26 2006, 01:44 AM) u r using original HSF or wat ? Ya, original HSF i think ram i will buy 512 DDR800 enuff liao , coz if i buy 1 more 512 ddr800 will out of my budget, so the cooling method i think i will use back my xp90c , izzit will be ok ? You are buying value ram or performance ram? Its better to make it dual channel As for PSU, I think its quite enough, since I remember I saw somebody in this forum using ACbel 450W and have identical setting with yours. But I guess its better for you to check how much energy your x800XT eats。。。 This post has been edited by Cyrus2k: Aug 26 2006, 02:45 AM |
Aug 26 2006, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Aug 26 2006, 02:40 AM) Ya, original HSF i think i will only buy one 512mb DDR800 mushkin brand , coz 1 ram already rm230 ,if buy 2 will out of my budget ...., and DDR800 the cheaper is mushkin.You are buying value ram or performance ram? Its better to make it dual channel As for PSU, I think its quite enough, since I remember I saw somebody in this forum using ACbel 450W and have identical setting with yours. But I guess its better for you to check how much energy your x800XT eats。。。 haihz.....duno want choose athlon x2 3800+ AM2 or athlon x2 3600 am2, and duno whether one 512DDR2 800 enuff , or buy two 512DDR 2 800 x 2 to put Dual channel...so fan ....need a lot of money ... |
Aug 26 2006, 11:12 AM
Aug 26 2006, 11:26 AM
fine tuning the RAM will probably difficult since the timing options are just basic if you're gonna do extensive overclocking to the RAM
anyway.... just found out that my cpu can go 2200MHz with just 1.2v ![]() ...and look at the HTT also above 1000MHz, no stability issue so far |
Aug 26 2006, 11:39 AM
540 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: penang,KL |
soulfly how u make ur corsair ddr667 into 450mhz ht ?
Aug 26 2006, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(lucklyghost @ Aug 26 2006, 09:49 AM) i think i will only buy one 512mb DDR800 mushkin brand , coz 1 ram already rm230 ,if buy 2 will out of my budget ...., and DDR800 the cheaper is mushkin. haha, just the same condition as mine haihz.....duno want choose athlon x2 3800+ AM2 or athlon x2 3600 am2, and duno whether one 512DDR2 800 enuff , or buy two 512DDR 2 800 x 2 to put Dual channel...so fan ....need a lot of money ... Anyway, if you are really tight on budget, then just get X2 3600+ since you could actually OC it to 2.4GHz or above (with better cooler). I saw an article before that manage to overclock X2 3600+ to 2.6GHz and the performance already nearly same as X2 5000+ As for the RAM, you could just get one stick, then later get another stick lor. btw, ugpm |
Aug 26 2006, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Aug 26 2006, 12:20 PM) haha, just the same condition as mine izzit big different between x2 3600+ and x2 3800 ?Anyway, if you are really tight on budget, then just get X2 3600+ since you could actually OC it to 2.4GHz or above (with better cooler). I saw an article before that manage to overclock X2 3600+ to 2.6GHz and the performance already nearly same as X2 5000+ As for the RAM, you could just get one stick, then later get another stick lor. btw, ugpm i just know is Catch memory different only |
Aug 26 2006, 01:36 PM
Some updates: This is pretty much the highest speed I can get with just 1.2V cpu voltage. Will do some quick burn-in afterwards and see whether I can increase another few more MHz.
![]() QUOTE(ah_fong @ Aug 26 2006, 11:39 AM) soulfly how u make ur corsair ddr667 into 450mhz ht ? My previous Corsair667 was using Elpida chips.Check out LYN DDR2 thread... I think I put my setting somewhere in there. QUOTE(lucklyghost @ Aug 26 2006, 12:49 PM) izzit big different between x2 3600+ and x2 3800 ? 2.9ghz Sempron is about equal to 2.8ghz Athlon64 in SuperPi.i just know is Catch memory different only I think for AM2, cache is very not important because the bandwidth provided by DDR2. The price between X2 3600+ and X2 3800+ is a lot different, it's like around RM100 more or less. This post has been edited by soulfly: Aug 26 2006, 01:50 PM |
Aug 26 2006, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(lucklyghost @ Aug 26 2006, 12:49 PM) Just like soulfly stated; the cache does not really makes a big difference in performance; but might slower when you wanna bench with SuperPi You could refer this link for the overlock review for X2 3600+ |
Aug 26 2006, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Aug 24 2006, 03:19 PM) soulfly : You got a Biostar TF550 mobo before right? cyrus2k, have you solve ur problem?A question, how do I change the clock multiplier in the BIOS? I found one option and changed it to x8, but when I look into cpuz it was still in x10... Even with the latest bios, I still stuck at 9x with my 3000+ on 6100-am2. Or AM2 with locked multiplier? This post has been edited by allenultra: Aug 26 2006, 09:57 PM |
Aug 26 2006, 10:35 PM
allenultra : i heard somewhere in XS forum that someone had multiplier issues with TF6100.
as for TF550, the latest BIOS update has already fix it, can use any multiplier already. as with 754 and 939, all AMD that supports Cool n Quiet have unlocked multis (downwards) |
Aug 27 2006, 01:19 AM
I just compared the Bios oc menu with the manual come with the board.
There isn't the option of "Hammer CPU Multiplier" as stated in BIOS..... |
| Change to: | 0.0222sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:20 PM |