AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread, discuss our setup/overclocking issues

camedemac
post Feb 1 2007, 05:52 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(coolblade @ Feb 1 2007, 05:15 PM)
@camedemac

so, is it will effect the mainboard, cpu, ram, gfx after overclocking?

I am planning to overclock my computer, but after read kalakatu's post here, i am a bit afraid.. any workaround?
when u want to overclock ur cpu, u use your mainboard and at the same u overclock also ur ram unless u set ur ram divider lower from stock. actually i do not sure which one is affect coz i never try my previous proc (X2 3800) on other board to check the speed whether it stays on its stock clock speed or not. Maybe the mobo itself cannot read the clock accurately. For gfx, if u oc, it will only affect ur gfx cards and maybe ur board also. That's why when u oc, it will shorter the life of your hardware.

My previous tforce550, after oc, then, whether i set it to oc setting or stock setting, when i wanna check my Cpu-Z, it gives some 'low-db sound' like 'eeeee..'.

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Feb 1 2007, 05:33 PM)
but it never happened with my previous athlon3000...
my last venice will go back to the normal setting after  set it back to default..

but this 3800 am2...i dunno...
any bad effects with these non-default setting?
ermm.. i dunno about this. like i said on the top reply. Maybe the mobo cannot read the clock accurately. sweat.gif
coolblade
post Feb 1 2007, 05:54 PM

298 posts

I found that biostar tforce 550 can't lock the PCI clock at 33.3 MHz, if I want to overclock my computer. I've updated the BIOS to latest version, but after checking with clockgen utility, the PCI lock still not applied for this mainboard. Any user experience this, and able to overcome this problem?

PCI lock is important if we want to use any PCI card on this mainboard. Who know, in the future, we want to use the latest creative audigy PCI card, we want a stable environment, thus need the PCI locked at 33.3 MHz, isn't it?

This post has been edited by coolblade: Feb 1 2007, 06:00 PM
camedemac
post Feb 1 2007, 06:07 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(coolblade @ Feb 1 2007, 05:54 PM)
I found that biostar tforce 550 can't lock the PCI clock at 33.3 MHz, if I want to overclock my computer. I've updated the BIOS to latest version, but after checking with clockgen utility, the PCI lock still not applied for this mainboard. Any user experience this, and  able to overcome this problem?

PCI lock is important if we want to use any PCI card on this mainboard. Who know, in the future, we want to use the latest creative audigy PCI card, we want a stable environment, thus need the PCI locked at 33.3 MHz, isn't it?
u try the bios from biostar website? I dont know about the bios from biostar website.
Yeah. Biostar TForce 550 can't lock the PCI clock at first (i dont know about new TForce550 whether they fix this problem or not)

But i try before the bios recommend by soulfly (Refer to this reply) and it works.

but now there are newer bios at the site also
http://lejabeach.com/Biostar/6100-550/6100550bios.html

u can try this
zamree7
post Feb 1 2007, 06:18 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(camedemac @ Feb 1 2007, 05:08 PM)
*sorry for the bad english. not in the good mood tongue.gif
aiseh bro..dun moody2 be happy mate.. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Feb 1 2007, 05:33 PM)
but it never happened with my previous athlon3000...
my last venice will go back to the normal setting after  set it back to default..

but this 3800 am2...i dunno...
any bad effects with these non-default setting?
maybe its just ur mobo didn't read it accurately..i know that u're using mobo same as mine but my cpuz reading just fine if it is on default setting.. Have u tried restart n run the cpuz again a few times?
kalakatu
post Feb 1 2007, 06:25 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(zamree7 @ Feb 1 2007, 06:18 PM)
maybe its just ur mobo didn't read it accurately..i know that u're using mobo same as mine but my cpuz reading just fine if it is on default setting.. Have u tried restart n run the cpuz again a few times?
currently using cpuz 138..its the latest one rite?
maybe i should try to use the older version..
coolblade
post Feb 1 2007, 06:26 PM

298 posts

@camedemac

I've downloaded the BIOS from http://www.lejabeach.com/Biostar/6100-550/N5taa703.rar. Then I flashed the BIOS but after checking with clockgen utility again, I am still unable to set the PCI clock locked at 33.3 MHz.

This drove me crazy a bit. How I able to overclock if this PCI lock issue unsettled??

This post has been edited by coolblade: Feb 1 2007, 06:27 PM
camedemac
post Feb 1 2007, 06:27 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(zamree7 @ Feb 1 2007, 06:18 PM)
hmm.. actually i've really2 push my tforce before, burn-in for 1 days many times, maybe that's why this happen tongue.gif
anyway, whats ur latest update? reach 3GHz already? tongue.gif
i have am2 rig already now but its really2 low end bro. try to save some money now to build another AM2 rig (coming soon but dunno how long) laugh.gif

*moody coz u never come to visit me larr laugh.gif

Added on February 1, 2007, 6:31 pm
QUOTE(coolblade @ Feb 1 2007, 06:26 PM)
@camedemac

I've downloaded the BIOS from http://www.lejabeach.com/Biostar/6100-550/N5taa703.rar. Then I flashed the BIOS but after checking with clockgen utility again, I am still unable to set the PCI clock locked at 33.3 MHz.

This drove me crazy a bit. How I able to overclock if this PCI lock issue unsettled??
erm.. have u reset your cmos after update?
bcoz the bios that recommend by soulfly really works.
have u try the newer bios in the 2nd link (lejabeach.com)?

This post has been edited by camedemac: Feb 1 2007, 06:31 PM
zamree7
post Feb 1 2007, 06:36 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Feb 1 2007, 06:25 PM)
currently using cpuz 138..its the latest one rite?
maybe i should try to use the older version..
yup that 1 is the latest.. btw i'm using v1.37 doh.gif

QUOTE(coolblade @ Feb 1 2007, 06:26 PM)
@camedemac

ask @camedemac how he deal with it..he use that mobo last time.. maybe he can help u answer ur question then.. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(camedemac @ Feb 1 2007, 06:27 PM)
hmm.. actually i've really2 push my tforce before, burn-in for 1 days many times, maybe that's why this happen tongue.gif
anyway, whats ur latest update? reach 3GHz already? tongue.gif
i have am2 rig already now but its really2 low end bro. try to save some money now to build another AM2 rig (coming soon but dunno how long) laugh.gif

*moody coz u never come to visit me larr laugh.gif
wow.. new rig ar brows.gif

aiseh bro.. quite busy nowadays.. if got time sure go visit u la.. nod.gif
coolblade
post Feb 1 2007, 06:45 PM

298 posts

@camedemac

Yes, I have resetted the CMOS after update. But still can't lock the PCI clock at 33.3 MHz. Why?

I just noticed that the tforce 550 mainboard I used is revision 1.2 (imprinted on the board)

From biostar website, they already have revision 1.3 board.

I wonder if I can ask the shop to replace my mainboard to the latest revision? This could be a solution for locking the PCI clock, as I am sure the latest revision overcome the problem...

This post has been edited by coolblade: Feb 1 2007, 06:48 PM
camedemac
post Feb 1 2007, 06:49 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(zamree7 @ Feb 1 2007, 06:36 PM)
yup that 1 is the latest.. btw i'm using v1.37 doh.gif
ask @camedemac how he deal with it..he use that mobo last time.. maybe he can help u answer ur question then.. icon_idea.gif
wow.. new rig ar brows.gif

aiseh bro.. quite busy nowadays.. if got time sure go visit u la..  nod.gif
eheh.. bro, no AM2 sli motherboard that really cheap and overclockable? brows.gif
really interest in

Abit KN9 SLi (NF570 SLi)
MSI K9N4-SLi (NF500 SLi, not sure about overclockability)

u dont bring DFi? brows.gif

Added on February 1, 2007, 6:52 pm
QUOTE(coolblade @ Feb 1 2007, 06:45 PM)
@camedemac

Yes, I have resetted the CMOS after update. But still can't lock the PCI clock at 33.3 MHz. Why?

I just noticed that the tforce 550 mainboard I used is revision 1.2 (imprinted on the board)

From biostar website, they already have revision 1.3 board.

I wonder if I can ask the shop to replace my mainboard to the latest revision? This could  be a solution for locking the PCI clock, as I am sure the latest revision overcome the problem...
i forgot what revision of my board. when u bought this mobo?
i bought my mobo before long time ago (early august 2006 i think)
i'm not sure if they can replace ur board with other revision unless ur mobo is faulty, then they change with new one tongue.gif

This post has been edited by camedemac: Feb 1 2007, 06:57 PM
zamree7
post Feb 1 2007, 06:55 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(camedemac @ Feb 1 2007, 06:49 PM)
eheh.. bro, no AM2 sli motherboard that really cheap and overclockable? brows.gif
really interest in

Abit KN9 SLi (NF570 SLi)
MSI K9N4-SLi (NF500 SLi, not sure about overclockability)

u dont bring DFi? brows.gif
not yet bro.. bro.. save money and shoot for NF590 SLi la... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
coolblade
post Feb 1 2007, 06:57 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(camedemac @ Feb 1 2007, 06:49 PM)
i forgot what revision of my board. when u bought this mobo?
i bought my mobo before long time ago (early september 2006 i think)
i'm not sure if they can replace ur board with other revision unless ur mobo is faulty, then they change with new one tongue.gif
I bought this mobo yesterday, after I got PM from soulfly (I asked him, which is suitable and affordable mainboard).

@zamree7

are you the same person of modernopc id?

This post has been edited by coolblade: Feb 1 2007, 07:02 PM
camedemac
post Feb 1 2007, 07:06 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(zamree7 @ Feb 1 2007, 06:55 PM)
not yet bro.. bro.. save money and shoot for NF590 SLi la... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
whoa.. the board that use NF590 SLi chipset really2 kill me lorrh..
sure 1 year cannot eat coz buying this mobo laugh.gif
have DFi produce NF590 SLi with infinity series? coz cannot afford the lanparty series bro

*inform me bro when u bring in DFi mobo icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(coolblade @ Feb 1 2007, 06:57 PM)
I bought this mobo yesterday, after I got PM from soulfly (I asked him, which is suitable and affordable mainboard).
actually bro soulfly give a very good solution. tforce550 is overclockable and affordable with UV-slot 'DFi-look-alike'. but i'm not sure about the revision that really affect the pci lock clock thingy. sweat.gif. i've already sold my tforce long time ago tongue.gif try googling around about this pci lock thingy. wink.gif

anyway, what software u check the pci lock clock?

*Zamree7 is not same person with modernopc id tongue.gif

This post has been edited by camedemac: Feb 1 2007, 07:08 PM
coolblade
post Feb 1 2007, 07:09 PM

298 posts

@camedemac

clockgen utility from http://www.cpuid.com/clockgen.php

I am using the latest version of this software.

Well, I thought u are using the same mainboard as mine. So, what mainboard do u use now? Sure a bit better than the old one.

This post has been edited by coolblade: Feb 1 2007, 07:10 PM
zamree7
post Feb 1 2007, 07:14 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(coolblade @ Feb 1 2007, 06:57 PM)
@zamree7
are you the same person of modernopc id?
no la..i'm partner with moderno nod.gif

btw luckily i bought biostar 570U, dun have these pci clock problem. hmm.gif

@camedemac

ok wat bro buy NF590 SLi.. then u can loose some weight worr..icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

camedemac
post Feb 1 2007, 07:20 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(coolblade @ Feb 1 2007, 07:09 PM)
@camedemac

clockgen utility from http://www.cpuid.com/clockgen.php

I am using the latest version of this software.

Well, I thought u are using the same mainboard as mine. So, what mainboard do u use now? Sure a bit better than the old one.
i forgot about the bios setting in tforce550. do you find the PCI Clock Lock menu (i dont know which mobo i found this) tongue.gif
i'm using Biostar Tforce 550 (same as u) before but sold it after almost 2 months use tongue.gif. Now i'm using low-end mobo only (abit nf-m2s not nview series) pair with sempron 2800. this system only standby for vista only laugh.gif.
coolblade
post Feb 1 2007, 07:20 PM

298 posts

that why I am not satisfied with my mainboard. I've spent RM 290 to buy this mainboard. I do not think I should spend money again to look another mainboard.. sigh... what a bad timing...

I got no problem changing mainboard without reinstalling Windows XP, I just using sysprep utility, and voila, take only 6 - 10 minutes to complete migration from old mainboard to new mainboard. Personally I think that buying a new mainboard is not a problem if you have a lot of money, but i am in tight budget nowaday.

This post has been edited by coolblade: Feb 1 2007, 07:23 PM
camedemac
post Feb 1 2007, 07:28 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(zamree7 @ Feb 1 2007, 07:14 PM)
no la..i'm partner with moderno nod.gif

btw luckily i bought biostar 570U, dun have these pci clock problem. hmm.gif

@camedemac

ok wat bro buy NF590 SLi.. then u can loose some weight worr..icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
ngeh3x.. cannot lorh. then all my fat will just go like dat only. So 'rugi' laa laugh.gif
wat NF590 SLi do u prefer bro? brows.gif
havent searching about the Performance of this chip yet laugh.gif

QUOTE(coolblade @ Feb 1 2007, 07:20 PM)
that why I am not satisfied with my mainboard. I've spent RM 290 to buy this mainboard. I do not think I should spend money again to look another mainboard.. sigh... what a bad timing...

I got no problem changing mainboard without reinstalling Windows XP, I just using sysprep utility, and voila, take only 6 - 10 minutes to complete migration from old mainboard to new mainboard. Personally I think that buying a new mainboard is not a problem if you have a lot of money, but i am in tight budget nowaday.
actually no need to change mobo laa bro. i think there's a solution for your mobo. what proc u use now bro?
allenultra
post Feb 1 2007, 07:35 PM

9,027 posts

coolblade, latest bios revision solved the PCI bus unlock problem.
Please get any bios newer than BIOS N5TAA615.BST.

It isn't about the board revision, it should be the bios instead.

coolblade
post Feb 1 2007, 07:40 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(camedemac @ Feb 1 2007, 07:28 PM)
actually no need to change mobo laa bro. i think there's a solution for your mobo. what proc u use now bro?
Look at my sig below. I am using AMD Athlon64 3000+ AM2 CPU (Orleans)

QUOTE(allenultra @ Feb 1 2007, 07:35 PM)
coolblade, latest bios revision solved the PCI bus unlock problem.
Please get any bios newer than BIOS N5TAA615.BST.

It isn't about the board revision, it should be the bios instead.
Do u mean this page? --> http://www.biostar.com.tw/t-series/downloa...tails.php?id=21

I've tried this, but not to avail yet in locking the PCI clock.

This post has been edited by coolblade: Feb 1 2007, 07:40 PM

156 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:06 PM