182 Pages « < 176 177 178 179 180 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!

gabriel han
post Nov 10 2014, 10:38 PM

19 posts

Hi. Anyone who is interested to buy Trinx Ka2016d (blue) or Amis 2.1(black or navy blue), with ready stock, please do pm me as i don't know whether i can share out the information openly. I get an attractive prices from this bicycle shop. Thank you.
H2D
post Nov 10 2014, 10:56 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Nov 10 2014, 05:01 PM)
been scouting for cromoly frame folding,just not to much choice lah... brommy and moulton out of budget,..

can u gurls and guyz listed for me what type of frame are chromoly?
u know which dahon right..

and some khs also is cromo?

This post has been edited by H2D: Nov 10 2014, 10:59 PM
azamunekurone
post Nov 11 2014, 08:46 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 10 2014, 10:56 PM)
u know which dahon right..

and some khs also is cromo?
few model,but not much choice lah.thinking of getting 2011/2012 speed p8 if got in sale...
andrewhtf
post Nov 11 2014, 09:17 AM

1,583 posts

what's special with chromoly frame lah? lighter? stiffer? sory yea me not very knowledgable on this.
azamunekurone
post Nov 11 2014, 10:11 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Nov 11 2014, 09:17 AM)
what's special with chromoly frame lah? lighter? stiffer? sory yea me not very knowledgable on this.
lifetime warranty frame,very suitable for touring.. drool.gif
mbax
post Nov 11 2014, 01:36 PM

66 posts

cromo? oyama skyline pro cr16.. but downside is using 451 wheels..
azamunekurone
post Nov 11 2014, 02:29 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Nov 11 2014, 01:36 PM)
cromo? oyama skyline pro cr16.. but  downside is using 451 wheels..
vbrek?451rims no problem with coz i got 2 wheelset spare at the moment,as long the fork are small enough like dahon/tern that would be nice.got any picture? blush.gif
etigge
post Nov 11 2014, 07:42 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Nov 11 2014, 02:29 PM)
vbrek?451rims no problem with coz i got 2 wheelset spare at the moment,as long the fork are small enough like dahon/tern that would be nice.got any picture? blush.gif
Even if you get a frame which has 100mm hub sized fork ( Dahon is 74mm ), it doesn't matter as GW sells the adapter so you can use 74mm hubs on 100mm fork. As for the back , sometimes the difference is 130mm and 135mm so can stretch a bit. Look at Taobao, so many frames. Spend a little more on FnHon, they are really good frames with nice folding clamp and also really good quality paintwork. For a 20 inch frame + fork, the average price is about RM550 to RM600 plus transport.
man_utd
post Nov 11 2014, 08:35 PM

191 posts

Hi all,
Can I get your opinion?
Which is better? Will use this foldie for long distance. Not speed.

Dahon Vybe C7A
Raleigh Uno
Java Decaf
mbax
post Nov 11 2014, 08:36 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Nov 11 2014, 02:29 PM)
Caliper brake .. no v brake mount kekeke
zeliustitan
post Nov 12 2014, 08:14 AM

466 posts

QUOTE(man_utd @ Nov 11 2014, 08:35 PM)
Hi all,
Can I get your opinion?

Dahon Vybe C7A
Raleigh Uno
Java Decaf
Dahon vybe
azamunekurone
post Nov 12 2014, 08:49 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 11 2014, 07:42 PM)
Even if you get a frame which has 100mm hub sized fork ( Dahon is 74mm ), it doesn't matter as GW sells the adapter so you can use 74mm hubs on 100mm fork. As for the back , sometimes the difference is 130mm and 135mm so can stretch a bit. Look at Taobao, so many frames. Spend a little more on FnHon, they are really good frames with nice folding clamp and also really good quality paintwork. For a 20 inch frame + fork, the average price is about RM550 to RM600 plus transport.
forgot oledi,got adapter included last time i bought my red rims,.. will try to search tabao.tq bro thumbup.gif

QUOTE(mbax @ Nov 11 2014, 08:36 PM)
Caliper brake .. no v brake mount kekeke
caliper also can,as long as no diskbreak laugh.gif

This post has been edited by azamunekurone: Nov 12 2014, 08:50 AM
etigge
post Nov 12 2014, 10:47 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(man_utd @ Nov 11 2014, 08:35 PM)
Hi all,
Can I get your opinion?

Dahon Vybe C7A
Raleigh Uno
Java Decaf
In actual all 3 are not really suitable for long distance riding. For long distance, like touring, a chromoly frame is more ideal. The are light, strong and absorbs bumps better than the harder aluminium. Most of the better touring bikes are made of chromoly. If you ride long distance more, you should consider Dahon Speed P8 , KHS foldies (there's an entry level one too). I have a Speed P8 and when Dahon came out with Vigor, I took it home the instant I saw it. When it comes to riding, although lighter, the Vigor performs no better than the Speed in terms of feel and comfort. Also, the Speed is easier to upgrade.

If budget is a factor, it's better to even get a used one. icon_rolleyes.gif

PS/ Forgot ! The Dahon Boardwalk is also chromoly.

This post has been edited by etigge: Nov 12 2014, 10:57 AM
azamunekurone
post Nov 12 2014, 11:09 AM

140 posts

i wish i can find speed p8 2011/2012 models cry.gif cry.gif
SiaoMonkey
post Nov 12 2014, 01:37 PM

QUOTE(gabriel han @ Nov 10 2014, 10:38 PM)
Hi. Anyone who is interested to buy Trinx Ka2016d (blue) or Amis 2.1(black or navy blue), with ready stock, please do pm me as i don't know whether i can share out the information openly. I get an attractive prices from this bicycle shop. Thank you.
PM

etigge
post Nov 12 2014, 02:36 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Nov 11 2014, 08:46 AM)
few model,but not much choice lah.thinking of getting 2011/2012 speed p8 if got in sale...
http://www.mudah.my/Dahon+P8+Foldable+Bicycle-29165546.htm

but a new one one with new colours is about RM1750 only. biggrin.gif
azamunekurone
post Nov 12 2014, 04:20 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 12 2014, 02:36 PM)
http://www.mudah.my/Dahon+P8+Foldable+Bicycle-29165546.htm

but a new one one with new colours is about RM1750 only.  biggrin.gif
few things to consider both p8 model that makes me rclxub.gif

2015 Speed p8
Sram x7 RD
Marathon supreme
no white color (red also fine with me)

2012 Speed p8
Biologic seat post pump
kinetic rim
avid brake lever
kinetic brakes
fsa crank
big apple (this tyre definitely mg leg cannot kayuh sweat.gif )

eventhough,
gearset and rims are not that big problem for me,but its a bonus to have..

oh ya,
u already know all the price?RM1750 RRP??
zeliustitan
post Nov 13 2014, 06:19 PM

466 posts

Thursday Night Ride

Meet at in front of Elements Hotel, Jln Sultan, Petaling Street at 8.15pm

Route:
Petaling Street
Dang Wangi
Kampung Baru
Jalan Semarak
Setapak Hot Springs - 1st end point (can go back if you want)
Sentul
Titiwangsa - 2nd end point

Got helmet, can ride.
No helmet, also can ride.
Ride safely.

PM me if you coming
wke002
post Nov 14 2014, 08:34 AM

116 posts

foldies Sifu,
I have a trinx KA2016 and is now looking at another folding bike.

am targeting Dahon Vybe 7 which likely do not get a chance to try it.

To the Sifu whom have experience, getting Dahon (brand name), is there a difference in riding against say below RM1K folding bike (trinx, trs, mongoose, xds etc), meaning like does it feel more solid, or imagine closing eyes and feel the ride rclxub.gif

etigge
post Nov 14 2014, 10:18 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(wke002 @ Nov 14 2014, 08:34 AM)
foldies Sifu,
I have a trinx KA2016 and is now looking at another folding bike.

am targeting Dahon Vybe 7 which likely do not get a chance to try it.

To the Sifu whom have experience, getting Dahon (brand name), is there a difference in riding against say below RM1K folding bike (trinx, trs, mongoose, xds etc), meaning like does it feel more solid, or imagine closing eyes and feel the ride  rclxub.gif

Like the chinese saying, " Yat cham chin yat cham forr ". Off course there's a difference. Dahons are made after their research on metals, geometry and gearings. Off course other branded makes akso have their respective researches. On the other hand, those brands that you mentioned latter donb't have this. They just copied the design and used cheaper materials.

It's hard to describe it for a beginner rider as only with riding more that you start to appreciate the value that is paid. Most newbies will say, " Why pay 2.5K for a Dahon with 18 speed as compared to a same spec-ed bike from XDS, Trinx or Java?" Yes, why?, on the spur, we cannot prove nor convince any newbies. But the fact remains that a serious rider who started with those will eventually get the better bike! nod.gif Why? It's the difference, the characteristics of the bike geometry in tandem with the folding strength and materials.

Many here has known me and I stick to my words. Components and wheelsets can be changed or upgraded later. Start with a good frame. Dahon is very basic in it's specs for cost reasons. I have modded to 27 speed since I used the Dahon Eco C7 (kniown as Vybe C7A now). The components is transferred to the Speed that I am still using now. I have ridden a Dahon Speed for almost 2 years now and even after so many harsh rides, it still rides best. The fold hasn't loosen a bit.

A proof is to check the availability of Dahons on the used market. It's hard to come by. Even if someone gave up, their Dahons are usually snapped up by their peer riders. Even the Eco C7 is still selling for RM750 after being used for 2 years.

182 Pages « < 176 177 178 179 180 > » Top

0.0639sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:21 AM