Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!

azamunekurone
post Sep 2 2014, 03:18 PM

140 posts

hi guyz and gals
being in LYN for a long time a go,but in other section.on this section still newbie..

owning a foldie brand mongoose (have u heard it?) for a year++ and also dr hon vybe c7
as my mongoose act as my primary ride and the vybe for my lovely wife also for my touring bike

azamunekurone
post Sep 2 2014, 05:14 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Sep 2 2014, 03:22 PM)
Nice ride azam..  thumbup.gif
alamak,abam najeeb pon ade dalam ni..kantoi!!!!

QUOTE(H2D @ Sep 2 2014, 03:24 PM)
very nice with all the changed parts...   biggrin.gif

member here did ask about the mongoose foldie,
mebe u can give your opinion here...
i love the design of the body.remind me looks like KSH.but the draw back is the crank size.all the gearset setup are for MTB i presume,other than that its good!

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Sep 2 2014, 03:46 PM)
Wah, look nice both your ride. What modification you done for both of them? I looking for those bag for my ride too. The one on your Dahon. What are those bag. Where u get them?
wa,..wanna me to put all in details ka bos? rclxub.gif
i think too many things i've done on the bike maybe i forget what i've done... biggrin.gif

the beg are rosewheel brand and bought from billybikeshop at taiping

aiyak,long time didnt post any picture here forget how to link the image doh.gif

This post has been edited by azamunekurone: Sep 2 2014, 05:17 PM
azamunekurone
post Sep 2 2014, 07:05 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Sep 2 2014, 05:21 PM)
Hi, dont mind me asking what's the crank size of the MONGOOSE?
What size i dont know,but surely smaller than 46t on my vybe..still in consideration wanna sell or not the mongoose...adoi! cry.gif
azamunekurone
post Sep 8 2014, 09:29 AM

140 posts

pix spam tongue.gif tongue.gif

sabtuday ride at Kuala Sepetang,event by Malaysian Foldies with Taiping Foldies Fan
azamunekurone
post Sep 9 2014, 10:38 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Sep 8 2014, 10:53 AM)
power bro  biggrin.gif
not that powerlah bos...slow rider maaa tongue.gif

QUOTE(razif_ptx @ Sep 8 2014, 11:19 AM)
wow very handsome cyclist
not handsome la bos whistling.gif thats why cover the face biggrin.gif
azamunekurone
post Sep 9 2014, 10:54 AM

140 posts

PIX SPAM

This is my Ex-Mongoose (sold it to get tern p9)

Moded done
Sram Apex Crank 53/39
Ceramic Red Aerodown BB
KMC 9Speed Chain
SRAM Cassette 11-34
SRAM S5000RD
SRAM X5 9Speed Shifter
SRAM Grip
406 6 Spoke Sportrim with Panaracer 1.25 Rubber
Lighten Seat Post (forget Brand)
Truvative Adjustable 90mm Stem
Avid Brake Liver
180mm front rotor
160mm rear rotor
Stock FD
Stock handle
Brooks Canbium C17
Sealed bearings pedals
a few moon front & rear light, Topeak saddle beg and giant btl cage
azamunekurone
post Sep 9 2014, 04:01 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Sep 9 2014, 11:02 AM)
How much is the damage done bro?  drool.gif  drool.gif
BTW why you sell this mongoose?
for all those mods i think the damage around rm2k or less...i sold this mongoose coz im a tall person.the seat post are not long enough for me.even i already used the lighten and long,still i had less than 3" in the body.so i afraid i might destroy the body..and another reason i want to play with v brek.dont want disc anymore whistling.gif

and this is my Dr Hon Vybe C7A
at 1st i want to take the steel one,but got special price for the alloy.besides its my wife bike biggrin.gif

Mod i've done with the vybe C7a
novatech lighthen hub
biologic seat post pump
Brooks B17 Stdt
front and rear dahon touring rack
upgraded to 8 speed (now already 9speed with FSA 55t crank - its my tern gearset)
SKS QR and Topeak Btl Cage
Schwalbe Marathon Racer 1.5 rubber
1 set 30l rosewheel panniers and a small rosewheel panniers (like in the pix)
and some diy front and rear light wink.gif

azamunekurone
post Sep 9 2014, 04:52 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Sep 9 2014, 04:28 PM)
How u know which component compatible to folding bike? You DIY yourself Or u send to shop?
for the gearset,mostly all the gearset from roadbike are great for FB.unless u mix with RD/Cassette from MTB with the shifter...depends what u are trying to do..
azamunekurone
post Sep 9 2014, 05:00 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(wai1460 @ Sep 9 2014, 04:52 PM)

What is the cost for changing the gearset? Im on vybe C7 too
if u are thinking of upgrading only cassette and shifter you need to find the type of cassette than can screw in with original vybe hub.that kind of cassette are hard to find..

i've changed my hub bcoz its hard to find the cassette that can fit that hub.with the new hub u can easily put 10speed cassette without a problem! flex.gif
azamunekurone
post Sep 9 2014, 11:23 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(wai1460 @ Sep 9 2014, 05:08 PM)
how about the wheelset? did u change also?
mine 28spoke rim,its kind of hard to find 28spoke hub so i adopt the 32spoke hub.still can be used.change the wheel will only raised the cost and i cant bear it laugh.gif
azamunekurone
post Sep 10 2014, 01:47 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 10 2014, 12:44 AM)
Me a noobie. How to differentiate between gearsets for RB and MTB?
mtb gearset
- small crank if im not mistaken below than 46t
- casette got big ratio (30-34t)

roadie gearset
- bigger crank 50t and above
- casette got smaller ratio (below 30t)

however,
the RD, FD and also Shifter both mtb and rb can be used on folding bike..

if money doesnt matter,better get the rb gearset coz its lighten than mtb.but if money problem can rojak the parts laugh.gif
azamunekurone
post Sep 10 2014, 02:57 PM

140 posts

for who had question me what hub i used for my vybe c7a,here you go.this is my NOVATECH hub.as you can see got extra hole in those hub coz its 32spoke hub on 28spoke rims tongue.gif

just for sharing,
this is my latest setup on my vybe.9 speed with 55t shocking.gif crank single chainring i took from my verge p9 and change the chain into the lighten one and its gold cool2.gif

this is the shifter,if im not mistaken its shimano claris

and i know with the current setup crank (55t blink.gif ) and single chainring system,its kind of hard for me to climb on my journey (touring mode!), so i decided to mix 2 cassettes to be one as i took the 32t & 34t into my current cassette

i try to used the shimano Sora RD took from the verge on my vybe, somehow it cannot be fit.
so i used the neos 7 RD (stock RD) for the time being before i find the RD Hanger to fit the Sora RD.a few tweaks on the FD (my friend fine tune the RD), so im on 9 speed.as i heard before normal RD can + or - 2 gears from factory tune.so its proven rclxms.gif

as im scouting RD hanger,so i decided to change the jockey wheel (known as RD Wheel) to sealed bearings alloy type on my next move..
azamunekurone
post Sep 10 2014, 03:08 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Sep 10 2014, 03:01 PM)
great bro..  rclxms.gif

post more tutorials to teach members here...  biggrin.gif
aiyok,..me also newbie la.lucky got my friend who are crazy about bikes who loves to help me tuning my bike brows.gif

oh ya,if u can differentiate the novatech hub is for disc hub.not same as my vybe,still it can be fitted in as it also takes some space lah blush.gif
azamunekurone
post Sep 10 2014, 04:15 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(180jin @ Sep 10 2014, 03:31 PM)
Yup can see the 6 holes for a 6-bolt rotor, rear should be same spacing 135mm wide, but for front hubs most Dahons use 74mm opening as far as I know Novatec only makes 100mm MTB spec front hubs. But of course, only the rear hub needs to be changed if want to change cassette wink.gif

Bro ur shifter looks like Alivio, but what brake lever are you using ah? looks very lightweight and well made
bro,
those pix are from front hub,not rear one.. biggrin.gif and it fits with few washers!
and tq for correcting me,forgot oledi lah..those brakes are lauya one from dahon.i change to AVIDS brakes that usually come with SRAM sets.its light and solid.all transfer from my verge... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by azamunekurone: Sep 10 2014, 04:40 PM
azamunekurone
post Sep 10 2014, 04:38 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 10 2014, 04:24 PM)
between 7 and 8 seems like a big jump! smooth shifting between these 2 gear?
for racing purpose not so Fast change an yet i still using stock RD,but for touring its good to go for me,.no problem at all,and its fine! biggrin.gif

now days i saw mtb casette got big jump also,.. sweat.gif
azamunekurone
post Sep 29 2014, 08:46 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(robix86 @ Sep 28 2014, 08:14 PM)
i just brought mine Dahon VYBE C7A today from Sew Long Dengkil ^^ but i got 1 upgrade issue.

Where can i get a single piece bigger crank ? current crank seem too small for me. Please help to sugggest any brand and price.

i got single crank FSA 55T sharp tooth taken out from my tern p9,but my vybe c7 didnt use that crank either.instead i put shimano sora 50/34 t for my vybe and running it without fd.still can used the 34t when i needed the most manually without shifter icon_idea.gif
azamunekurone
post Sep 29 2014, 04:14 PM

140 posts

pix spam

azamunekurone
post Sep 30 2014, 11:03 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 29 2014, 11:14 AM)
uh... sounds like good idea, but how does it look like? can belanja some photo?
i will put some photo later,on my way to rojak the 9 speed cassette to suite the 50t crank 1st.after all finish i will up some photo from my dahon vybe c7 lah biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Shengz @ Sep 29 2014, 05:49 PM)
Link to full reso please.. Mau tengok part by part.. brows.gif
haiyo,..no need to zoom lah,i tell u part by part lah biggrin.gif

my tern verge p9 (bought 2nd)

Original spec
55T Fsa Crank
Shimano Altis 9s shifter
Shimano sora RD 9s
Sunrace 11-32 9 speed cassette
Schwalbe kojak 20" 1.35 original tern (different in logo)
and other details u can find here
http://www.ternbicycles.com/bikes/verge-p9

current mod: [in the pix]
Sram Apex Crank 53/39
Shimano Claris FD
Sram x5 shifter 3x9
Sram 11-34 9 speed cassette
Sram S5000 RD (mtb parts)
Avid brakes
Component Alloy sealed bearing jockey wheel
KMC gold chain 9 speed
Litepro stem extender
Brooks Canbium Saddle
Schwalbe kojak 20" 1.35
and some lights/saddle bag etc lah...

upcoming mod (still in progress)
Sram Force RD
Sram Red FD
11-28 10speed cassette
10speed chain
Sram x5 shifter 3x10
Token Sealed bearing BB
Alloy Sealed Bearing jockey wheel
Aftermarket 406 red wall rims with sealed bearings hub

few of my tern component i taken out from my mongoose parts as i sold already my monggose (mongoose sudah kena pinang cry.gif )
azamunekurone
post Sep 30 2014, 11:35 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 30 2014, 11:11 AM)
very rojak indeed.
memang hardcore modder la bro....
mod slow-slow la bro,..most of the items i bought 2nd..

one more tips,
if u planning on upgrading RD,better find short cage (mostly roadbike RD) or medium cage (as i know sram x7,x0 got medium cage but very hard to find - shimano no info lah).as i find my current setup RD (mtb long cage RD) the clearance from cage to the ground is around 1inch only shocking.gif
azamunekurone
post Sep 30 2014, 02:32 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 30 2014, 11:46 AM)
ok apa no problem lah. still not dragging on the street. lol

nah this is mine after my megarange swap. posted a few pages back. this RD consider medium or long cage? not touchhing the street yet hahah

user posted imageuser posted image
looks like medium cage lah to me,..my long cage rd nearly 1inch touching the street,if i jump and lompat can kena the street lah...hiihiih wink.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0640sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:18 PM