QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 25 2014, 07:47 PM)
Looks like a 6 speed...... Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!
Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!
Sep 25 2014, 08:46 PM
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Sep 25 2014, 09:06 PM
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Sep 25 2014, 11:41 PM
21 posts Joined: May 2014 |
Hi everyone.
Good day, I am selling off my Foldable bicycle, Hummer 27speed. Anyone interested do have a look here. https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3359370&hl= Reason of selling, i just cycle few times and prefer to drive car. dont have the stamina to ride.lolx. |
Sep 25 2014, 11:42 PM
1,583 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Clerking. Data Entry like a Mad Man |
Apparently this october's kl car free day will be held on saturday, because of raya haji on sunday.
Sep 26 2014, 08:33 AM
328 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Sep 25 2014, 06:34 PM) Hi... I have the same issue in my knees and due to some weight issue as well. In this case my doc advice me to go for cycling due to I can not swim.between jogging and cycling, which one does more damage to our aging knees? I have done this for 3 months now and I personally love it well the knees is on and off hurt but it is better then when I was jog still I go for walks and some short distance jog. Do you also do any run I normally do the 5KM run due to the knee issue. |
Sep 26 2014, 09:31 AM
538 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Jln Kuching |
Do you guys know any shops in Klang Valley or Malacca selling Mosso mini velo? I am looking for 20XR3 Mosso.. feedbacks are welcomed..thanks!
Sep 26 2014, 10:14 AM
145 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Sep 25 2014, 06:34 PM) Hi... I used to do both 2-4 times a week... for jogging, it depends where do you do it, e.g. on a treadmill or outdoor. I had no problem with my knees when I spent 40-60mins on a treadmill 2-3 times a week... however when I did that in the park, I felt something on my knee- not exactly a painful feeling but i felt something. between jogging and cycling, which one does more damage to our aging knees? For cycling, my knees work fine...just it trains your leg power geng geng. Personally, I strongly recommend you to do warm-up & stretching before and after cycling/jogging. This post has been edited by blur_blue: Sep 26 2014, 10:17 AM |
Sep 26 2014, 10:22 AM
1,788 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: PJ lamansara... :D |
QUOTE(christ_0205 @ Sep 26 2014, 08:33 AM) I have the same issue in my knees and due to some weight issue as well. In this case my doc advice me to go for cycling due to I can not swim. I have done this for 3 months now and I personally love it well the knees is on and off hurt but it is better then when I was jog still I go for walks and some short distance jog. Do you also do any run I normally do the 5KM run due to the knee issue. QUOTE(blur_blue @ Sep 26 2014, 10:14 AM) I used to do both 2-4 times a week... for jogging, it depends where do you do it, e.g. on a treadmill or outdoor. I had no problem with my knees when I spent 40-60mins on a treadmill 2-3 times a week... however when I did that in the park, I felt something on my knee- not exactly a painful feeling but i felt something. i do jog before i got the bike... but cycling has been able to make me sweat faster somehow!For cycling, my knees work fine...just it trains your leg power geng geng. Personally, I strongly recommend you to do warm-up & stretching before and after cycling/jogging. |
Sep 26 2014, 10:23 AM
28 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(blur_blue @ Sep 26 2014, 10:14 AM) I used to do both 2-4 times a week... for jogging, it depends where do you do it, e.g. on a treadmill or outdoor. I had no problem with my knees when I spent 40-60mins on a treadmill 2-3 times a week... however when I did that in the park, I felt something on my knee- not exactly it was a painful feeling but i felt something. I won't be able to jog much now. but cycling i can do 20 to 50 km no problems.For cycling, my knees work fine...just it trains your leg power geng geng. Personally, I strongly recommend you to do warm-up & stretching before and after cycling/jogging. In the first place, got to take into consideration what is your age. If you are in the late 50s, the tendons and the cartilages are no more like when you were in your 20s or 30s, right? Muscles, tendons, and all has generally deteriorated and there's no point to do a continuous impact activity like jogging. Your knee joints undergo a continuous compression of about 3/4 of your body weight on each stride. Definitely this will cause me some damage. But with Cycling, my whole body weight is spread out, almost all the on saddle, some weight is put on the pedals, and just a bit on the handlebars (if crouched). And best of all, there is NO impact or compression! Lost about 4 kg over time. getting fitter. This post has been edited by budgee: Sep 26 2014, 10:24 AM |
Sep 26 2014, 10:24 AM
328 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Sep 26 2014, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Sep 26 2014, 10:22 AM) I AGREE. I actually dislike jogging but I enjoy sweating and I can run a lot faster when I'm stressed out lol so yea.QUOTE(budgee @ Sep 26 2014, 10:23 AM) I won't be able to jog much now. but cycling i can do 20 to 50 km no problems. I'm in my late 20s In the first place, got to take into consideration what is your age. If you are in the late 50s, the tendons and the cartilages are no more like when you were in your 20s or 30s, right? Muscles, tendons, and all has generally deteriorated and there's no point to do a continuous impact activity like jogging. Your knee joints undergo a continuous compression of about 3/4 of your body weight on each stride. Definitely this will cause me some damage. But with Cycling, my whole body weight is spread out, almost all the on saddle, some weight is put on the pedals, and just a bit on the handlebars (if crouched). And best of all, there is NO impact or compression! Lost about 4 kg over time. getting fitter. WAH lost 4kg and getting fitter! I practise yoga about twice a week...my hamstrings got a lot tighter even since I started cycling =/ |
Sep 26 2014, 10:31 AM
am moving towards late 50s .....
Sep 26 2014, 10:33 AM
Sep 26 2014, 10:43 AM
ya, love my foldable bikes... take them on the LRT, train, car. If can, take them on the airplane too in future or on boats to islands (perhentian, tioman, redang, langkawi)
go cycling whenever the opportunity arises. made sure I have the luggage options to be able to do shopping on biking trips.. Joined cycling groups with similar interests so that can have fun rides, it really is more fun in a group. |
Sep 26 2014, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(budgee @ Sep 26 2014, 10:43 AM) ya, love my foldable bikes... take them on the LRT, train, car. If can, take them on the airplane too in future or on boats to islands (perhentian, tioman, redang, langkawi) On boats to islands! great idea go cycling whenever the opportunity arises. made sure I have the luggage options to be able to do shopping on biking trips.. Joined cycling groups with similar interests so that can have fun rides, it really is more fun in a group. |
Sep 26 2014, 11:24 AM
uh... there isnt much place to cycle on islands though... u get plenty of sand so if u want some good workout, running on sand does it. or swim in the sea.
ok maybe you can think of cycling in Langkawi! This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Sep 26 2014, 11:43 AM |
Sep 26 2014, 12:05 PM
Recently there was a cycling trip organised to go by train from KL to Pulau Ketam. The group just cycle round the island, look for great seafood and enjoy the view.. the locals are intrigued with the foldables..
And Pangkor would be good too, the roads go round the island, there's the main town, can look for dried preserved foodstuff .. Same for Langkawi got many tourist spots for stopover, food stalls, Underwater World.. My foldable is not for workout actually. It's an almost "free" transportation vehicle (parking fees, petrol = zero) for exploration trips to go makan angin, cari makan makanan, see places never seen before or that you cannot visit in a car. The fitness and muscle toning comes in only as a side benefit but it is not my main objective. Having fun rides and exploration rides for great food and scenery is. And that means slow, easy riding style. I won't want to time myself or race or pump myself out. That's for youngsters on road bikies or carbon bikies in full lycra, checking out how many km they do in what kind of seconds ... and how many gears you have vs mine... what my bike has is std stuff, no need modify anything unless necessary. For me, I just have cargo short pants, a dri-fit Tshirt... some gel gloves to prevent harshness or wrist joint pain, a gel saddle for longer butt tolerance.., sunblock, put a music speaker with iphone on the handlebars and you're set.. There are more and more cycling rides coming up for scenery/great food.... explore Klang, Sekinchan, Kuala Selangor, Ulu Langat, Ampang. |
Sep 26 2014, 02:17 PM
Sep 26 2014, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 26 2014, 02:17 PM) won't post here... it's too cumbersome and too slow.. go on to facebook, just make a request to join the cycling groups: Happy Cycling, critical mass, my brompton commuter, malaysian foldies, cfal selangor, malaysian bicycle touring network main one is happy cycling in this upper and lower case: "haPpY Cycling" This post has been edited by budgee: Sep 26 2014, 03:03 PM |
Sep 26 2014, 03:10 PM
598 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
is this at genting sempah??
http://www.hmetro.com.my/articles/Lelakita...rticle?mutakhir http://www.therakyatpost.com/news/2014/09/...y-found-gombak/ This post has been edited by H2D: Sep 26 2014, 03:16 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0345sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:42 PM |