182 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!

jeisern
post Mar 6 2014, 10:39 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(ipodunlimited @ Mar 6 2014, 10:34 PM)
thumbup.gif
love your fatboy bike in the background. where do you normally ride your mtb?
Tq, last i rode it was on OCBC 2014, i got it a few days before the event.

Now i usually ride approximately 18 to 30 ++ km on road.

I just sold my primary MTB to get this foldie....

Dun have the balls to test it on off road and too sayang..... blink.gif

No longer young.....prefer to ride on road with mtb and sweat....doesn't need to be off road....much to old for the adrenaline tracks....
jeisern
post Mar 6 2014, 10:56 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Mar 6 2014, 10:39 PM)
more interested to know how does the snow tyres perform on the road....  biggrin.gif
Bro....once you ride a fat bike, you'd know what i mean, you'd be grinning from ear to ear

Of course, the sound as well when going downhill.....wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
H2D
post Mar 6 2014, 11:09 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(jeisern @ Mar 6 2014, 10:56 PM)
Bro....once you ride a fat bike, you'd know what i mean, you'd be grinning from ear to ear

Of course, the sound as well when going downhill.....wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
it will be great for exercising rclxms.gif

tho i hvn't ridden a fat bike..

i still prefer skinny high pressure tyre for road. biggrin.gif
jeisern
post Mar 6 2014, 11:21 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Mar 6 2014, 11:09 PM)
it will be great for exercising  rclxms.gif

tho i hvn't  ridden a fat bike..

i still prefer skinny high pressure tyre for road.  biggrin.gif
Well I have a racelite 904 I used to finish CFAL & Shimano Lekas Highway Challenge so they are two completely different experiences..... smile.gif

I love cruising with the fat bike..... Its like a vw beetle inciting smiles & yeah extra exercise

This post has been edited by jeisern: Mar 6 2014, 11:22 PM
SonnyCooL
post Mar 6 2014, 11:45 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Mar 5 2014, 11:08 AM)
Pay attention to the folding joint punya lock mechanism. that rod seems easy to bent.
QUOTE(terminator2 @ Mar 5 2014, 11:48 AM)
U mean the one at middle of the bike or front trye one?

Thx
it brake too ....... btw this is imitation montague aka hummer la
terminator2
post Mar 7 2014, 08:06 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Mar 6 2014, 11:45 PM)
it brake too ....... btw this is imitation montague aka hummer la
so what is ur advice to avoid breaking ??

shall i minimize the folding thing and keep it full expanded??

tq
H2D
post Mar 7 2014, 08:15 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(terminator2 @ Mar 7 2014, 08:06 AM)
so what is ur advice to avoid breaking ??

shall i minimize the folding thing and keep it full expanded??

tq
U can see frm d pix its d weld seam thts broken. Tht bike most probly hv been ridden hard on trails..
H2D
post Mar 7 2014, 08:17 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 6 2014, 09:34 PM)
They do have bigger 451 tires with more treads. Although choice is limited, they do have. If you ever want to change from a 451 to a 406 wheelset, let me know. I will be glad to change it with you. I have an unused 406 wheelset.  tongue.gif  I am looking for a 451 wheelset for my Dash anyway.
Tell us bout d a bike rclxms.gif
terminator2
post Mar 7 2014, 08:36 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Mar 7 2014, 08:15 AM)
U can see frm d pix its d weld seam thts broken. Tht bike most probly hv been ridden hard on trails..
so from this thing i understand that folding bike just for paved streets

not for hardcore mountain stuff

right ???
etigge
post Mar 7 2014, 09:02 AM

295 posts

Anybody here bought a Dahon Vigor and modding to Shimano 105 groupset? rclxms.gif
H2D
post Mar 7 2014, 09:35 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(terminator2 @ Mar 7 2014, 08:36 AM)
so from this thing i understand that folding bike just for paved streets

not for hardcore mountain stuff

right ???
Not really, it depends on d bike Q, level of abuse, riders weight etc...
jeisern
post Mar 7 2014, 10:31 AM

589 posts

Yay....the Empress loves the colour of the KHS F20, now....time to get one Wee Ride Pedal Pilot and i am ready for family outing

Anyone else around Klang + Setia Alam area, do let me know if u are looking for mates to cycle with.

We have regular Wed and Thurs night rides.... smile.gif
kcwo
post Mar 7 2014, 10:49 AM

93 posts

Last week I bought my KHS foldies for flat tyre repair at shop. The shop owner said my stock wheelset is a cheap one. He recommend me to upgrade. After upgrade the wheelset will have better sound during rotation.
I would like to check here anybody upgrade their stock wheelset? What other advantage?
1. Sound
2. smoother bearing - less power loss
3. Faster spinning
4. Rim is more center?? My stock spinning wild a bit even after truing.
5. Etc...

zeliustitan
post Mar 7 2014, 10:59 AM

466 posts

We are doing every Thursday Night Ride in KL.

Usually will ride to Dataran Merdeka, Pavillion, Bukit Bintang, KLCC, Kampung Baru, Petaling Street, Lowyat, Bukit Bintang, Jalan Alor, Jalan Sultan Ismail.

Sometimes, we will ride to somewhere unusual like Brickfields, Batu Caves, Kepong, etc.

Foldie, MTB, RoadBike, Strida, Flamingo, ebike also can join. lol.
cheeshyan94
post Mar 7 2014, 11:15 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 7 2014, 09:02 AM)
Anybody here bought a Dahon Vigor and modding to Shimano 105 groupset?  rclxms.gif
my next upgrade brows.gif
terminator2
post Mar 7 2014, 11:29 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Mar 7 2014, 09:35 AM)
Not really, it depends on d bike Q, level of abuse, riders weight etc...
Hi

Level q. ( what do u mean by this?

Level abuse: nah iam quite gentle with my gf ( I mean bike) lol

My weight 80 kg

Bike is hummer 26 inch 21 speed

What do u think?

H2D
post Mar 7 2014, 12:09 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(terminator2 @ Mar 7 2014, 11:29 AM)
Hi

Level q.  ( what do u mean by this?

Level abuse:  nah iam quite gentle with my gf ( I mean bike) lol

My weight 80 kg

What do u think?
Built quality of the bike.

Anyway no nid to worry, as long as d bike don't get impact like doing jumps, shud b fine lor, go for low or no impact off road riding.
etigge
post Mar 7 2014, 12:23 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(kcwo @ Mar 7 2014, 10:49 AM)
Last week I bought my KHS foldies for flat tyre repair at shop. The shop owner said my stock wheelset is a cheap one. He recommend me to upgrade. After upgrade the wheelset will have better sound during rotation.
I would like to check here anybody upgrade their stock wheelset? What other advantage?
1. Sound
2. smoother bearing - less power loss
3. Faster spinning
4. Rim is more center?? My stock spinning wild a bit even after truing.
5. Etc...

So, what wheelset did the shop keeper recommended? How much ?

Some like the ratcheting sound of the hub, some don't but it is not in any way better.

As for no.2, check if yours is a seal bearing hub, if it is, no point changing but then again, Shimano have never used seal bearings right from their low end till the XTRs and Dura Aces and they are performing well. Reason is, easier to actually service and maintain more regularly. But on the same note, I think KHS wheelsets uses 32 holes hub (pls check) and if it is, I think it is easier to just change hubs as 32 holes are common and you can buy mountain bike or road bike hubs so easily here.

PS/ Also KHS uses the standard 100mm front hubs. So much cheaper if just get a used seal bearing hub from BBs and relace the rims.

Faster spinning depends mainly on your legs and also the condition of your hubs.

Rim dishing (centering) is the adjustments of the spokes and not the design of the rims or hubs. It's spinning wild means it is badly trued or else your rims 'bengkok' already!

Etc.etc. too tongue.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Mar 7 2014, 12:47 PM
SonnyCooL
post Mar 7 2014, 12:49 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(terminator2 @ Mar 7 2014, 11:29 AM)
Hi

Level q.  ( what do u mean by this?

Level abuse:  nah iam quite gentle with my gf ( I mean bike) lol

My weight 80 kg

What do u think?
pool quality fork (happen in penang), no worry this thing will happen in any bike as long you meet idiot bike shop, they sell u broken item and hiding the fact ....
i kena from penang bike shop, i paid premium and get broken part (fork), worst the part is going to brake to pieces and cause accident (which happen) in very short time frame ....

the shop claim he is probike shop ....
kcwo
post Mar 7 2014, 01:47 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 7 2014, 12:23 PM)
So, what wheelset did the shop keeper recommended? How much ?

Some like the ratcheting sound of the hub, some don't but it is not  in any way better.

As for no.2, check if yours is a seal bearing hub, if it is, no point changing but then again, Shimano have never used seal bearings right from their low end till the XTRs and Dura Aces and they are performing well. Reason is, easier to actually service and maintain more regularly. But on the same note, I think KHS wheelsets uses 32 holes hub (pls check) and if it is, I think it is easier to just change hubs as 32 holes are common and you can buy mountain bike  or road bike hubs so easily here.

PS/ Also KHS uses the standard 100mm front hubs. So much cheaper if just get a used seal bearing hub from BBs and relace the rims.

Faster spinning depends mainly on your legs and also the condition of your hubs.

Rim dishing (centering) is the adjustments of the spokes and not the design of the rims or hubs. It's spinning wild means it is badly trued or else your rims 'bengkok' already!

Etc.etc. too  tongue.gif
Thanks for the advice, sifu etigge. So, they is no point to change wheelset unless my rim is bengkok. Just change the hub bearing if not smooth. So, how is your mini velo? Ride quality?

182 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:39 PM