Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!

outdoorxplorer
post Aug 11 2014, 11:33 AM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
2,028 posts

QUOTE(Huey_nee @ Aug 11 2014, 11:25 AM)
Reporting in from Perlis...

Did a 55km to Kaki Bukit/Gua Kelam two weekends ago, a 20km on Saturday and 27km on Sunday biggrin.gif I love my bike
rclxms.gif Keep it up.
iluv2zzz
post Aug 11 2014, 11:36 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

any group rides going on?
iluv2zzz
post Aug 11 2014, 11:38 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(wke002 @ Aug 11 2014, 08:47 AM)
Morning Sifu's, am into MTB and now my wife and kids are keen to join. targeting either new Trinx or used Dahon/java bike.

yesterday was at a shop and would like to seek sifu's advice on foldies as could not understand a couple of things.

1. Are the market foldies have the same size, size refer to from seatpost to handlebar distant
2. my daughter height 4 ft, 3 inch, is there shorter seatpost for sale.
3. are there any readily available front steerer which can purchase at shorter length (to fit my daughter height).

Tks in advance for enlightment.
1. no, i hv tried a few model and most do not have same distant
2&3 i dunno rclxub.gif

ur best bet might be bring your daughter for a ride test.
H2D
post Aug 11 2014, 10:23 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(wke002 @ Aug 11 2014, 08:47 AM)
1. Are the market foldies have the same size, size refer to from seatpost to handlebar distant
2. my daughter height 4 ft, 3 inch, is there shorter seatpost for sale.
3. are there any readily available front steerer which can purchase at shorter length (to fit my daughter height).

Tks in advance for enlightment.
size is the same for the same models,

most foldies are made for adult, so the effective handle bar to seat post distance is long, 52cm or more...
some are shorter, so u need to measure or let ur daughter sit to test.

most foldies seat lowered to min are very short already.

16in or 14in will be lower...

handle post on 16in , 14in foldie are shorter than 20in.

shorter handle post is available (taobao) but it is made to fit dahon replica bikes, ( dahon compatible).

best is, get a used kids bike for her, later she grew.. get a foldie...

below is an example, how u can mod to increase or reduce the handle distance to the rider...

This post has been edited by H2D: Aug 11 2014, 10:28 PM
H2D
post Aug 11 2014, 10:30 PM

598 posts

sup up JDM visc p20 to p22... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Aug 11 2014, 10:38 PM
tulufun
post Aug 12 2014, 07:04 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 11 2014, 10:30 PM)
sup up JDM visc p20 to p22...  biggrin.gif

Nice
wke002
post Aug 12 2014, 08:22 AM

116 posts

[quote=H2D,Aug 11 2014, 10:23 PM]

most foldies are made for adult, so the effective handle bar to seat post distance is long, 52cm or more...

shorter handle post is available (taobao) but it is made to fit dahon replica bikes, ( dahon compatible).

below is an example, how u can mod to increase or reduce the handle distance to the rider...

thanks H2D... yesterday brought her to another shop to look at foldies..... guess her size is not ready for foldies as yet, perhaps another year..... as you suggest, will get her a used kids bike instead.
myak9
post Aug 12 2014, 10:47 AM

[quote=wke002,Aug 12 2014, 08:22 AM]
[quote=H2D,Aug 11 2014, 10:23 PM]

thanks H2D... yesterday brought her to another shop to look at foldies..... guess her size is not ready for foldies as yet, perhaps another year..... as you suggest, will get her a used kids bike instead.

[/quote]

can try java x1.. 14"..smaller in size..
my nieces have 1.. she is about the hight of your kid..

suntzulee
post Aug 12 2014, 10:55 AM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

Hi all,

I'm new in foldie...i took whole day yesterday and today to finish reading the whole thread. I want to get myself for a start and i never ride a foldie before. I do not mean to race or run fast. maybe just to keep fit and stay healthy. So far i saw RM299 selling in hypermarket some unknown brand and chronus from living social site.

Chronus garion is it a good brand for a starter like me? price is only 3xx and very tempting. Other brand like raleigh sold at 7xx and not to mention few thousand with big name like Dahon.... rclxub.gif

Do you think for a start, i should get a cheap one to test the water...when starting pro already, then upgrade? hmm.gif

btw, is there any foldie group who is active in kota damansara? But pls not those who look down on a 3xx foldie la... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by suntzulee: Aug 12 2014, 10:57 AM
Zelmel
post Aug 12 2014, 12:19 PM

495 posts

Hi everyone, new foldie reporting in. Wanna to say hi to everyone.

Hi suntzelee, as a new foldie rider, i recommend you get the Garion Alloy which is about RM5xx if you are looking at CronusMy shop. Or going to Ampang United Angel to look for reasonable price bike. Just my own opinion, PJ shop bike price is over my current dompet limit. Hehe

The RM299, i think u saw in Tesco? Those are steel built foldie, u will feel the different if u lift up a steel foldie and a alloy foldie. Not to mention the part may use some unknown brand or cheap part.

BTW i bought a TRS foldable form United Angel Kajang. Initially also looking for those RM299 and 399 in his shop. But after trying then i knew sometime higher price really make different. Mine is RM499. Different in RM100, but built quality, shimano gear, lighter alloy body is soemthing i willing to pay more for that.

Still those RM700 ++ and above, and those with more gear (mine only 7 speed) are more enjoyable to ride. I just need a starter bike to ride, whose know maybe i will upgrade in future if i feel 7-speed is not fun anymore.
Mine TRS is upgradable BTW. According to the shop owner i can change my gear to better one in future. like 16-speed or 24-speed. 7-speed is good for flat terrain (place like putrajaya/ taman near your house), but it is tiring when i cycle at taman botani shah alam.

This post has been edited by Zelmel: Aug 12 2014, 03:25 PM
Zelmel
post Aug 12 2014, 12:28 PM

495 posts

Hi everyone,

I have a question to ask. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

I would like to get a helmet for myself.
But my head is big, so far survey cant find the one fit my helmet.
My head circumference is 62-63.
And i want to get cheaper helmet (maybe <100), any suggestion.
One of the shop boss tell me, you have a wide head. tongue.gif tongue.gif
suntzulee
post Aug 12 2014, 12:55 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Aug 12 2014, 12:19 PM)

Hi suntzelee, as a new foldie rider, i recommend you get the Garion Alloy which is about RM5xx if you are looking at CronusMy shop. Or going to Ampang United Angel to look for reasonable price bike. Just my own opinion, PJ shop bike price is over my current dompet limit. Hehe

The RM299, i think u saw in Tesco? Those are steel built foldie, u will feel the different if u lift up a steel foldie and a alloy foldie. Not to mention the part may use some unknown brand or cheap part.

BTW i bought a TRS foldable form United Angel Ampang. Initially also looking for those RM299 and 399 in his shop. But after trying then i knew sometime higher price really make different. Mine is RM499. Different in RM100, but built quality, shimano gear, lighter alloy body is soemthing i willing to pay more for that.

Still those RM700 ++ and above, and those with more gear (mine only 7 speed) are more enjoyable to ride. I just need a starter bike to ride, whose know maybe i will upgrade in future if i feel 7-speed is not fun anymore.
Mine TRS is upgradable BTW. According to the shop owner i can change my gear to better one in future. like 16-speed or 24-speed. 7-speed is good for flat terrain (place like putrajaya/ taman near your house), but it is tiring when i cycle at taman botani shah alam.
Hi Zelmel, good to know i'm not alone here. Well thanks for giving me valuable tips here. Yeah, i was contemplating between alloy and steel frame. can give me more info or link to your current bike? how heavy is TRS? The chronus garion stell is 14.45kg. If you can share some picture about your bike would be great. Hmm...499 for alloy frame is great buy.

Btw can i ask what's the different between alloy frame and aluminium frame? Thanks bro. If we stay nearby, sure i want to invite you to form a foldie group for newbies...haha, just to get more buddy to kick start my new found hobby.... icon_rolleyes.gif
Zelmel
post Aug 12 2014, 01:08 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Aug 12 2014, 12:55 PM)
Hi Zelmel, good to know i'm not alone here. Well thanks for giving me valuable tips here. Yeah, i was contemplating between alloy and steel frame. can give me more info or link to your current bike? how heavy is  TRS? The chronus garion stell is 14.45kg. If you can share some picture about your bike would be great. Hmm...499 for alloy frame is great buy.

Btw can i ask what's the different between alloy frame and aluminium frame? Thanks bro. If we stay nearby, sure i want to invite you to form a foldie group for newbies...haha, just to get more buddy to kick start my new found hobby.... icon_rolleyes.gif
I am not sure my bike will have link or not. You can look for United Angel in FB. My foldie model is TRS TXC-9.
Steel frame = ~14-16kg
Alloy = depend it is full alloy or alloy frame but steel fork. My TRS is steel fork, about 11-12kg. Full alloy maybe lighter. Alloy = aluminium.
Derailuer = Shimano Tourney 7-Speed

My foldie is the light green one, the second one wub.gif wub.gif

They also have TRS-TXC-8 which is older version of TRS TXC-9 same alloy and RM399 (clearance stock, my wife bought the second last stock). This newer version had better joint, better lock and more sturdy than its older sibling.

This post has been edited by Zelmel: Aug 12 2014, 01:16 PM
numbertwo
post Aug 12 2014, 02:25 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Aug 12 2014, 12:19 PM)

*cut*
Hi, the FB of United Angel seems to show that they are in Kajang? Is the one in Ampang one of their branch?
Zelmel
post Aug 12 2014, 03:26 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Aug 12 2014, 02:25 PM)
Hi, the FB of United Angel seems to show that they are in Kajang?  Is the one in Ampang one of their branch?
Sorry, typo. My bad. Its should be Kajang. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Zelmel: Aug 12 2014, 03:27 PM
H2D
post Aug 12 2014, 04:35 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Aug 12 2014, 12:28 PM)
Hi everyone,

I have a question to ask. icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

I would like to get a helmet for myself.
But my head is big, so far survey cant find the one fit my helmet.
My head circumference is 62-63.
And i want to get cheaper helmet (maybe <100), any suggestion.
One of the shop boss tell me, you have a wide head.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
u might need XL size helmet.
since u have been to gan fler shop in kajang,
seems he don't have tht size.
he sells prowell RM89 which is considered cheap already.
prowell looks not bad,
other shop mebe got XL, but cheapest they sell is RM 100 - for prowell.

if kenot get size hv to taobao...

funny tht many matrempit can survive on apollo helmet..

cyclist 20+kmh up genting sempah need rm500 helmet...

This post has been edited by H2D: Aug 12 2014, 04:50 PM
H2D
post Aug 12 2014, 04:44 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Aug 12 2014, 10:55 AM)

Do you think for a start, i should get a cheap one to test the water...when starting pro already, then upgrade? hmm.gif

buy one tht u can afford.

tht is not too lousy, so u don't waste money.

if u buy cheapest like rm 300, after awhile u wana buy a better one,

the rm300 gone, sell used oso no wan wan, n sell as scrap metal?

so get one tht is ok ok n can use for a few years.. to get back ur money's worth,

if u visit the gan fler shop in kajang etc, as suggested u can see a lot of budget bike

till u dono which one to choose... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Aug 12 2014, 04:46 PM
blur_blue
post Aug 12 2014, 04:44 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Aug 12 2014, 10:55 AM)
Hi all,

I'm new in foldie...i took whole day yesterday and today to finish reading the whole thread. I want to get myself for a start and i never ride a foldie before. I do not mean to race or run fast. maybe just to keep fit and stay healthy. So far i saw RM299 selling in hypermarket some unknown brand and chronus from living social site.

Chronus garion is it a good brand for a starter like me? price is only 3xx and very tempting. Other brand like raleigh sold at 7xx and not to mention few thousand with big name like Dahon.... rclxub.gif

btw, is there any foldie group who is active in kota damansara? But pls not those who look down on a 3xx foldie la... tongue.gif
I bought my first foldie a couple of weeks back. Budget was originally set at RM850 and below and somehow ended up with a Dahon that's on promo.

Anyhow I stay around BU, maybe we can bike around sometime once you have gotten ur bike? biggrin.gif
suntzulee
post Aug 12 2014, 05:30 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Aug 12 2014, 01:08 PM)
I am not sure my bike will have link or not. You can look for United Angel in FB. My foldie model is TRS TXC-9.
Steel frame = ~14-16kg
Alloy = depend it is full alloy or alloy frame but steel fork. My TRS is steel fork, about 11-12kg. Full alloy maybe lighter. Alloy = aluminium.
Derailuer = Shimano Tourney 7-Speed

My foldie is the light green one, the second one wub.gif  wub.gif

They also have TRS-TXC-8 which is older version of TRS TXC-9 same alloy and RM399 (clearance stock, my wife bought the second last stock). This newer version had better joint, better lock and more sturdy than its older sibling.
oops...i got myself TXC-8. No wonder so cheap. i tot i got a good price. should have waited your reply and act. doh.gif Btw bro, is TXC-8 got many different compare with TXC-9? Is there mud guard and wrench provided when u first bought the foldie?

I called them but they said TXC-9 no more stock liao... cry.gif they said factory no more produce... rclxub.gif

omg...i discovered a 5cm long dent on my front wheel rim...got to go back again tomolo....sigh sad.gif

Tot to start my hobby this evening, seem got to cancel and return the bike to them...actually i requested them to give me a new set from the box, but they say need to fix and they give only ready set...is that true also? hmm.gif
suntzulee
post Aug 12 2014, 05:33 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 12 2014, 04:44 PM)
buy one tht u can afford.

tht is not too lousy, so u don't waste money.

if u buy cheapest like rm 300, after awhile u wana buy a better one,

the rm300 gone, sell used oso no wan wan, n sell as scrap metal?

so get one tht is ok ok n can use for a few years.. to get back ur money's worth,

if u visit the gan fler shop in kajang etc, as suggested u can see a lot of budget bike

till u dono which one to choose...  biggrin.gif
thanks for the head up. but i ended with TRS TXC-8. U think is a decent bike?

QUOTE(blur_blue @ Aug 12 2014, 04:44 PM)
I bought my first foldie a couple of weeks back. Budget was originally set at RM850 and below and somehow ended up with a Dahon that's on promo.

Anyhow I stay around BU, maybe we can bike around sometime once you have gotten ur bike?  biggrin.gif
sure, looking forward too...bought one today but got many issues after sale. Need to fix it before hitting the road...Wow, Dahon..is it PU8? how much wor?

182 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0337sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:16 PM