Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!

myak9
post Feb 20 2014, 12:45 AM

the best lighting are still those using normal battery..
I used 2 cateye on both my bike.. if halfway run out of power..can still buy at any 7/11 or mamak stalls..
I used to use those rechargeable creek lighting..but always forgot to charge..

ohh.. I strongly recommend install an air horn on your bike..very useful..
even my mtb I also installed 1..

This post has been edited by myak9: Feb 20 2014, 12:47 AM
myak9
post Feb 20 2014, 08:54 AM

any1 have problem using lowyat app to attach photo..
can't post anything..

myak9
post Feb 20 2014, 12:38 PM

QUOTE(Ghosthunter @ Feb 20 2014, 09:28 AM)
Thanks,
I forgot to mention that i have tested a VOLCANO Folding bike, 21  speed bike at Taman Melawati yesterday which was for Rm850.00,but since i never heard of VOLCANO bike before , i walked away , but i am still open to opinions, if anyone cares to share his/her experience on this.
many say the UGO seems better , i may spend slightly more to get a better  folding bike as i believe its money well invested , but i need experienced forum members help here in what may be a better bike and where i can get it at..my budget is 1.5K
Anyone , thanks... icon_question.gif
for 1.5k you can get a 2nd hand dahon speed p8..
there are a few for sale...

http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/226214/...-dahon-speed-p8

http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/216415/dahon-folding-bike
myak9
post Feb 20 2014, 06:51 PM

QUOTE(feralee @ Feb 20 2014, 04:00 PM)
How much is the air horn?
biologic air horn will cost you like RM120-RM140
I bought my wife 1 at penang RM120
myak9
post Feb 20 2014, 07:21 PM

I have 2 velo plush female saddle (1 used like 5 month.. and another like 4 rides)
and a wtb saddle for sale (taken out from my mu uno)..

selling couse I used back my MTB saddle for both my foldies..

any1 interested do pm me..( I am trying to upload the picture..will try photobucket if fail again..
)
myak9
post Feb 21 2014, 04:16 PM

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Feb 21 2014, 07:31 AM)
Why prefer mtb seats ah? They're thin, hardly any padding and hence, hard, no?

Anyway lemme know how much u selling the velo plush. Thinking to buy it for my wife.
I used Selle Royal Ellipse Athletic on my MTB.. biggrin.gif
and my wife wanted the Selle Royal Freedom Strengtex.. so have to shange for her looorrr... blush.gif

will pm you for the price..

ohh... where are you from.. I am penang..

myak9
post Feb 21 2014, 04:31 PM

QUOTE(ozzy79 @ Feb 21 2014, 10:45 AM)
Anyone here can comment on Dahon Boardwalk D8 vs Tern Link D8 vs Dahon Speed P8 vs Dahon Mu P8?

All 8-speed, though there are differences in price due to diff parts. Question is, are the "better" parts on the pricier models worth the extra diff in price?
you can look for the answer on V2..
as etigge has gone through the vs on those bikes..

This post has been edited by myak9: Feb 21 2014, 05:45 PM
myak9
post Feb 22 2014, 01:06 AM

QUOTE(2kia @ Feb 21 2014, 11:20 PM)
been a while guys! looks like the LYN foldie community is getting stronger! thumbup.gif

anyway i've been wanting to get a more comfy saddle, currently riding on the stock dahon d7 saddle

budget +-rm150, n not gonna wear any padded cycling pants tongue.gif
I have some saddle to let go.. do pm me...
I am from penang..

myak9
post Feb 22 2014, 09:52 AM

my wife 16" kukuxumusu and the saddle that I am letting go..
if you want the saddle..just contact etigge..as he is in penang now..

I am letting the saddle go for free if you contribute to the following charity body..(RM50.00)
just donate and you can have my saddle.. tongue.gif

http://www.makna.org.my/donate.asp

Ohhh..the donation slip can be used for your personal tax relief... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by myak9: Feb 22 2014, 10:05 AM
myak9
post Feb 22 2014, 10:17 AM

QUOTE(2kia @ Feb 22 2014, 10:12 AM)
kk I want ur kuku punya saddle!!

so I'll just contact etigge? n donate to the charity above n its mine? rclxm9.gif
yep...

bro...I though that you are from penang...no...???
myak9
post Feb 22 2014, 04:57 PM

QUOTE(rkhairulrijal @ Feb 22 2014, 04:17 PM)
I went to 2 bike shop in Penang near Sunrise/sunshine bayan baru. They told me Dahon Speed p8 cannot mod. its RD and FD true ah?
etigge mod his speed p8..can refer back V2..

if mod need to change rd + hanger..fd + adaptor..shifter..
fsa crank can add another chain ring..

another cheep way to mod if you need more speed..
change the gear cassette to 9 speed road bike..

as for me..I ride to be healthy..
sooo..I need to cycle 60-70 rpm to sweat..

ohh.. my ride is single speed...mu uno..
going up farlim cemetery road no issue..only die when go Itam dam..

This post has been edited by myak9: Feb 22 2014, 05:04 PM
myak9
post Mar 6 2014, 05:40 PM

QUOTE(jeisern @ Mar 6 2014, 02:43 PM)
Guys,

I am new to the folding scene and i read through some of the notes in V2 and now V3.

I am on the big size and weigh 105 kg, i have used my bro's Dahon in the ride of silence with no issues.

Now i plan to get one my self for "mostly" the same reason some of you have.

1. Portability
2. Ease of use
3. For the wife to use but, since i am buying i get to pick tongue.gif
4. Itchy just to get one

I have narrowed down to the following :

1. Java Fit 22" 16S-D (From GW Cycle Boutique)
2. Java Mini Velo (https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=591425014239724&set=a.591424960906396.1073741829.591173320931560&type=1&theater_

My question is, is there any guys here in Lowyat with my weight riding the above mentioned selection ?

I am looking at budget of around RM 2400.00

Seeking advice from some of the experts in this forum.
hihi.. thumbup.gif

I am about your weight..floating between 95-100kg..
I am riding a dahon now..dahon mu uno..single speed foldie..
I bought the dahon as it's the only bike that stated riders max weight..105kg..
if you have ridden dahon before.. you should know the quality of the bike..
if your budget for 1 bike around 2400..you could get pretty most of the mid/high of dahon..

namely..
dahon speed p8..

dahon mu p8
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/193106/mu-p8

dahon Vybe C7A
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/202332/dr-hon-vybe-c7a

Dahon Boardwalk D8
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/238220/dahon-boardwalk-d8
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/193105/broadwalk-d8

DAHON VIGOR P9
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/231976/dahon-vigor-p9

DAHON VISC P18
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/231977/dahon-visc-p18

Dahon Eco
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/181374/...e-free-delivery
myak9
post Mar 6 2014, 05:41 PM

QUOTE(jeisern @ Mar 6 2014, 02:43 PM)
Guys,

I am new to the folding scene and i read through some of the notes in V2 and now V3.

I am on the big size and weigh 105 kg, i have used my bro's Dahon in the ride of silence with no issues.

Now i plan to get one my self for "mostly" the same reason some of you have.

1. Portability
2. Ease of use
3. For the wife to use but, since i am buying i get to pick tongue.gif
4. Itchy just to get one

I have narrowed down to the following :

1. Java Fit 22" 16S-D (From GW Cycle Boutique)
2. Java Mini Velo (https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=591425014239724&set=a.591424960906396.1073741829.591173320931560&type=1&theater_

My question is, is there any guys here in Lowyat with my weight riding the above mentioned selection ?

I am looking at budget of around RM 2400.00

Seeking advice from some of the experts in this forum.
hihi.. thumbup.gif

I am about your weight..floating between 95-100kg..
I am riding a dahon now..dahon mu uno..single speed foldie..
I bought the dahon as it's the only bike that stated riders max weight..105kg..
if you have ridden dahon before.. you should know the quality of the bike..
if your budget for 1 bike around 2400..you could get pretty most of the mid/high of dahon..

namely..
dahon speed p8..

dahon mu p8
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/193106/mu-p8

dahon Vybe C7A
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/202332/dr-hon-vybe-c7a

Dahon Boardwalk D8
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/238220/dahon-boardwalk-d8
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/193105/broadwalk-d8

DAHON VIGOR P9
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/231976/dahon-vigor-p9

DAHON VISC P18
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/231977/dahon-visc-p18

Dahon Eco
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/181374/...e-free-delivery
myak9
post Mar 10 2014, 03:47 PM

QUOTE(sepat @ Mar 10 2014, 12:48 PM)
that's very informative indeed ..thanks etigge  rclxms.gif ... i thought every models are standard in every countries..  laugh.gif .. every now and then i am in love with this bike ... thought a bit too old to ride it but the first time i paddled the bike made me recalled my childhood time ..

yup etigge ... i was hunting for tern link D8 actually and all of sudden i saw this p9 at their showroom.. love at the first sight.. wub.gif  so i poison my wife kaw2 for the D8 which she was thinking something cheaper (dahon basic range single  speed .. forgot the model) ..she felt that it was a waste to buy such expensive bike until she ride it .. and now she cant stop laughing with the fun of having the bike at the first place..  thumbup.gif
if it's dahon single speed..
than it will be dahon mu uno..
it's a coaster brake bike..
I have 1.. very fun to ride.. icon_rolleyes.gif
the riding experience is totally difference as you need to back paddle to stop the bike..
you will learn to skid brake..
only 1 thing though..
I am too used to back paddle now..
I crash my MTB during my sunday ride.. blush.gif

myak9
post Mar 11 2014, 12:59 PM

QUOTE(sepat @ Mar 10 2014, 05:03 PM)
back paddle to stop the bike? was that going to spoil your cassette? ..

btw, any broken parts on your mtb? hopefully everything is intact (i guess i dont need to ask your condition first  thumbup.gif ...
It's a coaster brake hub..where you have to back paddle to lock the hub and brake..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tch8ZeaDyVw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q2yzNK2dOp0

This post has been edited by myak9: Mar 11 2014, 01:02 PM
myak9
post Mar 14 2014, 07:40 PM

QUOTE(sepat @ Mar 14 2014, 07:12 PM)
i get the idea..  i thought that as well since my ride most of the time will be on flat road .. having said that .. speed is something i need to consider too.. well.. i am quite new in this hobby but appreciate your explaining then ..

anyway upgrading crank set  will increase the speed to how many % from the current anyway? just upgrade the crank  and the rest maintain in oem condition will do? correct me..

blink.gif
if I am not mistaking.. you are riding a Dahon Vigor P9..
the front crank is already 52T..
if you want more speed.. you can change the rear gear set to road..
then come again.. why do you need to cycle sooo fast..
as we al know.. foldies are meant to makan..makan..and jalan..jalan..
as for fitness sake.. like me..
I choose single speed so that I can cycle more faster if I need speed..this will make my heart pump faster..
if I need to climb (only on moderate slope ) I just have to train harder so that I dun have to push my bike and been tease by my friends..
if I really need speed.. I will ride my MTB with sora cassette..
during my school days..me and my friends used to cycle round Penang Island with only 12speed racer.. for me if I can do it then..I think I still can do it if I train hard..
myak9
post Apr 11 2014, 04:19 PM

QUOTE(mbax @ Apr 10 2014, 02:49 PM)
here in bolehland we got MU Uno.. price a bit over rm2k .. calling [email=myak9]myak9[/email] for help he have one.
???..
wait..wait..
just came back from china biz trip..was there for 3 weeks...
let me read tthrough few post 1st...

myak9
post Apr 11 2014, 04:24 PM

QUOTE(Kokomin @ Apr 9 2014, 08:01 PM)
I am interested in the Dahon Speed Uno. Foldie fans in the US claimed this bike is the ultimate minimalist bike. I cannot find any discussion of this bike in any local online forum. One dealer in Dahon bikes claimed it is not available to the Malaysian market. Price at Amazon.com is USD399. Any info from anyone here?
I dun think there are any speed uno here in malaysia.. but there are a few 2012 mu uno here..

http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/218527/...folding-bicycle
myak9
post Apr 11 2014, 11:08 PM

QUOTE(Kokomin @ Apr 11 2014, 05:49 PM)
Is the Dahon Speed Uno available in Singapore?
they have.. but very expansive..about 700-800 new..

for mu uno..

http://www.togoparts.com/marketplace/ad_de....php?aid=645392
http://www.togoparts.com/marketplace/ad_de....php?aid=681978

dun change to sram A2 32 hole..
you will regret..

This post has been edited by myak9: Apr 11 2014, 11:11 PM
myak9
post Apr 13 2014, 11:14 PM

QUOTE(Kokomin @ Apr 13 2014, 05:25 PM)
Dahon or Tern chromoly bikes from rm1000 - rm5000,  is there  a big difference in the frame? Or is the price difference mostly  the components? Frame only, which is the best frame, value for money, between these price point? I know this is almost impossible to answer. But I don't mind some kedai kopi discussion. Hehe
to those of you who are interested in coaster hub bike..
do learn and think carefully about coaster brake hub..
it's totally different cycling experiences from normal or single speed bike..
it's more like fixie..
fun and easy to maintain..the only cons will be if you stay on hilly area..

http://sheldonbrown.com/singlespeed.html

some do asked me why I like coaster brake bikes..as cons are more than pros..hey..I am a simple person and I dun like complicating things..even my MTB.. I also used 9 speed only..
if one day I regret or thinking of changing to a geared bike..I still can mod my bike..

you can convert a geared bike to coaster bike..just change the hub and get rid of all the shifter and cable..
coaster hub are easy to purchase via some local shop and online shop..a lot of Schwinn Cruiser used coaster brake hub.. you can scout from there.. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by myak9: Apr 13 2014, 11:24 PM

0.0554sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:40 PM