Android TV Box

BOTAK_WAI
post Jan 1 2017, 11:34 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,157 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Jan 1 2017, 10:41 PM)
Some buys bcos they are unfamiliar, did not bother to research or perhaps wants an easier way to perhaps consistent media entertainment option as opposed to current eg xtro. Seller who sells them also needs to earn some profit hence explains the price range. We all know its not as straight forward and there's time spent to install working apks and especially Kodi so new users can enjoy as much as possible.

I bought my 1st box from Nicety, paid abt RM400 for the Q16 Quad more than a couple of years ago. If you ask me, would i pay so much today now that i'm familiar with android box, i would say YES & NO. YES for a Himedia (Q10 Pro in the future) as i've good experience, proven reliability, support & want an upgrade for my primary use. NO, if its not for primary use/ as back up unit. 

Then again with the existence of such thread thumbup.gif, it provides avenue for newbies and existing users to share opinion, suggestions, solutions and new things abt android box in hope everyone will get their best experience out of their boxes
1. yea, those who have paid thousand for asteruk for years will think this kind of box very good for value.

2. can't agree more himedia good in quality thumbup.gif
fruitie
post Jan 1 2017, 11:49 PM

Rise and Shine
72,836 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 1 2017, 11:17 PM)
in our local context, it is understandable why that is the case.

"IPTV" usually refers to live tv for news, sports, tv shows, movies.

right now, there are only Astro and Hypptv.

(netflix and iflix are VOD iptv or video on demand, no live channels.)

and day in day out, people either complain the channels are either crap or too expensive.

desperate for alternatives. more so with shrinking purchasing power, need to cut expense.

so, result - illegit iptv doing its best to profit at time of purchase. no guarantee, no recourse.

it is similar to the days of pasar malam DVD with risk of "cinema copy" compared to genuine DVD's at RM30 a pc. 

we would hope one day we get a legit "complete" live and vod iptv service - all the popular int'l news, movies, tv shows... in many languages... with all kinds of subs... in hd... in dd5.1... all for RM50 a month. Now, that's asking a lot. laugh.gif

until then, we do our best to watch the best and most reliable we can find for free.

and we know many have been very successful, very satisfied. tongue.gif
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jan 1 2017, 11:34 PM)
1. yea, those who have paid thousand for asteruk for years will think this kind of box very good for value.

2. can't agree more himedia good in quality thumbup.gif
My parents do not know how to operate this stuff, no choice but forced to pay for Astro every month.
My box is only for my own usage in PJ. tongue.gif
jonn zee
post Jan 2 2017, 12:34 AM

602 posts

Rm599 can get Minix U1 + A2 lite combo and get some cash back d... And free for life...

That is also the Astro Box ppl said... Hahahhaaha.. easy money
tvcat
post Jan 2 2017, 04:30 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,918 posts

Anyone having problem with bilibili 4.32.0 on himedia Q16?
The video playback is so lag but the sound is ok

Update: solved the video problem by enable opensl in settings but the sound is out of sync a bit....

This post has been edited by tvcat: Jan 2 2017, 04:35 PM
pcboss00
post Jan 2 2017, 05:22 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 30 2016, 12:46 PM)
http://www.lazada.com.my/docooler-m9s-pro-...g-12523279.html
This one. Wow, price increased so much!! I bought on 12.12 for 202.65 after discount from actual price - 230.28. Plus, I have another 5% cash back from my credit card, so I paid less than RM 200.

Still got cheaper deal from other sellers: http://www.lazada.com.my/docooler-m9s-pro-...g-12472624.html and http://www.lazada.com.my/docooler-m9s-pro-...g-16684188.html
I think i will buy this one too. but dunno yet either 2gb/16gb or 3gb/32gb. hmm.gif
fruitie
post Jan 2 2017, 05:25 PM

Rise and Shine
72,836 posts

QUOTE(pcboss00 @ Jan 2 2017, 05:22 PM)
I think i will buy this one too. but  dunno yet either 2gb/16gb or 3gb/32gb.  hmm.gif
32GB, 3GB FTW. biggrin.gif
I'm going to use for years, so I buy a better spec. laugh.gif
tvcat
post Jan 2 2017, 06:46 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,918 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 1 2017, 11:49 PM)
My parents do not know how to operate this stuff, no choice but forced to pay for Astro every month.
My box is only for my own usage in PJ. tongue.gif
If ur parents just need live tv then it is very ez to operate
fruitie
post Jan 2 2017, 06:51 PM

Rise and Shine
72,836 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Jan 2 2017, 06:46 PM)
If ur parents just need live tv then it is very ez to operate
They took long time to learn to do self-troubleshooting when Astro is down without calling my siblings and I while we are working. laugh.gif
My dad has short temper, if he cannot watch then he will "jump". sweat.gif
My mum is slightly better when she knows how to use iPad and most of the electrical appliances at home. tongue.gif
plumberly
post Jan 2 2017, 06:53 PM

4,761 posts

I think i will buy this one too. but  dunno yet either 2gb/16gb or 3gb/32gb.  hmm.gif
From my H8 and Q5 experience, it is not just the 2 numbers. When comparing 2 models with about the same GB, need to find out how the vendor has split the partitions.

And of course, 3/32 is already 1 step ahead of 2/16 and I don't think they will split the 3/32 partitions to be worse than 2/16.

tvcat
post Jan 2 2017, 07:03 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,918 posts

I checked docooler website to look for the firmware download but it returned no result lol.
It is cheap but I won't buy anything without support
fruitie
post Jan 2 2017, 07:12 PM

Rise and Shine
72,836 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 2 2017, 06:53 PM)
From my H8 and Q5 experience, it is not just the 2 numbers. When comparing 2 models with about the same GB, need to find out how the vendor has split the partitions.

And of course, 3/32 is already 1 step ahead of 2/16 and I don't think they will split the 3/32 partitions to be worse than 2/16.
No split.

QUOTE(tvcat @ Jan 2 2017, 07:03 PM)
I checked docooler website to look for the firmware download but it returned no result lol.
Yes, nothing. laugh.gif
But the seller is not difficult to find, after all it's so cheap, even if it's gone after a while still worth for it. tongue.gif
I still have confidence in this box.

Wait, I think I found some results in Freaktab and XDA forum since it's using AmLogic.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Jan 2 2017, 07:19 PM
tvcat
post Jan 3 2017, 12:15 AM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,918 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 2 2017, 07:12 PM)
No split.
Yes, nothing. laugh.gif
But the seller is not difficult to find, after all it's so cheap, even if it's gone after a while still worth for it. tongue.gif
I still have confidence in this box.

Wait, I think I found some results in Freaktab and XDA forum since it's using AmLogic.
If the seller can fix the software problem or provide update then it's ok I think.
Ya I saw the thread on XDA too and there is no 3rd party firmware.
fruitie
post Jan 3 2017, 12:30 AM

Rise and Shine
72,836 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Jan 3 2017, 12:15 AM)
If the seller can fix the software problem or provide update then it's ok I think.
Ya I saw the thread on XDA too and there is no 3rd party firmware.
Yes, the seller is quite reputable. I think should be OK.
Tahan for few years please. cry.gif
voncrane
post Jan 3 2017, 01:03 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Jan 2 2017, 07:03 PM)
Same here... Specs alone does not cut it.. IMO, main criteria as follows;
*A global and highly stable firmware... Not region-locked.
*Proper support directly from the manufacturer.
*Adequate unofficial support from the global community... Safe root and unroot, custom kernels, ROMs, tweaks, etc.
*Current and future Kodi support.. Official recognition by the Kodi foundation. This is cuz I'm a heavy Kodi user.
*Solid build quality with the ability to properly dissipate heat. Running cool for hours.
*Well integrated hardware and software.
*Full support of common Video & HD Audio formats.. Hardware decoding, pass through, etc.

Only after the above boxes are checked, do I consider other issues such as budget, power consumption, logistics, UI, start/shutdown speeds, RAM management, etc.
JJKTP
post Jan 3 2017, 08:04 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 1 2017, 10:54 PM)
Actually I don't mind paying for stable IPTV but too many unreliable ones and no longer working after a while...
I share the same sentiment.
AVFAN
post Jan 3 2017, 09:43 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Jan 3 2017, 08:04 AM)
I share the same sentiment.
free ones come and go, die and get resurrected.

among the free ones, some are better than ones.

some breakdown every day; some stay good for 2-3 years.

i do not know if the payable ahem illegit ones are better.

the good ones are legit and payable - astro iptv, hypptv, netflix and iflix.

but there isn't one that majority are giving thumbs up in terms of price vis-a-vis live tv and vod content/quality.

to find, maintain and use the most reliable ones at acceptable quality, content and price is our quest. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 3 2017, 10:16 AM
fruitie
post Jan 3 2017, 05:44 PM

Rise and Shine
72,836 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 3 2017, 09:43 AM)
free ones come and go, die and get resurrected.

among the free ones, some are better than ones.

some breakdown every day; some stay good for 2-3 years.
i do not know if the payable ahem illegit ones are better.

the good ones are legit and payable - astro iptv, hypptv, netflix and iflix.

but there isn't one that majority are giving thumbs up in terms of price vis-a-vis live tv and vod content/quality.
to find, maintain and use the most reliable ones at acceptable quality, content and price is our quest. laugh.gif
Those free ones if can tahan 2 months I'm happy already. doh.gif
Quite tired actually to switch all the time. laugh.gif
Izanis
post Jan 3 2017, 07:10 PM

204 posts

http://www.lazada.com.my/android-60-octa-c...r-15840022.html

is this ok? thinking of buying new since my mxq805
fruitie
post Jan 3 2017, 07:16 PM

Rise and Shine
72,836 posts

QUOTE(Izanis @ Jan 3 2017, 07:10 PM)
http://www.lazada.com.my/android-60-octa-c...r-15840022.html

is this ok? thinking of buying new since my mxq805
Somehow people suggested 5.1 instead of 6.0, seems some apps can't work well with 6.0. My recent purchase was a 5.1 box though.
petox86
post Jan 3 2017, 11:34 PM

Hi guys,

Im looking for the best android box (for KODI purposes) for sale. Previously i only watch KODI via my PC. There are to many android box out there, dunno which one to buy. Budget below RM 500. Thank you in advance ya!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

248 Pages « < 206 207 208 209 210 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:07 AM