AVFAN
post Jul 16 2016, 12:16 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Jul 15 2016, 10:24 PM)
Am I reading correctly, it should comes with it? Should have 7.1
http://blog.allinmini.com/amlogic-s905x-ch...ifications.html
the specs mention nothing about dts, dd, etc.

but it mentions downmix, i.e. mix into stereo, lpcm 2.0.

it also mention it has a coaxial digital spdif output.

it should pass thru dts or dd if licensing was paid - this, u can only find out when u try.

i once had a rm180 media player which can pass thru dts and dd.

won't do dtshdma/ddtruehd for sure.
blurjoey
post Jul 16 2016, 11:48 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Jul 15 2016, 09:15 PM)
Fwar.....

Buying to placed it elsewhere or.....?
For my parents to use... They been complaining about Astro repeating the programs and nothing to watch, etc etc etc...

Sien... today saw in my email... About rm10 cheaper cry.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jul 17 2016, 03:56 PM
siauann
post Jul 18 2016, 04:57 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 13 2016, 02:00 PM)
i don't quite follow...

if minix, ps4, bluray, hypptv go into AVR, then u just do avr hdmi output to one of the tv hdmi inputs for video.

AVR->speakers will give u audio.

no need ARC.

ARC = Audio Return Channel.

ARC is for audio from TV to return to AVR, then to speakers, which you don't need.

ARC is useful for apps directly installed on smart TV or playback with TV usb port.
if this is the case, for my connection, if i plug in my device to tv i wont get sound coming out from my avr correct?

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 13 2016, 02:46 PM)
Correct me if wrong, it appears your AVR is the type capable of multiple HDMI inputs and at least on HDMI out? Means, it accepts video and audio connections, processes the signals, sends video off to the TV and audio off to the speakers... Delivered sound depends on source file and speaker configurations... If so, then leave as is.

As AVFAN explained... HDMI-ARC tech is mainly for routing audio from the TV (inbuilt) audio sources like USB playback, digital TV channels and TV apps (i.e. Netflix, Youtube, Hulu, etc) to say a connected AVR/Home Theater that supports the HDMI-ARC feature. Useful in cases where the Home Theater/AVR does not boast HDMI inputs.
yes. i have multiple hdmi inputs and one output for my avr.
AVFAN
post Jul 18 2016, 05:12 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Jul 18 2016, 04:57 PM)
if this is the case, for my connection, if i plug in my device to tv i wont get sound coming out from my avr correct?
audio output from a device can come from:

.. hdmi (carries video as well) - this is the preferred way for both audio and video, the best tech available today.
.. coaxial digital type rca
.. toslink digital
.. stereo l/r

1. the most straightforward case is device-hdmi-avr; avr-hdmi-tv for video; avr->speakers.

2. if u connect device-hdmi-tv, the tv gets all the video and audio. no avr involved.

3. if u connect device-hdmi-tv, and arc to avr, the audio returns to avr for processing->speakers.

4. can also connect device-hdmi-tv, device coaxial or toslink (or stereo l/r) to avr for digital sound (dd, dts but not hd audio which is only possible with hdmi cable).

4 is better than 3 becos tv arc would have processed/filtered the audio and tv audio capability is usually not good.

as explained, 3 is normally used only when u are using tv as source, not external device.

siauann
post Jul 18 2016, 05:16 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 18 2016, 05:12 PM)
audio output from a device can come from:

.. hdmi (carries video as well) - this is the preferred way for both audio and video, the best tech available today.
.. coaxial digital type rca
.. toslink digital
.. stereo l/r

1. the most straightforward case is device-hdmi-avr; avr-hdmi-tv for video; avr->speakers.

2. if u connect device-hdmi-tv, the tv gets all the video and audio. no avr involved.

3. if u connect device-hdmi-tv, and arc to avr, the audio returns to avr for processing->speakers.

4. can also connect device-hdmi-tv, device coaxial or toslink (or stereo l/r) to avr for digital sound (dd, dts but not hd audio which is only possible with hdmi cable).

4 is better than 3 becos tv arc would have processed/filtered the audio and tv audio capability is usually not good.

as explained, 3 is normally used only when u are using tv as source, not external device.
thanks a lot! simple and clear thumbup.gif
hardcoreangel
post Jul 19 2016, 02:52 PM

121 posts

Hi everyone, please help me. I am so new in this android box things. There is a seller who recommend me to use X2 and his price + iptv 1month =RM370 but after done some mini research, I found out that box only cost rm220 and some iptv seller roughly charge RM30~40 for iptv, when i asked him, he said he need to come to my house and install for me ,since i tell him i use TIME internet, he said TIME block iptv IP address and he know how to bypass it.is it true? please help.
jolipoli81
post Jul 19 2016, 03:07 PM

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

So I'm gonna be a little general right here.
I'm a Minix U1 user and I love that box, smooth and can fulfill my needs.

I have several places we rent out for homestays and guests often request for cable TV. The minix U1 can sometime be a little complicated especially to aunties and uncles.

Is there anything out there which is very simple to use like Astro-like and require minimum tweak to get it going?

I'm a bit tech savvy myself so updating firmward once awhile is no issue at all.
voncrane
post Jul 19 2016, 03:38 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(hardcoreangel @ Jul 19 2016, 02:52 PM)
Hi everyone, please help me. I am so new in this android box things. There is a seller who recommend me to use X2 and his price + iptv 1month =RM370 but after done some mini research, I found out that box only cost rm220 and some iptv seller roughly charge RM30~40 for iptv, when i asked him, he said he need to come to my house and install for me ,since i tell him i use TIME internet, he said TIME block iptv IP address and he know how to bypass it.is it true? please help.
That's a very fair amount to pay for someone to do all the work. If you are against such, then buy the box and DIY yourself... TIME does cost money (No pun intended).. Willing seller - Willing buyer model.

QUOTE(jolipoli81 @ Jul 19 2016, 03:07 PM)
So I'm gonna be a little general right here.
I'm a Minix U1 user and I love that box, smooth and can fulfill my needs.

I have several places we rent out for homestays and guests often request for cable TV. The minix U1 can sometime be a little complicated especially to aunties and uncles.

Is there anything out there which is very simple to use like Astro-like and require minimum tweak to get it going?

I'm a bit tech savvy myself so updating firmward once awhile is no issue at all.
There probably are.. You'd have to dig around a bit more by going to physical stores and comparing UI. The whole cord cutting concept generally involves hands on, especially where Android boxes are involved. Why? Cuz as you are familiar with, things change really fast and with zero control. Hence the likes of Astro & costs. There's always the cheaper Hypptv option if TM is available.

You could setup an app to auto-run upon boot up... See how that goes.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jul 19 2016, 03:39 PM
AVFAN
post Jul 19 2016, 04:17 PM

24,453 posts

if u do not how to go about the box, the price he is charging u is fair, about 370-220-40=rm110.

the bigger question is whether he will charge the same and if u r willing to pay if u need him to come again.

it is 100% sure the box will need some "service" once in a while - updates, replacement apps, cleanup, etc.

best to get him to show u as much as possible during installation and then u get yr hands on it.

all experienced users learn it from ground zero.
topeng perak
post Jul 19 2016, 04:25 PM

487 posts

I think the seller not being honest to u. I've used the iptv with TIME before and no additional bypass/setting required. You can bought the box and register the iptv seperately. But bear in mind the IPTV sometime not stable. Anytime can lag or some channel not available.
hardcoreangel
post Jul 19 2016, 04:54 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(topeng perak @ Jul 19 2016, 04:25 PM)
I think the seller not being honest to u. I've used the iptv with TIME before and no additional bypass/setting required. You can bought the box and register the iptv seperately. But bear in mind the IPTV sometime not stable. Anytime can lag or some channel not available.
Thanks for the explanation. I did ask my friend about this, he said there is no such thing on bypass the IP even if i use TIME. and the box itself quite expensive compare to market price.i know he willing to do the installation but when I think back,what he will do during the installation ? i mean, i can do it by myself but this seller keep insist to do it for me and give reason that "not everyone know how to setting this box".

I think to play safe, i'll buy the box by myself. Thinking to get Zidoo x1 @ rm240. any good ? and find the iptv seller somewhere.
topeng perak
post Jul 19 2016, 05:06 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(hardcoreangel @ Jul 19 2016, 04:54 PM)
Thanks for the explanation. I did ask my friend about this, he said  there is no such thing on bypass the IP even if i use TIME. and the box itself quite expensive compare to market price.i know he willing to do the installation but when I think back,what  he will do during the installation ? i mean, i can do it by myself but this seller keep insist to do it for me and give reason that "not everyone know how to setting this box".

I think to play safe, i'll buy the box by myself. Thinking to get Zidoo x1 @ rm240. any good ? and find the iptv seller somewhere.
With that budget can get better spec i guess . Maybe others can advice because i'm no pro about android box biggrin.gif .
MobyDick
post Jul 19 2016, 05:26 PM

731 posts

Does this mean Astro IPTV service can be hacked in & accessed if I'm using TIME internet drool.gif

voncrane
post Jul 19 2016, 06:34 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

Thanks for the explanation. I did ask my friend about this, he said  there is no such thing on bypass the IP even if i use TIME. and the box itself quite expensive compare to market price.i know he willing to do the installation but when I think back,what  he will do during the installation ? i mean, i can do it by myself but this seller keep insist to do it for me and give reason that "not everyone know how to setting this box".

Keywords spotted... However, since it appears your main interest is in iptv services.. Find a suitable service first and get a box within your budget that had/is confirmed to work with it.. To avoid incompatibility issues.

QUOTE(MobyDick @ Jul 19 2016, 05:26 PM)
Does this mean Astro IPTV service can be hacked in & accessed if I'm using TIME internet  drool.gif
Everything connected to the Internet can be "hacked"... Question is, can you? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jul 19 2016, 06:39 PM
GuyM
post Jul 19 2016, 07:14 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 16 2016, 11:48 AM)
For my parents to use... They been complaining about Astro repeating the programs and nothing to watch, etc etc etc...

Sien... today saw in my email... About rm10 cheaper cry.gif
Me too, paid few USD dollar higher....sien
GuyM
post Jul 19 2016, 07:48 PM

1,787 posts

The model is no way near the model posted above and yet even cheaper
nick__123
post Jul 20 2016, 01:17 AM

404 posts

Hi guys, i wanted to find a full hd media player.
I've used Acryan playon hd2 for years and enjoying it, after that upgraded to Veolo 4K. I'm disappointing to android box due to lack and slow. Most importantly KODI having problem to display unicode subtitle.

Any media box u guy recommend?
I'm connecting the box via gigaLAN to NAS(synology), Marantz AVR SR6010 which support DTS X and ATMOS.

thanks all
blurjoey
post Jul 20 2016, 10:19 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

My new toys arrived today from gearbest.com laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Going to setup tonight...

Mini m8s II

Box

Contents

Mini m8s II (Beelink miniMXIII is smaller)

UKB - 500 - RF Wireless keyboard

8Bitdo ZERO FC30 Bluetooth Gamepad (so tiny!)

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jul 20 2016, 11:15 AM
AVFAN
post Jul 20 2016, 10:29 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(nick__123 @ Jul 20 2016, 01:17 AM)
Hi guys, i wanted to find a full hd media player.
I've used Acryan playon hd2 for years and enjoying it, after that upgraded to Veolo 4K. I'm disappointing to android box due to lack and slow. Most importantly KODI having problem to display unicode subtitle.

Any media box u guy recommend?
I'm connecting the box via gigaLAN to NAS(synology), Marantz AVR SR6010 which support DTS X and ATMOS.

thanks all
acryan pohd is a very good media player, i have 2 of them, still in use after 6-7 years.
and yes, there are deficiencies in the sub decoders, probably due to firmware updates halted.

for pure playback, veolo 4k is marginally inferior to pohd, i believe, except for 4k capability.
becos it serves as an android box too, additional cost consideration, product positioning.
how slow is slow...? current android boxes aren't slow at all.

for your requirements incl dtsx/atmos, there aren't many choices.
will have to be the latest premium boxes.

can check himedia q10pro (w/hdd slot) and q5pro.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2807510
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2598907

can do 4k 60fps, 10 bit, HDR, dtsx, atmos, etc.
SUSXnet
post Jul 20 2016, 10:36 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 20 2016, 10:19 AM)
My new toys arrived today from gearbest.com laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Going to setup tonight...

Mini m8s II

Box

Contents

Mini m8s II (Beelink miniMXIII is smaller)

UKB - 500 - RF Wireless keyboard

8Bitdo ZERO FC30 Bluetooth Remote Controller (so tiny!)
Still waiting for my units to arrive

248 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:47 AM