248 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

Android TV Box

lateboomer
post Feb 19 2016, 04:19 PM

19 posts

Ohh.... I am first timer who only knows about tv box few days ago. Before that I didn't use any media player. I read extensively the past 2 days at this forum to find out more about it. That is why I am half-baked and still got a lot of questions.
plumberly
post Feb 19 2016, 04:30 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(lateboomer @ Feb 19 2016, 03:55 PM)
Since there are so lack of 4k materials and hardware, I think it is not a big miss if skips 4k feature.

So could anyone recommend good tv box with 2 GB ram, 16 GB emmc rom, support trueHD, dtsHD, atmos passthrough, support BDMV, BD-ISO container and all the goodies except 4k feature? Would the price be much cheaper?
Sorry to ride on your thread.

Limited 4K shows on the net, not much point in spending more $ just to get 4K features (but most TV boxes have 4K by now).

Samsung & LG are phasing out 3D TV. Due to limited 3D shows. So, not much point in must get 3D for your TV box.

Cheerio.
lateboomer
post Feb 19 2016, 05:10 PM

19 posts

To my opinion, 3D is totally useless and target gullible customers to jack up product price. I don't feel sad if it dies away.

When I watch movies, I want to see the whole scene including the background everything, as movie is a drama, a story telling which the whole scene acted in front of you, not just the 3D objects. That is how we appreciate art work like paintings of Monet, Picasso and etc. You don't just focus on the flower and ignore the pond, leaves and other details.
AVFAN
post Feb 19 2016, 05:17 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(lateboomer @ Feb 19 2016, 03:55 PM)
Since there are so lack of 4k materials and hardware, I think it is not a big miss if skips 4k feature.

So could anyone recommend good tv box with 2 GB ram, 16 GB emmc rom, support trueHD, dtsHD, atmos passthrough, support BDMV, BD-ISO container and all the goodies except 4k feature? Would the price be much cheaper?
for video, 3d and 4k are fairly common now. only older and near obsolete boxes won't have them.

for audio, many devices still come with just dts and dd. hd audio or dtshdma-ddtruehd-dd atmos are not universal, but found with some brands as a standard offer. hd audio is a must for home theater that can deliver, but irrelevant if no home theater or one with an old avr that can't deliver.

since yr internet speed is on the low side, for downloads, u will probably be limited to ripped 1080p dts/dd. bdmv/iso/hd audio files amounting to 40-45gb each will take u a very very long time to get! biggrin.gif

for streaming, yr speed will probably get u sd and maybe some hd videos but not all.

you can check out some of the sellers' threads here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/HomeElectronics&WaresGarageSales

QUOTE(plumberly @ Feb 19 2016, 04:30 PM)
Sorry to ride on your thread.
Limited 4K shows on the net, not much point in spending more $ just to get 4K features (but most TV boxes have 4K by now).
Samsung & LG are phasing out 3D TV. Due to limited 3D shows. So, not much point in must get 3D for your TV box.
Cheerio.
that's interesting about 3d. i m not surprised.

4k - latest tv shows and bluray titles are just coming into the market after licensing deals were made last year. can expect more to come this year.

to enjoy 4k, u need 4k files or 4k streams, 4k player and 4k tv. that might take some time for consumers to get to all of it. anyway, there are already 8k tv's now.

lastly, it's not entirely correct to say a 4k tv is of no use if there is no 4k material. 4k tv's typically come with good upscaling, so 1080p/bluray/bdmv videos come out much better compared to a normal 1080p tv. even hypptv's 1080i broadcasts come out very nice.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 19 2016, 05:21 PM
michealelsie
post Feb 21 2016, 10:28 AM

507 posts

Hi guys, may I know nowadays with budget of RM300+/-, which Android TV box is recommended? Thank you~
lateboomer
post Feb 21 2016, 10:50 AM

19 posts

I went over my brother place which he has unifi 30 Mbps line and his hypp tv android box is hacked that can run kodi and other apps.

I tried out his kodi, but only mainly 1Click and Genesis could watch movies, mostly the rest had no streams. I gone through many streams to find a movie to watch, which was troublesome and most of them didn't work. The apps' response was slow and all the HD movies I chose could only play in SD or 720p only although they said 1080p. Even with 30 Mbps line, buffering was not smooth.

Are these normal in using Android box? Or these bad experience only tied with low end Android box but not the better spec Android boxes?

This post has been edited by lateboomer: Feb 21 2016, 10:51 AM
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 21 2016, 10:54 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(lateboomer @ Feb 21 2016, 10:50 AM)
I went over my brother place which he has unifi 30 Mbps line and his hypp tv android box is hacked that can run kodi and other apps.

I tried out his kodi, but only mainly 1Click and Genesis could watch movies, mostly the rest had no streams. I gone through many streams to find a movie to watch, which was troublesome and most of them didn't work. The apps' response was slow and all the HD movies I chose could only play in SD or 720p only although they said 1080p. Even with 30 Mbps line, buffering was not smooth.

Are these normal in using Android box? Or these bad experience only tied with low end Android box but not the better spec Android boxes?
As ppl mentioned, Hypptv box is a very low spec box that is why those happenning.
To run smoothly it not only requires atleast 4mbps but also good proc and storage space.

And also kodi addons comes and go very often.
Genesis is dying and replaced by Exodus. Ask him try Exodus and see.
shirley_andy
post Feb 21 2016, 10:59 AM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

chromecast will only cast whatever on your phone right? so in order to watch wide variety of tv channel on the tv, my phone need to have the apps to access it right?

whilst android tv box can also only play these wide variety of tv channels on the tv if the said apps is installed on the android tv box right?

so conclusion all I need to do is find these mentioned apps in be installed on my phone then I don't need an android tv box if I already have a chromecast?

but where do I find these kind of apps? I know netflix and iflix which are subscription based but I'm looking for something more like astro, with movies and most importantly live sport streaming. are these apps subscription based or one off purchase?

tq
AVFAN
post Feb 21 2016, 11:08 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(lateboomer @ Feb 21 2016, 10:50 AM)

hyppbox + kodi = the worst example of what an androidbox can do! laugh.gif

hyppbox is for hypptv. it is low end, small memory. yes, can hack to do a few simple things but you get frustration and disappointment more than anything else.

kodi is a big complex app. called xbmc a couple of years ago, it was smaller, more reliable, more fun then. now, it's getting more and more difficult to get good stuff reliably unless it is customized, quite some work put into it. the average joe with an average box won't much out of kodi.

kodi has a big reputation because it is legit as an app, versions for android, pc's, macs, etc. and is free.

on the other hand, a decent androidbox with some other apps can be much easier to use, more reliable.

so, same "cheap things no good, good things no cheap". tongue.gif

AVFAN
post Feb 21 2016, 11:44 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Feb 21 2016, 10:59 AM)
chromecast will only cast whatever on your phone right? so in order to watch wide variety of tv channel on the tv, my phone need to have the apps to access it right?

whilst android tv box can also only play these wide variety of tv channels on the tv if the said apps is installed on the android tv box right?

so conclusion all I need to do is find these mentioned apps in be installed on my phone then I don't need an android tv box if I already have a chromecast?

but where do I find these kind of apps? I know netflix and iflix which are subscription based but I'm looking for something more like astro, with movies and most importantly live sport streaming. are these apps subscription based or one off purchase?

tq
chromecast, miracast, airplay, etc... if all software and hardware are ready, they will work. but the display may be irregular, resolution downgraded. wifi may also be less reliable compared to ethernet-box-tv.

in general, any app that works on yr android phone will also work on the box. a phone is a phone meant to be a phone and may not be cheaper than a box. this "casting via phone" is handy on certain occasions, not viable not pleasurable for long term permanent viewing, imo.

apps - all legit apps can be found in playstore in the box, just like the one in the phone.

illegit apps - these u need to hunt them - box sellers typically have them. there are sites that provide links. but since they are illegit, few people talk about them in public. morever, they get outdated easily, need new versions all the time.

axtro-like... i know there are some illegit ones kicking around but i never used, will not discuss here.

it is a mistake to have the idea that there is box somewhere that will reliably replace axtro for free. there isn't. but for those who dun care about axtro and happy to put in effort to get alternatives and more, an android box does wonders.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 21 2016, 11:50 AM
stormaker
post Feb 21 2016, 11:44 AM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(lateboomer @ Feb 19 2016, 05:10 PM)
To my opinion, 3D is totally useless and target gullible customers to jack up product price. I don't feel sad if it dies away.

When I watch movies,  I want to see the whole scene including the background everything, as movie is a drama, a story telling which the whole scene acted in front of you, not just the 3D objects. That is how we appreciate art work like paintings of Monet, Picasso and etc. You don't just focus on the flower and ignore the pond, leaves and other details.
I like 3D very much n will only buy TV n android tv box that support 3D. Well, u have ur point in watching movies in 2D, but u forgot that we dont even need to choose, we can have both. I normally watch the movies i like in both 2D n 3D (if available).
Cap Jones
post Feb 21 2016, 02:16 PM

294 posts

Sup folks !

I'm looking for iptv box that i can watch abroad Live TV news and shows , Both local and international tv series & movies . I'm using the new hypptv huawei device but i cant get access to iflix , as playstore stated device isnt compatible .

Could you guys recommend a device/box that Can do all sort of stuff mentioned above ?

Many thanks guys
voncrane
post Feb 21 2016, 05:45 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Feb 21 2016, 10:59 AM)

tq
Chromecast ≠ Android box/phone... Chromecast has specific apps that will work with it.. Not all... Your phone merely acts as a remote control for what is being "casted", while the Chromecast hardware connects to directly to the source.. I.e. Open Netflix on phone, choose movie & cast to Chromecast. The Netflix app on the Chromecast takes over and connects directly to Netflix's servers & begins playback.. Your phone does ZERO streaming & simply acts as a remote control for the Netflix app on the Chromecast. So if said illegal iptv apps has no Chromecast (which usually they don't) support, then it's useless..

As for Astro replacement etc.. We avoid discussing such on here.. However, he who seeks & reads properly, he shall be successful.. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Cap Jones @ Feb 21 2016, 02:16 PM)
Sup folks !

I'm looking for iptv box that i can watch abroad Live TV news and shows , Both local and international tv series & movies . I'm using the new hypptv huawei device but i cant get access to iflix , as playstore stated device isnt compatible .

Could you guys recommend a device/box that Can do all sort of stuff mentioned above ?

Many thanks guys
See above... In addition, Ditch the hypptv box... Get a proper android box... This has been recommended multiple times.. Please read previous posts. Recommendations & reviews aplenty. For live TV, Movies & TV series.... It's quite simple, find the source, play the source.. You'll find some already mentioned android apps.
Cap Jones
post Feb 21 2016, 06:14 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 21 2016, 05:45 PM)

See above... In addition, Ditch the hypptv box... Get a proper android box... This has been recommended multiple times.. Please read previous posts. Recommendations & reviews aplenty. For live TV, Movies & TV series.... It's quite simple, find the source, play the source.. You'll find some already mentioned android apps.
So im planning to get myself an Amlogic M8 s802 which I found when browsing lelong .

I dont know what you meant by find the source play the source , do you referring to URL of a website or playstore or etc....im not tech or it savy .... i had to read couples of android forum to get some ingsight .
voncrane
post Feb 21 2016, 06:28 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Cap Jones @ Feb 21 2016, 06:14 PM)
So im planning to get  myself an Amlogic M8 s802 which I found when browsing lelong .
I dont know what you meant by find the source play the source , do you referring to URL of a website or playstore or etc....im not tech or it savy .... i had to read couples of android forum to get some ingsight .
What I meant is... Apps & their services come and go.. Why? Cuz most are illegal & leech off legal sources. Even the apps advertising paid iptv services, they can shutdown at any time & there will be no refunds. Hence, find the source...play the source. That's the difference between paying TM or Astro for iptv services vs other questionable sources. Unlike them, both TM & Astro have a reputation to keep and so will maintain their services which you pay them for. As long as you are fine with that, then it's all good.
shirley_andy
post Feb 21 2016, 08:42 PM

2,631 posts

which shop can I go to in LYP to enquire more on android box and IPTV?
AVFAN
post Feb 21 2016, 09:30 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Cap Jones @ Feb 21 2016, 06:14 PM)
So im planning to get  myself an Amlogic M8 s802 which I found when browsing lelong .
if u buy from online sites, u will be on yr own how to install apps, get new firmwares, etc.

my advice is to do that only if u r confident on how to handle it or have someone ready to help you.

these boxes are not astro box plug n play; they need work, updates, etc.

also, i think u want iflix, so u may want to contact this m8 user who said he can't get iflix to work on his model:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3841807/+20?hl=m8%20iflix
post #39.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 21 2016, 09:36 PM
GuyM
post Feb 21 2016, 09:39 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Feb 21 2016, 08:42 PM)
Go LYN Garage, look up Nicety otherwise Digital Mall PJ is your best bet
GuyM
post Feb 21 2016, 09:39 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Feb 21 2016, 08:42 PM)
Go LYN Garage, look up Nicety otherwise Digital Mall PJ is your best bet
shirley_andy
post Feb 21 2016, 10:07 PM

2,631 posts

can android box cast things from my phone without additional usb cast dongle?
and all android tv box will have/can install web browser right? so can just stream live sports via streaming website right?

248 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0375sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:34 AM