9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Toyota Altis 1.8 versus Kia Cerato 1.6, Which should I buy?

kahjye
post Feb 6 2014, 03:21 AM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(phantom_zero @ Feb 4 2014, 09:51 PM)
people who bought a car based on resale value is totally poor, i cannot brain how they can buy a car that have poor safety feature, ancient engine, and high price car compare to what u get, is totally no brainer..dont butthurt ah vios owner  whistling.gif
lol u mad bro?
cybermaster98
post Feb 6 2014, 10:48 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Feb 6 2014, 03:13 AM)
So paying 20K less upfront makes it better RV? RV stands for resell value....resell, means residual amount when you resell back to secondary market
I didn't write up the articles in the internet about toyota being the RV king. Guys in the internet did biggrin.gif
RV = Resale value. Not resell value.

I think what he meant was that you have to look at the percentage of the RV instead of the value itself since the original purchase price may be different. Simple math.
wayfeel
post Feb 6 2014, 06:29 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 6 2014, 10:48 AM)

I think what he meant was that you have to look at the percentage of the RV instead of the value itself since the original purchase price may be different. Simple math.
Ok. Acceptable. I get it.
but most ppl in the internet says toyota is RV king so I just circulate the information only. It didn't originate from me, I'm to lazy to mental calculate biggrin.gif

I also dont know why no one ever even mention proton is good in RV, percentage wise.
Bubble Ring
post Feb 6 2014, 10:44 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 30 2014, 01:33 PM)
And btw, ive been a Optima K5 owner for the past 21 months after being a loyal Toyota customer for 9.5 years. Do i regret my decision to switch? Except for after sales service which Toyota excels in, i dont. And please give alot of importance to safety and especially the Stability Control function. It saved my life last year.
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 5 2014, 08:29 AM)
In all my years of driving, ive never experienced a high speed tyre blowout but early last year i did and if it wasnt for the stability control function on my car, i would have ended up smashing into the trailer i was overtaking on the highway when it happened or slamming into the guardrail. Yes i never had any use for stability control for 99% of my driving time all these years but that one time was all i needed and if it wasnt for it, i may not be here writing this now.
Bro, I would like to re-emphasize your statements about the importance of ESP/ESC with following videos.

ESP immediately kicked in to prevent fishtailing.
At 00:08, automatic hazard warning lights activated by BCM (triggered by ESP control module via CAN bus protocol) to alert other motorists. thumbup.gif

Car without ESP, fishtail and crashed.
What A lucky b@st@rd! Almost wiped out by truck. sweat.gif

Four Little Words that could save your life or the life of a loved one. nod.gif

sitescope
post Feb 7 2014, 02:34 AM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(Bubble Ring @ Feb 6 2014, 10:44 PM)
Bro, I would like to re-emphasize your statements about the importance of ESP/ESC with following videos.
Wow... 1st video is similar to how i overtake when there's a dumb drive slowly on most right lane...
Anyway ur video isn't useful here in msia where RV is still a top priority... hehehe...
kcchong2000
post Feb 7 2014, 08:13 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Feb 5 2014, 07:27 AM)

buy saga sv instant saving of rm30k against vios - dont even need to talk about RV
buy preve instant saving of 40k against altis - another example of dont even need to talk about RV

can't think of a D-segment against Camry.. but you get the idea. if you want to talk about resale value.. it's more practical to think of a car which has similar functionality and even better both technically and practically in the first place in terms of pricing. Preve after 5 year sell rm 25k for example.. i'm pretty sure you can get more than that, as compared to a 5 year old altis which most likely fetch 60k - 70k for example. Use your fingers and count how much you have lost there before you talk about resale value.
That is the problem with most people, they see the end figure not the total money they lost during 5 years period. They still feel proud on their RV when they lost much in the exchange. whistling.gif

pai3355
post Feb 7 2014, 08:54 AM

210 posts

By ratio, of course we can see car with higher price will drop more after several years compared to cheap cars like proton, eventhough that car can be consider as RV king. We cannot compare altis and surprima because for me suprima is cheap. Try compare altis and proton perdana, or proton waja chansellor, see how many price depreciate
AmenoJaku
post Feb 7 2014, 09:15 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Feb 7 2014, 08:13 AM)
That is the problem with most people, they see the end figure not the total money they lost during 5 years period. They still feel proud on their RV when they lost much in the exchange.  whistling.gif
Exactly. Restate... total money lost.

QUOTE(pai3355 @ Feb 7 2014, 08:54 AM)
By ratio, of course we can see car with higher price will drop more after several years compared to cheap cars like proton, eventhough that car can be consider as RV king. We cannot compare altis and surprima because for me suprima is cheap. Try compare altis and proton perdana, or proton waja chansellor, see how many price depreciate
Disagree.
In spite of different purchase price, cars should be comparable... if the give you similar value somewhat (note value, not price) or class.
E.g. Inspira vs. Altis. Both give similar 'value' i.e. c-segment with all bells & whistles.
Altis and Perdana would are of different class/segment.

fishmango
post Feb 7 2014, 10:58 PM

796 posts

is Altis thai or local made?
TSchingkang
post Feb 9 2014, 08:34 AM

32 posts

My personal opinion is to find out the total expense for a car after driving for n years. For the current scenario, let's say I take a 5 years 90% loan. I can calculate how much exactly I need to spend on installments for 5 years, roadtax, approximate insurance and original service center maintenance (Cerato first 3 years is free). So installment + roadtax + insurance + maintenance are my total expense. Assuming in reality that Kia car depreciates faster than Toyota car by 5% more, I can estimate the resale value and minus off from my total expense. Coupled with some incentives when I purchase the car - NCD55%, car discount, dealer discount etc., then I can find out my NET EXPENSE. Of course, this does not include the Time Value of Money which is more complicated.
TSchingkang
post Feb 9 2014, 09:00 AM

32 posts

And hence, Toyota Altis (RM114K) and Kia Cerato (99.888K), after 5 years, RV is RM58K and RM36K respectively. However, you will also spend more for Altis, given higher installment, road tax, insurance and maintenance. At the end, the Net Spend for both cars is about the same, slightly more than RM70K. That means resale value is immaterial now, and main consideration should be on other aspects such as safety, features, design, service, quality etc.
sitescope
post Feb 9 2014, 10:20 AM

4,500 posts

Waiting jolokia to calc his own formula...
SUSjolokia
post Feb 9 2014, 10:40 AM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

QUOTE(chingkang @ Feb 9 2014, 09:00 AM)
And hence, Toyota Altis (RM114K) and Kia Cerato (99.888K), after 5 years, RV is RM58K and RM36K respectively. However, you will also spend more for Altis, given higher installment, road tax, insurance and maintenance. At the end, the Net Spend for both cars is about the same, slightly more than RM70K. That means resale value is immaterial now, and main consideration should be on other aspects such as safety, features, design, service, quality etc.
How on earth u get Altis 58K & Cerato 36K price after 5 years ??

QUOTE(sitescope @ Feb 9 2014, 10:20 AM)
Waiting jolokia to calc his own formula...
Why ? U need any lorry ?

ironthomas
post Feb 9 2014, 11:07 AM

What rv also no use la when the car cant even save ur life. doh.gif
sitescope
post Feb 9 2014, 12:00 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Feb 9 2014, 10:40 AM)
Why ? U need any lorry ?
Alamak... all nissan salesman like this kaaa...
Answer lain jawab lain...
Patut la asyik tipu cust je ckp almeera is good... lolz...
cybermaster98
post Feb 9 2014, 12:51 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Feb 9 2014, 12:00 PM)
Is he a Nissan salesman?
sitescope
post Feb 9 2014, 01:12 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 9 2014, 12:51 PM)
Is he a Nissan salesman?
yes.. see below...
Why don't u PM me i'll give u special offer for Navara Truck if not enough UD Lorry sure can fit in Furniture, LOL... why u intend to buy ? Bed ?
Why should they pay another 10K extra for a smaller Vios & Fiesta ?? Almera is cheaper & bigger

and the best part he asked facts from others but in reality he also come out with blindness figures... laugh.gif
Didn't according to ur goodself Almera doens't look safe ? yet it pass US crash test with flying color.
Teana & Sylphy pass Japanese crash test, Lavina pass China crash test.
Come on u need to show us some link or paper to believe what u claim on the costing is indeed truth, or everybody can too come out with baseless figure

Bubble Ring
post Feb 9 2014, 02:07 PM

84 posts

Referring to below post, I see a lot of "No" features for Almera and Sentra. laugh.gif
Nissan Sentra failed miserably. doh.gif

[Thread link]
QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Feb 4 2014, 02:53 PM)

Reference:
http://www.kensomuse.com/peugeot-208-let-body-drive/

Almera steering = ???  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
ohya ..there is 1 more mitsu attrage aren't in the list  smile.gif

in be4 no gambar (too many cars ..lazy to google)
ar188 ILuvProton Boy96 harryfoo
SUSjolokia
post Feb 9 2014, 05:24 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

Donno ! am not familiar with Nissan salesman, do u happened to know any ?

Almera not Almeera, why ? u become like Dr Jayraptor deliberately spell it incorrectly, worried of Tan Chong Transfer ?? lol..

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 9 2014, 12:51 PM)
Is he a Nissan salesman?
Are u a Naza/Kia salesman ?

QUOTE(Bubble Ring @ Feb 9 2014, 02:07 PM)
Referring to below post, I see a lot of "No" features for Almera and Sentra. laugh.gif
Nissan Sentra failed miserably. doh.gif
Sentra is same generation with Spectra & Old Elantra, I don't find these car is rich in features either.

As for Almera isn't King Vios is equally "Dry" in features, so is Accent.

BTW this thread is Altis 1.8 vs Cerato 1.6, try not to divert to Nissan & Jolokia.
sitescope
post Feb 9 2014, 05:42 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Feb 9 2014, 05:24 PM)
Donno ! am not familiar with Nissan salesman,  do u happened to know any ?

Almera not Almeera, why ? u become like Dr Jayraptor deliberately spell it incorrectly,  worried of Tan Chong Transfer ?? lol..
Are u a Naza/Kia salesman ?
Sentra is same generation with Spectra & Old Elantra,  I don't find these car is rich in features either.

As for Almera isn't King Vios is equally "Dry" in features,  so is Accent.

BTW this thread is Altis 1.8 vs Cerato 1.6, try not to divert to Nissan & Jolokia.
Oh almera, tertekan 'e' 2x lak...
Jayraptor tu mmg hampeh, baca stmt dia pun kawey dok pahey...
Mmg la altis vs cerato thread tp ada 1 nissan salesman tu nyibuk cite pasai RV
Until now x tau tekan calc lg... dia tau tekan keyb warrior jeee...

This post has been edited by sitescope: Feb 9 2014, 05:42 PM

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0280sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:46 AM