125 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

zenix
post Feb 18 2015, 10:47 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

sorry for the late replies guys, plus the forum script only allow me to quote 5 people at once.

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Feb 5 2015, 09:03 AM)
mazda2/3 : the new one they sell here i wouldn't call it fun to drive, although it may look the part with some bodykits it is meant it be an affordable and less complicated alternative to buying a hybrid.

pug : 208 seems/feels lacking, 308 much better response and power from the same engine, but its ugly.

altis/civic/city/polo sedan : fun? laugh.gif

jazz : it is a different kinda fun.....it is a cute car....versatile interior for carrying stuff....very active club with alot of TT and outings, and a large mod community.

golf : ur budget only can get 1.4TSI new, i dunno the mk7 got issues or not but i'm staying away from any 1.4TSI for the time being.

if u dun mind for recon at 150k budget there are alot of yummy cars to choose from if u want a spirited drive brows.gif

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Feb 5 2015, 12:36 PM)
iinm waja cps would be the model where all the imperfections of the original waja have been ironed out, while the persona would be the same for gen2.
so i'd suggest the waja cps something like this. the original manuals are still available you can see the service record from there.

QUOTE(strawberry.my @ Feb 5 2015, 02:48 PM)
i dunno much just share what i know.
plus u kenot trust mechanics and reviewers coz there is money involved.
they'll never give you a straight answer.
coz they need to say nice words for their paymasters.

QUOTE(nycdist @ Feb 10 2015, 08:48 PM)
in terms of comfort they both good but of course if you travel alone (or two persons) then just go for the sylphy (c-segment), you only need the extra legroom/space of the accord (d-segment) if you frequent travel with a full load of 3-4 adults.

the sylphy being a c-segment would be cheaper to maintain, plus it is newer don't forget now is 2015 that means two more years that accord will be 10 years old, when you wanna sell it on it will be difficult coz cash only sale so if you going to change car you'll have to accept any deal the used car dealer give you for a trade-in when buying new car.

QUOTE(showcase @ Feb 11 2015, 01:29 PM)
have any of the members bought used cars from MUV or TopMark? is their used car in better condition as compared to those used car dealer outside?
i've never bought any car from either TM or MUV, however they seem sincere about giving you better quality used cars.

they put it B&W everywhere got what limited and criteria of cars they accept to trade-in and sell. so maybe with that kind of guarantee you can say they'll be better than outside dealers that accept anything and of course dunno if they lie to you or not, if they do got no B&W to backup. besides nissan and toyota are behind these two so should be decent.

though i think the best is to go and survey their stockyard now and then, make friends with the SA, if they're friendly and helpful enough they'll point you to the best deals as all cars there are not equal eventhough they may look equal at first glance there are other things to take account for other than just a clean tidy exterior and interior like service manual to indicate it has been serviced regularly and on time, any accident case, the mileage, flood case, etc.

the typical SA will of course try to clear his stockyard asap no matter what, but if you able to tenderize his heart he'll probably intro you the fresh stock which usually is better than something sitting there for 3 months nobody wanna buy brows.gif
Mikeshashimi
post Feb 18 2015, 11:17 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 18 2015, 10:47 AM)
sorry for the late replies guys, plus the forum script only allow me to quote 5 people at once.
mazda2/3 : the new one they sell here i wouldn't call it fun to drive, although it may look the part with some bodykits it is meant it be an affordable and less complicated alternative to buying a hybrid.

pug : 208 seems/feels lacking, 308 much better response and power from the same engine, but its ugly.

altis/civic/city/polo sedan : fun?  laugh.gif

jazz : it is a different kinda fun.....it is a cute car....versatile interior for carrying stuff....very active club with alot of TT and outings, and a large mod community.

golf : ur budget only can get 1.4TSI new, i dunno the mk7 got issues or not but i'm staying away from any 1.4TSI for the time being.

if u dun mind for recon at 150k budget there are alot of yummy cars to choose from if u want a spirited drive  brows.gif 

Mazda 2/3 looks really nice... but it feels a little lacking in specs. Mazda 3 was on the top of my list previously.

Altis/Civic a little boring...

Jazz... I like the looks... but.... hmmm...

Golf... yea.. I'm wary about the DSG problems. Same also for Jetta.

Any recon which doesnt cost a bomb to maintain/repair?
Maneki-neko
post Feb 19 2015, 08:58 AM

1,816 posts

1. Brand : Audi
2. Budget : RM 90k~120k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New/unreg
4. Specs : No idea
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : unknown
7. Type : 4 seater.
8. Remarks : Mileage low to medium
9. Location: KL / Selangor
lightonokira
post Feb 23 2015, 12:41 AM

788 posts

Yo guys looking for a recon car budget 40k max.

Any recommendation?
el.primero
post Feb 23 2015, 02:19 AM

175 posts

Hi Sifu, I'm having headache to decide between Mazda2 and Jazz, pls help
Any comments for these model in terms of their performance and maintenance?

Many thanks in advance!

Syfq
post Feb 23 2015, 11:36 AM

Sense of Definition
1,138 posts

QUOTE(el.primero @ Feb 23 2015, 02:19 AM)

Many thanks in advance!
space = jazz
perfomance and good interior = mazda 2

zenix
post Feb 23 2015, 12:15 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

New Civic Type-R coming.....get ready to FAP!

QUOTE(waizai88 @ Feb 11 2015, 10:49 PM)
spec wise they're very close to each other, however i'd still choose the jazz because of RV, wider service network, better parts network and of course image.

QUOTE(mitodna @ Feb 12 2015, 09:27 AM)
Cars with manual option in our market are rare nowadays even for sports cars.
Within your budget the options would be from either Proton/Perodua/Nissan's stable.

I'd suggest Nissan Latio. Just skip the Sentra as I think it is too old a design for 2015 in terms of safety equipment, interior space and fuel economy. Those things aren't relevant anymore, the Latio would be closer to the requirements of today. Looking at the evolution of cars every 10 years a car in the 1980's and 1990's although share some commonality but the differences becomes more stark especially for cars at the tail end of the 1990's let's take the civic for example the 80's civic was a basic car but the 1999 civic was a monster 1600cc with engine performance near sports car territory with good fuel consumption too, space was better, seats more comfortable, and safety equipment was a quantum leap. So in comparison a Latio which was made in the mid-2000s would still be relevant in 2015 but probably not beyond 2020, but your target is only 5 years anyway before your next upgrade so I think it is a good choice.

Nissan Latio has a few versions for the sedan:
1. manual 1.6
2. auto 1.6
3. manual 1.8
4. auto 1.8

which to choose depends on your driving style and usage.
if you travel outstation alot then consider the 1800cc, if city driving mostly then 1600cc.
since you'll be taking the manual then 1600cc is good, don't worry about under power.

QUOTE(renee78 @ Feb 13 2015, 12:24 PM)
okay one thing that has troubled ford passenger cars (except their trucks/pickups) is the terrible RV and expensive parts.
fiesta has over the years proven to be a successful car and thus RV for this model is considered good for a ford.
however, expensive parts is still a problem especially if you buy it from ford auto connexion (FAC).
but i think fiesta has the critical mass for stockist to import oem/compatible parts from overseas at a cheaper price than from FAC.
one of the biggest stockist is Vanli, do check them out and see if the parts are within your comfortable range before deciding.
things like oil filter, air filter, etc. are common stuff and won't be expensive look for things like absorbers and mountings those can be a cheap rm100 a pair or crazy rm1000 a pair.

i10 iinm is a korean b-segment hatch so upgrading to a fiesta won't be that much better.
of course cars are fiesta/city are at the top range for b-segment cars being the more technologically sophisticated and high-spec.
so what is the difference?

let me put it to you this way....it is like the difference between having a steak at a hawker center vs having a steak at a 5 star hotel. a steak is a steak nonetheless but a hotel gives you a better quality one, fresher, non-frozen, more juicy, more tender, etc.....while the hawker center will probably just buy any cheap cut from the market or frozen food section of the supermarket.

so yes there is an upgrade even within the same segment but maybe with your budget you can consider something a class higher?

altis/sylphy/civic are good choices for a used c-segmemnt within your budget, i would say it is an ideal budget as you can choose cars that are of better value, lower mileage and not so old especially for Civic since it has good RV.

Altis/Sylphy the newest and the one before it share everything in common so you don't have to worry about parts being expensive or their availability.

The current and previous Civic do have some differences. Long story short only the previous generation FD2 (2000cc model) is worth to get, it has better equipment and mechanical parts. The current and previous 1800cc model is very similar to each other they both use the R-series engine.
The current 2000cc model also uses an R-series engine, so no more DOHC i-VTEC it is SOHC i-VTEC with the R-series.
However, if you crave for power you can always install the Turbo kit
The turbo kits are made only for R-series engine, the K-series did have a turbo option but it is not as widely available.

QUOTE(kaiba911 @ Feb 14 2015, 12:42 PM)
does first car owner have any rebates as circulating around the internet?
you mean LHDN?
don't think so.

QUOTE(helload @ Feb 15 2015, 03:08 PM)
just a few questions first.
the 20-30k budget for a sedan you mention is for another loan?
or the 20-30k is what you get from the insurance claim + own top-up?
renee78
post Feb 24 2015, 10:42 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 23 2015, 12:15 PM)
okay one thing that has troubled ford passenger cars (except their trucks/pickups) is the terrible RV and expensive parts.
fiesta has over the years proven to be a successful car and thus RV for this model is considered good for a ford.
however, expensive parts is still a problem especially if you buy it from ford auto connexion (FAC).
but i think fiesta has the critical mass for stockist to import oem/compatible parts from overseas at a cheaper price than from FAC.
one of the biggest stockist is Vanli, do check them out and see if the parts are within your comfortable range before deciding.
things like oil filter, air filter, etc. are common stuff and won't be expensive look for things like absorbers and mountings those can be a cheap rm100 a pair or crazy rm1000 a pair.

i10 iinm is a korean b-segment hatch so upgrading to a fiesta won't be that much better.
of course cars are fiesta/city are at the top range for b-segment cars being the more technologically sophisticated and high-spec.
so what is the difference?

let me put it to you this way....it is like the difference between having a steak at a hawker center vs having a steak at a 5 star hotel. a steak is a steak nonetheless but a hotel gives you a better quality one, fresher, non-frozen, more juicy, more tender, etc.....while the hawker center will probably just buy any cheap cut from the market or frozen food section of the supermarket.

so yes there is an upgrade even within the same segment but maybe with your budget you can consider something a class higher?

altis/sylphy/civic are good choices for a used c-segmemnt within your budget, i would say it is an ideal budget as you can choose cars that are of better value, lower mileage and not so old especially for Civic since it has good RV.

Altis/Sylphy the newest and the one before it share everything in common so you don't have to worry about parts being expensive or their availability.

The current and previous Civic do have some differences. Long story short only the previous generation FD2 (2000cc model) is worth to get, it has better equipment and mechanical parts. The current and previous 1800cc model is very similar to each other they both use the R-series engine.
The current 2000cc model also uses an R-series engine, so no more DOHC i-VTEC it is SOHC i-VTEC with the R-series.
However, if you crave for power you can always install the Turbo kit
Thanks for the reply. I'll check out how much are the parts yeah, really afraid of getting a bad second hand car.

Not really interested in those C-segment cars as I want a hatchback.
muttly
post Feb 24 2015, 12:12 PM

210 posts

Hi, narrowed it down to three cars. Subaru XV, Mitsubishi ASX or Ford Focus Sport+

Would appreciate your views on these cars.

zenix
post Feb 24 2015, 02:55 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Feb 16 2015, 10:59 PM)
I think just buy the new Honda Jazz or Honda City.
They're as spacious as some C-segment cars like Suprima/Preve.
Suprima/Preve are quite okay in terms of spec I'll put it near to VW Golf TSI spec-for-spec.
But I think you'll have a much better ownership experience with a Honda, especially since your budget can attain one.

You don't want this to happen to you, right?
Not saying that Proton cars are bad quality and only Proton cars burst into flames but it seems that their response is lackadaisical and have no concerns for their customers.
However even after many posting on social media and traditional media, Proton only seems concerned about their own image than helping to resolve the issue of owners.

So, although every car manufacturer will have problems it has been confirmed over and over again throughout it's history that if you have any problems with a Proton car you're not left with much options or help from the manufacturer.

QUOTE(newsource @ Feb 18 2015, 01:19 AM)
Toyota's shouldn't be an issue anywhere you buy them.
The RM35k used Vios first launch in 2002 until the current one doesn't have much difference in terms of technology/improvements.
Mostly cosmetic changes.

Look for the best spec you can afford.
Becareful because Toyota made a few variants of Vios got J, E, G and TRD spec.
Some people actually just buy Vios J put TRD bodykit then try to sell as TRD spec used car price.
Becareful about this, if you need more information on the variants you need to google abit there isn't one place where all the variants are listed but basically....

Vios J = got manual/auto, rear drum brakes, no fog light, steel rims
Vios E = auto only, rear drum brakes, fog light, alloy rims
Vios G = auto only, rear disc brakes, fog light, alloy rims
Vios TRD = auto only, rear disc brakes, fog light, alloy rims, orange instrument meter, different color fabric for seats, bodykit, etc.
Vios S = supercharger version not available in malaysia but thailand got brows.gif

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Feb 18 2015, 11:17 AM)
I think the Mazda3 is a good buy, however their 3S are limited and hopeless. You really need to keep an eye out on them so they follow the service manual schedule correctly so your warranty is intact. Some smart fellows there thought they doing my friend a favor by reducing the parts replacement for a major service to help lower the bill, but when the aircond failed the blame was put on the owner for not following the schedule parts replacements as per the service manual.

Current Altis/Civic/Sylphy are really boring cars and are only for the people that want decent RV and relatively inexpensive parts.

Jazz kinda fun is mostly be had with it's active club and the modification scene, the car itself is pretty boring.

2014 Ford Focus SE - although the performance is far from the RS/XR and it is an automatic the normal Focus is a good car anyway so dressing it up to look like the RS is pretty smart marketing, the chassis is good, handling is good, performance and fuel consumption is also good compared to its rivals like Civic,Altis,Sylphy, etc. Safety equipment is also good. The only downsize is the RV is pretty bad for Focus, you can check used car prices they're pretty sad if you intend to change cars often but if you're going to keep it for 10 years then it is worth it. There aren't many SE's remaining if you want them so you've gotta hunt down dealers or HQ if they have any left. This is new car, not recon/unreg.

2010 Mini Cooper S - Cooper S is the model with turbo if it is either just Mini One or Mini Cooper it is an ordinary 1600cc engine so performance wise not so fun but still acceptable. The engine is from a common platform shared between Mini/BMW/Citroen/Peugeot so you don't have to worry about parts and maintenance it is not a rare unit as this engine can be found in Citroen DS4/DS5 and Peugeot 308/408/508 so no worry about buying expensive import only parts or having no parts need to wait for delivery from overseas. Of course with many cars having the same heart and maintenance is about the same between them I'd rather be in a Mini than the others because it looks fantastic, better prestige, iconic and somewhat better RV.

2008 VW Golf GTI - okay the current one is MK7 and this I am showing you is MK5, is it just as good? Well, I would certainly say so. In a nutshell, there has been no major changes between MK5 to MK7 which is revolutionary just evolutionary. MK5 to MK6 the MK6 gets a new engine but the power output in stock isn't a big leap from the MK5, and most tuners say the engine in MK5 is better for tuning up for crazy power but the MK6 engine is more stable and fuel economical so take your pick. In terms of interior size and design you won't be able to differentiate between MK5 to MK7 if you didn't really take notice or have them side by side. One major change under the hood from MK6 to MK7 is the platform which is using MQB platform which makes the cars lighter by 40kg but doesn't significantly alter the performance/look of the car so generally if you don't knitpick there isn't a whole lot of difference between MK5 to MK7 but an unreg MK5 is going cheap nowadays at or under RM100k and for the performance and fun it offers I think it is a good deal.

QUOTE(Maneki-neko @ Feb 19 2015, 08:58 AM)
you're lucky as i've been personally looking at this myself it is actually floating.

Audi A4 (B7 chassis) - most of them are used but you can find one or two recon/unregistered here and there but i think the dealers would have wanted to clear stock by now as this is an old model already (service life 2004-2008), so is it worth to buy? well depends as a used car it's prices will be around 80-99k, as an unreg car it was floating around 100-120k, these numbers are within your budget but be mindful of it's age. So tech wise it is quite a step down from current Audi's. It uses the first generation TFSI engine which isn't too bad in terms of power delivery and reliability but the gearbox isn't the dual clutch type it is a 6-speed wetbox (normal automatic). In terms of reliability this combination is quite good actually but of course the dual-clutch gives better performance and fuel economy.

Audi A4 (B8 chassis) - this is the current one but since it's service life started in 2008 it is long overdue a replacement model already since it has already been facelifted in 2012 so another 4 years of service life we should expect the replacement to come in 2016, expect to see the concept model of the replacement B9 in 2015 motor shows and perhaps the actual production/test models in early Q1 2016 and release in Q3/Q4 2016. However, I think in terms of technology it won't be a quantum leap as the facelifted B8 has everything it's newer rivals such as the newer Merc C-Class and BMW 3-series has which is dual-clutch gearbox, turbo engine, built-in command center (navigation+phone connect+entertainment system), etc. I'm guessing they'll probably reuse the current technologies but refine them so it will still use a dual-clutch but will be 8/9-gears instead of the original 7, better more powerful and economical yet can pass emission standards engine, improve safety equipment, and of course improve the looks which is looking abit dated compared to the newer Merc and BMW.

so in a nutshell is it worth it?

depends on what do you want....the B7 is good value either as used or recon because it is cheap and reliable, but you might feel it is abit "old tech", but the man on the street that doesn't know much about cars won't notice it being old as long as it is kept clean and neat.

the B8 is a good option if you can stretch your budget, my expectations is that the new car might not be much of an improvement so you save your money, except unless the new car has a fantastic new look which is unlikely as VW group cars are always kinda boring looking.

an alternative? Merc C180 or C200 of the W204 range which can been around since 2007 until 2014 is still a good car, there aren't many W205's on the road and the majority of C-Class you see on the road are still W204 in either C180/C200 form. They're pretty good looking and of course being a Merc you'll get more prestige than from an Audi among peers. Depending on model the recon/unreg's are being cleared now by dealers from 110k-129k, about the same price as a Japanese C-segment car like Civic or Altis but you get a nice German D-segment instead. I think it is a bargain buy for it's price, further more Merc themselves have fragmented the market as where the price range for the W204 was the CLA (190-240k) has taken over that price range while the W205 (>250k) has moved up, imho the W205 feels abit big for a C-Class and the CLA feels abit small for its price range. So I think the W204 will be the last in that (official) price range (220-250k) for Merc.

fyi TFSI is the turbo version of an FSI engine, an FSI engine is similar to Mitsubishi's GDI.
so what is the difference between a GDI/FSI engine compared to normal petrol engines?
it is quite similar to diesel engines actually, instead of fuel being sprayed it is injected into the combustion chamber at pressure via common rail fuel line, you can read more about it here. You will notice all the newer engines utilize this technology already, and all VW group non-turbo or twincharger engines are basically FSI.

anyway, if it is too much information we can have a private chat later on laugh.gif

QUOTE(lightonokira @ Feb 23 2015, 12:41 AM)
Yo guys looking for a recon car budget 40k max.
Any recommendation?
recon cars usually are in the range of rm100k and above.
did you just mean a used car in good condition?

fyi

recon/unreg/grey imports = can be new/used overseas, bring to malaysia not yet registered so entitled for new car loan %
used car = ckd/cbu but already registered in malaysia so considered used, only entitled for used car loan %
zenix
post Feb 24 2015, 03:30 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(el.primero @ Feb 23 2015, 02:19 AM)
Many thanks in advance!
QUOTE(Syfq @ Feb 23 2015, 11:36 AM)
space = jazz
perfomance and good interior = mazda 2
Well good interior is quite subjective if you're talking about the dashboard design maybe Mazda2 is better but the Jazz has a more functional interior with the Ultraseats that can transform according to your needs.

Mazda nowadays have a reputation for better performance cars due to their Zoom Zoom advertisment, but they're really not that much better than the rest if you really are talking about performance. The latest Jazz has a good engine and CVT combo which equates to a car that can deliver everything from good pickup to good top-speed without much engine strain because the CVT always is in-sync with the engine.

Actually, nothing much between these two cars in terms of engine/gearbox performance.

Jazz would be more spacious than Mazda2 hatch.

However, the last bit is most important and people often forget it service. Checkout the nearest Honda/Mazda dealer, if you like them or not, or is it convenient to go there or not because you'll be visiting them very often after buying the car to service and maintain it.

QUOTE(renee78 @ Feb 24 2015, 10:42 AM)
Thanks for the reply. I'll check out how much are the parts yeah, really afraid of getting a bad second hand car.
Not really interested in those C-segment cars as I want a hatchback.
Why not Latio hatchback?
With bodykit it looks quite good.
Additionally it is quite cheap to own and maintain.
It is C-segment.

QUOTE(muttly @ Feb 24 2015, 12:12 PM)
Subaru has a renaissance lately in our market because of the XV, I can say it is their best selling model and they're also heavily promoting it. It is a good car, the cheapest Subaru you can buy and probably what they need to boost their sales because the cars they are famous for like the Forester and Impreza are too expensive. The Subaru XV and Mitsubishi ASX compete in the segment of SUV's equivalent to B/C-segment cars. The XV is actually a modified Subaru Impreza with raised suspension and a NA tune for their engine which is usually Turbo only. Some people like the package some petrolheads don't because they think it is actually a crippled Impreza WRX but that is just their thought in other markets the Impreza also comes in 1500cc and 2000cc without turbo.

This market segment of 100-130k compact SUV's is beginning to catch on fire with the release of the Honda HRV and upcoming Mazda CX3. Nissan doesn't have one officially released here but you can find them at importers like Naza, it is called the Nissan Juke. Toyota hasn't come to the party yet because their Toyota Rush and RAV4 are too dated, cannot compete by spec, looks or price. XV and ASX have been enjoying this segment without much problems but the HRV with it's RM99k price tag for the most basic model is going for their throats.

With all the fanfare and hype I think the HRV will do well and secure itself as another Honda with good RV. The CX3 looks good but it will really depend on the final price, will they fight with the HRV or ASX. ASX didn't bother to really go the affordable route by having a cheapo version both the 2WD and 4WD version are pretty stacked with featured for their price point, so the CX3 might go this route as we can see all Mazda cars focus on beauty, specs and performance than price.

This puts the XV square in the middle of it all, it is the closes to HRV's base price without being too basic.

It is quite hard to tell who'll dominate this market as it is a new niche created by the car manufacturers. The new RA4 will be coming soon but it looks to have grown bigger so it should compete with the CX5 and CRV so it shouldn't matter but it looks good.

I think of the 3 the Ford Focus hatch isn't going to be a good buy for you. It lacks the higher driving position with better view and less worry about bumps and flood. Plus Focus RV isn't always the best.

XV, ASX, HRV are good choices. The HRV just edge them both with a better service network and parts stockist network, and having the cheapest base model. ASX would be a consideration if you want higher spec. XV is good but their service network is limited. You might as well wait for the CX3 and see if XV/ASX get any discounts then because of more competition. brows.gif
muttly
post Feb 24 2015, 05:04 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 24 2015, 03:30 PM)
Well good interior is quite subjective if you're talking about the dashboard design maybe Mazda2 is better but the Jazz has a more functional interior with the Ultraseats that can transform according to your needs.

Mazda nowadays have a reputation for better performance cars due to their Zoom Zoom advertisment, but they're really not that much better than the rest if you really are talking about performance. The latest Jazz has a good engine and CVT combo which equates to a car that can deliver everything from good pickup to good top-speed without much engine strain because the CVT always is in-sync with the engine.

Actually, nothing much between these two cars in terms of engine/gearbox performance.

Jazz would be more spacious than Mazda2 hatch.

However, the last bit is most important and people often forget it service. Checkout the nearest Honda/Mazda dealer, if you like them or not, or is it convenient to go there or not because you'll be visiting them very often after buying the car to service and maintain it.
Why not Latio hatchback?
With bodykit it looks quite good.
Additionally it is quite cheap to own and maintain.
It is C-segment.
Subaru has a renaissance lately in our market because of the XV, I can say it is their best selling model and they're also heavily promoting it. It is a good car, the cheapest Subaru you can buy and probably what they need to boost their sales because the cars they are famous for like the Forester and Impreza are too expensive. The Subaru XV and Mitsubishi ASX compete in the segment of SUV's equivalent to B/C-segment cars. The XV is actually a modified Subaru Impreza with raised suspension and a NA tune for their engine which is usually Turbo only. Some people like the package some petrolheads don't because they think it is actually a crippled Impreza WRX but that is just their thought in other markets the Impreza also comes in 1500cc and 2000cc without turbo.

This market segment of 100-130k compact SUV's is beginning to catch on fire with the release of the Honda HRV and upcoming Mazda CX3. Nissan doesn't have one officially released here but you can find them at importers like Naza, it is called the Nissan Juke. Toyota hasn't come to the party yet because their Toyota Rush and RAV4 are too dated, cannot compete by spec, looks or price. XV and ASX have been enjoying this segment without much problems but the HRV with it's RM99k price tag for the most basic model is going for their throats.

With all the fanfare and hype I think the HRV will do well and secure itself as another Honda with good RV. The CX3 looks good but it will really depend on the final price, will they fight with the HRV or ASX. ASX didn't bother to really go the affordable route by having a cheapo version both the 2WD and 4WD version are pretty stacked with featured for their price point, so the CX3 might go this route as we can see all Mazda cars focus on beauty, specs and performance than price.

This puts the XV square in the middle of it all, it is the closes to HRV's base price without being too basic.

It is quite hard to tell who'll dominate this market as it is a new niche created by the car manufacturers. The new RA4 will be coming soon but it looks to have grown bigger so it should compete with the CX5 and CRV so it shouldn't matter but it looks good.

I think of the 3 the Ford Focus hatch isn't going to be a good buy for you. It lacks the higher driving position with better view and less worry about bumps and flood. Plus Focus RV isn't always the best.

XV, ASX, HRV are good choices. The HRV just edge them both with a better service network and parts stockist network, and having the cheapest base model. ASX would be a consideration if you want higher spec. XV is good but their service network is limited. You might as well wait for the CX3 and see if XV/ASX get any discounts then because of more competition.  brows.gif
Wow...thank you!!
brutalsoul
post Feb 24 2015, 05:11 PM

A goal without a plan is just a wish
1,484 posts

1. Brand : Naza ria
2. Budget : < RM 28k
3. New/Used/Unreg : used (manufactured year = 2008)
4. Specs : Full Basic Spec
6. NA or FI : unknown
7. Type : 7 seater.
8. Remarks : Mileage low to medium
9. Location: TI, Perak.

This car ok?
helload
post Feb 24 2015, 05:41 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 23 2015, 12:15 PM)
just a few questions first.
the 20-30k budget for a sedan you mention is for another loan?
or the 20-30k is what you get from the insurance claim + own top-up?
Hi, thanks for the reply, i wont use loan, paying cash, currently i am looking at nissan sentra 1.8 xgl 2003 selling for rm25k otr.. Is it good with my budget?

I have yet to get my insurance claim..

This post has been edited by helload: Feb 24 2015, 05:42 PM
Maneki-neko
post Feb 24 2015, 06:32 PM

1,816 posts

Thanks for the info bro thumbup.gif

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 24 2015, 02:55 PM)
I think just buy the new Honda Jazz or Honda City.
They're as spacious as some C-segment cars like Suprima/Preve.
Suprima/Preve are quite okay in terms of spec I'll put it near to VW Golf TSI spec-for-spec.
But I think you'll have a much better ownership experience with a Honda, especially since your budget can attain one.

You don't want this to happen to you, right?
Not saying that Proton cars are bad quality and only Proton cars burst into flames but it seems that their response is lackadaisical and have no concerns for their customers.
However even after many posting on social media and traditional media, Proton only seems concerned about their own image than helping to resolve the issue of owners.

So, although every car manufacturer will have problems it has been confirmed over and over again throughout it's history that if you have any problems with a Proton car you're not left with much options or help from the manufacturer.
Toyota's shouldn't be an issue anywhere you buy them.
The RM35k used Vios first launch in 2002 until the current one doesn't have much difference in terms of technology/improvements.
Mostly cosmetic changes.

Look for the best spec you can afford.
Becareful because Toyota made a few variants of Vios got J, E, G and TRD spec.
Some people actually just buy Vios J put TRD bodykit then try to sell as TRD spec used car price.
Becareful about this, if you need more information on the variants you need to google abit there isn't one place where all the variants are listed but basically....

Vios J = got manual/auto, rear drum brakes, no fog light, steel rims
Vios E = auto only, rear drum brakes, fog light, alloy rims
Vios G = auto only, rear disc brakes, fog light, alloy rims
Vios TRD = auto only, rear disc brakes, fog light, alloy rims, orange instrument meter, different color fabric for seats, bodykit, etc.
Vios S = supercharger version not available in malaysia but thailand got  brows.gif
I think the Mazda3 is a good buy, however their 3S are limited and hopeless. You really need to keep an eye out on them so they follow the service manual schedule correctly so your warranty is intact. Some smart fellows there thought they doing my friend a favor by reducing the parts replacement for a major service to help lower the bill, but when the aircond failed the blame was put on the owner for not following the schedule parts replacements as per the service manual.

Current Altis/Civic/Sylphy are really boring cars and are only for the people that want decent RV and relatively inexpensive parts.

Jazz kinda fun is mostly be had with it's active club and the modification scene, the car itself is pretty boring.

2014 Ford Focus SE - although the performance is far from the RS/XR and it is an automatic the normal Focus is a good car anyway so dressing it up to look like the RS is pretty smart marketing, the chassis is good, handling is good, performance and fuel consumption is also good compared to its rivals like Civic,Altis,Sylphy, etc. Safety equipment is also good. The only downsize is the RV is pretty bad for Focus, you can check used car prices they're pretty sad if you intend to change cars often but if you're going to keep it for 10 years then it is worth it. There aren't many SE's remaining if you want them so you've gotta hunt down dealers or HQ if they have any left. This is new car, not recon/unreg.

2010 Mini Cooper S - Cooper S is the model with turbo if it is either just Mini One or Mini Cooper it is an ordinary 1600cc engine so performance wise not so fun but still acceptable. The engine is from a common platform shared between Mini/BMW/Citroen/Peugeot so you don't have to worry about parts and maintenance it is not a rare unit as this engine can be found in Citroen DS4/DS5 and Peugeot 308/408/508 so no worry about buying expensive import only parts or having no parts need to wait for delivery from overseas. Of course with many cars having the same heart and maintenance is about the same between them I'd rather be in a Mini than the others because it looks fantastic, better prestige, iconic and somewhat better RV.

2008 VW Golf GTI - okay the current one is MK7 and this I am showing you is MK5, is it just as good? Well, I would certainly say so. In a nutshell, there has been no major changes between MK5 to MK7 which is revolutionary just evolutionary. MK5 to MK6 the MK6 gets a new engine but the power output in stock isn't a big leap from the MK5, and most tuners say the engine in MK5 is better for tuning up for crazy power but the MK6 engine is more stable and fuel economical so take your pick. In terms of interior size and design you won't be able to differentiate between MK5 to MK7 if you didn't really take notice or have them side by side. One major change under the hood from MK6 to MK7 is the platform which is using MQB platform which makes the cars lighter by 40kg but doesn't significantly alter the performance/look of the car so generally if you don't knitpick there isn't a whole lot of difference between MK5 to MK7 but an unreg MK5 is going cheap nowadays at or under RM100k and for the performance and fun it offers I think it is a good deal.
you're lucky as i've been personally looking at this myself it is actually floating.

Audi A4 (B7 chassis) - most of them are used but you can find one or two recon/unregistered here and there but i think the dealers would have wanted to clear stock by now as this is an old model already (service life 2004-2008), so is it worth to buy? well depends as a used car it's prices will be around 80-99k, as an unreg car it was floating around 100-120k, these numbers are within your budget but be mindful of it's age. So tech wise it is quite a step down from current Audi's. It uses the first generation TFSI engine which isn't too bad in terms of power delivery and reliability but the gearbox isn't the dual clutch type it is a 6-speed wetbox (normal automatic). In terms of reliability this combination is quite good actually but of course the dual-clutch gives better performance and fuel economy.

Audi A4 (B8 chassis) - this is the current one but since it's service life started in 2008 it is long overdue a replacement model already since it has already been facelifted in 2012 so another 4 years of service life we should expect the replacement to come in 2016, expect to see the concept model of the replacement B9 in 2015 motor shows and perhaps the actual production/test models in early Q1 2016 and release in Q3/Q4 2016. However, I think in terms of technology it won't be a quantum leap as the facelifted B8 has everything it's newer rivals such as the newer Merc C-Class and BMW 3-series has which is dual-clutch gearbox, turbo engine, built-in command center (navigation+phone connect+entertainment system), etc. I'm guessing they'll probably reuse the current technologies but refine them so it will still use a dual-clutch but will be 8/9-gears instead of the original 7, better more powerful and economical yet can pass emission standards engine, improve safety equipment, and of course improve the looks which is looking abit dated compared to the newer Merc and BMW.

so in a nutshell is it worth it?

depends on what do you want....the B7 is good value either as used or recon because it is cheap and reliable, but you might feel it is abit "old tech", but the man on the street that doesn't know much about cars won't notice it being old as long as it is kept clean and neat.

the B8 is a good option if you can stretch your budget, my expectations is that the new car might not be much of an improvement so you save your money, except unless the new car has a fantastic new look which is unlikely as VW group cars are always kinda boring looking.

an alternative? Merc C180 or C200 of the W204 range which can been around since 2007 until 2014 is still a good car, there aren't many W205's on the road and the majority of C-Class you see on the road are still W204 in either C180/C200 form. They're pretty good looking and of course being a Merc you'll get more prestige than from an Audi among peers. Depending on model the recon/unreg's are being cleared now by dealers from 110k-129k, about the same price as a Japanese C-segment car like Civic or Altis but you get a nice German D-segment instead. I think it is a bargain buy for it's price, further more Merc themselves have fragmented the market as where the price range for the W204 was the CLA (190-240k) has taken over that price range while the W205 (>250k) has moved up, imho the W205 feels abit big for a C-Class and the CLA feels abit small for its price range. So I think the W204 will be the last in that (official) price range (220-250k) for Merc.

fyi TFSI is the turbo version of an FSI engine, an FSI engine is similar to Mitsubishi's GDI.
so what is the difference between a GDI/FSI engine compared to normal petrol engines?
it is quite similar to diesel engines actually, instead of fuel being sprayed it is injected into the combustion chamber at pressure via common rail fuel line, you can read more about it here. You will notice all the newer engines utilize this technology already, and all VW group non-turbo or twincharger engines are basically FSI.

anyway, if it is too much information we can have a private chat later on  laugh.gif
recon cars usually are in the range of rm100k and above.
did you just mean a used car in good condition?

fyi

recon/unreg/grey imports = can be new/used overseas, bring to malaysia not yet registered so entitled for new car loan %
used car = ckd/cbu but already registered in malaysia so considered used, only entitled for used car loan %
mls_gamer
post Feb 24 2015, 07:57 PM

1,589 posts

Currently i'm looking for a new car for my Father

1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : < RM 50k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New
4. Specs : Basic, Medium spec
6. NA or FI : Any
7. Type : 4~5 seater.
8. Remarks : Safety, less problem, >1.0L
9. Location: Seremban

el.primero
post Feb 24 2015, 08:58 PM

175 posts

thank you zenix and syfq, will think it all over again, points taken smile.gif
ChinHong86
post Feb 25 2015, 08:13 PM

1,116 posts

Looking for a car, monthly drive from kedah to JB, in between will go to johor outskirt. Mainly cheap and low maintenance.
currently driving smart roadster, looking for a more suitable car, this one keep at home.

1. Brand : kia sorento 05, ssangyong rexton 05
2. Budget : around rm20k, the lesser the better
3. New/Used/Unreg : used
4. Specs : anything
5. Transmission : anything
6. NA or FI : prefer FI diesel
7. Type : SUV/pickup
8. Remarks : occasionally using kampung roads, very high usage,
9. Location: kedah, kl, johor
KenYoung
post Feb 26 2015, 12:18 AM

700 posts

hi sifu zenix, thanks a lot for helping out all the brothers and sisters here.
now need your help as im helping my mom to look for a used car, below are details:

1. Brand : flexi

2. Budget : mom mentioned 80K but mayb +- 15% allownace
3. New/Used/Unreg : used
4. Specs : flexi
5. Transmission : flexi
6. NA or FI : any
7. Type : SUV - mom likes car that are elevated
8. Remarks :
a) city driving, and mayb sometimes i can take to outstation short holiday tongue.gif
b) 3-4 years old car
c) prefer something which gives best bang for the bucks - overall maintenance, FE, resell value

9. Location: KL

thanks in advance!! smile.gif

ive used the search function but theres not really a concrete winner.. mostly either FE poor, or expensive parts? yawn.gif

This post has been edited by KenYoung: Feb 26 2015, 12:20 AM
zenix
post Feb 26 2015, 11:12 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

Updated some blog entries today based on the replies here, most of them have been updated with new info as well.
http://cartcss.blogspot.com/2015/02/thinki...rs-in-2015.html

QUOTE(muttly @ Feb 24 2015, 05:04 PM)
Wow...thank you!!
you're welcomed!

updated some stuff for my blog post of your question
http://cartcss.blogspot.com/2015/02/compac...is-new-and.html

QUOTE(brutalsoul @ Feb 24 2015, 05:11 PM)
Naza Ria and Naza Citra both would be in your price range and year range.
They're both MPV, Ria is based on a van chassis and is bigger.
Citra I feel has better equipment levels.
But both are quite notorious for bad fuel consumption.

QUOTE(helload @ Feb 24 2015, 05:41 PM)
Hi, thanks for the reply, i wont use loan, paying cash, currently i am looking at nissan sentra 1.8 xgl 2003 selling for rm25k otr.. Is it good with my budget?
I have yet to get my insurance claim..
It is a good car for the price.
Yes, it isn't as spacious as C-segment cars in 2015, isn't as fuel saving/environmentally friendly as cars today, etc.
But when it comes down to it.....for that price and you're in a pinch I think it is a whole lot better than considering Toyota SEG/Honda Civic from the 90's.

QUOTE(Maneki-neko @ Feb 24 2015, 06:32 PM)
Thanks for the info bro thumbup.gif
You're welcome!

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Feb 24 2015, 07:57 PM)
After writting something so long I thought I just post it in my blog anyway as this question do come up quite often.
http://cartcss.blogspot.com/2015/02/budget-50k-in-2015.html

This post has been edited by zenix: Feb 26 2015, 12:09 PM

125 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:40 PM