125 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

lowalvinlow
post Jan 29 2015, 07:56 PM

Anyone know what's the market rate for a second hand 07 to 09 Civic Type R and what to look out for when buying?

Love the outlook!! Wanna trade my Gen 2 for one. biggrin.gif
zenix
post Jan 30 2015, 11:44 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

http://paultan.org/2014/10/16/jpj-delays-n...rules-may-2015/

hey guys just update yourselves on tinted if you getting one soon.
lowalvinlow
post Jan 30 2015, 06:09 PM

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 30 2015, 11:44 AM)
http://paultan.org/2014/10/16/jpj-delays-n...rules-may-2015/

hey guys just update yourselves on tinted if you getting one soon.
Delay!?!?

NVM just in time for my new ride!!!
LaiFany
post Jan 30 2015, 06:42 PM

150 posts

1. Brand : Proton?
2. Budget : below 10k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Transmission : AT
5. Remarks : Am a university student and I managed to save up RM10k from freelancing. Looking for a car that's less costly to maintain, and preferably a sedan. Is a waja possible at this price point? Or is there any other viable options? Thanks a bunch! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
zenix
post Feb 1 2015, 04:23 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(acks2257 @ Jan 21 2015, 03:11 PM)
hi bro zenix, any major difference between a hatchback & Sedan Latio 1.6?
for the benefit of everyone else I'm going to share with everyone our PM

QUOTE(stargamer @ Jan 21 2015, 10:11 PM)
4wd or saloon car. easy to maintain ,etc.
Sorry I lost track.

Mind telling again:
1. Brand: ??
2. Budget : ??
3. New/Used/Unreg : ??
4. Specs : ??
5. Transmission : AT
6. NA or FI : None.
7. Type : SUV/Sedan
8. Remarks : ??

QUOTE(highbury1913 @ Jan 22 2015, 11:48 PM)
I'm going to split this into two categories...cash buy and loan buy.

2010 Perodua Viva 1.0 Elite - first things first the viva doesn't have any crash test certification, not even from ANCAP which is common for Asian cars so you can expect it to be somewhere between zero to two stars -- it probably didn't do so well which is why it has been quickly discontinued and replaced with the Axia (4/5 stars). Safety issue out of the way the Viva is a decent car to runabout, small engine and small size means cheap maintenance and fuel bills.

2012 Proton Persona - however, since you're a family man I suggest you get something better. Proton cars are considered value for money nowadays in the used car market because you usually get a bigger and better car from Proton vs Perodua for the same amount of money. Being a money pit....I don't think the Persona is one unless you got yourself a lemon, else they're usually quite cheap and cheerful cars in terms of maintenance and fuel bills. Shop around and you might find a good bargain, the last batch of Gen2 around 2008/2009 got really high equipment levels you can consider too.

The second part I am going to assume you've got 20k cash to burn, below are a few choice cars around 10k so the remaining money can be saved or put into the car in terms of full maintenance before use, polish/wax, replacement of needed parts and new rubbers. Unless it is a real lemon you won't be spending more than 4k.

Recommended things to do:
Full engine+gearbox+aircond maintenance and replace gas/oil.
Brake system maintenance, change pads, and brake fluid. check if rotors warped, if not you're in luck!
Change tires if they're less than 50%.
Change rubber seals anywhere that is perished, recommend to change for all door and window seals.
If got budget you can consider bringing it a shop to refurbish the interior abit link

1997 Toyota Corolla - old reliable is what they call this car, the one in this advert looks well kept except the boot looks abit fakkap mebbe parking accident, rest of it looks good. For cars this old just make sure no major accident, engine+gearbox+aircond no issue then you're golden!

1998 Honda Civic - rare to find one in such a good condition, this would be my top pick but of course do the prudent thing to go checkout and test drive the car for yourself if nothing serious then it is worth to buy.

2000 Nissan Sentra - newer, cheaper and uglier, it might be a good car but it sure doesn't look as handsome as the Civic. Although Genting no issues for "GENTING TAXI" brows.gif

QUOTE(Prothero @ Jan 23 2015, 05:53 AM)
1. Brand = Any brands with good Customer Service
2. Budget = 80-85k
3. New/Used/Unreg. New = New Unit
4. Specs = Car with good FC, reliable maintenance.
5. Transmission = Anything other than manual
6. NA or FI = Doesn't really matter
7. Type = Probably a B Segment with good boot space, hatchbacks/sedans welcomed.
8. Remarks = I'm thinking of the new Honda City, but looking for other viable options such as:
-Kia Cerato
-Ford Fiesta Hatch
-Kia Rio
-The new Mazda 2
Cerato/Rio/Elantra - great looking car, value for money specs, so-so RV, most replacement parts only sold by Kia/Hyundai thus price control.

Fiesta - great looking car, good performance, good fc, good RV for a Ford don't need to worry about it dropping like a rock like the Focus/Mondeo but still not on par with Japanese makes, most replacement parts only sold by Ford thus price control. Service center limited.

Mazda2 - great looking car, unknown real world performance/fuel efficiency but specs on paper would put it very near hybrid car levels, RV for Mazda's has been steadily getting better since their Zoomzoom campaign and rebranding a few years ago but don't expect it to be as good as Honda/Toyota....about the same as Nissan nowadays. Being new model the parts will all only be carried by Mazda but shouldn't be a problem since most Mazda's nowadays come with 3 years free maintenance and 5 years warranty -- so if you want to maintain that 5 years warranty you've gotta continue to let the service center maintain the car until 5 years even after the free maintenance years so that usually puts outside workshop cheaper parts price to moot as parts stockist won't carry so much (quantity/variety) of stock because they know kiasu people will mostly still bring it to the service center eventhough more expensive so can claim warranty if anything wrong. After 5 years since RV quite okay nowadays can afford to change car so recon/used/fake/oem parts from stockist/workshop outside not relevant yet.

Almera - good space but really lacking in engine performance, since you got budget so skip this one.

Vios - RV king but technology like dinosaur, I recommend skip.

City - IMHO has the best overall package. It has the longer wheelbase like the Almera thus more spacious for rear passengers even when people at the front push their chairs to the maximum. It isn't a revolutionary design more like an evolution from the generation before it, as the previous generation was a good car but lacking in certain areas -- this model resolves many of the issues especially one sticking point which is the engine performance and fuel consumption. Two generations back the Honda City was probably the first car to the general public to have a CVT gearbox, due to bungling service center workers/owners not knowing how to maintain it properly as CVT gearbox require a special CVTF (fluid) not normal gearbox oil among other things to be in good shape -- so started the "CVT is no good, always fail" rant/scare from people not knowing any better just spreading rumors as it is our nature to be afraid of new/unknown. Which is why the next City came with a lousy normal slush-box gearbox which cumulated in lousy FC. If it really was a design problem then there should have been more recalls/damage reports like the infamous VW DSG failure -- I think it was more of service center workers not knowing how to take care of new tech and owners especially those kiamsap/cheapskate buggers whom never change the CVTF, put in cheap low grade normal gear oil, or those replica fakes then blame the manufacturer. If CVT was really that bad then why would Proton make it one of their mainstay gearbox for Inspira/Saga FLX? Infact many other manufacturers have introduced CVT gearboxes over the last few years to make that argument moot. Thus, the new City with a powerful engine finally gets the gearbox it deserves like the City of 2 generations ago a combo of powerful engine and efficient CVT makes for a great drivetrain. Range topping model has hightech touch screen entertainment system and climate control.

QUOTE(dr4nr3b @ Jan 23 2015, 11:22 AM)
Got people wondering am I from Nissan since I always recommend Sylphy...... laugh.gif

2006 Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6 GLX - this might be a car that is near it's 10th birthday but the condition and rarity of this model on our roads means that if you buy this car today, you're not going to feel like you're driving around in an old model, no you get the feeling that you're driving around in something special and rare -- like the guys that still keep their Honda Legend and Honda Prelude in tip top condition, to the common folk they can't differentiate between old and new unless is very common and typical model like Vios/City/Altis/etc. Usually rarity means you're going to have issues with parts but because this Lancer is of the same generation as the Waja there are many common/crossover parts between the Lancer/Waja....maybe Persona/Gen2/Neo....the engine is of the same 4G-series as most Pre-Campro era Proton engines so spare parts for this car isn't a worry.....maintenance is straight forward and parts are inexpensive. Look around for one like this in good condition and you're set eventhough it is a 9 years old car, you can search around for 2007 models which is the last batch before the current Lancer which shares the body with the Inspira. Best part is they're all sub-35k brows.gif

2009 Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT - if you want something newer and up-to-date then consider the latest Lancer, this was the first batch before Proton Inspira was introduced, the first batch have everything and is fully loaded compared to the Inspira which has a few different specs and equipment levels. The only thing it misses from other C-segment cars is a stability control program like VSA (Honda) or VSC (Toyota), other than that it is on par with the Civic and Altis in terms of size, comfort, performance, etc. Parts and maintenance isn't a worry because it shares commonality with Inspira so you can choose the "cheaper" Inspira parts over the Lancer parts. However, this would be at the top-end of your budget.

2011 Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Impul bodykit + Leather seats - can't runaway from this model as it is really a value for money used car buy of a C-segment car. This particular advertised car seems quite fully loaded and worth the money, however keep in mind the Sylphy is very affordable and have a large price range depending on spec and year made -- like this model is 2011 is going to cost RM60k at the maximum end of your budget but a 2009 model would be around RM37k onwards. I've covered this car many times so I guess people are used to me recommending this car and it's merits. You'll notice one thing is that the interior is kinda friendly being so white and beige while the Civic and Lancer look very sporty with gray/black interior.

2009 Honda Civic FD1 1.8 - this Civic is generation below the current one and many still prefer and like this model because it looks nicer and has a better package overall (but that is usually referring to the 2000cc variant with the dohc i-vtec engine as the current one people say is pariah because it is only sohc i-vtec) the sacrifices made for performance has been offset by better fuel economy if that interest you. Anyway, this advert is about the 1800cc variant, I think this is the lowest entry point price for this car as I see some other pricing about too unbelievably low could be a conjob. In terms of price it is a slight premium over the Sylphy but of course the Lancer is more expensive being that it is still a current model -- but Civic's usually offer superior performance and handling while being easy on your pocket -- plus street cred for driving in a Civic eventhough one generation back is alot more than from a Inspira clone (typical Malaysian mindset that will butthurt people).
coklatua
post Feb 1 2015, 10:23 AM

887 posts

Hi, I'm a fresh graduate.
Just sent to Sarawak for posting.
The road to my workplace have tar road but the condition is horrible. Very horrible. The road banyak lubang with mud everywhere and berbukit bukit. Also this place sometimes flood.
So I'm finding cars that tahan lasak.
Maybe 4x4?
Easy maintainence.
What do you all recommend me?
Should I buy new or second hand car.
Brand, feature not matter.
I'm a fresh graduate so my basic salary about 2k only.
I'm willing to pay 500 to 600 per month.
I'm eying on the axia and saga sv for new car, second hand I've no idea but I'm open for any other car as well.

This post has been edited by coklatua: Feb 1 2015, 11:52 AM
Gogurt
post Feb 1 2015, 12:59 PM

101 posts

1. Brand : Any. Better with good RV lol.
2. Budget : Prefarably below 55k. Would like it if monthly commitment will be below 550
3. New/Used/Unreg : New/used also can
4. Specs : Any
6. NA or FI : -
7. Type : 4 seater
8. Remarks : Prefarably entry level car.
stargamer
post Feb 1 2015, 02:26 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 1 2015, 04:23 AM)
for the benefit of everyone else I'm going to share with everyone our PM

Sorry I lost track.

Mind telling again:
1. Brand: ??
2. Budget : ??
3. New/Used/Unreg : ??
4. Specs : ??
6. NA or FI :  None.
7. Type : SUV/Sedan
8. Remarks : ??
I'm going to split this into two categories...cash buy and loan buy.

2010 Perodua Viva 1.0 Elite - first things first the viva doesn't have any crash test certification, not even from ANCAP which is common for Asian cars so you can expect it to be somewhere between zero to two stars -- it probably didn't do so well which is why it has been quickly discontinued and replaced with the Axia (4/5 stars). Safety issue out of the way the Viva is a decent car to runabout, small engine and small size means cheap maintenance and fuel bills.

2012 Proton Persona - however, since you're a family man I suggest you get something better. Proton cars are considered value for money nowadays in the used car market because you usually get a bigger and better car from Proton vs Perodua for the same amount of money. Being a money pit....I don't think the Persona is one unless you got yourself a lemon, else they're usually quite cheap and cheerful cars in terms of maintenance and fuel bills. Shop around and you might find a good bargain, the last batch of Gen2 around 2008/2009 got really high  equipment levels you can consider too.

The second part I am going to assume you've got 20k cash to burn, below are a few choice cars around 10k so the remaining money can be saved or put into the car in terms of full maintenance before use, polish/wax, replacement of needed parts and new rubbers. Unless it is a real lemon you won't be spending more than 4k.

Recommended things to do:
Full engine+gearbox+aircond maintenance and replace gas/oil.
Brake system maintenance, change pads, and brake fluid. check if rotors warped, if not you're in luck!
Change tires if they're less than 50%.
Change rubber seals anywhere that is perished, recommend to change for all door and window seals.
If got budget you can consider bringing it a shop to refurbish the interior abit link

1997 Toyota Corolla - old reliable is what they call this car, the one in this advert looks well kept except the boot looks abit fakkap mebbe parking accident, rest of it looks good. For cars this old just make sure no major accident, engine+gearbox+aircond no issue then you're golden!

1998 Honda Civic - rare to find one in such a good condition, this would be my top pick but of course do the prudent thing to go checkout and test drive the car for yourself if nothing serious then it is worth to buy.

2000 Nissan Sentra - newer, cheaper and uglier, it might be a good car but it sure doesn't look as handsome as the Civic. Although Genting no issues for "GENTING TAXI"  brows.gif
Cerato/Rio/Elantra - great looking car, value for money specs, so-so RV, most replacement parts only sold by Kia/Hyundai thus price control.

Fiesta - great looking car, good performance, good fc, good RV for a Ford don't need to worry about it dropping like a rock like the Focus/Mondeo but still not on par with Japanese makes, most replacement parts only sold by Ford thus price control. Service center limited.

Mazda2 - great looking car, unknown real world performance/fuel efficiency but specs on paper would put it very near hybrid car levels, RV for Mazda's has been steadily getting better since their Zoomzoom campaign and rebranding a few years ago but don't expect it to be as good as Honda/Toyota....about the same as Nissan nowadays. Being new model the parts will all only be carried by Mazda but shouldn't be a problem since most Mazda's nowadays come with 3 years free maintenance and 5 years warranty -- so if you want to maintain that 5 years warranty you've gotta continue to let the service center maintain the car until 5 years even after the free maintenance years so that usually puts outside workshop cheaper parts price to moot as parts stockist won't carry so much (quantity/variety) of stock because they know kiasu people will mostly still bring it to the service center eventhough more expensive so can claim warranty if anything wrong. After 5 years since RV quite okay nowadays can afford to change car so recon/used/fake/oem parts from stockist/workshop outside not relevant yet.

Almera - good space but really lacking in engine performance, since you got budget so skip this one.

Vios - RV king but technology like dinosaur, I recommend skip.

City - IMHO has the best overall package. It has the longer wheelbase like the Almera thus more spacious for rear passengers even when people at the front push their chairs to the maximum. It isn't a revolutionary design more like an evolution from the generation before it, as the previous generation was a good car but lacking in certain areas -- this model resolves many of the issues especially one sticking point which is the engine performance and fuel consumption. Two generations back the Honda City was probably the first car to the general public to have a CVT gearbox, due to bungling service center workers/owners not knowing how to maintain it properly as CVT gearbox require a special CVTF (fluid) not normal gearbox oil among other things to be in good shape -- so started the "CVT is no good, always fail" rant/scare from people not knowing any better just spreading rumors as it is our nature to be afraid of new/unknown. Which is why the next City came with a lousy normal slush-box gearbox which cumulated in lousy FC. If it really was a design problem then there should have been more recalls/damage reports like the infamous VW DSG failure -- I think it was more of service center workers not knowing how to take care of new tech and owners especially those kiamsap/cheapskate buggers whom never change the CVTF, put in cheap low grade normal gear oil, or those replica fakes then blame the manufacturer. If CVT was really that bad then why would Proton make it one of their mainstay gearbox for Inspira/Saga FLX? Infact many other manufacturers have introduced CVT gearboxes over the last few years to make that argument moot. Thus, the new City with a powerful engine finally gets the gearbox it deserves like the City of 2 generations ago a combo of powerful engine and efficient CVT makes for a great drivetrain. Range topping model has hightech touch screen entertainment system and climate control.
Got people wondering am I from Nissan since I always recommend Sylphy...... laugh.gif

2006 Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6 GLX - this might be a car that is near it's 10th birthday but the condition and rarity of this model on our roads means that if you buy this car today, you're not going to feel like you're driving around in an old model, no you get the feeling that you're driving around in something special and rare -- like the guys that still keep their Honda Legend and Honda Prelude in tip top condition, to the common folk they can't differentiate between old and new unless is very common and typical model like Vios/City/Altis/etc. Usually rarity means you're going to have issues with parts but because this Lancer is of the same generation as the Waja there are many common/crossover parts between the Lancer/Waja....maybe Persona/Gen2/Neo....the engine is of the same 4G-series as most Pre-Campro era Proton engines so spare parts for this car isn't a worry.....maintenance is straight forward and parts are inexpensive. Look around for one like this in good condition and you're set eventhough it is a 9 years old car, you can search around for 2007 models which is the last batch before the current Lancer which shares the body with the Inspira. Best part is they're all sub-35k  brows.gif

2009 Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT - if you want something newer and up-to-date then consider the latest Lancer, this was the first batch before Proton Inspira was introduced, the first batch have everything and is fully loaded compared to the Inspira which has a few different specs and equipment levels. The only thing it misses from other C-segment cars is a stability control program like VSA (Honda) or VSC (Toyota), other than that it is on par with the Civic and Altis in terms of size, comfort, performance, etc. Parts and maintenance isn't a worry because it shares commonality with Inspira so you can choose the "cheaper" Inspira parts over the Lancer parts. However, this would be at the top-end of your budget.

2011 Nissan Sylphy 2.0 Impul bodykit + Leather seats - can't runaway from this model as it is really a value for money used car buy of a C-segment car. This particular advertised car seems quite fully loaded and worth the money, however keep in mind the Sylphy is very affordable and have a large price range depending on spec and year made -- like this model is 2011 is going to cost RM60k at the maximum end of your budget but a 2009 model would be around RM37k onwards. I've covered this car many times so I guess people are used to me recommending this car and it's merits. You'll notice one thing is that the interior is kinda friendly being so white and beige while the Civic and Lancer look very sporty with gray/black interior.

2009 Honda Civic FD1 1.8 - this Civic is generation below the current one and many still prefer and like this model because it looks nicer and has a better package overall (but that is usually referring to the 2000cc variant with the dohc i-vtec engine as the current one people say is pariah because it is only sohc i-vtec) the sacrifices made for performance has been offset by better fuel economy if that interest you. Anyway, this advert is about the 1800cc variant, I think this is the lowest entry point price for this car as I see some other pricing about too unbelievably low could be a conjob. In terms of price it is a slight premium over the Sylphy but of course the Lancer is more expensive being that it is still a current model -- but Civic's usually offer superior performance and handling while being easy on your pocket -- plus street cred for driving in a Civic eventhough one generation back is alot more than from a Inspira clone (typical Malaysian mindset that will butthurt people).
recommendation for +- 300k 4wd car?
zenix
post Feb 1 2015, 10:44 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(akma87 @ Jan 23 2015, 04:59 PM)
2011 Proton Persona 1.6 (A) ELEGANCE(USED CAR)
RM 31 800
Hi guy,
a good deal ? or better look at better deal?
thx..
Nothing really amazing about that price but for a 2011 car, why not right?

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Jan 25 2015, 11:54 AM)
If the aim is for RV and cheap running cost above all else then the Toyota Vios fits perfectly to your requirements. However, although with that budget it won't bag you the top of the range Honda City even that model is better equipped than any Toyota Vios would ever be.

ANCAP rated 5/5 stars.

Also it is the only B-segment sedan with vehicle stability control.

QUOTE(Darer Hoo @ Jan 25 2015, 12:01 PM)
I've covered that budget range before but i'll just summarize for the two you've selected.

308 - did you know that the engine for this car is also available on Mini Cooper S, BMW 316, Citroen DS5, etc. but somehow the variant in this model is the pariah of the family it doesn't have that much punch. The 408 having a similar setup but alot has been improved and it is on par with the other siblings. Another deal breaker is spare parts aren't all that cheap.

City - as i've mentioned before this is a good car overall except the drivetrain combination results in higher FC than it should, but if you're a light footed driver (and also nowadays fuel is cheaper) it might be okay for you but for most people it is a deal breaker.

You should be able to get a Latio/Sylphy for the same year for that price.

QUOTE(bobsj @ Jan 28 2015, 12:01 PM)
Honda Odyssey - I know you wanted an SUV and this is an MPV but just hear me out. It is an XL MPV which is larger than the Honda Stream thus more spacious. Secondly it rides lower to the ground with a sedan like setup unlike the Toyota Estima which is high up like a van, so ride and handling is very similar to a sedan or station-wagon. It has best in class FC as well with the help of Earth Dreams technology, with this technology when the computer sense the car isn't on full load and doesn't need the full power of the engine it shuts down part of the engine so instead of it being a 2400cc gas guzzling monster when you're driving alone to work it the computer transforms it into a 1800cc engine by shutting down parts of the engine. The engine is part of Honda's K-series engine and although there are slight variations between the engines used in the Stream, Civic, Accord, CRV and this model the commonality is enough to make replacement parts on an overall basis cheaper. This model is also very famous among the recon car sellers and you can see many on the road, so spares for even body parts are quite affordable for this category of vehicle.

VW Tiguan - is an option if you're looking for something european and it is quite affordable for it's size at 178k it is even cheaper than it's c-segment hot hatch the Golf GTi. It is actually a good thing VW set the price that low as it is well within the reach of it's competitors like Honda CRV, Mazda CX5, etc. However, if you're looking for a real larger one in XXL size then you've gotta consider the VW Touareg but that's going to really bust your budget.

QUOTE(jason1986 @ Jan 28 2015, 01:29 PM)
Zenix, thanks for your reply.
you're welcomed! rclxms.gif
zenix
post Feb 2 2015, 12:05 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(noobhua @ Jan 29 2015, 11:27 AM)
Sylphy & Lancer uses CVT so they won't be featured.

2008 Toyota Altis 1.8G - back when Altis was still king on our roads this was the model to get it has everything you'd want from a C-segment spacious cabin for front and rear passengers and fully loaded safety equipment. Maintenance and parts are a cheap affair. Only issue for me is that it looks dated and ugly -- if that's okay with you then why not.

2009 Honda Civic 1.8 - personally, I'd prefer something like this as it has all the merits of the Altis plus it doesn't look ugly or too dated. With the new 9gen Civic not doing so well this 8gen model is still tops.

2009 Toyota Rush - for choices of SUV there is this model but I dunno it seems that Toyota is trying to cheat us selling this upgraded Avanza, it is small, it is cramped, it is underpowered -- I just don't think it is a good deal unless your requirement is for a small SUV for running around town without carrying any passengers and not being afraid when it floods.

2009 Suzuki Vitara - now this is a proper sized SUV, and when new it would've cost you at least 140k to buy one, now you can have it for around 40k ++ wow it lost 100k in just a few short years (hope the owner is rich) but anyway their lost is our gain as for what it is and at this price point I think it is a good car. Spacious and premium looking, it is still a current model so no worries of buying something that has already been discontinued. The deal breaker is lack of 4X4 and part prices aren't too pocket friendly.

2009 Nissan X-Trail - this one has a great drivetrain it can switch between 2x4 and 4x4 on the go without stopping as long as you're driving pretty slow like 40kmh, great option to have especially with our crazy weather nowadays can be sunny then suddenly heavy rain within 20 minutes but with such a car you don't need to worry. Drive in 2x4 to save fuel then transform to 4x4 without needing to fully stop (in most 4x4 that can shift between 2x4 and 4x4 modes u need to fully stop the car to change mode) so like when you see up ahead the sky is totally dark you can slow down (no need to stop by petrol station to do it) maybe at the toll or traffic light then change to 4x4 for better grip and handling in wet conditions. Nissan spare parts are also very rugged and cheap. Only bad spot? Well, it is ugly! Just look at it!

QUOTE(strawberry.my @ Jan 29 2015, 02:38 PM)
Here are a few things you might have missed out.

Altis/Civic comes with stability control -- VSC/VSA respectively. Lancer doesn't have this feature. Sylphy has VDC & TCS.

So in a 4x4 against Altis/Civic/Lancer/Sylphy who's the winner?

Altis - has lost it's way since the first generation Altis flooding our roads, nowadays when a new Altis comes about you don't see that many of them on the roads anymore. Reduce numbers is going to effect RV and spare parts price.

Civic - going through it's usual cycle of outputting a lousy car every other generation. The 6gen good, 7gen bad, 8gen good, 9gen bad....so maybe the next one will be good? But we can't wait that long and the short answer is this car has a vibe that doesn't sit well with me. As a used car 3-5 years old at 50-60k it would be good but as a new car above 115k I don't think so.

Lancer - the deal breaker for me is the lack of stability control everything else it is on par with the rest but for the no matter how much fluff they add into the car to make it seems more sporty but when you push it and something goes wrong you don't have the computer as a backup, I just don't feel safe about that.

Mazda3 - probably the best looking of the bunch and boast a Skyactiv engine which FC rivals that of hybrids they say, however not much information can be obtained from the Malaysian website so I'm guessing they don't have stability control on this model as well? rclxub.gif

Sylphy - the best of the worst? perhaps.

However, either 4 are quite common on our roads so maintenance shouldn't be an issue. The thing you should look out for is which model is giving 5 years warranty which is becoming standard now, it was only 3 years before this. Also nowadays free 3 years maintenance is also quite a popular promotion they're doing. About RV they're alright but usually in this order Civic > Altis > Lancer = Mazda3 = Sylphy.

I strongly recommend you seriously consider the new Honda HRV brows.gif

QUOTE(lowalvinlow @ Jan 29 2015, 07:56 PM)
Anyone know what's the market rate for a second hand 07 to 09 Civic Type R and what to look out for when buying? Love the outlook!! Wanna trade my Gen 2 for one.  biggrin.gif
A genuine FD2R is still going to be expensive.
Used ones all floating above 130k.
Recon ones minimum 150k.
You might as well buy a recon, right?

The FN2R is cheaper but it isn't a sedan, it is a hot hatch, I personally find this model sexier looking but performance wise it loses to FD2R.

QUOTE(lowalvinlow @ Jan 30 2015, 06:09 PM)
Delay!?!?
NVM just in time for my new ride!!!
What you buying there? brows.gif

QUOTE(LaiFany @ Jan 30 2015, 06:42 PM)
2001 Proton Waja - a Waja is very possible within this price range, however you've gotta be prudent and cautious as some may say it is a 2003 car you think not that old but actually it is older like 1999 or they play around with the odometer to make it seem like the mileage isn't that high. The one in this advertisement seems to be a nice car, it seems to be well taken care of the paint looks great and it has all the facelift trim -- this to me is important as eventhough I am buying a used car I am not going to just pick the cheapest because it might have issues like being too worn out and parts faulty....i'd like to be able to get the highest specs possible and also look as new as it can be. Older Proton's were notorious for their quality issues so make sure you're not buying a lemon check all the electrics, start stop the car a few times to make sure it is 100%.

2000 Proton Wira - if you have to choose a Wira then choose this model as this is the best variant of Wira by far, it has the best engine and gearbox of the entire range. If everything is as good as advertised then I think it is a good bargain, though the stories of Wira being a money pit is half true if you either got a lemon or keep modifying it, if kept stock and not a lemon it should be alright -- plus spare parts are so cheap anyway so not an issue to replace them.

1985 Merc 190E - you think I might be crazy introducing this dinosaur to you but Mercs are generally over-engineered and the original factory will still make parts for it until now, so you don't need to worry about discontinued model without spare parts as the secondary market with OEM/used/recon parts everywhere you shouldn't need to worry about parts. And the price? Well it is within the range of a Corolla/Civic/Waja but definitely Wira is going to be much cheaper to run and maintain. If you dare take the risk and get your hands abit dirty this is a great car to buy at the asking price if you can lower it abit more you can put 1-2k into upgrades/repairs and it will be set for the next 5 years.

Whatever car you choose for cars within this range you need to set aside 2k for need service/maintenance/repairs so buy something less than 8k.
strawberry.my
post Feb 2 2015, 11:06 AM

211 posts

Thanks for the analysis.
Yeah, I admit Lancer GT does not have VSC/VSA but this is not the case in Evo. Probably spare part availability from Inspira still keep me interest on it.

To be frank, Civic interior is the one I like most although look plastic by many youtube car reviewer. Beside the rear, the only put down is R series engine unlike the previous 8th gen which is K20 series. When you hear on how FD2R roar after downshift the gear, you are gonna to love it.

Mazda 3 outlook look great but Skyactiv technology still hidden a lots to me. I'm not sure whether they are about lightweight everything or the other way round to achieve fuel efficiency.

Sylphy not my cup of tea yet. It is as comfortable as Altis, coz I sit one in my colleague car before.

For Altis, my father own the previous generation. It is pretty quiet and comfy. Thanks to it soft suspension. To me, it is a baby camry. Hope they can get rid of torsion beam in future. At least, multi link if not wishbone.

HRV is a good looking car. Well, I still enjoy sedan for times being due to my current commitment.
Keep on your writing and sharing the good info, bro.
CherrieLuv
post Feb 2 2015, 02:06 PM

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 28 2015, 05:38 PM)

Really depends on the model.

This Sonata was the 2006-2008 model

This Sonata is the 2009-2014 model

As you can see the 2006 model heavily influence by Japanese carmakers and looks similar to that era's Accord, while the current generation they're on their own path design wise and their own engines are in the 3rd or 4th generation. Although still a way to go before matching Japanese car makers the strides are huge. They've been able to plug the emissions and fuel economy part but performance wise still not there yet but it is getting better.

The Spectra isn't a 5 year old car, probably the last unit they sold are 5 years old but the technology they based it on is at least from 15 years ago. Let's look at the crash test performance.

2006 Kia Cerato terrible results but as expected from a still growing car maker but 2012 Kia Ceed (Cerato in Malaysia) scored full marks 5/5 stars, a big difference in only 6 years. So which is why I don't recommend older Koreans as their engine performance is below par for the fuel they burn which means higher fuel cost and also safety wise is night and day.

2004 Kia Picanto is like a death trap, the test was with side impact airbags along with driver and passenger airbags (all of which I think are missing from the ones sold here) then with all those bags it only barely score enough to be road worthy.

So what's your budget again? I'll think of the best for what you can afford.
Ideally 25-30k in cash. Looks like Korean cars are out of the equation since the newer ones are out of my budget and the old ones are not quite up-to-par.
zenix
post Feb 2 2015, 02:09 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(coklatua @ Feb 1 2015, 10:23 AM)
I did the numbers you can afford only a 40k car on full-loan. Details here. I don't recommend going for loan longer than 7 years.

iinm tax rate for 4x4 is cheaper there so might as well look for SUV/Pickup?

2006 Toyota Rush - i think this would fit you quite nicely, a small SUV with AWD, it is not off-road ready but good enough for uneven roads and roads that often get some minor flooding. Maintenance is cheap as it shares many things in common with Toyota Avanza. Should be common enough so you don't need to worry about parts and easy to service as it is a Toyota so any workshop can handle it.

2008 Nissan X-Trail - is also around the same price range but then maintenance would be higher as maintenance and parts for a 2000 engine is much more expensive than for a 1500cc engine (in the Rush). Of course the X-Trail is a better car overall with better AWD system, more spacious and powerful -- but might be overkill for your use and budget. I was told also Nissan is not well representated everywhere in EM.

QUOTE(Gogurt @ Feb 1 2015, 12:59 PM)
55k is Proton/Perodua money for new car. I'm going to skip Koreans and introduce some value buy used Japanese makes, okie?

2011 Nissan Latio Sedan 1.6 and 2011 Nissan Sylphy 2.0 both are C-segment sedan cars but the big differentiation between both are the look and the engine. So while the Latio you sit higher it has a smaller engine at 1600cc so it is cheaper roadtax and running cost, but might be underpower if you're used to powerful cars but if you're upgrading from local cars like Kancil or Wira then you won't consider it underpower, might even consider it powerful. Both are value buys and won't depreciate rapidly further so don't worry about RV. Maintenance & spare parts are cheap either from Nissan or outside stockist.

However, if you're looking for something new then I suggest a Myvi over an Axia, and Persona over a Saga.

QUOTE(stargamer @ Feb 1 2015, 02:26 PM)
recommendation for +- 300k 4wd car?
sorry forgot bro notworthy.gif

personally i don't have the budget for a 300k car so normally i restrict myself and interest to below 200k cars. In terms of premium SUV's the one to get in terms of performance, street cred, rv (relative) and spare parts availability which be either BMW X-series or Audi Q-series. I don't think the Merc M-class are any good as they look too dated and technology is also dated by 2015 standards so it isn't an option when you're going to splash out 300k for one (recon or otherwise) but the new GLA-class is something else.

BMW X1 is RM240k for the petrol model and RM270k for the diesel version, although you can see recon models being thrown around for around RM120k but that is the older X1 which doesn't come with the latest 'twin power turbo' engines. Exterior wise they look akin but you can tell from the interior especially the gear shifter, for the non-turbo and 8-speed gearbox looks like this while the turbo with 8-speed gearbox looks like this in-line with the look of others that have this drivetrain combination like the F30 3-series or F20 1-series. To put it bluntly the X1 is the SUV equivalent of the 1-series (but if I am not mistaken it uses the F30 not F20 platform as its base) in the eyes of BMW's segmentation, if you feel strongly about being on the lower end of the spectrum but paying 3-series money (above 200k) then I suggest the 320d GT which is about RM298k but if you really can afford it then go for the 328i GT at RM329k roughly 30k more but you get the fantastic performance as the F30 328i but with the higher ride height, extra accessories, larger rear room from the GT.

Merc GLA is following the footsteps of other makers now in transforming their sedan car platforms into SUV's, e.g. Subaru Impreza = Subaru XV, BMW 320 = X1, etc. Merc took their beautiful A-class and transform it into the GLA. This model is too too new there isn't much information of it in terms of ownership experience but the reviews of the car itself can be found everywhere online, seems like another winner for Merc after the A-class and CLA-class.

In Audi's stable you can choose from the Q3 @ RM250k and Q5 @ RM320k. In terms of size the Q3 is the b/c-segment SUV about the same size or slightly larger than a Mitsubishi ASX, Honda HRV, etc. While the Q5 would be the c/d-segment SUV about the same size or slightly larger than Honda CRV, Mazda CX5, etc. I didn't double check but iinm they both have the same engine but with different tuning (and maybe some additional parts here and there) so the Q5 is of course more powerful and capable for it's bulk. IMHO although the Q3 has the same front as the Q5 but it's smaller size isn't give the impression of status and class.

Personally, I don't really think much about the ones from VW's stable as they're pretty much the pariah version of it's stablemate the Porsche Cayenne.

Service network (3S) would be limited for Audi and VW as they've still not well representated outside of Klang Valley, this would be a deal breaker if you don't have a local dealer with 2-5km radius especially if you're buying new and want 3S to service your car not outside workshops or even specialist.

QUOTE(strawberry.my @ Feb 2 2015, 11:06 AM)
It is true about the Lancer is that you've got the Inspira to help out in terms of cheaper parts due to Proton's local content program many of the Inspira's MMC parts have been replaced by local suppliers, and these suppliers will of course produce original and oem parts to the open market making the spate parts market very affordable like during the Proton Wira/Satria/Saga era. So really do you want to replace parts from a Japan CBU car with ones produced in Malaysia for Inspira? I guess that depends on the part and also the price to make such a sacrifice but one thing to remember is that Japanese automakers are global players and sell their car everywhere, it could surprise you but parts for Altis/Civic coming from Thailand/China/Japan could be cheaper than Lancer/Inspira local parts because of the volume of those factories.

Basically Mazda's idea about Skyactiv is about light-weight yet not sacrificing safety/integrity and engine efficiency with better fuel consumption without resorting to hybrid systems as natural aspirated engines are easier to design and maintain, also alot less complicated than either going the turbocharging route by Europeans or hybrid route by Japanese. The Koreans so far have not stated their intension in this game as they are about a generation behind so it would be interesting to see if they will go Hybrid, Turbo or something similar to Skyactiv for their next generation engines to meet emission standards, better fuel economy and increase power output.

Sylphy the newer one is better, yet I still think it is the best of the worst because although it has all the specs, equipment level, cheap spare parts and good service network.....the look for me is still not there yet. If they only could hire the guy that does the designs for Hyundai then they'd have a winner.

You mentioned abut torsion beam iinm the Sylphy and Altis still use torsion beams doh.gif

I've had a K-series Civic before the 8gen was a total game changer (in terms of spec & design) as you can see it is everywhere on the road and kicked Altis off it's throne. The 9gen to me is very meh....

If your decision is not urgent then wait the new Civic and Lancer are aging and replacements are on the way. SPIED! 2016 Civic and next Lancer concept.
strawberry.my
post Feb 2 2015, 03:55 PM

211 posts

Thanks, bro. It is a good sharing. I think K20 engine will be a legend. You can see that from Civic and Integra. It is good to know that Civic & Lancer undergo replacement model. I'm gonna to wait for that. Once in the lifetime, buy a car that we passion for. We never know when we will leave this world.
zenix
post Feb 2 2015, 03:56 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(CherrieLuv @ Feb 2 2015, 02:06 PM)
Ideally 25-30k in cash. Looks like Korean cars are out of the equation since the newer ones are out of my budget and the old ones are not quite up-to-par.
2004 Toyota Altis - this isn't the top spec 1800cc version but I was attracted to this advert because it has a unique color which looks very updated compared to the usual silver or beige which really looks dated by today's standards, it also looks clean, stock and unmodified which is a plus as alot of people usually give up and sell a car after they modify too much until the car becomes unstable. The mileage is very low for it's age but that can be adjusted so don't rely on it. Unless you need the extra power, don't mind the additional maintenance cost and roadtax cost the 1600cc variant doesn't lose out much in terms of fuel economy and performance. Maintenance/spare-parts as you know isn't an issue as the Altis has been carrying almost all the same parts from the first generation until now.

When it comes to Honda's you can go for the City as it is within your price range and it is a good car but I have doubts about them as those were the first generation of CVT's in Malaysian market and not everyone would have known how to do proper maintenance on them thus it is quite spotty to know which are in good health or not at first glance thus I don't really recommend unless you buying over from a relative and you know the car is in very good condition. You can also choose the Accord and it is also a very good car if you're looking for something bigger and more comfortable for outstation trips, however maintenance will be more expensive -- Yes, part prices for Honda and especially older models are relatively cheap but because it is a 2000cc engine you need to buy a higher grade of engine oil which adds to the overall cost. That leaves the Civic which the 6gen is a very good car but it is already 14years old, there is the younger 7gen but that wasn't a good car so stay away from it.

You'll be mostly priced out of Sylphy but you can find a few Latio's like this 2010 Nissan Latio on a private sale. The price vs year, it is a very good deal. And I've written much about this car previously you can check out older postings.

Ever tempted to consider a BMW like the 318? Well it is a good car but after a while you might wish that you bought the 325 instead. Anyway maintenance for both are roughly about the same as both would need fully synthetic engine oil anyway, additionally you might think BMW parts are expensive, well they are if you compare an old BMW with an old Proton/Toyota but they're way cheaper than other old European cars like Citroen/Peugeot/Renault/etc some of which the parts are limited not all stockist carry them. Also way cheaper than parts for new BMW's. One thing about old and new BMW they're all built to a dream and a standard so they're always going to be performance orientated, good handling and luxurious cars.

In this old legends vs modern series, BMW was one of only 2 makes that the old legend actually won against the new kid with a block.

stargamer
post Feb 2 2015, 06:43 PM

282 posts

wow thanks for your recommendation zenix, u have given me very clear explanation.
boonheng87
post Feb 2 2015, 07:47 PM

17 posts

"The Ecoboost in the Fiesta isn't a wild performance variant like in the Focus ST. It is a smaller cc and makes enough power to match the normal 1600cc engine, that is about it so it is actually a benefit to some markets as lower cc and better emissions would mean lower tax, insurance fees, etc. But in Malaysia there isn't a whole lot of difference/benefit. Being a turbo maintenance u gotta be more serious about it than with a non-turbo car." - pm by zenix

1. Brand : Fiesta Ecoboost vs Mazda 2
2. Budget : 80k vs 88k

Thx zenix for the sharing, sharing what he shares here.. basically, when an ecoboost vs M2 at such price, which will be a good buy for 9 years usage & loan? Is the 8k difference worth for the RV after 9 years? Ford vs Mazda...

rclxms.gif
coinstar
post Feb 3 2015, 09:06 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 20 2015, 11:11 AM)

2011 Nissan Teana - i am guessing you mean something like this model? well, it is a nice car and for B-segment car price you're getting something which isn't very old but D-segment (5 years more or less is fine) but a word of caution best to take up a 5 year loan then by the time you're done with the loan the car is 10 years old you can probably still sell it off easily because last chance for loaning a car is 10 years old model. Things I don't like about this car is that the interior is uninspiring usually smaller cars go with this much beige as to give a sense of space but this is a D-segment car it already has alot of space what it needs is an executive/luxurious feel inside which this interior color doesn't help -- but it is very spacious and comfortable to be in if you like this much of beige/white but stain easily.

2010 Honda Accord 2.4 - a nice sporty interior but unlike the Mazda6 the Accord doesn't have stock fantastic handling so don't fly about in corners unless you upgraded your shocks and tires. If you're not a speed demon and just want a comfortable D-segment for your family and the prestige of owning one then the Accord will be something the doctor ordered. For the price is a brand new Honda Jazz V-spec you can buy a used Accord 2.4 (better than the 2.0 which many have complained as being underpowered). Maintenance is cheap and parts availability is guaranteed everywhere so not problems here unless the mechanic really wants to cut your throat. The only downside to owning one would be you're not special as there are alot of Accords on the road but with the volume everything is cheaper, and maybe with Proton turning it into the next Perdana parts will even be cheaper.
Bro Zenix... the used car dealer EAST72 MOTORS (M) S?B ok ar? what is the standard transfer fees nowadays? been quoted RM2.5K ... lastly thank u in advance for your response..

zenix
post Feb 4 2015, 10:38 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(strawberry.my @ Feb 2 2015, 03:55 PM)
Thanks, bro. It is a good sharing. I think K20 engine will be a legend. You can see that from Civic and Integra. It is good to know that Civic & Lancer undergo replacement model. I'm gonna to wait for that. Once in the lifetime, buy a car that we passion for. We never know when we will leave this world.
Well it is not difficult to extract the same amount of power from a normal K20 as the one they put inside the FD2R, however the cost and complexity wouldn't be really worth it.

Normally, it's more than just the head. Some of the engines have oil coolers, a counterbalanced and balanced crankshaft (versus just balanced), and stronger rods. The Z engines have different ECUs than the A engines, and the new Z3 uses a throttle by wire system. Also, there's the issue of an LSD, found only on the K20A and K20Z3.

more info at the Temple of VTEC and here

btw i tot u r a girl with such a name rclxub.gif

QUOTE(stargamer @ Feb 2 2015, 06:43 PM)
wow thanks for your recommendation zenix, u have given me very clear explanation.
I think the A250 might be the next hot thing on the road brows.gif

QUOTE(boonheng87 @ Feb 2 2015, 07:47 PM)
"The Ecoboost in the Fiesta isn't a wild performance variant like in the Focus ST. It is a smaller cc and makes enough power to match the normal 1600cc engine, that is about it so it is actually a benefit to some markets as lower cc and better emissions would mean lower tax, insurance fees, etc. But in Malaysia there isn't a whole lot of difference/benefit. Being a turbo maintenance u gotta be more serious about it than with a non-turbo car." - pm by zenix

1. Brand : Fiesta Ecoboost vs Mazda 2
2. Budget : 80k vs 88k

Thx zenix for the sharing, sharing what he shares here.. basically, when an ecoboost vs M2 at such price, which will be a good buy for 9 years usage & loan? Is the 8k difference worth for the RV after 9 years? Ford vs Mazda...

rclxms.gif
I've did the calculations for all car makes so generally all cars if you keep them for 9 years they'll all depreciate to about the same level. You need to calculate their depreciation by % not value, because some cars starting price is higher but depreciate at the same level thus by 9 years will still be at a higher price. E.g. Honda Civic FD2 2.0 vs Sylphy G11 2.0 they're both 2000cc cars but one is cheaper than the other but should depreciate by the same % by 9 years.

Of course there are exceptions to this rule like really hot cars that market value doesn't degrade so much, e.g. Honda Civic EK the majority of them are all above RM20k especially those in good condition for a car that is going to be 20 years old it is quite something, it might reach classic car status before it depreciate to RM5k and by that time it might see a resurge in price.

There are some older big engine capacity cars that when reach classic car status their roadtax becomes more affordable suddenly the price will shoot up especially those in good/mint condition.

QUOTE(coinstar @ Feb 3 2015, 09:06 PM)
Bro Zenix... the used car dealer EAST72 MOTORS (M) S?B ok ar? what is the standard transfer fees nowadays? been quoted RM2.5K ... lastly thank u in advance for your response..
Hi bro!

There used car dealers that lump everything into the sticker price, some like air asia everything is itemized individually then pay cash to them for those. I prefer to deal with those that put everything into one price, I don't mind the rm100 booking fee or 10% deposit, but this/that few thousand here and there then suddenly the car you thought which is cheaper at this dealer than another dealer suddenly inflated until become more expensive then you become too invested to cancel.

Never put yourself into this situation.

Ask all the questions so it is all clear, if you have to make them write it down by hand then chop & sign if they don't have a form with that info, but if it has to come to this I think the shop is untrustworthy.

If you ever feel something is wrong, go to another shop. Nissan Teana and Honda Accord are all pretty common cars can find at any used car dealer. Usually the bigger used car/recon car dealers with big lots have better cash flow and management don't resort to alot of customer cheating practices.
coklatua
post Feb 4 2015, 01:30 PM

887 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 2 2015, 02:09 PM)
I did the numbers you can afford only a 40k car on full-loan. Details here. I don't recommend going for loan longer than 7 years.

iinm tax rate for 4x4 is cheaper there so might as well look for SUV/Pickup?

2006 Toyota Rush - i think this would fit you quite nicely, a small SUV with AWD, it is not off-road ready but good enough for uneven roads and roads that often get some minor flooding. Maintenance is cheap as it shares many things in common with Toyota Avanza. Should be common enough so you don't need to worry about parts and easy to service as it is a Toyota so any workshop can handle it.

2008 Nissan X-Trail - is also around the same price range but then maintenance would be higher as maintenance and parts for a 2000 engine is much more expensive than for a 1500cc engine (in the Rush). Of course the X-Trail is a better car overall with better AWD system, more spacious and powerful -- but might be overkill for your use and budget. I was told also Nissan is not well representated everywhere in EM.
Thanks for the suggestion bro.
What about if I want to buy a new car?
Haishhh, my family and friends not so agree about me buying secondhand EM cars.

125 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:29 AM