Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

lsm1991
post Jun 23 2016, 10:40 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(SummerOntheWay @ Jun 23 2016, 09:46 PM)
There are several steps you should take in purchasing a used car. Do your homework by reading consumer car reviews and consumer car reports. Ask the people you work with and friends about different car models. Gather information on gas consumption of the make and model you are interested in buying. Ask to see the report. If they don’t have one, note down the car’s VIN number and By checking a vin with http://www.vincheckup.com/cars you will find out accident data, police data, and more info about the car’s history. Check the reliability ratings of each car and calculate the costs.Most people know that buying a used automobile is like rolling the dice. However, following the steps of a used car checklist is one of the best ways to protect yourself, your money and help minimize the risks.
Basically..... Know the car you want well.... Newer cars easy, old modified cars then it becomes complex.... Here in Malaysia, you can't really get a 'report'. There are ways of trying to get info like this but most of the time its not with the effort.... Easier to view the car and , have it checked out properly
daymond85
post Jun 23 2016, 11:09 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Jun 23 2016, 08:41 PM)
btw, I surveyed the price of 2nd hand cars on mudah. i am johorean and i found that company who are selling used car in jb is more expensive than in kl. why is that so? does that mean, i should go to kl when i'm ready to buy the car of my choice?

the difference ranged at 5k-10k and that is alot.
Ya, i understand the situation as I also looking for 2ns hand car in JB. That is ridiculous. ranting.gif Somemore, they are selling KL car in JB with JB price. (normally KL car selling at KL with 5-10K lower than price in JB)

Btw, what car are you looking for? we can exchange experience.

QUOTE(hongzheng @ Jun 23 2016, 09:32 PM)
those price that you seen might not be a valid one, very often those that are cheaper than market price 5-10k, when you call up, either SA not picking up call no layan your whatsapp or already sold or customer in process of applying loan. could be something that you can only see the price but not able to buy at that price.
I think you misunderstand already. He is saying that the car price in KL is 5-10k cheaper than the same car selling in JB.

I have been looking 2nd hand car in JB for about 3 months (of course weekend only). And I found almost 100% that the car you saw in Mudah.com is available in the shop and I am able to see it. But the price is way too high! rclxub.gif ranting.gif vmad.gif

Dont know how to buy...
digilife
post Jun 23 2016, 11:35 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(SummerOntheWay @ Jun 23 2016, 09:46 PM)
There are several steps you should take in purchasing a used car. Do your homework by reading consumer car reviews and consumer car reports. Ask the people you work with and friends about different car models. Gather information on gas consumption of the make and model you are interested in buying. Ask to see the report. If they don’t have one, note down the car’s VIN number and By checking a vin with http://www.vincheckup.com/cars you will find out accident data, police data, and more info about the car’s history. Check the reliability ratings of each car and calculate the costs.Most people know that buying a used automobile is like rolling the dice. However, following the steps of a used car checklist is one of the best ways to protect yourself, your money and help minimize the risks.
Anyone here have access to VIN Membership for "rent" ? I need chk a VIN but not a member yet and dun want to pay the full rm84.42 just to chk one VIN. I wont mind to pay rm20 to anyone who can help me chk one VIN , thanks

nasbbq1992
post Jun 24 2016, 03:45 AM

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Jun 23 2016, 11:09 PM)
Ya, i understand the situation as I also looking for 2ns hand car in JB. That is ridiculous. ranting.gif  Somemore, they are selling KL car in JB with JB price. (normally KL car selling at KL with 5-10K lower than price in JB)

Btw, what car are you looking for? we can exchange experience.
I think you misunderstand already. He is saying that the car price in KL is 5-10k cheaper than the same car selling in JB.

I have been looking 2nd hand car in JB for about 3 months (of course weekend only). And I found almost 100% that the car you saw in Mudah.com is available in the shop and I am able to see it. But the price is way too high! rclxub.gif  ranting.gif  vmad.gif

Dont know how to buy...
i was surveying nissan latio hatchback which would be around 33k-39k in kl however in jb the price listed on mudah is around 42k-48k... that makes me wonder, are those in kl a fraud? or jb people just taking advantage? hahaha very confused rn.
hongzheng
post Jun 24 2016, 07:49 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Jun 24 2016, 03:45 AM)
i was surveying nissan latio hatchback which would be around 33k-39k in kl however in jb the price listed on mudah is around 42k-48k... that makes me wonder, are those in kl a fraud? or jb people just taking advantage? hahaha very confused rn.
dont think so that is the case. if there is an arbitrage profit, used car seller will take advantage until there is no difference in pricing.

bank lelong car maybe is slightly cheaper
daymond85
post Jun 24 2016, 08:15 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(hongzheng @ Jun 24 2016, 07:49 AM)
dont think so that is the case. if there is an arbitrage profit, used car seller will take advantage until there is no difference in pricing.

bank lelong car maybe is slightly cheaper
How do we know the car is lelong car or not?
hongzheng
post Jun 24 2016, 08:36 AM

47 posts

difficult to tell. normally lelong car do not have user manual and service booklet.
zenix
post Jun 24 2016, 09:25 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(hongzheng @ Jun 22 2016, 08:26 PM)
but if already pay deposit the SA is oblige to expedite the deal as soon as possible right?
nope.
they'll always work according to what gives them better profit for themselves as long as the customer (you) don't complain.

QUOTE(corad @ Jun 22 2016, 09:38 PM)
2016 Mitsubishi Mirage - have you ever thought of considering a mirage (new car), for an A-segment car it has pretty good safety features, cheap to run with a fuel saving engine (although it can feel underpowered when on full load but since she is driving alone mostly this isn't a problem), also another plus for lady driver's is the EPS (electric power steering) which makes the steering light and easier to drive than conventional hydraulic ones, talking about easier to drive it is a small and nimble car and easier to park for women. I think the only downside is you can get a really powerful monster in the used car market for 60k but would have to content for a mini mouse when you're buying new.

2014 VW Polo Sedan 1.6 & 2014 VW Polo Hatch 1.6 - both the sedan and hatch are available with the basic 1600cc engine and 6AT gearbox now, avoiding the TSI engine & DSG gearbox. I don't know if it is a good move by VW because it doesn't seem to be flying off the shelves like they were previously I guess their reputation has really taken a hit after DSG gearbox, TSI engine and emissions scandals. However, there are still a good number of Polo's with the 1600cc engine on our roads so that means parts supply for this model is still pretty decent. These cars were initially intended to be sold at 90-100k but now these old stocks are being cleared at around 55-65k. A huge discount. The engine and gearbox combo is decent, it is not powerful like the TSI&DSG combo but powerful enough plus they're more reliable and cheaper to maintain. Also safety & size wise it is a notch above the Mirage because they're B-segments.

QUOTE(christ1996 @ Jun 22 2016, 11:55 PM)
If you're already a car owner and have been servicing your car at outside workshops instead of SC/3S do have a chat with your mechanic on the car you want to buy, tell him the maintenance budget you're willing to spend (e.g. rm200 per interval) then he will tell you honestly you're in dreamland or meresiah.

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Jun 23 2016, 08:41 PM)
demand and volume is klang valley region is higher so they can make do with less margin with more volume.
Lyn.cookiemonster
post Jun 24 2016, 11:17 AM

32 posts

Budget : under 60k
New/Used/Unreg: doesnt matter (not too old)
Transmission : Auto
Spec : higher better
Type : Sedan/hatchback
Remarks : fresh grad, klang to kl, first car, not so high maintenance
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Iriz? used Polo sedan? Rio?Swift?
no idea man. first timer
thank sifus in advance brows.gif

andrewyu2005
post Jun 24 2016, 01:12 PM

QUOTE(Lyn.cookiemonster @ Jun 24 2016, 12:17 PM)
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
no idea man. first timer
thank sifus in advance  brows.gif
iriz premium mt is also quite good too.iriz mt is way better than saga flx mt. get iriz 1.6 premium mt.

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jun 24 2016, 02:12 PM
digilife
post Jun 24 2016, 01:22 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Lyn.cookiemonster @ Jun 24 2016, 11:17 AM)
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
no idea man. first timer
thank sifus in advance  brows.gif
If I were you, go for Polo Sedan but then again its a bigger version of the Saga now........

Polo Hatchback if you are young & vibrant .

Its a good buy at 60k now, demo car ok too

lsm1991
post Jun 24 2016, 01:33 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jun 24 2016, 01:22 PM)
If I were you, go for Polo Sedan but then again its a bigger version of the Saga now........

Polo Hatchback if you are young & vibrant .

Its a good buy at 60k now, demo car ok too
haha no problematic dsg but..... fresh grad + euro car not exactly a recipe for great success
digilife
post Jun 24 2016, 01:50 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 24 2016, 01:33 PM)
haha no problematic dsg but..... fresh grad + euro car not exactly a recipe for great success
totally agreed, esp new car owner, but if filthy rich, who cares

rclxs0.gif
andrewyu2005
post Jun 24 2016, 02:02 PM

QUOTE(digilife @ Jun 24 2016, 02:50 PM)
totally agreed, esp new car owner, but if filthy rich, who cares

rclxs0.gif
i disgree that polo sedan is worth to buy . Between Iriz 1.6 premium mt is way cheaper than polo sedan because it is a new car. RM59,880.00 / Metallic
RM59,430.00 / Solid. iriz 1.6 premium is still a new car. It drives well, it has nicely specs,most safety feature including esc and 6 airbags on this particular model. It is very easy to recommend over perodua myvi. Get Mt because it is not as noisy and sluggish as CVT. And you can get rebate too.Ism1991 and digilife, ask him to get iriz mt.Enough is enough. I win rclxm9.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif.
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6hhGKNmeFM)
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kd2Sn4raDqY)
(https://www.carsome.my/news/item/Head-to-Head-Proton-Iriz-VS-Perodua-Myvi?utm_campaign=shareaholic&utm_medium=facebook&utm_source=socialnetwork)

This post has been edited by andrewyu2005: Jun 24 2016, 02:33 PM
nasbbq1992
post Jun 24 2016, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 24 2016, 09:25 AM)

demand and volume is klang valley region is higher so they can make do with less margin with more volume.
that means i should go to klang valley to buy used car or i should try bargain harder in jb?
nelsonmui87
post Jun 24 2016, 04:47 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Jun 24 2016, 04:33 PM)
that means i should go to klang valley to buy used car or i should try bargain harder in jb?
Hi, I am a potential buyer in JB area.
Will make a decision regarding which car to buy soon.
But I will not go other states to buy a car in order to save some difference.

For me, the car definitely depreciates yearly.
A new car will have very high depreciation in first 3 years.

So while getting a second-hand car, I will focus on.
1. Lower depreciation onwards (Acceptable overall price if compare with JB market)
2. Less trouble car since I don't ever know what happens to that car in past few years.
So I will try to deal in the area which I am familiar in case if anything happens can be easier to communicate.

If you really want to go Klang trade a 2nd hand car, please ensure that car really exists and fulfill your requirement. Else travel to Klang will cost few hundreds of bucks per round trip.
If spend several visits, might cost even higher than what you saved.
Also, I will consider my salary per time for travel to Klang. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

That's what I am thinking for your reference.

Hope you get a nice car soon.
Fasha1993
post Jun 24 2016, 04:50 PM

55 posts

1. Brand = japan car
2. Budget = below 70k
3. New
5. Auto
6. None
7. Sedan n subcompact

lsm1991
post Jun 24 2016, 06:06 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Jun 24 2016, 04:33 PM)
sobs the cars i likes were actually cheaper outside kl..... sob sob ahh well
clickNsnap
post Jun 24 2016, 11:48 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 24 2016, 10:25 AM)
nope.
they'll always work according to what gives them better profit for themselves as long as the customer (you) don't complain.
2016 Mitsubishi Mirage - have you ever thought of considering a mirage (new car), for an A-segment car it has pretty good safety features, cheap to run with a fuel saving engine (although it can feel underpowered when on full load but since she is driving alone mostly this isn't a problem), also another plus for lady driver's is the EPS (electric power steering) which makes the steering light and easier to drive than conventional hydraulic ones, talking about easier to drive it is a small and nimble car and easier to park for women. I think the only downside is you can get a really powerful monster in the used car market for 60k but would have to content for a mini mouse when you're buying new.

2014 VW Polo Sedan 1.6 & 2014 VW Polo Hatch 1.6 - both the sedan and hatch are available with the basic 1600cc engine and 6AT gearbox now, avoiding the TSI engine & DSG gearbox. I don't know if it is a good move by VW because it doesn't seem to be flying off the shelves like they were previously I guess their reputation has really taken a hit after DSG gearbox, TSI engine and emissions scandals. However, there are still a good number of Polo's with the 1600cc engine on our roads so that means parts supply for this model is still pretty decent. These cars were initially intended to be sold at 90-100k but now these old stocks are being cleared at around 55-65k. A huge discount. The engine and gearbox combo is decent, it is not powerful like the TSI&DSG combo but powerful enough plus they're more reliable and cheaper to maintain. Also safety & size wise it is a notch above the Mirage because they're B-segments.
If you're already a car owner and have been servicing your car at outside workshops instead of SC/3S do have a chat with your mechanic on the car you want to buy, tell him the maintenance budget you're willing to spend (e.g. rm200 per interval) then he will tell you honestly you're in dreamland or meresiah.
Hi Zenix,

I was looking for used SUV, such as 2003-2006 Ford Escape, Honda CRV and Nissan X-Trail, just noted the Subaru XV is selling at attractive price, what do you think about the Subaru XV?

Thanks in advance!

This post has been edited by clickNsnap: Jun 24 2016, 11:51 PM

lsm1991
post Jun 25 2016, 12:31 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Jun 24 2016, 11:48 PM)
Hi Zenix,

I was looking for used SUV, such as 2003-2006 Ford Escape, Honda CRV and Nissan X-Trail, just noted the Subaru XV is selling at attractive price, what do you think about the Subaru XV?

Thanks in advance!
u should call up and check if those Xv's are still available.....

top tip, unless you for some reason just want to own a ford escape in particular, i would suggest you skip that car.

125 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 >Top

0.0199sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:05 AM