Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

hongzheng
post Jun 20 2016, 10:49 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jun 20 2016, 05:16 PM)
For those of you who have lots of experience buying second hand cars, how much can you bargain on average from their advertised price in mudah, carlist etc. 10% ? 20%?
So far me no luck in Carlist/Mudah. Those that i aim seems to be highly sort after.

Last Sunday afternoon i check on 1 ads in Mudah, drop by the dealer office and he only offer 2% off from Mudah price. In less than 24hrs when i want to take up the offer, the dealer says sold already dry.gif
hongzheng
post Jun 20 2016, 10:53 PM

47 posts

By the way anyone here have experience how to spot a fake mileage?

I come across a few car 4-5 years old, some got 25k and some 35k. Did check the steering wheel and accelerator pedal, both in good shape, but that could be change from kedai potong.

Any otai here got recipe how to check fake mileage?
hongzheng
post Jun 20 2016, 11:14 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 20 2016, 10:58 PM)
If I'm serious with the car, normally I request to bring it to a service center, where I bear the cost
not every dealer allow that, a couple of dealer even did not allow to test drive the car, citing they will be providing 1 yr warranty on engine and gear box so no need to worry.

most of the dealer looks and behave like crook, act as if they couldn't be bother whether you give them business or not. last time selling my car got this impression, now buying also got the same...

hongzheng
post Jun 21 2016, 11:00 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jun 21 2016, 04:53 PM)
So nobody here has ever bargain and got the car?
Just want to get a feel on how much discount those car dealer can give.
For carlist, mudah, motor trader, the price there already 10% lower than their listing price sticker on the vehicle in showroom. Since it is very easy to do price comparison online, if they put showroom price the number of enquiry will be very few.

if the car you interested in is not of 1) very high mileage 150k-200k, 2) hidden problem, 3) bank lelong car, and it is a fairly popular model, don't expect 10-20% off from the online ads price.

tomorrow i'll bring cheque book & docs and see any luck with some of the car i'm eyeing...
hongzheng
post Jun 22 2016, 06:06 PM

47 posts

From the moment you place deposit and submit doc for application normally it takes how many working days?

I need a car by 17 July, still got 15 working days counting and not yet got a deal bangwall.gif
hongzheng
post Jun 22 2016, 08:26 PM

47 posts

but if already pay deposit the SA is oblige to expedite the deal as soon as possible right?
hongzheng
post Jun 23 2016, 09:32 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Jun 23 2016, 08:41 PM)
btw, I surveyed the price of 2nd hand cars on mudah. i am johorean and i found that company who are selling used car in jb is more expensive than in kl. why is that so? does that mean, i should go to kl when i'm ready to buy the car of my choice?

the difference ranged at 5k-10k and that is alot.
those price that you seen might not be a valid one, very often those that are cheaper than market price 5-10k, when you call up, either SA not picking up call no layan your whatsapp or already sold or customer in process of applying loan. could be something that you can only see the price but not able to buy at that price.
hongzheng
post Jun 24 2016, 07:49 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Jun 24 2016, 03:45 AM)
i was surveying nissan latio hatchback which would be around 33k-39k in kl however in jb the price listed on mudah is around 42k-48k... that makes me wonder, are those in kl a fraud? or jb people just taking advantage? hahaha very confused rn.
dont think so that is the case. if there is an arbitrage profit, used car seller will take advantage until there is no difference in pricing.

bank lelong car maybe is slightly cheaper
hongzheng
post Jun 24 2016, 08:36 AM

47 posts

difficult to tell. normally lelong car do not have user manual and service booklet.
hongzheng
post Jun 25 2016, 08:25 PM

47 posts

In a dilemma...

Lancer 2.0 AT
- Maintenance is low.
- Spacious cabin for 4 ppl.
- Medium comfort.
- Solid handling, reasonable good pick up for overtaking with shiftronic AT
- Leather seat.
- Cheaper by 10k
- Classic car.

Honda CR-Z MT
- Medium maintenance cost
- Sport cabin for 2 ppl. May not be sustainable over the long run...
- Smaller cabin, not as comfortable
- Handling claim to be good, got Electric motor boost for low rpm range.
- Eco mode, Sport mode, normal mode. Fun to drive (driving 5-6 hrs per day, so its kind of important)
- Interactive dash meter, change between green/blue/red depend on driving style.
- S Plus feature. Give a 5 sec boost in torque power via electric motor. Like a very mini turbo.
- Manual transmission 1-6 gear. (i like manual...)
- "Green" car. The motor is assisted by a small electric motor, slightly lower Co2 emission.
- Unique look. Not as many on the road.
- Edgy and stuff with new tech.

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

hongzheng
post Jun 26 2016, 08:31 AM

47 posts

i own 2 proton before, drive >10 years since university days. the car itself reasonable good, offer reasonable value (that is because gomen knock huge tax on foreign brand. Thai Indo Phil City/Vios is price same as Persona level. thats why Indon/Thais will not see any value in Persona). The brand itself not so good. Malaysian willing to pay 50% more to get a Honda/Toyota and resulted in Proton fallen behind Honda/Toyota in market share (features & reliability play a part). I drove both Persona & 2012 Honda City for >3yrs respectively, both car were as good in term of performance & reliability (some like the plastic of city/vios or Persona, down to personal flavor), yet there were more city/vios being sold despite 50% higher price.

displacement is just a number, and slowly a history. you can have a 2400cc and yet get smoke badly by 1400cc car equip with turbo/twin charger.

0.0201sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:06 AM