Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V2], Motion & Emotion

chenglong
post Dec 13 2013, 12:01 AM

26 posts

Hi. Just share something.

this is third brake lamp, the mounting place already melted..
Newbie838
post Dec 13 2013, 09:06 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Dec 12 2013, 06:40 PM)
Let me try to address some of your questions.
1. Generally continental cars workshops are perceived as not offering better service compared to local or japanese cars workshops. Reasons could be a) less workshops available - not enough man power or slots to look at each car thoroughly b) conti cars are more sophisticated (this is what you pay for), so there will be more areas for problems to occur. Remember the merc owner who smashed her windscreen in Penang SC? wink.gif I have no other issues with my car, other than a small tyre pressure loss which cannot be detected using normal methods, I even sent to third party workshops, still undetected. After Christmas, I am sending in to Glenmarie overnight to check, this time specifically checking on valve. Hope they find the problem. This only happens to me, AFAIK.
2) I drive 408T. So, can't comment on this, but a new car should be smooth.
3) There are 2 important dates - manufacturing date and registration date. If you buy in Jan 2014, chances are the car is manufactured in 2013. Don't bother about resale value lah, you're buying a 2.0L conti car below rm100k, apa lu mau lagi?
4) No problem.
5) My battery died after 3k km. In my case, I use the USB port all the time to play mp3. It's under warranty, so I replaced the battery in SC. Some owners reported that they used the battery beyong 20k km.

Edit: I am even thinking of getting the 408 Griffe, if someone will give me a good offer.
Thanks wjchay. Much appreciated. smile.gif
I know its a great deal given that it's a conti but resale value is still an important factor, unless you're planning to use the car forever. I'm planning to change mine in no more than 5 years. I've found that most makes and models go only about 5 years before the problems outweigh the additional commitments of buying a new car. Older cars are of course an exception. My 97 Camry went for 10 years before it became problematic and that was mostly due to poor maintenance on my part....personal financial crisis at the time.
jaraychan
post Dec 13 2013, 09:12 AM

i have an idiotic question.

i wanted to check my tyre pressure and i noticed there are 2 different values for the tyre pressure at the driver's door.

so, which 1 should i follow?
also, never owned a R17 tyre before. i noticed the calues are really high.
EP6CDTM
post Dec 13 2013, 09:36 AM

14 posts

the lower reading is without load and the higher with load

pump based on your load
wjchay
post Dec 13 2013, 12:13 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Dec 13 2013, 10:06 AM)
Thanks wjchay. Much appreciated.  smile.gif
I know its a great deal given that it's a conti but resale value is still an important factor, unless you're planning to use the car forever. I'm planning to change mine in no more than 5 years. I've found that most makes and models go only about 5 years before the problems outweigh the additional commitments of buying a new car. Older cars are of course an exception. My 97 Camry went for 10 years before it became problematic and that was mostly due to poor maintenance on my part....personal financial crisis at the time.
IMHO...

Someone I know has this to say for RV: are you overpaying upfront in order to get higher resale value many years later?

A new Camry 2.0E costs RM145k. Specs wise: 4 gears, 16" tyres, etc....
vs 2.0NA costs 95k, more torque, almost same HP, 5 gears, 17" tyres, etc....

Both cars after 5 years, if the camry sells 50k more than the pug then you have more or less the same RV, but still different experience.

Anyway, I would still get a 408T, the feeling......priceless wink.gif

Good luck, whichever you decide to drive.

EDIT: What I like about my 408T - large windscreen (it's not on any promotional brochures or reviews that I read, but get into the drivers seat to find out), 240Nm @ 1400rpm (overtaking or pickup in city-drive is a breeze), sports suspension - this means I can go over road humps at higher speed. FYI, Proton Satria has this too.

EDIT: what I dislike about my 408T - middle back seat is a hump, whoever sits in the middle won't be comfortable wink.gif

This post has been edited by wjchay: Dec 13 2013, 12:33 PM
btengml
post Dec 13 2013, 12:15 PM

QUOTE(chenglong @ Dec 13 2013, 12:01 AM)
Hi. Just share something.

this is third brake lamp, the mounting place already melted..
how old is your car?
chenglong
post Dec 13 2013, 01:27 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(btengml @ Dec 13 2013, 12:15 PM)
how old is your car?
3+ month. 6k mileage

This post has been edited by chenglong: Dec 13 2013, 01:29 PM
op 1
post Dec 13 2013, 01:43 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Dec 12 2013, 03:30 PM)
Hey guys, I'm planning to get a P408 2.0 but I do have some concerns. Do you guys mind sharing your experience on this?

1. I heard the after sales service is really bad, is it really the case or just some branches are bad like with Toyota.
2. I took 2 cars for test drive from 2 different branches, one of them was perfect, but the other, the gearbox jerks when i'm slowing down to stop and there's a wheezing sound from the steering. Is this normal for these cars?
3. The current sale of 95k without insurance is for cars made in 2013. My SA tells me that even if I purchase the car in January with the same offer (if they choose to extend it), the car will still be considered 2013 and I will still loose 1 year resale value.
4. Anyone have any problems with the car being converted from Left to Right hand drive? I have read that the wiper is longer on the left but each time i went for a drive, it was dry weather so I'm not sure how this impacts the driveability.
5. I'm reading about electrical problems especially with the battery. Common or just unlucky or early model issues?

I'm thinking that some of these may have already been answered before but there's over 600 pages of reading. I've read as much as I could over the past 5 days. My SA is giving me a further 2k discount on the price making this a pretty good offer but these concerns are still bugging me.

Thanks in advance.
hi Newbie838, i wonder how much is selling price that ur SA offer you after the further 2k deduction. I get offer at rm 102,888 with insurance & 5 yr free service. Still thinking

Newbie838
post Dec 13 2013, 01:52 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(op 1 @ Dec 13 2013, 01:43 PM)
hi Newbie838, i wonder how much is selling price that ur SA offer you after the further 2k deduction. I get offer at rm 102,888 with insurance & 5 yr free service. Still thinking
I'm getting RM96042 with insurance but without 5 years free maintenance. That's an extra 5k.
With NCD deductions (55%), it comes to RM94442.
Pugbunny
post Dec 13 2013, 03:13 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(chenglong @ Dec 13 2013, 01:27 PM)
3+ month. 6k mileage
Did you manage to claim replacement from SC ?
chenglong
post Dec 13 2013, 04:03 PM

26 posts

No. I was found this issue through a pug 408 forum in China.

Last night, I did check it on mine 408, total 5 bulbs. All are melted due to bulbs touching on the plastic...In China, this is common problem over there, so they change the normal bulbs to LED to prevent further damage on the plastic.

You can check yours too, I can confirm. it melted sad.gif

This post has been edited by chenglong: Dec 13 2013, 04:18 PM
SKYjack
post Dec 13 2013, 06:32 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Dec 12 2013, 10:58 AM)
Does any indicator lit up or you guys spot it when inspecting it under the hood?
My situation is exactly like ahui's. The photos he posted shows my case. No warnings yet,spotted it on my regular visual inspection. Water evaporation ghost007 explained is true,in which case it's a good idea to buy a bottle of coolant for topups. I actually fist noticed the drop in level 5 months after I bought the car. Personally I don't like to topup with water. As more and more topups are done,coolant is diluted greater. Diluted coolant is less effective in heat removal

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Dec 13 2013, 06:37 PM
wjchay
post Dec 13 2013, 06:34 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(chenglong @ Dec 13 2013, 05:03 PM)

Last night, I did check it on mine 408, total 5 bulbs. All are melted due to bulbs touching on the plastic...In China, this is common problem over there, so they change the normal bulbs to LED to prevent further damage on the plastic.

You can check yours too, I can confirm. it melted  sad.gif
Is there warranty for this?
SKYjack
post Dec 13 2013, 06:41 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(chenglong @ Dec 13 2013, 04:03 PM)

You can check yours too, I can confirm. it melted  sad.gif
Tks for the heads up. Will check mine.
x800
post Dec 14 2013, 10:33 AM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

Finally my battery died on me last night after I stopped to fill up petrol on my way back from Segamat to KL. Mileage was about 45k km, 1ye 2mths. It was the Yoko battery. Changed it at outside workshop last night, was quite pricey coz emergency case and no other workshop. Was open at that time. He charged me rm350 for a Century battery+labor. Doesnt even know whether correct spec or not coz he gave me an N55L battery, original Yoko was N66L. but the car starts fine now..
Pugbunny
post Dec 14 2013, 11:17 AM

717 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Dec 14 2013, 10:33 AM)
Finally my battery died on me last night after I stopped to fill up petrol on my way back from Segamat to KL. Mileage was about 45k km, 1ye 2mths. It was the Yoko battery. Changed it at outside workshop last night, was quite pricey coz emergency case and no other workshop. Was open at that time. He charged me rm350 for a Century battery+labor. Doesnt even know whether correct spec or not coz he gave me an N55L battery, original Yoko was N66L. but the car starts fine now..
The replacement battery under warranty by Nasim is Delkor Din60L for 408. I guess your Century battery's spec should be okay.

Edited - Din60L (initially quoted Din55)

This post has been edited by Pugbunny: Dec 25 2013, 12:31 AM
x800
post Dec 14 2013, 01:07 PM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Dec 14 2013, 11:17 AM)
The replacement battery under warranty by Nasim is Delkor Din55 for 408. I guess your Century battery's spec should be okay.
Thanks for the info. My mind is at ease now. smile.gif

Only one more thing, the radiator fan isnt working this morning when I started my car to check up on it. Will try to drive around for a while and monitor further. If its still not working I'll send to SC. No alarms came up tho.

Edit: rad fan is working now after driving the car aroubd and engine warms up.

This post has been edited by x800: Dec 14 2013, 01:53 PM
MGM
post Dec 14 2013, 01:35 PM

18,406 posts

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Dec 13 2013, 01:52 PM)
I'm getting RM96042 with insurance but without 5 years free maintenance. That's an extra 5k.
With NCD deductions (55%), it comes to RM94442.
rm102888-rm96042=rm6848<5year free maintenance=rm10000.
Mitec.Love.Speed
post Dec 14 2013, 04:09 PM

Hi guys...im here seeking advice from the owners on behalf of my friend..
My friend is seeking a C-segment to replace his aging and problematic FD civic and he found 408...
I heard that the 308 1.6turbo is having tons of problem and this 408 1.6turbo uses the same Prince engine...after i read through i found that the Prince engine in 408 is different with revised engine parts...so is it reliable?
There is a promo going which 2.0NA only sell at RM95k...worth it?

So my questions are:
1) Is the 1.6 turbo Prince engine reliable?
2) Is the 4 speeder and 6 speeder found in both 408 variants reliable?
3) The 2.0NA engine is from 407, so should be pretty reliable?
4) After sales service. Many say spare parts is very rare, sometimes need to wait for weeks to get the parts. Is it true?
Lastly but not least, is 408 worth it?

This post has been edited by Mitec.Love.Speed: Dec 14 2013, 04:10 PM
SKYjack
post Dec 14 2013, 04:43 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Mitec.Love.Speed @ Dec 14 2013, 04:09 PM)
Hi guys...im here seeking advice from the owners on behalf of my friend..
My friend is seeking a C-segment to replace his aging and problematic FD civic and he found 408...
I heard that the 308 1.6turbo is having tons of problem and this 408 1.6turbo uses the same Prince engine...after i read through i found that the Prince engine in 408 is different with revised engine parts...so is it reliable?
There is a promo going which 2.0NA only sell at RM95k...worth it?

So my questions are:
1) Is the 1.6 turbo Prince engine reliable?
2) Is the 4 speeder and 6 speeder found in both 408 variants reliable?
3) The 2.0NA engine is from 407, so should be pretty reliable?
4) After sales service. Many say spare parts is very rare, sometimes need to wait for weeks to get the parts. Is it true?
Lastly but not least, is 408 worth it?
Hi MLSpeed
1) Early Prince had hods of problems. I think you already know about this. This Prince carries 8 mods which has made this engine very reliable. The 8 mods address reliability issues. Look at page 1,all the mods are listed. I've had my car for 18months,not a single engine problem. There are about a 100 owners here in the forum,no one has complaint about the engine.
2) Both 4spd and 6spd are reliable. 6spd is silky smooth.
3) 2litter NA is the reliable 407 engine,but given a slight uplift with 8hp more.Gearbox is the new improved 4spd,AT8.
4) NAZA's support and service has been less than adequate. Improvements are being made,but there always room for more.

Both NA and 1.6t are worth every cent. With year end sales the NA is 95K,imagine getting a conti at this price,it's a fantastic bargin!

The 1.6t is best bet for money. There is nothing to match this car at this price with this spec! $17k extra for this car is really cheap. The 6spd gearbox alone cost more than $17K! The turbo engine is more expensive to build due to all the high tech stuff. Look at the extras you are getting. My wild guess, it may cost $70K to add on all the extras after market!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Dec 14 2013, 04:55 PM

133 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:20 PM