you guys using prepaid or postpaid in uk?
Studying in the UK, Tips, plz
Sep 18 2007, 08:16 PM
707 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
you guys using prepaid or postpaid in uk?
Sep 18 2007, 10:18 PM
5,532 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Sep 19 2007, 12:57 AM
2,087 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
If u have a landline to use, then there is lots of cheap access line 0844 number that u could call... both landlines and mobile call to Malaysia is only 0.5p per minute if ur landline is from BT
O2 used to be able to call 0844/5 number for free on its included minutes, but that is no more the case now... |
Sep 19 2007, 04:25 AM
9,511 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Sep 18 2007, 05:02 PM) Since this topic is about studying in UK .. o2 was the best i would say, as the minutes can be used to call back malaysia. but not anymore very soon.Any idea which telco operator offers the best rate for users that often SMS/Call back to M'sia? Tried searching those telco website but can't really find any useful information.... I wonder why they want to make their website so fancy that it is hard to search for the information vodafone is ok-ok, quite expensive sometime and service ok ok only. as for 3, they have cheap plan but they locked their phone. i did write some about that in few pages in front. different telco hv different pros and cons. as to what to call back malaysia cheaply, skype is a good one for long talk. QUOTE(moto-moto @ Sep 18 2007, 08:16 PM) i believe most of us here use postpaid, free phone with hundreds of minutes is a good deal if you do use the minutes. else if you dont use phone, just for someone to reach you, get a prepaid then. as for prepaid, there is no expiry. you can call out as long as you have credit. This post has been edited by youngkies: Sep 19 2007, 04:25 AM |
Sep 19 2007, 06:14 AM
976 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Newcastle Upon Tyne |
QUOTE(moto-moto @ Sep 18 2007, 08:16 PM) well i belive most of the students using postpaid since it got free mobile phone and free minutes as well. Sometimes, the package even free you ipod, xbox, ps3 and so on. So if you study 1 year or longer, i will definitely suggest you get postpaid in UK |
Sep 19 2007, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Sep 15 2007, 12:39 AM) broadband in the UK varies. i'm using virgin media 2 in 1 service - 2mb unlimited broadband (cable) + cable TV for GBP20 a month. quite ok laa, very stable line and about 30 channels TV. cables broadband doesnt need BT phone line, so i dont have phone (i use skype anyways). So u dun need to pay any telephone line rental,only nett price GBP 20per month?is it available in every city of uk? |
Sep 19 2007, 07:15 PM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
QUOTE(moto-moto @ Sep 19 2007, 06:28 PM) So u dun need to pay any telephone line rental,only nett price GBP 20per month?is it available in every city of uk? yup, just GBP20 per month. no extra charge. it should be available in every city in the UK. u could just take the broadband alone, i think it costs GBP17. add GBP3 and get a TV, ok what? but u need TV license laa, which is GBP117 a year huhuhuhu...one other thing why i love virgin media is that they dont have a maximum limit, just like streamyx. if u think streamyx are bad, look at some service providers here who severely throttles ur speed as well as capping ur dload limit to 1GB or 2GB per month. crazy aaa... |
Sep 19 2007, 08:48 PM
558 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: kUalA LuMpuR |
anyway there's another option is, using Orange's Livebox. It's a unlimited broadband and you can make call back home (asian country like china, singapore, malaysia etc) unlimited.... your phone will connect to the livebox and you can call directly back home. If i'm not mistaken, it's using VOIP.
It's not very expensive, i think it's around £20++... |
Sep 20 2007, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Sep 19 2007, 07:15 PM) yup, just GBP20 per month. no extra charge. it should be available in every city in the UK. u could just take the broadband alone, i think it costs GBP17. add GBP3 and get a TV, ok what? but u need TV license laa, which is GBP117 a year huhuhuhu... one other thing why i love virgin media is that they dont have a maximum limit, just like streamyx. if u think streamyx are bad, look at some service providers here who severely throttles ur speed as well as capping ur dload limit to 1GB or 2GB per month. crazy aaa... QUOTE(liew_jls @ Sep 19 2007, 08:48 PM) anyway there's another option is, using Orange's Livebox. It's a unlimited broadband and you can make call back home (asian country like china, singapore, malaysia etc) unlimited.... your phone will connect to the livebox and you can call directly back home. If i'm not mistaken, it's using VOIP. wow...so high tech...actually how it works w/o telephone line?using satelite?so u guys recommend virgin and orange's life box only,any other is good as well?It's not very expensive, i think it's around £20++... |
Sep 20 2007, 02:17 AM
976 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Newcastle Upon Tyne |
another option is go http://www.bt.com/
Sep 20 2007, 03:12 AM
666 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Left Hand Society, West London |
QUOTE(youngkies @ Sep 19 2007, 04:25 AM) o2 was the best i would say, as the minutes can be used to call back malaysia. but not anymore very soon. I've found a new 0790xxxxxxx number that uses O2 free minutes. And it's not included in this list vodafone is ok-ok, quite expensive sometime and service ok ok only. as for 3, they have cheap plan but they locked their phone. i did write some about that in few pages in front. different telco hv different pros and cons. as to what to call back malaysia cheaply, skype is a good one for long talk. i believe most of us here use postpaid, free phone with hundreds of minutes is a good deal if you do use the minutes. else if you dont use phone, just for someone to reach you, get a prepaid then. as for prepaid, there is no expiry. you can call out as long as you have credit. |
Sep 20 2007, 03:16 AM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
QUOTE(moto-moto @ Sep 20 2007, 01:14 AM) wow...so high tech...actually how it works w/o telephone line?using satelite?so u guys recommend virgin and orange's life box only,any other is good as well? i'm not sure about orange's service, but virgin is using cable. malaysia did have one cable service once upon a time called megaTV. this was before astro. telewest was the few surviving cable service in the UK before virgin media bought the company, and use the technology to provide cable broadband. i'm not sure about other cable companies, as most of them only provide cable TV only. other alternative broadband includes sky broadband, which uses satellite to deliver tv, phone and internet. |
Sep 20 2007, 03:20 AM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Sep 20 2007, 03:16 AM) i'm not sure about orange's service, but virgin is using cable. malaysia did have one cable service once upon a time called megaTV. this was before astro. telewest was the few surviving cable service in the UK before virgin media bought the company, and use the technology to provide cable broadband. i'm not sure about other cable companies, as most of them only provide cable TV only. I'm sorry but Sky Broadband uses DSL technology which requires a landline other alternative broadband includes sky broadband, which uses satellite to deliver tv, phone and internet. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sky_broadband |
Sep 20 2007, 04:24 AM
77 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
hi..i just arrived at bristol on 29 august. i'm study in parkway, city of brsitol college. is there anyone here study in bristol too? i would like to ask how to find a part time jobs here? anyone can help or suggest anything?
Sep 20 2007, 04:29 AM
QUOTE(vorchiel @ Sep 20 2007, 03:12 AM) can pm me the number i heard that there is some new 07xx no. too. still using 0400 now. QUOTE(ezi23 @ Sep 20 2007, 04:24 AM) hi..i just arrived at bristol on 29 august. i'm study in parkway, city of brsitol college. is there anyone here study in bristol too? i would like to ask how to find a part time jobs here? anyone can help or suggest anything? working in bristol, not studying |
Sep 20 2007, 04:32 AM
07978 555555
Sep 20 2007, 04:33 AM
QUOTE(moto-moto @ Sep 20 2007, 01:14 AM) wow...so high tech...actually how it works w/o telephone line?using satelite?so u guys recommend virgin and orange's life box only,any other is good as well? get virgin. their line is stable, installation is simple, £20+ for 4mbps (download reaching 500kbps) and no landline is required. but since virgin media took over NTL (after NTL took over telewest), their management has became a bit lousy. heard numerous users complaining about their management / customer service.as for BT broadband, you will need to get a landline which add up another cost. as for orange, their quite new in broadband. Added on September 20, 2007, 4:34 am QUOTE(vorchiel @ Sep 20 2007, 04:32 AM) many thanks!sure included in the free minutes? btw, where do you stay in UK? This post has been edited by youngkies: Sep 20 2007, 04:34 AM |
Sep 20 2007, 04:59 AM
Sep 20 2007, 02:34 PM