Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

hihihehe
post Aug 8 2008, 05:44 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(jackanory @ Aug 7 2008, 07:46 PM)
anyone here studying in northumbria / newcastle?
ya
i also looking
mayb will join tht uni for next intake
schizophrenic
post Aug 8 2008, 08:43 PM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

QUOTE(jackanory @ Aug 7 2008, 07:46 PM)
anyone here studying in northumbria / newcastle?
goin there this sept

anyone else?
hihihehe
post Aug 8 2008, 09:19 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Aug 8 2008, 08:43 PM)
goin there this sept

anyone else?
got think to go for sept intake but already closed application n i just got my result..so mayb next year feb only go..but still duno they accept me or not

so u go thr take wat course n how many years?
jane_mj
post Aug 8 2008, 10:40 PM

101 posts

study IT in uk izzit good?
schizophrenic
post Aug 8 2008, 10:42 PM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 8 2008, 09:19 PM)
got think to go for sept intake but already closed application n i just got my result..so mayb next year feb only go..but still duno they accept me or not

so u go thr take wat course n how many years?
me? doing postgrad
11 mths

angelgemini
post Aug 9 2008, 04:07 PM

1,751 posts

i wonder was this needed to paid the 295P?
this is what i get from the handbook from the university.

We would recommend that you travel
to Belfast directly or via another UK
airport (eg. London Heathrow) instead
of via the Republic of Ireland (eg.
Dublin). This is because if you arrive via
the Republic of Ireland, the procedure for
clarifying your immigration status in the
UK is more diffi cult. There are no border
controls between Northern Ireland (part of
the UK) and the Republic of Ireland, for your
passport to be checked. You would therefore
be required to submit your passport together
with an application form, accompanying
documents and a £295 fee to the UK Border
Agency in Croydon, England. This process
can take several weeks. If you enter Northern
Ireland via this route, please contact Queen’s
International as soon as possible after your
arrival.

so how i should go to belfast? the best and cheapest way?
Lordz`
post Aug 9 2008, 09:33 PM

295 posts

Hendon anyone?
ilovecookies92
post Aug 10 2008, 12:40 AM

SPM Candidate 2009™
765 posts

If a student is about to go to UK for further studies after his/her pre-university course, does he/she needs to take IELTS or TOEFL when he/she is still studying Australian Matriculation, Canadian Pre-U or A-Levels? *I know Form 6 students have to take this, but not sure other pre-u courses*

And which one of them (IELTS OR TOEFL) is more preferable/acceptable by most universities in UK?
melt
post Aug 11 2008, 10:37 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Aug 10 2008, 12:40 AM)
If a student is about to go to UK for further studies after his/her pre-university course, does he/she needs to take IELTS or TOEFL when he/she is still studying Australian Matriculation, Canadian Pre-U or A-Levels? *I know Form 6 students have to take this, but not sure other pre-u courses*

And which one of them (IELTS OR TOEFL) is more preferable/acceptable by most universities in UK?
IELTS is much more preferred in the UK. I m not sure if you need to take the exam or not but most likely all University will ask you to take one as this is to see your level of English. You can ask he/she to ask if the University accept TOEFL result so that he/she would not have to take IELTS exam

This post has been edited by melt: Aug 11 2008, 11:48 AM
K-I-R-A
post Aug 11 2008, 11:07 AM

Validating
235 posts

You will only need to the take IELTS when the course needs you to. I would estimate 50% of courses(say English Literature) require students(especially overseas students) to have IELTS as a prove of their language competency. However, my course is engineering and they didn't request for IELTS, most probably because I have 1119. It depends on the university whether or not to state IELTS as a condition when giving conditional offers.
DjK
post Aug 11 2008, 11:56 AM

382 posts

Hey all,

I'm a student of Nottingham University, Malaysia Campus....I'm on a mobility course which i took for my year 2 starting this September and I will be studying in The University of Nottingham, UK Campus for only a year. I was wondering what essential stuff that i should bring along??....what bank should I go for to open up an account(which acc is good for students? and current or savings?)....furthermore which telco company i should go for? This is my first time going UK to study...so i'm kind of new to the environment....can any kakak/abang/korkor/jiejie here give vital information for me to prepare?? icon_question.gif .......Plus, is it neccessary that i go for medical check up??when we arrive at the airport, does the security ask for medical reports???...please advice notworthy.gif
zydoce
post Aug 11 2008, 07:57 PM

183 posts

Usually, which organization that will sponsor @ give loan to the students that want to further studies in UK ?
melt
post Aug 11 2008, 08:08 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(DjK @ Aug 11 2008, 11:56 AM)
Hey all,

I'm a student of Nottingham University, Malaysia Campus....I'm on a mobility course which i took for my year 2 starting this September and I will be studying in The University of Nottingham, UK Campus for only a year. I was wondering what essential stuff that i should bring along??....what bank should I go for to open up an account(which acc is good for students? and current or savings?)....furthermore which telco company i should go for? This is my first time going UK to study...so i'm kind of new to the environment....can any kakak/abang/korkor/jiejie here give vital information for me to prepare?? icon_question.gif .......Plus, is it neccessary that i go for medical check up??when we arrive at the airport, does the security ask for medical reports???...please advice notworthy.gif
What essential stuff to bring?
hmm.gif It all depends on what you need. If you need computer then you will need to bring one as electronic stuff is more expensive then in Malaysia. If you need Malaysian food then of coz you will need to bring Malaysian food laugh.gif
If you are planning to bring sambal or stuff like seafood and stuff, remember to double/triple or even more layer so that it can cover the smell as it is very strict now to bring food over to UK.

What telco company should you join? sweat.gif
The main telco company in UK is BT and Virgin Media. Both are very big telco company. (there might be more) BT is like our Telekom while Virgin Media is a newer brand as they have bought over some other media station to form their own telco company. Other telco company needed to be mention is Vodafone, O2, T-Mobile and Orange which are mobile phone provider

What bank should you go for?
Well most of the student will probably choose HSBC.

Do you need medical checkup?
If you are flying to London Heathrow then i would suggest you do one. If you are flying towards Manchester then i dont think you will need one. I have not encounter any problem during my flight to Manchester for the past few years.
kb2005
post Aug 11 2008, 09:31 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(zydoce @ Aug 11 2008, 07:57 PM)
Usually, which organization that will sponsor @ give loan to the students that want to further studies in UK ?
You can try JPA.
youngkies
post Aug 11 2008, 09:42 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

ielts. do it just to be safe in case ur uni needs too see that, mostly yes.

QUOTE(DjK @ Aug 11 2008, 11:56 AM)
Hey all,

essential stuff? daily wear, laptop (not essential but advantageous).

what bank? HSBC passport account. there is no need for saving account.

telco? i recommend either vodafone or o2.

medical checkup? if your uni demands one. if not, just get a x-ray scan in case the officer in heathrow wants to see them.
melt
post Aug 11 2008, 11:13 PM

974 posts

wrong post

This post has been edited by melt: Aug 11 2008, 11:14 PM
angelgemini
post Aug 12 2008, 01:40 PM

1,751 posts

i wondering fly to london than to belfast or Manchester than to belfast is better?

SUS2HK
post Aug 12 2008, 06:44 PM

404 posts

belfast ?

wah , damn ulu lah , not even on the mainland
angelgemini
post Aug 12 2008, 07:03 PM

1,751 posts

QUOTE(2HK @ Aug 12 2008, 06:44 PM)
belfast ?

wah , damn ulu lah , not even on the mainland
the Uni at there.. wat to do..

haiz..
and room rent is 200P exclude all the thing
sense_less143
post Aug 12 2008, 09:52 PM

428 posts

Cheap international call: http://www.carphonewarehouse.com/commerce/...OBILEWORLD.HOME

Is it good? Calls to Malaysia 5.9p per minute (landline) and 8.1p (mobile). I prefer not to use calling cards, and deal w/ contracts.

125 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0339sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:02 PM