Lets talk salary v6

dexmonata
post Sep 1 2015, 06:27 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(BRC @ Sep 1 2015, 03:47 PM)
with the situation now...
i dont think grads can survive with 2.5k...
unless living with mummy..

i started back in 2007 with RM3k for my first job...
then move to Rm2.4k with commission (usually RM3k+) several months later...

if in 2015, you are still offered 2.5k... honestly...
EVERYONE needs to ask for more as living cost have increased exponentially...
else you'll forever be exploited...

also if you finish your task... leave on time! staying late... only asians do it...
don be scared... let results speak for itself...

i'm earning...
go look for my post...

i ONLY stay late when there is a need... i.e Emergency (did a midnight rotation a few times), on call, critical...
if daily task, i leave on time... also my time is flexible....
I couldnt agree more man....its so true..
Mind to share with us which industry you work in?

chanel lin88
post Sep 1 2015, 07:06 PM

Helping my friend to ask since he is uneducated and recently feeling so down due to no advancement in his career. His boss promise him if he create a new product he will get 5k bonus but after he had successfully completed the product and try out then his boss giving excuses no sales yet. For TS info this factory every month sales at least 1.5M min. After received orders his boss now act like never promise before to give him 5k and buat tak tau n avoid meeting him. This is not the 1st time already. Due to he has the skill and creativity but his highest qualification is Form 2only. So he is quite worry whether can he get another job outside because he had been working for this factory for 16years already. Tq in advance. Hope I can get some advice from here and let him know.

Job title: I Am not very sure
Job description : repair machine,design product, and operate cnc machine, and leader of every department
Years spent in company :16 years
Company : confidential
Industry : manufacturer
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : team leader
Experience before joining : 2years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : form 2
salary : RM4500 basic + 500 allowance + company car

akkihiko
post Sep 2 2015, 02:33 PM

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

started to work 3 years back with 2k salary, honestly 2k is too little for fresh grad now. 3 years and 2 times job hop later my salary more than double already.

if you receive 2k / 2.5k job, just accept it, learn and gain experience first before demanding for better salary
Lord_Penguin
post Sep 2 2015, 11:01 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(akkihiko @ Sep 2 2015, 02:33 PM)
started to work 3 years back with 2k salary, honestly 2k is too little for fresh grad now. 3 years and 2 times job hop later my salary more than double already.

if you receive 2k / 2.5k job, just accept it, learn and gain experience first before demanding for better salary
true enough. just accept it first, as per current economic situation as well wink.gif
Karpanan
post Sep 4 2015, 12:13 AM

47 posts

Job Title : Software Engineer
Job Desciption : Develop and maintain System
Years spent in company : 2.5 years
Company : MNC
Industry : I.T
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Junior
Experience before joining : N/A
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
salary : RM4.5k

I think i am doing fine at the moment but i was in a dilemma because i was offered 5k by another company, the problem is currently i dont need to travel to work, which is a big plus for me as i dont need to go through any traffic jam. If i decide to leave, i would need to spent maybe half an hour in the traffic jam before i reach the workplace. Any opinions?
alwayshappy
post Sep 4 2015, 01:48 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Karpanan @ Sep 4 2015, 12:13 AM)

I think i am doing fine at the moment but i was in a dilemma because i was offered 5k by another company, the problem is currently i dont need to travel to work, which is a big plus for me as i dont need to go through any traffic jam. If i decide to leave, i would need to spent maybe half an hour in the traffic jam before i reach the workplace. Any opinions?
Personally I think that a mere difference of 500 is not worthwhile for u to jump.
Belphegor
post Sep 4 2015, 08:32 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Karpanan @ Sep 4 2015, 12:13 AM)

If possible, push the offer to 4800 - 5000, make the company want you. Like the forumer said, it's not worth for the jump for a mere 500 increment. Unless there's increment after probation. biggrin.gif
autodriver
post Sep 4 2015, 09:53 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(phantom_zero @ Sep 1 2015, 07:00 AM)
Coz u gen x made it stay late at office is a good habit. Please la to me if u stay back mean u are inefficient, slow. Wait till u get kid, hope he get 2k too for starting in future. icon_rolleyes.gif
For most generation Y they have same thought like you saying stay back mean inefficient. If you are in corporate especially big MNC, you will find out the company giving lots of workload which we hardly finish the task before 6pm. That's why some MNC allow employees to take their laptop back and continue work from home. I am not asking the youngster to stayback but there are many work remain pending and yet they still insist to go home on time.

I do not agree to stay back OT however finish the task within the day is an obligation as employee are receive wages from company to do their job right. Nowadays youngster asking for higher salary but less workload and go home on time, what about the senior when their salary is just about 10% - 20% who have higher workload need stay back and more stress. Do not tell me the gen Y is guarantee more efficient than previous gen, if yes please prove it with evidence.

e.g. admin staff general comparison

fresh grad demand for 2.5k, 1 experience
senior current pay RM 3k, 5 years experience

So how the senior will feel when they contribute more than the junior yet the salary was only 20% higher than fresh grad. Senior are proven capable to work but fresh grad performance is remain unknown until they stay more than a year to justify.

hihihehe
post Sep 4 2015, 12:03 PM

13,784 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Sep 4 2015, 09:53 AM)
For most generation Y they have same thought like you saying stay back mean inefficient. If you are in corporate especially big MNC, you will find out the company giving lots of workload which we hardly finish the task before 6pm. That's why some MNC allow employees to take their laptop back and continue work from home. I am not asking the youngster to stayback but there are many work remain pending and yet they still insist to go home on time.

I do not agree to stay back OT however finish the task within the day is an obligation as employee are receive wages from company to do their job right. Nowadays youngster asking for higher salary but less workload and go home on time, what about the senior when their salary is just about 10% - 20% who have higher workload need stay back and more stress. Do not tell me the gen Y is guarantee more efficient than previous gen, if yes please prove it with evidence.

e.g. admin staff general comparison

fresh grad demand for 2.5k, 1 experience
senior current pay RM 3k, 5 years experience

So how the senior will feel when they contribute more than the junior yet the salary was only 20% higher than fresh grad. Senior are proven capable to work but fresh grad performance is remain unknown until they stay more than a year to justify.
also depends if the task has to be completed the same day. all under your time management.
if your boss give you lot of works then have a short discussion with him that you cant meet the dateline,etc.
isn't it senior suppose to guide the junior so that can distribute the workload sooner?
felixmask
post Sep 4 2015, 12:06 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 4 2015, 12:03 PM)
also depends if the task has to be completed the same day. all under your time management.
if your boss give you lot of works then have a short discussion with him that you cant meet the dateline,etc.
isn't it senior suppose to guide the junior so that can distribute the workload sooner?
Not all company are same or colleagues are same.

You cant expect your cant solve and delegate to senior to guide.

hihihehe
post Sep 4 2015, 12:10 PM

13,784 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Sep 4 2015, 12:06 PM)
Not all company are same or colleagues are same.

You cant expect your cant solve and delegate to senior to guide.
he was talking about senior and fresh grad
some job require skills like IT and i doubt fresh grad able to handle the senior jobs few months after joining
felixmask
post Sep 4 2015, 12:11 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 4 2015, 12:10 PM)
he was talking about senior and fresh grad
some job require skills like IT and i doubt fresh grad able to handle the senior jobs few months after joining
IM also IT. when hire sure we know what basic of programing fresh have equip.
Only business knowledge ppl can teach..not everytime and details..Need to dig ownself.
hihihehe
post Sep 4 2015, 12:15 PM

13,784 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Sep 4 2015, 12:11 PM)
IM also IT. when hire sure we know what basic of programing fresh have equip.
Only business knowledge ppl can teach..not everytime and details..Need to dig ownself.
not in support line
i wont even think of delegate a fresh grad who is new to a company to setup new server with business requirements/software for production. they have basic but not the working knowledge

Prothero
post Sep 4 2015, 12:25 PM

239 posts

Hi all, contributing to the thread:

Job Title : Quantity Surveyor
Job Desciption : Manage pre-contract & post-contract services.
Years spent in company : 7 months
Industry : Construction
Employment Level : Fresh Grad
Experience before joining : 3 months part-time at consultant QS
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Masters
Salary : RM 4,000
Belphegor
post Sep 4 2015, 02:58 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Walau, I damn sad sia. All 22-25 earning close to 5k in general but I stuck and I 28 liao. T.T cry.gif
johnny_red13
post Sep 4 2015, 10:23 PM

20 posts

I have interviewed and hired many people, worked in small company through mnc as well. This is what i can share.
company has no interest in hiring fresh grad or someone with exp less than 4 years, because it's wasting company time to train them how to work in the real world, school is different than real world. we know fresh grad will work only max 1-2 yrs and move to other company, usually we hire them to do routine and easy low jobs and the qualification to hire is also based on academic score which shows what is your attitude in solving problems and whether you be good enough to learn and grow yourself. salary offer is 2.5k - 3.5k, so you should be grateful that you receives training from the work exp.
i had a staff with salary 3.5k and after working for one year in the company he was offered 7k by others, it's good to see how he can develop himself and i advised to take the opportunity. so, advise for u guys, if want to jump don't simply jump only for rm 500 or rm 1500, if u have successfully developed yourself u can aim higher. for others, if the skills is above our expectations, it's not a problem to give them high salary. so, the question is are u worth enough for the company?
dannybeckham
post Sep 5 2015, 12:15 PM

25 posts

Job Title : Business Development Team Leader
Job Desciption : Business Solution/Customer Serivce
Years spent in company : 4 years
Industry : MLM
Employment Level : Management (Team Leader)
Experience before joining : 1 & half
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Diploma
salary : RM 5,260

This post has been edited by dannybeckham: Sep 5 2015, 12:15 PM
agc188
post Sep 5 2015, 12:53 PM

102 posts

Job Title : General Manager
Job Desciption : Construction Contract & Law
Years spent in company : 1 year
Company : Local Listed
Industry : Construction
Employment Level : Management
Experience before joining : 7 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : degree
salary : RM 21000
plain21
post Sep 5 2015, 09:15 PM

126 posts

Hi i have a Civil Engineering degree, after internship was offered a job with a construction MNC. I dont care about working hours since it's construction after all. but waht i want to ask is how high basic shud I ask for to not be considered ungrateful/"all gen y bad things" etc?

This post has been edited by plain21: Sep 5 2015, 09:16 PM
Belphegor
post Sep 6 2015, 12:16 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(plain21 @ Sep 5 2015, 09:15 PM)
Hi i have a Civil Engineering degree, after internship was offered a job with a construction MNC. I dont care about working hours since it's construction after all. but waht i want to ask is how high basic shud I ask for to not be considered ungrateful/"all gen y bad things" etc?
Hi there. You can ask any salary range that you see fit. The more important question here is how you are going to justify that you are qualified to ask such salary amount.

If you think you have what it takes to ask for the salary range that is not within their wage budget, and yet you can deliver more than what they ask for, why not?

144 Pages « < 132 133 134 135 136 > » Top

0.0407sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:41 AM