16 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Third Class = No value?

goliath
post Jun 17 2006, 03:31 PM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(Hornet @ Jun 17 2006, 01:51 PM)
erm, my mistake i think i didnt state clearly...
I mean if comparing it in terms of value when we're finding job out there...

I mean, does a Engineering degree comparing to a IT degree for example, both of the same class, have the same value... thats what i'm asking.

if anyone can give some opinion, thanks tongue.gif
Yes, they are same.
Notoriez
post Jun 17 2006, 03:35 PM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jun 16 2006, 11:01 AM)
Katsurou,

I will be the horrible person here.  I will be the tough guy.  You will be asked this question and you must be prepared to answer this kind of questions.

1) How the hell did you get such a bad result??

2) Are you a full-time students??

3) Did you worked while you are going through the colleges??

4) If you as a full-time student, you cannot even handle a normal class load with a reasonable result, why makes you think you can handle a normal full-time job??

5) If you say you can be hard working, why do you get such a bad result?? It is across 4 years. 

Unfortunately, you must be able to answer those questions with reasonable response. 

Dreamer

P.S.: A degree is NOT everything.  But, a degree with less that favorable result shows a bad track record.
It's the same questions given to my fren who is working in SONY right now..He only gained 2.14 like i said in my previous post biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 16 2006, 02:10 AM)
Ok, this is from my buddy, who also has a Third Class Degree Honours. What he has told me over the years sounds very true.

1. Employers will usually shortlist those who are Second Class Lower and above. Third Class Degree or General Degree are often left out. Nevertheless, it does not mean you cannot get a job. Heck, they are people sweeping the streets and still make a living. Do not think of Third Class as nothing.

2. In life, if you want to make it big, you probably cant depend too much on career. Of course, hardworking is a very positive quality and many companies would pay one person who is really hardworking to multitask, then to pay an average two person to do the same amount of job.

3. My grandpa used to say in Hokkien "How much you wear, how much you eat, how much you earn is all fated." Do not be discouraged of poor results. Make sure you can perform.

4. MOST IMPORTANT POINT, SKILLZ - How many Degree holders has the proper skills? Heck, I have classmates who cant even install Windows XP Pro when he graduated with Second Upper Honours. What does the Degree teaches us? Database design? Software analysis? Programming? Tech support? Microsoft Word even? This is also one of the many reasons, majority females who graduated in IT end up working in other fields. However, they are also very good IT-women out there, quite a few I know who are better than men.

5. NEXT IMPORTANT POINT, INTERPERSONAL SKILLZ - Believe it or not, many organization still thinks that oversea-grads and First Class grads are snobs. The management also know how to utilise manpower. To think about hiring someone First Class and hard-headed. Why not hire someone lower class Degree and bully him. This part, you gotta live with it. Because you suck at your education, you gotta make it up with hardwork. Many First Class grads usually think they are better off than other people and have poor interpersonal and social skills. Not kidding but I'm not stereotyping.

6. Since you already know you screwed up your education, then you make it up with hardwork. Like others have written, working life is a new gateway, a new life. Just like how it was before you stepped into your first day in school. It's also your LAST stage in life before you retire, so dont screw up anymore. If there is ever a time you need to work hard and get up, it's NOW!
Agree...A paper doesnt mean so much..biggrin.gif
Vv.SoViEt.vV
post Jun 17 2006, 04:19 PM

ToRMeNted-sOUL
1,359 posts

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Jun 17 2006, 02:26 PM)
Am I sound too harsh? While posting in the serious sub-forums do I have to get this piece of bullcrap so in end of the day everyone knows you are an asscracka ?

My friend received a pass degree in BEng from Sheffield University, UK. He spent 3 years studying there. Oh yeah, he got 9A1 in SPM back in 1999. Did he received piece of shite compared to you ?
You get the piece of bullcrap because you posted crap in the first place. LOL!

Why dont you share this early in the post, so I cant make an ass out of you. The standard of UK Staffordshire's graduate. Sigh.. and please we are here generally refering to 3rd Class from local university. I repeat what I've posted earlier.

Based on the paper alone, a 3rd Class is equal to nothingness.

Read "based on the paper alone". I didnt refer graduates with 3rd Class are worth nothing.

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Jun 17 2006, 02:26 PM)
FYI I graduated from Staffordshire University

Oh please, I beg you dont mention you are from Staffordshire University. Eww.. rolleyes.gif
Vv.SoViEt.vV
post Jun 17 2006, 04:24 PM

ToRMeNted-sOUL
1,359 posts

I apologize for the disturbance.. please continue the discussion as I will not argue with that slow~mo.
iZuDeeN
post Jun 17 2006, 04:27 PM

3,466 posts

ok let get this straight..

for those who says that 3rd class degree students have the same chance/opportunity with those with 2nd upper or even 1st class students... YOU'RE DEAD WRONG!!!

If you're right, then WHY the hell everyone study so hard to get 1st class degree? if 1st class degree student will just have the same opportunity with 3rd class students???

Note Im refering to fresh graduates as a context, not to those who already have working experience etc....
Hornet
post Jun 17 2006, 04:29 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(FleshWound @ Jun 17 2006, 01:54 PM)
nothing i hate worse than self glorifying ******* in the engineering faculty of my uni who thinks they're very much smarter than the people in IT faculty. here's what: GET LOST.
Are u directing at my post?
Perhaps it would have made u felt better had I use "comparing IT to Management for example"? I dont simply blurt out sentences without thinking, if u know what I put "for example" there.

I'm not glorifying anything here. I'm just looking at different market value of different courses, thats all. No need to be so hostile here smile.gif

This post has been edited by Hornet: Jun 17 2006, 04:30 PM
Vv.SoViEt.vV
post Jun 17 2006, 04:33 PM

ToRMeNted-sOUL
1,359 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Jun 17 2006, 04:27 PM)
Note Im refering to fresh graduates as a context, not to those who already have working experience etc....
yup, it is better to make a note because some forum-goers *here cant read, including those graduated from UK. LMAO!

edited: typo

This post has been edited by Vv.SoViEt.vV: Jun 17 2006, 04:37 PM
brokenomerta
post Jun 17 2006, 04:36 PM

Current Toy: MacBook Pro 13 2013
1,168 posts

QUOTE(Vv.SoViEt.vV @ Jun 17 2006, 04:33 PM)
yup, it is better to make a note because some forum-goers are cant read, including those graduated from UK. LMAO!
hahahahahaa...could'nt agree more...hahahaha...u know la..some ppl just cant read the entire context...hahahha... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by brokenomerta: Jun 17 2006, 04:36 PM
igor_is300
post Jun 17 2006, 04:46 PM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

QUOTE(Vv.SoViEt.vV @ Jun 17 2006, 04:19 PM)
You get the piece of bullcrap because you posted crap in the first place. LOL!

Why dont you share this early in the post, so I cant make an ass out of you. The standard of UK Staffordshire's graduate. Sigh.. and please we are here generally refering to 3rd Class from local university. I repeat what I've posted earlier.
Read "based on the paper alone". I didnt refer graduates with 3rd Class are worth nothing.
Oh please, I beg you dont mention you are from Staffordshire University. Eww..  rolleyes.gif
I am sharing my experience as a general comparison. On paper qualification, we still have lower rank than 3rd class which is a pass degree without honours. I am also comparing the scenario of the standards of the degree awarding here and overseas since I've observed there are quite a numbers of pass and 3rd class overseas graduates compared to here.

Your harsh reply concluded who you are and the level of your intelligence. Short and vague sentence can be misleading. This isn't kopitiam where you rant or whine your unfulfilled wishes. wink.gif

edited

To all: Sorry for the disturbance, I am leaving as I have better things to do rather than reading some emo posts here.

This post has been edited by igor_is300: Jun 17 2006, 04:59 PM
normaldude
post Jun 17 2006, 04:55 PM

261 posts

Why do you have to mention the class that you got for your degree?

If first class, you can say you got a first class degree
If second upper, can say get second upper class
If second lower, can just say second class
If third class, just say it's an honours degree
If no third class, just say got degree loh.

If they ask more details, then can tell loh. Otherwise, if it is something you are proud off, you should mention it in your resume. If it is not something you are proud off, don't have to be so specific.

Example:
I have a third class degree
(does not look very nice on a resume)

Example2:
I have an honours degree with distinction in English.
(didn't say it's a first or third class degree but does highlight the only good point of your transcript)

There's no need to be so detail about something you are not too proud off. Highlight the items that you are proud off instead.
Hornet
post Jun 17 2006, 05:16 PM

What?
4,251 posts

BTW, i do agree that in no way one can expect a 3rd class honour to be equal to a higher class honour.

But rather, the question here is that does 3rd class honour have its own value, without comparison to other higher class of course.

And I agree with normaldude, I was taught the same thing in a subj regarding applying for job. state our own strength and leave our weakness aside tongue.gif
yihyan
post Jun 17 2006, 05:21 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Jun 17 2006, 03:19 PM)
Actually when it comes to Research & Development (R&D) position , the employer will prefer 1st class academic results. We all know that, I think we should LOL. It doesn't mean when you got 3rd class or pass degree you cannot work right ? The bottomline is try to find a job that suit yourself eg: academic results, personality and etc. Not all jobs require 1st class degree holder  smile.gif
R&D position will prefer first class or Master/PHD remployee...
becoz they need ppl who fully understand about the whole concept of wat they are doing....no need to go back to study back those books to get the theory right/formula right.

3rd class or pass degree can do the work...but sometimes they are not so good in terms of theory things and they can't get a good picture of wat they are dealing with....

azarimy
post Jun 17 2006, 06:16 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

apa laaa budak-budak ni... sigh...

i'm sharing with u what i know of the system, since i'm a lecturer myself. u see, there's a reason of having degree classification in the first place, but those reasons arent what most of us understand or use nowadays anymore. anyway, to say 3rd class is of equal value with 1st class is absurd. plain and simple.

HOWEVER...

3rd class holders have their place in the industry as well. i know lots of firms who take both 1st class and 3rd class graduates. u see, 1st class n 2nd class usually makes the same pay. only 1st class will have a better chance of securing the post than 2nd class. 3rd class, here's the catch, emit lower pay, hence cheaper labour work, yet still have basic knowledge in the field.

it doesnt sound promising does it? well, it wasnt supposed to. back in those days, 3rd class is quite common. but u have to see that more and more graduates with atleast 2nd class upper are popping out of universities like rabbits. in 5-10 years time, 3rd class may have no value at all, depending on the trend.

but degree is a degree, regardless of general or honours. u can say that degree is just a piece of paper. well, yeah, any ticket gets u in the stadium, but only 1st class tickets get to seat in the grandstand, catch my drift?

still better than no ticket at all...
Hornet
post Jun 17 2006, 06:22 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 17 2006, 06:16 PM)
apa laaa budak-budak ni... sigh...

i'm sharing with u what i know of the system, since i'm a lecturer myself. u see, there's a reason of having degree classification in the first place, but those reasons arent what most of us understand or use nowadays anymore. anyway, to say 3rd class is of equal value with 1st class is absurd. plain and simple.

HOWEVER...

3rd class holders have their place in the industry as well. i know lots of firms who take both 1st class and 3rd class graduates. u see, 1st class n 2nd class usually makes the same pay. only 1st class will have a better chance of securing the post than 2nd class. 3rd class, here's the catch, emit lower pay, hence cheaper labour work, yet still have basic knowledge in the field.

it doesnt sound promising does it? well, it wasnt supposed to. back in those days, 3rd class is quite common. but u have to see that more and more graduates with atleast 2nd class upper are popping out of universities like rabbits. in 5-10 years time, 3rd class may have no value at all, depending on the trend.

but degree is a degree, regardless of general or honours. u can say that degree is just a piece of paper. well, yeah, any ticket gets u in the stadium, but only 1st class tickets get to seat in the grandstand, catch my drift?

nice explaination there...
i'd definitely show this to my friend who thinks of quitting his degree program as he felt it gets tougher and tougher

thx alot wink.gif
WinDs
post Jun 17 2006, 06:48 PM

♥ Ai desu (-.-) ♥
3,403 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 17 2006, 06:16 PM)

Nicely says, and classic ! rclxms.gif

Well, a paper is a paper. If the MNC don't really accept you, you can gain a year or 2 experiences first in the small companies which are doing the same field before you apply to go for these MNC. At least, the interviewers will be more likely to intake you compared with those 1st class fresh graduate since you have similiar experiences and proved hardworking by your references (That's why references are important !).

Don't give up. Definitely, you will find a living with your papers. But, sometime, you have no idea what job you prefer to go for. For example, you don't always end up in IT field although you've graduated with certi. in IT. And, the most important thing, why you want to join this MNC or small company ? Because all your clever friends entered these firms, then you also think that's the best choice ? Or you go for the high salary ?

So, I think 1st class or 3rd class is not really important. But it's more about what you want to do with your life. Without the tickets(degree papers), do you think you can find a job in this environment ? Unless you have a dream that have been long set, let's say .. to become an electronic designer in Intel, then I believe you would work very hard to pursue your dream. Therefore, always set up your dream asap. That will be your INSPIRE !

You don't have to follow people's step. If the interviewer disagree with you, prove him wrong one day later. After all, interviewers are human and can make mistakes too, but respect them because they have more experiences than us. Their advices will always found useful (but right or wrong, you have to think/analyze and not followed 100%) by the juniors.

badtzbunny
post Jun 17 2006, 06:56 PM

btw, any1 know how to count gpa for the australia system?
TSkatsurou
post Jun 17 2006, 09:23 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jun 17 2006, 08:33 AM)
1) "Student cannot speak fluent English"

We have university with low standard.  Those people should not be allow to be graduated to begin with.
2) "Working is different from studying and etc..."

Do you know why I think you have BAD work ethic?? It is actually very simple.  You are arguing with me as opposed to take responsibility and face the fact that you had messed up.  That is a clear sign of the lack of maturity.

Being an adult means you takes responsibility of everything you had done: correctly or not.  Whining is not acceptable.

3) "those earning the most money are not the one study the hardest"

Yes.  You are correct.  But, we are talking about the "hardest" here.  You are not even at the level of studying hard here as you have admitted yourself.

You deserved your result.  So, just leave it as it is.

Dreamer
I think you've mistaken one thing I never even complaint about my result here. You're the one who did it. I'm not feeling ashamed of it and you're the one who's trying to discourage people. And one thing I've learned from my superior in my previous company. People like you will never be succeed in life. Negative-minded and absolutely not suitable to be a leader.

Look back at the way you commented about other people. You said people who can't speak fluent English shouldn't be graduated. I bet they're tons of people who are poor in English can earn much more than you. You're just some pathetic guy who like look down on people and think that you're always best.

You think I have BAD work ethic. But that is what you think only, you don't even have any evidence to prove it. However, as I told you I have a testimonial indicating I'm good employee. Therefore you don't even have the right to judge me like that without any prove. You're the one who's immature and think that only academic results can show everything.
dreamer101
post Jun 18 2006, 12:10 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(katsurou @ Jun 17 2006, 09:23 PM)
I think you've mistaken one thing I never even complaint about my result here. You're the one who did it. I'm not feeling ashamed of it and you're the one who's trying to discourage people. And one thing I've learned from my superior in my previous company. People like you will never be succeed in life. Negative-minded and absolutely not suitable to be a leader.

Look back at the way you commented about other people. You said people who can't speak fluent English shouldn't be graduated. I bet they're tons of people who are poor in English can earn much more than you. You're just some pathetic guy who like look down on people and think that you're always best.

You think I have BAD work ethic. But that is what you think only, you don't even have any evidence to prove it. However, as I told you I have a testimonial indicating I'm good employee. Therefore you don't even have the right to judge me like that without any prove. You're the one who's immature and think that only academic results can show everything.
Katsurou,

This is getting so funny that I do not have to comment on your post. Your post say a lot more about what kind of person you are than I can ever be.

The nice thing about being in my age is I have been there and done that. I can laugh at statement like "People like you will never be succeed in life". Thanks for the entertainment.

Dreamer

woopypooky
post Jun 18 2006, 10:55 AM

1,292 posts

say....how does a 3rd class degree from UM compare to a 1st class degree from private college like Politechnic or Inti College?
Pennywise
post Jun 18 2006, 02:13 PM

5,796 posts

This is neverending...

16 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:56 PM