QUOTE(katsurou @ Jun 15 2006, 10:40 AM)
as long as u can perform well in working on the task given, should not be a problem;
u can start by looking for a position in small size company for working experience.
Third Class = No value?
Jun 16 2006, 11:44 AM
1,166 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Jun 16 2006, 02:21 PM
5,796 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
This is what happened to my friend who dont even have Degree at all. He only studied till Advanced Dip due to finance problems. He then worked for 2 years before going for his Degree.
He went to interview. He is confident and all my life I know he's a good talker, just poor and not much opportunity. He said to the interviewer, sorta argued even I think cause I dont know how he say it exactly but he went on saying something like this. "Degree wont even teach you how to trouble shoot Exchange server! If you give me an opportunity to work here, I will not disappoint you. If I do not perform to my expected pay, you dont have to pay me. I pack at the end of the month." Because of guts, he was hired. No kidding man. |
Jun 16 2006, 02:33 PM
1,168 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 16 2006, 02:21 PM) This is what happened to my friend who dont even have Degree at all. He only studied till Advanced Dip due to finance problems. He then worked for 2 years before going for his Degree. the type of statement that ur fren made will soon backfired. why u might ask? cos soon one day, ur fren will make a mistake, sooner or later..no1 is perfect...then the boss who hired him will then take to opportunity to use this statement against him...i dont think it will look nice if one gets fired...He went to interview. He is confident and all my life I know he's a good talker, just poor and not much opportunity. He said to the interviewer, sorta argued even I think cause I dont know how he say it exactly but he went on saying something like this. "Degree wont even teach you how to trouble shoot Exchange server! If you give me an opportunity to work here, I will not disappoint you. If I do not perform to my expected pay, you dont have to pay me. I pack at the end of the month." Because of guts, he was hired. No kidding man. and to say one cannot study cos financial problems and distractions, for me that are excuses...there are tons of education instutions in malaysia...and there is ptptn...and there is public universities...u might say that public uni need stpm...then why not sit for stpm? its the cheapest alternative...and then u might say cos spm not good...then one shud just look back in the past, and ask "why didnt i study and have a decent grade?"... as for the discussion on whether or not third degree has value or not, well, its up to one's own viewpoint...well, i saved that for another time... pls dont see this as a backlash...just my two cents... This post has been edited by brokenomerta: Jun 16 2006, 02:35 PM |
Jun 16 2006, 06:19 PM
868 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Once, I was attending the third group assessment to get a job in a MNC, my final result released. My final result was dissapointed, CGPA 2.99, a little bit close to 3.0.
It was a 4 stages job interview. I passed the earlier two, doing well in the case study and group discussion as well. Since my final result has not been released, and I was using my previous exam result to apply for a job, they called me up for an interview, the first interview. My CGPA was 2.8 that time. They told me that the job will require at least 3.0, and she asked me whether my final will get it or not. I said maybe I could or maybe I could not. She asked me to do some personality test and I got through. I was then called for second interview and move on to the third. That was a cold morning. I woke up at 6am as the 3rd interview started on 8.30am sharp. I went there with my 'just-released' result, which is 2.99 one. The HR personnel asked me to submit my resume, photostated result and original again. Then, waiting for a while, I was called into a room, which there were 3 interviewers. They looked at my result and said how would I be sitting in front of them since my result did not even touch 3.0. I was like feeling depressed as they kept on mentioning that I will not be their cup of tea and wasting their time. I told them I will perform because results did not show everything. I was slightly near to 3.0 and I believe I have the quality that they required. Well, during the group assessment, AGAIN, I was mentioned, I mean I was insulted again as the speaker mentioned I have the lowest CGPA around those 20 candidates. I did not get the job. The HR people called me up and told me no matter how good you are, no matter how well you perform during the interview or how well you would be willing to show yourself out, they just don't want you to have a CGPA lower than 3.0. This is the pride of the company, they did not want others saying that they hire a nearly 3.0 person. They want people to know they absorb those high CGPA person and coach them well. Well, I did not believe that high CGPA means high performance. But I do believe that we should treat every class as the same. |
Jun 16 2006, 06:27 PM
33 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Interesting topic.... I believe it depends on yourself, how your resume can attract them, how you perform during interview and etc.
Myself....i'm a third class degree holder. But I've work in big2 company...IBM & Shell. Now in company in Menara Luxor with earning up to 3k. So I believe there still hope for 3rd class degree holder. As long as your resume looks good, u can talk english well so it should be ok when you go for interview. My friends....same case but now he is working with securities commision. SC is not an easy place to get in but he manage to. You need to have confident during interview... |
Jun 16 2006, 06:34 PM
15,855 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 16 2006, 02:21 PM) This is what happened to my friend who dont even have Degree at all. He only studied till Advanced Dip due to finance problems. He then worked for 2 years before going for his Degree. I will hire him if I am a hiring manager. I like people that actually work and pay for their own diploma/degree.He went to interview. He is confident and all my life I know he's a good talker, just poor and not much opportunity. He said to the interviewer, sorta argued even I think cause I dont know how he say it exactly but he went on saying something like this. "Degree wont even teach you how to trouble shoot Exchange server! If you give me an opportunity to work here, I will not disappoint you. If I do not perform to my expected pay, you dont have to pay me. I pack at the end of the month." Because of guts, he was hired. No kidding man. QUOTE(jinyee80 @ Jun 16 2006, 06:19 PM) Well, I did not believe that high CGPA means high performance. But I do believe that we should treat every class as the same. I believe you should get a decent GPA if You were a full-time student. So, what should people treat you the same?? Unless you are telling me that you were working while you are studying or you learn some IT stuff on your own why should you get a fair treatment?? Life is fair. You were not willing to work hard to get a better result and now is time for you to suffer, Dreamer This post has been edited by dreamer101: Jun 16 2006, 06:35 PM |
Jun 16 2006, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(brokenomerta @ Jun 16 2006, 02:33 PM) the type of statement that ur fren made will soon backfired. why u might ask? cos soon one day, ur fren will make a mistake, sooner or later..no1 is perfect...then the boss who hired him will then take to opportunity to use this statement against him...i dont think it will look nice if one gets fired... 1) He has a diploma plus two years working experience. He know how to do his job. Compare him to a fresh grads without working experience and no confidence, who do you think is a better worker??and to say one cannot study cos financial problems and distractions, for me that are excuses...there are tons of education instutions in malaysia...and there is ptptn...and there is public universities...u might say that public uni need stpm...then why not sit for stpm? its the cheapest alternative...and then u might say cos spm not good...then one shud just look back in the past, and ask "why didnt i study and have a decent grade?"... as for the discussion on whether or not third degree has value or not, well, its up to one's own viewpoint...well, i saved that for another time... pls dont see this as a backlash...just my two cents... 2) Do you pay for your own degree?? Aka your family did not and could not help you financially?? Did you ever starve because you have no money to buy food?? If not, please do not say things like "to say one cannot study cos financial problems and distractions, for me that are excuses." Dreamer This post has been edited by dreamer101: Jun 16 2006, 06:50 PM |
Jun 16 2006, 06:42 PM
60 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Jinyee 80,
It's not impossible for u to get work with 3rd degree....but u definately will face a lot of obstruction... True, whatever CGPA will not guarantee you can do the job, but a high CGPA will guarantee you a good start i.e. a high likelihood of getting an interview....and shut out any barriers which may have been imposed on the CGPA requirement. Getting a low CGPA is your own doing. Dun blame anybody but yourself. It is known that MNC's look at decent CGPA. If you didn't know dat, den u've not been doing ur homework... If I offended you I'm sorry, but this is a fact. |
Jun 16 2006, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jun 16 2006, 06:34 PM) Jinyee80, Dreamer,I believe you should get a decent GPA if You were a full-time student. So, what should people treat you the same?? Unless you are telling me that you were working while you are studying or you learn some IT stuff on your own why should you get a fair treatment?? Life is fair. You were not willing to work hard to get a better result and now is time for you to suffer, Dreamer One thing you don't really understand is that everyone has their own potential. You might be good in this while you might be bad on that. Okie, continue the story of mine. Those 'competitors' that earn them place during their interview with high CGPA manage to get into the MNC. Once, I saw them on the road, and said hi and asked them about the company. She said she did not pass the probation because she can't perform well in the company. She said the boss expected people with high CGPA should be able to outperform well, know many things than those who get lower. The company paid them high because they thought they will perform better . 9 of us went to interview from the 1st session. 6 managed to pass through the second interview and moved on to the third which the 3 people who scored above 3.0 were left out because they couldn't even speak fluent english. 2 people were hired in the MNC after the 4th interview. One is my friend and another one were moved to another department of customer service because he can speak but too theortical. The world treated everyone fairly? You might get high CGPA, you worked hard in studies but that doesn't mean you knew things more than others. I worked when I was studying because my family did not has the money for me to further my study. I studied at night till dawn. Please do understand that your viewpoint might be good enough to those typical people who did not face financial problems during their studies and their job is to study and study. You dont seems to understand that some people might have different situation there. Please do consider. We are not here to insult nor console. A person that scored high in CGPA, but she did not has good interpersonal skills, she is not sociable, she lives in her own life and a person that scored lower CGPA, which she is sociable, good interpersonal skill, expose more to the working world, have more contacts. Who would you prefer if you are a manager? Jinyee |
Jun 16 2006, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(swinger4eva @ Jun 16 2006, 06:42 PM) Jinyee 80, Yes, high CGPA gives you a good start. Hey, you are not offending me, its just a created story anyway. Copyright reserved! It's not impossible for u to get work with 3rd degree....but u definately will face a lot of obstruction... True, whatever CGPA will not guarantee you can do the job, but a high CGPA will guarantee you a good start i.e. a high likelihood of getting an interview....and shut out any barriers which may have been imposed on the CGPA requirement. Getting a low CGPA is your own doing. Dun blame anybody but yourself. It is known that MNC's look at decent CGPA. If you didn't know dat, den u've not been doing ur homework... If I offended you I'm sorry, but this is a fact. Jinyee |
Jun 16 2006, 07:33 PM
53 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jun 16 2006, 11:01 AM) Katsurou, 1) I got a third class degree because I failed a doublle module subject (one subject = two subjects). The reason I failed the subject because I spent too much time on doing one question. I'm a perfectionist. I can't jump into another question until I finish one. As I mentioned in my previous post my assignment score is very high in the class.I will be the horrible person here. I will be the tough guy. You will be asked this question and you must be prepared to answer this kind of questions. 1) How the hell did you get such a bad result?? 2) Are you a full-time students?? 3) Did you worked while you are going through the colleges?? 4) If you as a full-time student, you cannot even handle a normal class load with a reasonable result, why makes you think you can handle a normal full-time job?? 5) If you say you can be hard working, why do you get such a bad result?? It is across 4 years. Unfortunately, you must be able to answer those questions with reasonable response. Dreamer P.S.: A degree is NOT everything. But, a degree with less that favorable result shows a bad track record. 2) Full time 3) I worked only during semester breaks 4) Exam evaluation doesn't really applicabale to everyone. Working is different from studying. When I worked I know what I learn from work is useful for my job. However, what you study doesn't mean it's useful for your job. I believe for some courses you won't have the chance use up to 30-40% of what you've learned from the college or university. If you've studied so hard and don't know why are you studying for and how to use it then you're just a bookworm. 5) I can't say I'm hardworking in studying but when it comes to working I am. My previous manager (during my semester break) have a very good impression on me because of my performance. |
Jun 16 2006, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jun 16 2006, 06:34 PM) Unless you are telling me that you were working while you are studying or you learn some IT stuff on your own why should you get a fair treatment?? Dreamer QUOTE(jinyee80 @ Jun 16 2006, 07:09 PM) Dreamer, Jinyee,.... . I worked when I was studying because my family did not has the money for me to further my study. I studied at night till dawn. Please do understand that your viewpoint might be good enough to those typical people who did not face financial problems during their studies and their job is to study and study. You dont seems to understand that some people might have different situation there. Please do consider. We are not here to insult nor console. A person that scored high in CGPA, but she did not has good interpersonal skills, she is not sociable, she lives in her own life and a person that scored lower CGPA, which she is sociable, good interpersonal skill, expose more to the working world, have more contacts. Who would you prefer if you are a manager? Jinyee 1) Obviously, you did not read my post carefully. The only exception I gave is "if you worked while you are studying". I am fair. And, I am not talking about high GPA here. 3.0 is NOT a high GPA. 2) I worked 40 hours per week while I was doing my degree. So, I do understand the difficulty of working and studying at the same time. 3) If I am the hiring manager, I will pick people that worked while doing their degree. And, that is true even if their GPA is not 3.0. Dreamer |
Jun 16 2006, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(katsurou @ Jun 16 2006, 07:33 PM) 1) I got a third class degree because I failed a doublle module subject (one subject = two subjects). The reason I failed the subject because I spent too much time on doing one question. I'm a perfectionist. I can't jump into another question until I finish one. As I mentioned in my previous post my assignment score is very high in the class. Katsurou,2) Full time 3) I worked only during semester breaks 4) Exam evaluation doesn't really applicabale to everyone. Working is different from studying. When I worked I know what I learn from work is useful for my job. However, what you study doesn't mean it's useful for your job. I believe for some courses you won't have the chance use up to 30-40% of what you've learned from the college or university. If you've studied so hard and don't know why are you studying for and how to use it then you're just a bookworm. 5) I can't say I'm hardworking in studying but when it comes to working I am. My previous manager (during my semester break) have a very good impression on me because of my performance. If I am interviewing you, you will be rejected based on your response to those 5 questions. 1) It is either a 2 years or 4 years courses. And, your result is so bad that it ONLY takes only failure of one subject to put you down below 3.0. Rome is not built on one day. Your bad GPA takes more one bad exam to happen. 2) You are a full-time student. You only only one thing to do and you did a bad job. 3) So, the bottomline is you have full time to study and still get a bad result. 4) B.S. Sour grapes!! In working as in studying, there are times when things are boring but you still have to do a good job. This is called commitment. That is the difference between a good work ethic and a bad one. Do you want to hire someone that only work hard when it is not boring?? I will not. And, so far, we are not talking about good result here. 3.0 is only fair and average and you cannot even get that. 5) I can say that you are NOT hardworking in studying. Either that or you are not very smart. And, that is not the worse part of all. I will reject you because you have NO WORK ETHIC. A) You do not realize that you are FULLY responsible for your GPA. B) You do not have the stamina to do the boring stuff even if it is required for your job. Dreamer This post has been edited by dreamer101: Jun 16 2006, 08:10 PM |
Jun 16 2006, 08:46 PM
Dreamer,
3.0 is not a HIGH CGPA. Of course its not. The scenario I mentioned above is just a creativity of mine. No offence. In local universities, I believe if you get below 3.3, you are definately poor; but comparing with private colleges and universities, obtaining a 3.0 is consider good already. It differs from one to another. I got your point. Low CGPA is not due to ONE failure only, which its accumulated by various failures. Anyway, what's your rational in differing HIGH CGPA and LOW CGPA? High is 4.0 - 3.8 ? or ...? Regards, Jinyee |
Jun 16 2006, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jun 16 2006, 07:55 PM) Jinyee, Dreamer,1) Obviously, you did not read my post carefully. The only exception I gave is "if you worked while you are studying". I am fair. And, I am not talking about high GPA here. 3.0 is NOT a high GPA. 2) I worked 40 hours per week while I was doing my degree. So, I do understand the difficulty of working and studying at the same time. 3) If I am the hiring manager, I will pick people that worked while doing their degree. And, that is true even if their GPA is not 3.0. Dreamer Obviously, you misunderstand. I mentioned CGPA in my previous post, but you kept on mentioning GPA repeatedly. What causes low CGPA? low GPA. What causes low GPA? Poor results with long credit hours. One can get 4.0 for GPA once, but 3.0 GPA for another, and if the latter one consumed more credit hours, the total CGPA will goes down, not 3.5. Jinyee |
Jun 16 2006, 08:58 PM
3,466 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Malaysia |
In my opinion, good CGPA will give you a great start..
People will shortlist you for interview, consider you for higher pay etc.. That only applies when you're fresh grad.. But after that i.e >2 years, experience and inter-personality counts... your CGPA isnt considered/worth at all.. Thus, for those who is less capable in CGPA dept, I suggest that you dont reject any offer that you got... |
Jun 16 2006, 09:12 PM
2,921 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh/PJ/KL |
i remember going for an interview at an MNC, like all my other peers. to be honest, i'm not 3rd class, 2nd lower, but that place requires only the best. another MNC rejected me at the online application level too..hehe
the interviewer looked at all my grades, noticed a trend where certain subjects i do quite okay, but some other subjects, all Cs i even did very badly in the written test for the interview. however, i was expecting it, and i pitched forward, saying i know my strengths and i know my weaknesses. but the job scope falls within my strengths, and i have practical experience in past final year projects and industrial trainings to back up, cos in the end, practical work is what ur looking for. furthermore, esp in this fast moving world, what u study isn't exactly applicable, and u have to start learning all over again on the job, show that u are adaptable and willing to learn. do not be afraid to show a little ambition when asked "where do u see urself in 5 years time" good managers/interviewers would know that no point hiring smart ppl who have poor management/leadership skills, cos in the end, they'd go no where. as for me, i turned down the MNC offer and am now in a small company for more than a year, doing something which isn't what i studied, and wasn't even asked my CGPA This post has been edited by ADJ: Jun 16 2006, 09:14 PM |
Jun 16 2006, 09:33 PM
4,251 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malacca, Malaysia, Earth |
Erm, if u guys dont mind, I'd like to ask one more thing.
Lets say if a certain class, lets say 3rd class, generally has a certain value (certainly not any higher than a 2nd class), are they the same or does it varies depending on what kind of degree? Like between an Engineering, IT or management degree... reason why I'm asking is tht i read thru the discussion here, thanks to those who share some experience here, just to get an idea how it is like to have a 3rd class degree and one that's higher.... but I'm not sure exactly what kind of degree u guys are talking about, IT or engineering or management |
Jun 16 2006, 09:38 PM
1,359 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Jun 16 2006, 09:53 AM) Are you graduated yet ? Well you see Captain Obvious, everyone has different aim in life. Things that are too good for you probably a piece of shlt to me. Get it?3rd class is an Honours Degree. The lowest rank is Pass Degree which has no Honours. |
Jun 16 2006, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(jinyee80 @ Jun 16 2006, 08:46 PM) Dreamer, 3.0 is not a HIGH CGPA. Of course its not. The scenario I mentioned above is just a creativity of mine. No offence. In local universities, I believe if you get below 3.3, you are definately poor; but comparing with private colleges and universities, obtaining a 3.0 is consider good already. It differs from one to another. I got your point. Low CGPA is not due to ONE failure only, which its accumulated by various failures. Anyway, what's your rational in differing HIGH CGPA and LOW CGPA? High is 4.0 - 3.8 ? or ...? Regards, Jinyee QUOTE(jinyee80 @ Jun 16 2006, 08:51 PM) Dreamer, 1) My mistake. I should have writen CGPA instead of GPA.Obviously, you misunderstand. I mentioned CGPA in my previous post, but you kept on mentioning GPA repeatedly. What causes low CGPA? low GPA. What causes low GPA? Poor results with long credit hours. One can get 4.0 for GPA once, but 3.0 GPA for another, and if the latter one consumed more credit hours, the total CGPA will goes down, not 3.5. Jinyee 2) My belief is your CGPA should be at least 3.0. Then, the next thing to look at should be which university you are graduated from. 3) What is high CGPA?? Who are you comparing to?? We are at different generation. I had worked for 20 years. In my generation of people, there are many people that worked part-time while taking full-time class load in world ranked universities at USA. The average people has a CGPA of over 3.0. The smart one has CGPA above 3.5. Dreamer P.S.: Do you know that with 33% of the high school graduates futher their education and getting a diploma and/or degree, Malaysia is around top 5 in the world with that ratio? So, there is a lot of people in Malaysia with either diploma and/or degree. This post has been edited by dreamer101: Jun 16 2006, 11:54 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0159sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:48 PM |