Will companies employ a third class degree holder.
Or it's a no value degree?
Third Class = No value?
Jun 15 2006, 10:40 AM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
53 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Will companies employ a third class degree holder.
Or it's a no value degree? |
Jun 15 2006, 10:42 AM
5,533 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Yes, they will. Every degree/diploma/certificate has its own value. It depends how well you present yourself.
Jun 15 2006, 10:56 AM
76 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
but the word above your stars read "unemployed". THE IRONY!
Jun 15 2006, 10:56 AM
862 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(goliath @ Jun 15 2006, 10:42 AM) Yes, they will. Every degree/diploma/certificate has its own value. It depends how well you present yourself. well, this i will not guarantee...becoz nowadays...too many graduates are looking for jobs.... so in order to have a good advantage, at least you need to have good grades(acceptable range, not first class only, maybe like cgpa>3) then only you have a chance to be shortlisted...tat way u baru can present yourself lo else maybe a bit hard....no chance for you to present yourself how they employ u? |
Jun 15 2006, 10:59 AM
3,590 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: nowhere |
QUOTE(goliath @ Jun 15 2006, 10:42 AM) Yes, they will. Every degree/diploma/certificate has its own value. It depends how well you present yourself. I am a 3rd class degree holder. It is a better-then-nothing paper, but there are still company out there that value your degree paper. It might be a bit harder to find your first relevent job - it has took me 1 freaking long year to find my current job... felt extremely frustrated especially those bank ads all saying "2nd-class-uppder and above" really jialat.But when you start working, make sure you learn as much as possible and after 1-2 years, you can show off your experience and skill(especially interpersonal skill) then this 3rd class maybe less an issue to you. But i didn't go out find any other job yet, not planning to do so |
1,316 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: (GMT+08:00) Kuala Lumpur |
TOP MNC companies look for 2nd class lower at the MINIMUM!
for instance, Shell, Intel, Maxis( internal not those helpdesk people), Hua wei would take in at the very least 2nd class lower. but not to worry, u still have alot of choices |
QUOTE(yihyan @ Jun 15 2006, 10:56 AM) well, this i will not guarantee... That's what I'm worrying.becoz nowadays...too many graduates are looking for jobs.... so in order to have a good advantage, at least you need to have good grades(acceptable range, not first class only, maybe like cgpa>3) then only you have a chance to be shortlisted...tat way u baru can present yourself lo else maybe a bit hard....no chance for you to present yourself how they employ u? |
Jun 15 2006, 11:04 AM
76 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
3.0 to get in the door. the rest are all about your mad communication skills and work ethics.
my sis extended her degree in aussie for one year for flunking a lot of subjects and came back with a 3.0 cgpa in BIT. got herself shortlisted for an interview where she was asked to present some statistical data in front of the interviewers. start off at rm1.8k and 5 years later is in charge of the department she was once working in at rm5k+. so unless you've graduated, start retaking your low GPA subjects and fix your CGPA! |
Jun 15 2006, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(FleshWound @ Jun 15 2006, 11:04 AM) 3.0 to get in the door. the rest are all about your mad communication skills and work ethics. I failed a double module subject in the final year and they don't allow student to retake because it's the UK university policy. Nothing I can do anymore.my sis extended her degree in aussie for one year for flunking a lot of subjects and came back with a 3.0 cgpa in BIT. got herself shortlisted for an interview where she was asked to present some statistical data in front of the interviewers. start off at rm1.8k and 5 years later is in charge of the department she was once working in at rm5k+. so unless you've graduated, start retaking your low GPA subjects and fix your CGPA! |
Jun 15 2006, 11:29 AM
5,533 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(FleshWound @ Jun 15 2006, 10:56 AM) QUOTE(yihyan @ Jun 15 2006, 10:56 AM) well, this i will not guarantee... Don't be suprise that companies could call somebody holding a Pass degree too. becoz nowadays...too many graduates are looking for jobs.... so in order to have a good advantage, at least you need to have good grades(acceptable range, not first class only, maybe like cgpa>3) then only you have a chance to be shortlisted...tat way u baru can present yourself lo else maybe a bit hard....no chance for you to present yourself how they employ u? QUOTE(rexis @ Jun 15 2006, 10:59 AM) I am a 3rd class degree holder. It is a better-then-nothing paper, but there are still company out there that value your degree paper. I agree with that statement. It shows that you've been through approx. 13 years of education. QUOTE(rexis @ Jun 15 2006, 10:59 AM) It might be a bit harder to find your first relevent job - it has took me 1 freaking long year to find my current job... felt extremely frustrated especially those bank ads all saying "2nd-class-uppder and above" really jialat. I still send my applications regardless there're requirements or not because you will never know whether they might look into your application. Ttherefore, trying is always a good thing. Even though they don't bother about your application, treat it as wasting 2-3 pieces of paper and a 50 cent stamp. QUOTE(katsurou @ Jun 15 2006, 11:18 AM) I failed a double module subject in the final year and they don't allow student to retake because it's the UK university policy. Nothing I can do anymore. In fact, I'm one like you last time. they based on credit system. Either you pass or take the whole year again. So, bear with it. |
Jun 15 2006, 12:32 PM
228 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
1st class not necessay done best job.
sometimes just depend on how ppl do their job, how responsible they're, social, attitude... all these dun show in the cert... |
Jun 15 2006, 12:36 PM
2,919 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: tanah melayu |
if your soft skill is a plus point even tho you have 3rd class, that would be good.
Jun 15 2006, 12:39 PM
983 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kepong @ KL |
Diploma holder also can get a job nowadays...
Just don't be choosy... at least got your first job and learn as much as you can. Experience or what you can do... is much more important Good Luck! |
Jun 15 2006, 01:10 PM
2,660 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere in the world |
Well to start with a 3rd class degree is really bad. What you need to have is experience to cover the bad part and good communication skills. Last time I have 2 class higher also hard to land to a job that I like so just take the shitty job first and then leave the company once you get the chance.
What you need now is the income and the money not being picky |
Jun 15 2006, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(katsurou @ Jun 15 2006, 11:18 AM) I failed a double module subject in the final year and they don't allow student to retake because it's the UK university policy. Nothing I can do anymore. owww, i am like that too last time, in MMU, while i am doing industrial training, they called me that i need to go back for subpaper, and it is 2 days away... O.o so i gave up the sub paper, and ends up i hv to wait a whole damn year just to retake that paper...This post has been edited by rexis: Jun 15 2006, 01:41 PM |
Jun 15 2006, 01:44 PM
2,657 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In front of my computer |
QUOTE(rexis @ Jun 15 2006, 01:41 PM) owww, i am like that too last time, in MMU, while i am doing industrial training, they called me that i need to go back for subpaper, and it is 2 days away... O.o so i gave up the sub paper, and ends up i hv to wait a whole damn year just to retake that paper... i dont even have a Third Class degree....just a normal degree....and i am employed.....with quite good pay also.....dont be discouraged.......it's the attitude that counts....not results... |
Jun 15 2006, 01:51 PM
195 posts Joined: May 2006 |
I hv a degree from US. There is NO and xxx-class degree, only CGPA.
So how am i going to know which class i in? Are there any guides? Eg: 80-100 is A, 0-39 is Fail. |
Jun 15 2006, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jun 15 2006, 01:44 PM) i dont even have a Third Class degree....just a normal degree....and i am employed.....with quite good pay also..... eyy... degree sure got class one mahh, no matter its a 'normal' degree or 'normal' 3rd class degree. Btw, mine one got 'honours' somemore. But seriously i think of all these empty degree paper are no use. Most likely an employer will hire a first class honours guy that could not do anything but complain a lot.dont be discouraged.......it's the attitude that counts....not results... Yup, agreed, it's the attitude that counts. The results counts too, but not exam results, but working results Exam results, are sh!ts IMHO. These useless numbers unable to show what is one person is truely good at, maybe co-curiculum data is more useful then a 10A student. |
Jun 15 2006, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(python_king @ Jun 15 2006, 01:51 PM) I hv a degree from US. There is NO and xxx-class degree, only CGPA. Thats why, these 1st, 2nd, 3rd classes are shit, for god sake my CGPA is only 0.06 away from the bloody 2nd class lower. Some university can set their 1st class CGPA requirement lower(but there should b some guidelines), some can adjust their exam results to produce enough 1st class students to make them look handsome(actually maybe all students cant even reach 50% marks, so uni marks are confidential).So how am i going to know which class i in? Are there any guides? Eg: 80-100 is A, 0-39 is Fail. CGPA is only outside thing, what is inside your head, is your real property, nobody can take it away. |
Jun 15 2006, 02:47 PM
1,399 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Destiny Island |
those get better class is easier to get job yes, thats only apply after u graduated from uni as a freshgrad. at that time, if ur results are good, of coz its easier to get job and if u are not that good, u might have tough time, so get any job 1st, then learn and get experience after a few years they dont look at ur cert that much but ur hands-on skills. that time u can show them u pwned those 1st class. even in education, best results are not always the best teacher but some soso can teach good students...
| Change to: | 0.0271sec
5 queries
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:37 PM |