Third Class = No value?

jinyee80
post Jun 15 2006, 06:14 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

Those employers or interviewers will obviously look into those who have high CGPA, at least second class upper. Why? This doesn't mean that they score high, they will perform well but at least they have the foundation of certain knowledges. No matter these students were memorizing or really understand what they were taught in their university life, the potential employers believed that one who's score good grade's attitude in learning is better than those who score it lower. Because in the process of learning, your result do show your attitude of learning. I believe every university has mid-term, small exam to test their students and students should within this moment knew where's the place they were weak in and then work hard on it. Maybe you scored low grade in mid-term but you worked hard all way long the semester and in final, you score satisfied result.

What employers want to see is NOT the high CGPA grades that display in front of them. There were so many applicants for job every single day and they have no choice to use this as a norm to shortlist candidates. They would not want to waste their time interviewing 1000+ of candidates which it might waste time and resources.

You might claim that candidates with high CGPA don't mean that they are elite in the corporate world. They aren't and perhaps they are winner in studies, they are loser in the real world. However, as I said, employers see that those who have higher CGPA own higher dedication. They at least work hard to score. I believe those who score high CGPA do more research than those who obtain lower. While some is watching 6pm TV drama, those students were in the library looking for pass year paper, practising again and again. I believe the lecturers provide the same tips to every of his/her students, just that sometimes it will be +/-. So, you need to have good interpersonal skill, which your friend might share it with you.

In my university life, I observed that students who usually scored good grade are those who looks very dull, kinda bookworm but a portion of that did not. They enjoy their life. You might see them playing around but who knows, he or she was studying during midnight?

Perhaps I would conclude that high CGPA students don't mean they are brilliant and can easily get a job done ( not to get a job ). Before you would like to be shortlisted, you need something to attract the potential employers, and very obvious, they looked into your results. Otherwise, you might be a very good presenter, decent speaker but you score low grade, they did not short list you and you don't have the opportunity to show your talent.

This post has been edited by jinyee80: Jun 15 2006, 06:43 PM
jinyee80
post Jun 16 2006, 06:19 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

Once, I was attending the third group assessment to get a job in a MNC, my final result released. My final result was dissapointed, CGPA 2.99, a little bit close to 3.0.

It was a 4 stages job interview. I passed the earlier two, doing well in the case study and group discussion as well. Since my final result has not been released, and I was using my previous exam result to apply for a job, they called me up for an interview, the first interview. My CGPA was 2.8 that time. They told me that the job will require at least 3.0, and she asked me whether my final will get it or not. I said maybe I could or maybe I could not. She asked me to do some personality test and I got through. I was then called for second interview and move on to the third.

That was a cold morning. I woke up at 6am as the 3rd interview started on 8.30am sharp. I went there with my 'just-released' result, which is 2.99 one. The HR personnel asked me to submit my resume, photostated result and original again. Then, waiting for a while, I was called into a room, which there were 3 interviewers. They looked at my result and said how would I be sitting in front of them since my result did not even touch 3.0. I was like feeling depressed as they kept on mentioning that I will not be their cup of tea and wasting their time. I told them I will perform because results did not show everything. I was slightly near to 3.0 and I believe I have the quality that they required.

Well, during the group assessment, AGAIN, I was mentioned, I mean I was insulted again as the speaker mentioned I have the lowest CGPA around those 20 candidates.

I did not get the job. The HR people called me up and told me no matter how good you are, no matter how well you perform during the interview or how well you would be willing to show yourself out, they just don't want you to have a CGPA lower than 3.0. This is the pride of the company, they did not want others saying that they hire a nearly 3.0 person. They want people to know they absorb those high CGPA person and coach them well.

Well, I did not believe that high CGPA means high performance. But I do believe that we should treat every class as the same.
jinyee80
post Jun 16 2006, 07:09 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jun 16 2006, 06:34 PM)
Jinyee80,

I believe you should get a decent GPA if You were a full-time student.  So, what should people treat you the same??

Unless you are telling me that you were working while you are studying or you learn some IT stuff on your own why should you get a fair treatment??

Life is fair.  You were not willing to work hard to get a better result and now is time for you to suffer,

Dreamer
Dreamer,

One thing you don't really understand is that everyone has their own potential. You might be good in this while you might be bad on that. Okie, continue the story of mine. Those 'competitors' that earn them place during their interview with high CGPA manage to get into the MNC. Once, I saw them on the road, and said hi and asked them about the company. She said she did not pass the probation because she can't perform well in the company. She said the boss expected people with high CGPA should be able to outperform well, know many things than those who get lower. The company paid them high because they thought they will perform better .

9 of us went to interview from the 1st session. 6 managed to pass through the second interview and moved on to the third which the 3 people who scored above 3.0 were left out because they couldn't even speak fluent english. 2 people were hired in the MNC after the 4th interview. One is my friend and another one were moved to another department of customer service because he can speak but too theortical.

The world treated everyone fairly? You might get high CGPA, you worked hard in studies but that doesn't mean you knew things more than others. I worked when I was studying because my family did not has the money for me to further my study. I studied at night till dawn. Please do understand that your viewpoint might be good enough to those typical people who did not face financial problems during their studies and their job is to study and study. You dont seems to understand that some people might have different situation there. Please do consider. We are not here to insult nor console. A person that scored high in CGPA, but she did not has good interpersonal skills, she is not sociable, she lives in her own life and a person that scored lower CGPA, which she is sociable, good interpersonal skill, expose more to the working world, have more contacts. Who would you prefer if you are a manager?

Jinyee
jinyee80
post Jun 16 2006, 07:12 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

QUOTE(swinger4eva @ Jun 16 2006, 06:42 PM)
Jinyee 80,

It's not impossible for u to get work with 3rd degree....but u definately will face a lot of obstruction...

True, whatever CGPA will not guarantee you can do the job, but a high CGPA will guarantee you a good start i.e. a high likelihood of getting an interview....and shut out any barriers which may have been imposed on the CGPA requirement.

Getting a low CGPA is your own doing.  Dun blame anybody but yourself.  It is known that MNC's look at decent CGPA.

If you didn't know dat, den u've not been doing ur homework...

If I offended you I'm sorry, but this is a fact.
Yes, high CGPA gives you a good start. Hey, you are not offending me, its just a created story anyway. Copyright reserved! smile.gif

Jinyee
jinyee80
post Jun 16 2006, 08:46 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

Dreamer,

3.0 is not a HIGH CGPA. Of course its not. The scenario I mentioned above is just a creativity of mine. No offence. In local universities, I believe if you get below 3.3, you are definately poor; but comparing with private colleges and universities, obtaining a 3.0 is consider good already. It differs from one to another.

I got your point. Low CGPA is not due to ONE failure only, which its accumulated by various failures. Anyway, what's your rational in differing HIGH CGPA and LOW CGPA? High is 4.0 - 3.8 ? or ...?

Regards,
Jinyee
jinyee80
post Jun 16 2006, 08:51 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jun 16 2006, 07:55 PM)
Jinyee,

1)  Obviously, you did not read my post carefully.  The only exception I gave is "if you worked while you are studying".  I am fair.  And, I am not talking about high GPA here. 3.0 is NOT a high GPA.

2) I worked 40 hours per week while I was doing my degree.  So, I do understand the difficulty of working and studying at the same time.

3) If I am the hiring manager, I will pick people that worked while doing their degree.  And, that is true even if their GPA is not 3.0.

Dreamer
Dreamer,

Obviously, you misunderstand. I mentioned CGPA in my previous post, but you kept on mentioning GPA repeatedly. What causes low CGPA? low GPA. What causes low GPA? Poor results with long credit hours. One can get 4.0 for GPA once, but 3.0 GPA for another, and if the latter one consumed more credit hours, the total CGPA will goes down, not 3.5.

Jinyee
jinyee80
post Jun 18 2006, 08:56 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

Such a long post after I have left for such a while.

I went to my lecturer's wedding, and she invited a lot of colleagues to her wedding as well. I sat with these lecturers whose some used to be my lecturers before. I mentioned about the topics and majority of them agreed the statement of getting a high CGPA provides you more advantage in seeking a higher paid job. They never come out with the statement that 3rd class will not get job, they will but harder.

Why? With a first class degree, the potential employers will perceive the candidates who gain it will have better attitude in learning, which contribute to their excellent result. But, some might not be REALLY hardworking. I observed some friends of mine focus on the tips that the lecturers gave and manage to obtain good result. They played all time and perhaps these bunch of people are those who did not really dedicate in their studies but they were hardworking too, they contacted their friends everywhere to gain MORE tips when the exam is near. They hardwork in digging tips.

Well, I would say that dreamer statement is right that with a 1st class degree, you really could gain more than lower one. Anyway, if you have a 3rd class degree, don't be discourage because it is a statement. Why not you try to do something to increase your competitiveness towards others?

This post has been edited by jinyee80: Jun 18 2006, 08:58 PM
jinyee80
post Jun 18 2006, 11:59 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

Dreamer,

Yes, the reality is that you are in the game when you know how to play the game, otherwise you will be put aside or waste your effort. Would the statement be ' the smartest person is ones who do the less thing but being rewarded the most?'

Jinyee

This post has been edited by jinyee80: Jun 19 2006, 12:00 AM

0.0244sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:08 PM