16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Third Class = No value?

hans.excel
post Jun 15 2006, 03:45 PM

401 posts

IMO, working life is another stage in life. yes you may have a third class degree in your hands, but in the real world, character is important. the harder you work, the more places you could go. so don't feel pity for yourself in having the 3rd class degree..
python_king
post Jun 15 2006, 05:58 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(rexis @ Jun 15 2006, 02:09 PM)
.l.. what is inside your head, is your real property ....
I like this very much

jinyee80
post Jun 15 2006, 06:14 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

Those employers or interviewers will obviously look into those who have high CGPA, at least second class upper. Why? This doesn't mean that they score high, they will perform well but at least they have the foundation of certain knowledges. No matter these students were memorizing or really understand what they were taught in their university life, the potential employers believed that one who's score good grade's attitude in learning is better than those who score it lower. Because in the process of learning, your result do show your attitude of learning. I believe every university has mid-term, small exam to test their students and students should within this moment knew where's the place they were weak in and then work hard on it. Maybe you scored low grade in mid-term but you worked hard all way long the semester and in final, you score satisfied result.

What employers want to see is NOT the high CGPA grades that display in front of them. There were so many applicants for job every single day and they have no choice to use this as a norm to shortlist candidates. They would not want to waste their time interviewing 1000+ of candidates which it might waste time and resources.

You might claim that candidates with high CGPA don't mean that they are elite in the corporate world. They aren't and perhaps they are winner in studies, they are loser in the real world. However, as I said, employers see that those who have higher CGPA own higher dedication. They at least work hard to score. I believe those who score high CGPA do more research than those who obtain lower. While some is watching 6pm TV drama, those students were in the library looking for pass year paper, practising again and again. I believe the lecturers provide the same tips to every of his/her students, just that sometimes it will be +/-. So, you need to have good interpersonal skill, which your friend might share it with you.

In my university life, I observed that students who usually scored good grade are those who looks very dull, kinda bookworm but a portion of that did not. They enjoy their life. You might see them playing around but who knows, he or she was studying during midnight?

Perhaps I would conclude that high CGPA students don't mean they are brilliant and can easily get a job done ( not to get a job ). Before you would like to be shortlisted, you need something to attract the potential employers, and very obvious, they looked into your results. Otherwise, you might be a very good presenter, decent speaker but you score low grade, they did not short list you and you don't have the opportunity to show your talent.

This post has been edited by jinyee80: Jun 15 2006, 06:43 PM
TSkatsurou
post Jun 15 2006, 11:34 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(jinyee80 @ Jun 15 2006, 06:14 PM)
Those employers or interviewers will obviously look into those who have high CGPA, at least second class upper. Why? This doesn't mean that they score high, they will perform well but at least they have the foundation of certain knowledges. No matter these students were memorizing or really understand what they were taught in their university life, the potential employers believed that one who's score good grade's attitude in learning is better than those who score it lower. Because in the process of learning, your result do show your attitude of learning. I believe every university has mid-term, small exam to test their students and students should within this moment knew where's the place they were weak in and then work hard on it. Maybe you scored low grade in mid-term but you worked hard all way long the semester and in final, you score satisfied result.

What employers want to see is NOT the high CGPA grades that display in front of them. There were so many applicants for job every single day and they have no choice to use this as a norm to shortlist candidates. They would not want to waste their time interviewing 1000+ of candidates which it might waste time and resources.

You might claim that candidates with high CGPA don't mean that they are elite in the corporate world. They aren't and perhaps they are winner in studies, they are loser in the real world. However, as I said, employers see that those who have higher CGPA own higher dedication. They at least work hard to score. I believe those who score high CGPA do more research than those who obtain lower. While some is watching 6pm TV drama, those students were in the library looking for pass year paper, practising again and again. I believe the lecturers provide the same tips to every of his/her students, just that sometimes it will be +/-. So, you need to have good interpersonal skill, which your friend might share it with you.

In my university life, I observed that students who usually scored good grade are those who looks very dull, kinda bookworm but a portion of that did not. They enjoy their life. You might see them playing around but who knows, he or she was studying during midnight?

Perhaps I would conclude that high CGPA students don't mean they are brilliant and can easily get a job done ( not to get a job ). Before you would like to be shortlisted, you need something to attract the potential employers, and very obvious, they looked into your results. Otherwise, you might be a very good presenter, decent speaker but you score low grade, they did not short list you and you don't have the opportunity to show your talent.
Yeah...somtimes exam only can test how well you can memorize the textbook and how fast you can write it out during the 2-3hours time. In fact, the double module I've failed I had gotten the third highest assignment marks in the class. I failed the subject was because I didn't have enough time to complete the questions and was a bit dizzy because of studying over night....couldn't write as fast as usual. *sigh*
k_kokkhin
post Jun 16 2006, 12:51 AM

83 posts

to topic starter,

do you think 3rd class no value? it is still a degree... you cant do well not because of you are not hardworking... but the things that you studied didnt come out... then those who are so lucky, they will score a very good result... or your condition on the exam day not good, like headache, etc. like my case, i just finished my exam for UK uni Engineering Degree also...i realized i didnt do well.... the result not out yet... i started to be discourage... but, after talked with many people, feel lots better now... what they told me is,

You know about yourself more than anyone else

if you feel no regret on what you done, you dont have any reason to sad for.and always remember, nobody is perfect... just like a robe, if one side is long, then it will be short at the other side... um, understand this phrase?? haha... everyone of us have our own power....i started realize i was in the wrong course after my diploma...but i still continued untill today for my degree.. so, dun sad... LYN members will always be there for you.. smile.gif
Notoriez
post Jun 16 2006, 01:05 AM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

Third class no value?? Errmm i dont think so...Personally i've known 1 of my housemates are working in SONY Bangi with a respectable position (asst warehouse manager)..He only gained 2.14 CGPA for his B. Degree..

No one helped him to get into SONY (no cabels or wat u guys called it or watever)...he just submitted his resume and waited for the interview...

During the interview even the interviewer mocked him because of his result but he managed to back it up with his 2-3yrs working experience in UNITAR, Maxis and HSBC...my fren even spoke broken english biggrin.gif

Waited for 3 weeks for any confirmation and nearly lost hope..
Vv.SoViEt.vV
post Jun 16 2006, 01:23 AM

ToRMeNted-sOUL
1,359 posts

Based on the paper alone, a 3rd Class is equal to nothingness.
yEsorNo
post Jun 16 2006, 01:25 AM

305 posts

third class is better than no class la... it is still a degree ma....
Pennywise
post Jun 16 2006, 02:10 AM

5,796 posts

Ok, this is from my buddy, who also has a Third Class Degree Honours. What he has told me over the years sounds very true.

1. Employers will usually shortlist those who are Second Class Lower and above. Third Class Degree or General Degree are often left out. Nevertheless, it does not mean you cannot get a job. Heck, they are people sweeping the streets and still make a living. Do not think of Third Class as nothing.

2. In life, if you want to make it big, you probably cant depend too much on career. Of course, hardworking is a very positive quality and many companies would pay one person who is really hardworking to multitask, then to pay an average two person to do the same amount of job.

3. My grandpa used to say in Hokkien "How much you wear, how much you eat, how much you earn is all fated." Do not be discouraged of poor results. Make sure you can perform.

4. MOST IMPORTANT POINT, SKILLZ - How many Degree holders has the proper skills? Heck, I have classmates who cant even install Windows XP Pro when he graduated with Second Upper Honours. What does the Degree teaches us? Database design? Software analysis? Programming? Tech support? Microsoft Word even? This is also one of the many reasons, majority females who graduated in IT end up working in other fields. However, they are also very good IT-women out there, quite a few I know who are better than men.

5. NEXT IMPORTANT POINT, INTERPERSONAL SKILLZ - Believe it or not, many organization still thinks that oversea-grads and First Class grads are snobs. The management also know how to utilise manpower. To think about hiring someone First Class and hard-headed. Why not hire someone lower class Degree and bully him. This part, you gotta live with it. Because you suck at your education, you gotta make it up with hardwork. Many First Class grads usually think they are better off than other people and have poor interpersonal and social skills. Not kidding but I'm not stereotyping.

6. Since you already know you screwed up your education, then you make it up with hardwork. Like others have written, working life is a new gateway, a new life. Just like how it was before you stepped into your first day in school. It's also your LAST stage in life before you retire, so dont screw up anymore. If there is ever a time you need to work hard and get up, it's NOW!
yEsorNo
post Jun 16 2006, 02:36 AM

305 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 16 2006, 02:10 AM)
Ok, this is from my buddy, who also has a Third Class Degree Honours. What he has told me over the years sounds very true.

1. Employers will usually shortlist those who are Second Class Lower and above. Third Class Degree or General Degree are often left out. Nevertheless, it does not mean you cannot get a job. Heck, they are people sweeping the streets and still make a living. Do not think of Third Class as nothing.

2. In life, if you want to make it big, you probably cant depend too much on career. Of course, hardworking is a very positive quality and many companies would pay one person who is really hardworking to multitask, then to pay an average two person to do the same amount of job.

3. My grandpa used to say in Hokkien "How much you wear, how much you eat, how much you earn is all fated." Do not be discouraged of poor results. Make sure you can perform.

4. MOST IMPORTANT POINT, SKILLZ - How many Degree holders has the proper skills? Heck, I have classmates who cant even install Windows XP Pro when he graduated with Second Upper Honours. What does the Degree teaches us? Database design? Software analysis? Programming? Tech support? Microsoft Word even? This is also one of the many reasons, majority females who graduated in IT end up working in other fields. However, they are also very good IT-women out there, quite a few I know who are better than men.

5. NEXT IMPORTANT POINT, INTERPERSONAL SKILLZ - Believe it or not, many organization still thinks that oversea-grads and First Class grads are snobs. The management also know how to utilise manpower. To think about hiring someone First Class and hard-headed. Why not hire someone lower class Degree and bully him. This part, you gotta live with it. Because you suck at your education, you gotta make it up with hardwork. Many First Class grads usually think they are better off than other people and have poor interpersonal and social skills. Not kidding but I'm not stereotyping.

6. Since you already know you screwed up your education, then you make it up with hardwork. Like others have written, working life is a new gateway, a new life. Just like how it was before you stepped into your first day in school. It's also your LAST stage in life before you retire, so dont screw up anymore. If there is ever a time you need to work hard and get up, it's NOW!
agree!! rclxms.gif
igor_is300
post Jun 16 2006, 09:53 AM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

QUOTE(Vv.SoViEt.vV @ Jun 16 2006, 01:23 AM)
Are you graduated yet ?

3rd class is an Honours Degree. The lowest rank is Pass Degree which has no Honours. Anyway I seldom come across local graduates with 3rd class or pass degree, most of them are at least 2nd class lower. This is different when I was in UK since there are quite numbers of 3rd class degree holders. Looking to this scenario i think there is a difference in standard and quality of the degree awarded. Somehow our education system is getting more lenient and acquiring many A1s in SPM is like an absurd competition.
woopypooky
post Jun 16 2006, 10:19 AM

1,292 posts

first class cgpa = 3.5-4.0
second class = 3.0-3.4
third class = 2.0-2.9
<2.0 = no degree,
is this true?

i want to ask 1 more thing, when some one had a degree, does the employer still look at his/her STPM,SPM,PMR results?

This post has been edited by woopypooky: Jun 16 2006, 10:21 AM
goliath
post Jun 16 2006, 10:21 AM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Jun 16 2006, 09:53 AM)
Are you graduated yet ?

3rd class is an Honours Degree. The lowest rank is Pass Degree which has no Honours. Anyway I seldom come across local graduates with 3rd class or pass degree, most of them are at least 2nd class lower. This is different when I was in UK since there are quite numbers of 3rd class degree holders. Looking to this scenario i think there is a difference in standard and quality of the degree awarded. Somehow our education system is getting more lenient and acquiring many A1s in SPM is like an absurd competition.
Pass degree holder from UK ere icon_rolleyes.gif . I'm not proud of it nor I'm disgusted with it. At least, I know that I didn't quit half way because of my bad results. Life goes on. It's just another chapter of life smile.gif
rexis
post Jun 16 2006, 10:35 AM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

QUOTE(Vv.SoViEt.vV @ Jun 16 2006, 01:23 AM)
Ehhhh, you think scoring 3rd class easy ahh! Is going thru the pressure of taking sub paper and the feel of walking by the cliff is easy you say? Those who do not study do not care and not dedicated at all, will not even graduate! A university give you a 3rd class degree doesnt mean that they give you a toilet paper, this paper spells some good quality of you!

A carpenter might rate a good stainless steal kitchen knife as useless, but finds a rusty nail to be more useful. Same, a cook will have no use of a chainsaw, but make good use of a fruit knife. But we should not wait for the carpenter or cook to find you, we should find them.

Know your true value, and work on it, not wait for luck.
rexis
post Jun 16 2006, 10:38 AM

3,590 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Jun 16 2006, 10:19 AM)
first class cgpa = 3.5-4.0
second class = 3.0-3.4
third class = 2.0-2.9
<2.0 = no degree,
is this true?

i want to ask 1 more thing, when some one had a degree, does the employer still look at his/her STPM,SPM,PMR results?
2nd class lower should be 2.65 n above, how can 3rd class = 2.9? I see my sis study day and night also only got 2.80, study so hard only score 3rd class? shakehead.gif
woopypooky
post Jun 16 2006, 10:40 AM

1,292 posts

QUOTE(rexis @ Jun 16 2006, 10:38 AM)
2nd class lower should be 2.65 n  above, how can 3rd class = 2.9? I see my sis study day and night also only got 2.80, study so hard only score 3rd class? shakehead.gif
so can tell me exactly wat CGPA range does 3rd class fall into?
rexis
post Jun 16 2006, 10:46 AM

3,590 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Jun 16 2006, 10:40 AM)
so can tell me exactly wat CGPA range does 3rd class fall into?
Below 2.65? Like me 2.59 sad.gif
dreamer101
post Jun 16 2006, 11:01 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(katsurou @ Jun 15 2006, 10:40 AM)
Will companies employ a third class degree holder.
Or it's a no value degree?
Katsurou,

I will be the horrible person here. I will be the tough guy. You will be asked this question and you must be prepared to answer this kind of questions.

1) How the hell did you get such a bad result??

2) Are you a full-time students??

3) Did you worked while you are going through the colleges??

4) If you as a full-time student, you cannot even handle a normal class load with a reasonable result, why makes you think you can handle a normal full-time job??

5) If you say you can be hard working, why do you get such a bad result?? It is across 4 years.

Unfortunately, you must be able to answer those questions with reasonable response.

Dreamer

P.S.: A degree is NOT everything. But, a degree with less that favorable result shows a bad track record.

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Jun 16 2006, 11:05 AM
lokgotz
post Jun 16 2006, 11:06 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(rexis @ Jun 15 2006, 02:03 PM)
eyy... degree sure got class one mahh, no matter its a 'normal' degree or 'normal' 3rd class degree. Btw, mine one got 'honours' somemore. But seriously i think of all these empty degree paper are no use. Most likely an employer will hire a first class honours guy that could not do anything but complain a lot.

Yup, agreed, it's the attitude that counts. The results counts too, but not exam results, but working results smile.gif

Exam results, are sh!ts IMHO. These useless numbers unable to show what is one person is truely good at, maybe co-curiculum data is more useful then a 10A student.
Mine is just an Ordinary Degree(without Honours - means i have enough points to pass the degree only)......so basically my degree has no class....hehehe.....

you see, i am not even ashamed in telling people that my degree has no hounors....this is the difference.....i am confident in what i am doing, i have an optimistic thinking and a good attitude.......it doesn't matter what degree you've got....sooner or later, you'll know that it's the experience and attitude that counts....

FYI, A lot of employers do not like to hire First Class Honours students because according to them they have some sort of attitude (no offence to all the First Class Grads there)......

lokgotz
post Jun 16 2006, 11:10 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Jun 16 2006, 09:53 AM)
Are you graduated yet ?

i am a Pass degree holder as well from England, they call it an Ordinary Degree....

i seldom see local grads with 3rd class or ordinary too....which made me felt inferior when i came back to malaysia to work......but as what goliath said, it's just another chapter of life.....

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:09 AM