Working in Singapore V15
Dec 5 2013, 03:40 PM
739 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
出售- 1张票 日期:2013年12月8日(星期日) 时间:1.30pm 上车地点:melaka sentral 终点:Singapore Queen Street 巴士公司:707 价钱:RM25/pc 有兴趣者,请速留言。 谢谢 Anyone want it? Melaka - Singapore by 707. |
Dec 5 2013, 04:44 PM
75 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(NoiZy @ Dec 5 2013, 12:20 PM) Levy Thanks for the link! I noticed that it says the levy applies to work permit and s pass holders. If i get the job, i will get an E pass instead. If i am issued an E Pass, does that mean there is no levy imposed on my employer? And if so, my employer, by hiring me, even if as a "foreign worker," does not need to bear any extra charges, right?I can say you don't really have to worry about this. If you are called for an interview etc, that means they have already considered this fact. One thing you might wanna pay attention to is that this levy is suppose to be borne by the company and not you. Some stuffs that I heard from friends of friends: When they offer you SGD2k, in actual fact its only SGD1400, while SGD600 is for the levy. Or upfront they will tell you that you will bear the levy by half/full etc. So far when I went to interview, one company did that in a subtle way, but the rest are still good. Regardless the case, just read the and initial each page before signing. i am sorry for being too nitpicky. I just need to know the subtle differences and different underlying costs, so that i can negotiate to my best advantage when we discuss any salary. This post has been edited by cherryl9: Dec 5 2013, 04:46 PM |
Dec 5 2013, 04:56 PM
10,596 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Hinamizawa |
QUOTE(NoiZy @ Dec 5 2013, 12:20 PM) Levy This is illegal. Please report to MOM if this is true.I can say you don't really have to worry about this. If you are called for an interview etc, that means they have already considered this fact. One thing you might wanna pay attention to is that this levy is suppose to be borne by the company and not you. Some stuffs that I heard from friends of friends: When they offer you SGD2k, in actual fact its only SGD1400, while SGD600 is for the levy. Or upfront they will tell you that you will bear the levy by half/full etc. So far when I went to interview, one company did that in a subtle way, but the rest are still good. Regardless the case, just read the and initial each page before signing. |
Dec 5 2013, 08:56 PM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Anyone in SG wanna play badminton this Sat 4-6pm? We got 3 guys short of 1 kaki. PM me or MacKiddo thanks.
Dec 5 2013, 09:56 PM
443 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Anyone can explain how COE calculation work? Is it mean i need to pay SGD74k upfront no matter what price of the vehicle i purchase as long as in the same category?
Dec 5 2013, 10:26 PM
4,283 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Vietnam |
Dec 5 2013, 10:33 PM
1,172 posts Joined: Apr 2013 From: Singapore / Sabah |
QUOTE(khchong81 @ Dec 5 2013, 09:56 PM) Anyone can explain how COE calculation work? Is it mean i need to pay SGD74k upfront no matter what price of the vehicle i purchase as long as in the same category? COE will swing up and down. My old car COE 20+ k only |
Dec 5 2013, 10:56 PM
4,283 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Vietnam |
QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Dec 5 2013, 10:33 PM) COE will swing up and down. My old car COE 20+ k only dont kecoh ok, your car OMV $125k, COE cheap cheap for u... |
Dec 6 2013, 12:55 PM
37 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
Hi all,
I plan to rent a bus back to Malacca from Singapore on 29th Jan 2014 @7.30pm. Venue: Jurong East MRT Station. The price would be around SGD33-SGD40 (depending of the number of passengers) If you are interested please PM me. Thank you |
Dec 6 2013, 01:44 PM
4,414 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Just asking, if were to take the Basic Theory Test to be allowed to drive in singapore.
Will the driving centre physically confiscate my malaysian driving license in order to convert it to the singaporean license? |
Dec 6 2013, 01:46 PM
Dec 6 2013, 01:48 PM
252 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Dec 6 2013, 01:55 PM
460 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Malaysia , Melaka |
Dec 6 2013, 02:26 PM
1,424 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 6 2013, 01:44 PM) Just asking, if were to take the Basic Theory Test to be allowed to drive in singapore. they will not confiscate ur license...i dun think they have the right to alsoWill the driving centre physically confiscate my malaysian driving license in order to convert it to the singaporean license? |
Dec 6 2013, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Dec 6 2013, 02:26 PM) You sure about that?"Officially Malaysian converting to Singapore driving license has to 'surrender' or have their M'sian driving license revoked." Anybody who has gone through this process care to share whether i would have to surrender my malaysian license in order to convert to the singapore license so that i can drive in singapore? |
Dec 6 2013, 02:36 PM
716 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 6 2013, 02:33 PM) You sure about that? Confirm plus chop "Officially Malaysian converting to Singapore driving license has to 'surrender' or have their M'sian driving license revoked." Anybody who has gone through this process care to share whether i would have to surrender my malaysian license in order to convert to the singapore license so that i can drive in singapore? |
Dec 6 2013, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 6 2013, 02:33 PM) Anybody who has gone through this process care to share whether i would have to surrender my malaysian license in order to convert to the singapore license so that i can drive in singapore? Officially, when you get the letter of driving license thing from JPJ they will cancel your malaysia license. So the SG side won't ask for it since the assumption is that it's already cancelled at the MY side. |
Dec 6 2013, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 6 2013, 02:41 PM) Officially, when you get the letter of driving license thing from JPJ they will cancel your malaysia license. So the SG side won't ask for it since the assumption is that it's already cancelled at the MY side. Just checked the traffic police website and it mentions that"For Malaysian licence holders, an extract from JPJ Malaysia showing information of your driving record and licence information (obtained not more than 6 months before date of conversion)" So basically i just need a letter from JPJ regarding my driving license information to be submitted for the conversion. It makes no mention that i have to surrender my malaysian license at all. http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/ser...nformation.html |
Dec 6 2013, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 6 2013, 02:51 PM) "For Malaysian licence holders, an extract from JPJ Malaysia showing information of your driving record and licence information (obtained not more than 6 months before date of conversion)" So basically i just need a letter from JPJ regarding my driving license information to be submitted for the conversion. It makes no mention that i have to surrender my malaysian license at all. Yes. Note that by mutual law in both countries, you are only allowed to hold either MY or SG license at a time, but not both together. So when you go JPJ and get the extract, by law JPJ will cancel your Malaysia license since you are going to apply for SG license. You are allowed to drive in Malaysia using SG license. Some people (myself included) get around this by requesting the JPJ extract in any state other than Johor and giving some bullsh*t reason like I wanna go drive overseas so that JPJ doesn't cancel the license. Or they go hire runners in JPJ Johor to bribe the officers. If you go yourself to JPJ Johor, confirm they will not listen to anything you say and will cancel your license. |
Dec 6 2013, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 6 2013, 02:55 PM) Yes. Note that by mutual law in both countries, you are only allowed to hold either MY or SG license at a time, but not both together. So when you go JPJ and get the extract, by law JPJ will cancel your Malaysia license since you are going to apply for SG license. You are allowed to drive in Malaysia using SG license. Why only johor?Some people (myself included) get around this by requesting the JPJ extract in any state other than Johor and giving some bullsh*t reason like I wanna go drive overseas so that JPJ doesn't cancel the license. Or they go hire runners in JPJ Johor to bribe the officers. If you go yourself to JPJ Johor, confirm they will not listen to anything you say and will cancel your license. Since my hometown is in malacca, it should be no issue since as you have mentioned that only johor jpj does this. Why would they want to cancel my driving license if all i request was information on a piece of paper. |
| Change to: | 0.0303sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:15 PM |