Just asking, if were to take the Basic Theory Test to be allowed to drive in singapore.
Will the driving centre physically confiscate my malaysian driving license in order to convert it to the singaporean license?
Working in Singapore V15
Dec 6 2013, 01:44 PM
4,414 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Just asking, if were to take the Basic Theory Test to be allowed to drive in singapore.
Will the driving centre physically confiscate my malaysian driving license in order to convert it to the singaporean license? |
Dec 6 2013, 01:46 PM
Dec 6 2013, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Dec 6 2013, 02:26 PM) You sure about that?"Officially Malaysian converting to Singapore driving license has to 'surrender' or have their M'sian driving license revoked." Anybody who has gone through this process care to share whether i would have to surrender my malaysian license in order to convert to the singapore license so that i can drive in singapore? |
Dec 6 2013, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 6 2013, 02:41 PM) Officially, when you get the letter of driving license thing from JPJ they will cancel your malaysia license. So the SG side won't ask for it since the assumption is that it's already cancelled at the MY side. Just checked the traffic police website and it mentions that"For Malaysian licence holders, an extract from JPJ Malaysia showing information of your driving record and licence information (obtained not more than 6 months before date of conversion)" So basically i just need a letter from JPJ regarding my driving license information to be submitted for the conversion. It makes no mention that i have to surrender my malaysian license at all. http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/ser...nformation.html |
Dec 6 2013, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 6 2013, 02:55 PM) Yes. Note that by mutual law in both countries, you are only allowed to hold either MY or SG license at a time, but not both together. So when you go JPJ and get the extract, by law JPJ will cancel your Malaysia license since you are going to apply for SG license. You are allowed to drive in Malaysia using SG license. Why only johor?Some people (myself included) get around this by requesting the JPJ extract in any state other than Johor and giving some bullsh*t reason like I wanna go drive overseas so that JPJ doesn't cancel the license. Or they go hire runners in JPJ Johor to bribe the officers. If you go yourself to JPJ Johor, confirm they will not listen to anything you say and will cancel your license. Since my hometown is in malacca, it should be no issue since as you have mentioned that only johor jpj does this. Why would they want to cancel my driving license if all i request was information on a piece of paper. |
Dec 6 2013, 07:28 PM
Dec 6 2013, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(cherryl9 @ Dec 6 2013, 07:01 PM) Hello! According to this link: (thanks Noizy for the link)-http://www.mom.gov.sg/foreign-manpower/foreign-worker-levies/Pages/levies-quotas-for-hiring-foreign-workers.aspx If i am not mistaken, EP's dont have the kind of levy that WP and S Pass have due to the sg gomen discouraging firms from hiring ppl with those backgrounds."employers are liable to pay monthly levies to hire employees who hold Work Permits or S Passes." What about E passes? if i have an Epass, my employer does not have to pay for anything? Thanks for your help! |
Dec 6 2013, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(cherryl9 @ Dec 6 2013, 07:39 PM) I dont know the exact economics on all of the extra cost that the employer incurs hiring a s pass or wp compared to an EP holder in relation to the amount they gotta pay an EP but it sounds around what u mention.If your paid the minimum of 3.5K on an EP, there are some people i know on S Pass who easily make more than that. Mainly engineering background as supervisors. This post has been edited by crapp0: Dec 6 2013, 08:19 PM |
Dec 7 2013, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 7 2013, 11:22 AM) u cant hold 2 license as stated by deodorant but enforcement and monitoring is weak... u can still hold both... Or i could tell them i need the extract since i plan to drive in japan, qatar and maybe sydney for work purposes. I am also considering just straight out applying for an international license.the question is, why do you need an extract of ur driving info... u tell them for insurance purpose la... dont go and say u wanna convert congrats accommodation can be as cheap as $ 300 if your're willing to share a hdb room/stay in hostel a bit on the low side, but before saying so.. do you have any qualifications required to be an internal auditor? or are you just a freshie business student molded into one? my accommodation and food is half ur amount those are tradesman with supervisory roles, at least 5-15 years exp... and their pay is usually for compensation for working in harsh environment eg shipyard, construction site, high rise, factory... etc etc dont show off... we know you bought 2 condos at the same time... |
Dec 7 2013, 09:23 PM
Dec 10 2013, 08:44 AM
Anybody here stay in a condo?
Wondering what is the market rate to rent whole a 3 bedroom unit. |
Dec 10 2013, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 10 2013, 11:03 AM) http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/singapore-p...erty-for-rent/1 Hmm, found one at trevista for 5.5k, from the pics looks ok.Filter by condo and see lor. 3 bedroom HDB already $2.5k and up. |
Dec 13 2013, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Dec 13 2013, 09:34 AM) Hi, guys, need to check with you guys. Any good ways from you guys to look for room renting? Actually I need to move out as my landlord wants to sell the house. LOL. So no choice i need to find a new room. Thanks all sifu!!! I can give you an agents contact details who is my dads fren if your interested.Where are you looking to stay and how much? or if your interested, im in the process of renting out a 3 bedroom condo. Standard condo amenities like gym, swimming pool etc etc. This post has been edited by crapp0: Dec 13 2013, 09:52 AM |
Dec 14 2013, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Dec 13 2013, 03:19 PM) Currently I'm staying at Farrer Park, looking places nearby would be nice. Not sharing room with anyone. May I know where is your location? Toa payoh condo unit, in between braddell and toa payoh mrt station. Most people dont like to share due to no privacy.You must earn a substantial amount to be looking for a condo room. Hope renting it doesnt break the general rule of rental expenditure which is around 30% of your gross salary. This post has been edited by crapp0: Dec 14 2013, 09:17 AM |
Dec 14 2013, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 13 2013, 03:59 PM) Certificates written in Malay from Malaysia are accepted by government bodies in Singapore. It's all about your employer. Singapore and Malaysia used to be the same country and they accept all out documents that are written in Malay. I generally find its an inconvenience to have my transcript in malay since if i were to approach an overseas employer, they have no heads or tail to make of the cert or documentation. Even singaporean firms now may accept it but they dont particularly like it and will choose the person whose certs are in english.I usually find this is a prob for vocational applications from malaysia whereby the vocational schools cert for the most part are in malay, i had to re do my safety officer course by a UK body since most overseas and even singaporean companies dont recognize or even acknowledge malaysians safety cert even though the syllabus is very similiar. |
Dec 17 2013, 12:45 PM
Dec 18 2013, 09:32 AM
Jan 9 2014, 04:10 PM
Jan 9 2014, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(robertchoo @ Jan 9 2014, 04:13 PM) MoM is concerned if that employer filed a report against him for lying on his cv. If I can recall correctly before you can collect s pass or ep when you fill in the forms, you must declare that the info provided is true and accurate. Does omission of information in your CV qualifies you as "lying" if everything you state in your CV is accurate and true?How can you lie about something when you never state it in the document in the first place? |
Jan 9 2014, 04:52 PM
Well if he changed employer straight away than thats a different issue since its basically a "handover".
This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 9 2014, 04:53 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0364sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:21 AM |