125 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v18, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

victorywp
post May 8 2014, 11:25 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ May 8 2014, 10:27 PM)
Thanks for the clarification. Just wanna check one last with you. How about the installment plans? Can the fees be seperated into 10months, 1 year etc installment plan after purchase?
if the merchant allow 0% ezypay plan, then it will be divided equally to 12 months. otherwise if you want to convert your statement balance to instalment plan, then there will be some upfront charges/interest applicable.
Wongchoy
post May 8 2014, 11:30 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ May 8 2014, 10:27 PM)
Thanks for the clarification. Just wanna check one last with you. How about the installment plans? Can the fees be seperated into 10months, 1 year etc installment plan after purchase?
There are two type of installment plans available. One of it is the 0% easy payment plan, which is available at limited merchant only and are not charged any interest. The next one would be flexi payment plan, where after you made a transaction above a certain amount at any merchant, you could convert your transaction into installment plan but are charged a lower than usual interest. Please google maybankard ezypay plus for details.
Jet23sky
post May 9 2014, 09:36 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ May 8 2014, 11:25 PM)
if the merchant allow 0% ezypay plan, then it will be divided equally to 12 months. otherwise if you want to convert your statement balance to instalment plan, then there will be some upfront charges/interest applicable.
I remember last time I had the petronas maybank visa credit card few years back and I was able to convert my purchase into 12 months installment plan.
Ever since I cancel that card, I always suffer in paying the thing in a shot using CIMB credit card. But one question though is, you mention this is AMEX card right. Sorry for being stupid here, is this a Master or Visa card as I remember we have issue using AMEX card here in Malaysia that lots of vendors and restaurant are still not support this AMEX . Also, I cancel the credit card before, will it cause any problem if i reapply any card from Maybank?

And one more thing that I mention before but no one able to answer till now. Will they review my salary as 1 to 1 conversion basis? For example:
SGD 1 to RM 1 ? Thanks

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ May 8 2014, 11:30 PM)
There are two type of installment plans available. One of it is the 0% easy payment plan, which is available at limited merchant only and are not charged any interest. The next one would be flexi payment plan, where after you made a transaction above a certain amount at any merchant, you could convert your transaction into installment plan but are charged a lower than usual interest. Please google maybankard ezypay plus for details.
Thanks for the "Maybank ezypay plus" term, this is what I need to google for it.

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: May 9 2014, 09:52 AM
victorywp
post May 9 2014, 11:28 AM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ May 9 2014, 09:36 AM)
I remember last time I had the petronas maybank visa credit card few years back and I was able to convert my purchase into 12 months installment plan.
Ever since I cancel that card, I always suffer in paying the thing in a shot using CIMB credit card. But one question though is, you mention this is AMEX card right. Sorry for being stupid here, is this a Master or Visa card as I remember we have issue using AMEX card here in Malaysia that lots of vendors and restaurant are still not support this AMEX . Also, I cancel the credit card before, will it cause any problem if i reapply any card from Maybank?

And one more thing that I mention before but no one able to answer till now. Will they review my salary as 1 to 1 conversion basis? For example:
SGD 1 to RM 1 ? Thanks
Thanks for the "Maybank ezypay plus" term, this is what I need to google for it.
yeah, that's true about the limitation of merchant accepting amex as compared to visa/master. however, it's not a problem for your case bcs bhp, guardian, watson do accept amex.

no problem reapply from mbb even if you cancelled their card before. i did have bad payment records with mbb2amex cc last time bcs of their takaful thingy and i cancelled my mbb cc later on.

for sg salary, you can try apply at mbb jb branch (usually they deal a lot with malaysian who work in sg) or you may pledge with fd.

This post has been edited by victorywp: May 9 2014, 11:29 AM
Jet23sky
post May 9 2014, 01:48 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ May 9 2014, 11:28 AM)
yeah, that's true about the limitation of merchant accepting amex as compared to visa/master. however, it's not a problem for your case bcs bhp, guardian, watson do accept amex.

no problem reapply from mbb even if you cancelled their card before. i did have bad payment records with mbb2amex cc last time bcs of their takaful thingy and i cancelled my mbb cc later on.

for sg salary, you can try apply at mbb jb branch (usually they deal a lot with malaysian who work in sg) or you may pledge with fd.
Really thanks for all the info given to me.... its really informative to me. Thumbs up for you. thumbup.gif
lkc7947
post May 9 2014, 03:35 PM

64 posts

I would like to ask if I have get the Priority Pass from Alliance Bank Infinite Card, and I would like to apply for Maybank Visa Infinite, will I get another Priority Pass? If yes, Can i use 2 priority pass at the same time for bringing my wife to the lounge overseas?
Wongchoy
post May 9 2014, 03:56 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(lkc7947 @ May 9 2014, 03:35 PM)
I would like to ask if I have get the Priority Pass from Alliance Bank Infinite Card, and I would like to apply for Maybank Visa Infinite, will I get another Priority Pass? If yes, Can i use 2 priority pass at the same time for bringing my wife to the lounge overseas?
If you apply for MBB VI, you will have another PP which comes with 5 free entry. You may try to use these 2 cards at the same time but be prepared to pay $$ since they could detect these 2 cards is the same owner !
lkc7947
post May 9 2014, 07:40 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ May 9 2014, 03:56 PM)
If you apply for MBB VI, you will have another PP which comes with 5 free entry. You may try to use these 2 cards at the same time but be prepared to pay $$ since they could detect these 2 cards is the same owner !
Any Body tried b4?
Gen-X
post May 10 2014, 12:00 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lkc7947 @ May 9 2014, 03:35 PM)
Yes you can in KLIA PPL or previous LCCT PPL. Done that many times. However, Skyview Lounge Changi T1 won't allow me to use two Priority Pass Membership Card at the same time. But that's not an issue; in my article The Best Credit Cards for Airport Lounge,, I mentioned that I will use 1 card in Skyview to check my wife or son (depending who is following me to SG) and I then go to Rainforest Lounge, hahaha.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 10 2014, 12:00 AM
lkc7947
post May 10 2014, 12:42 AM

64 posts

Thanks Gen-X,
By the way, if I am going for MBB VI Card, when applying for the priority pass, can I ask them to put my wife's name instead of mine?
Gen-X
post May 10 2014, 12:59 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lkc7947 @ May 10 2014, 12:42 AM)
Thanks Gen-X,
By the way, if I am going for MBB VI Card, when applying for the priority pass, can I ask them to put my wife's name instead of mine?
No, nowadays name of card needs to be same as your NRIC. If can, I would have one of my 3 PPMC under my son's name.

If you do spend substantial sum overseas, I strongly suggest you read my article The Best Credit Card for Overseas Transactions. ABB VI conversion rate really high.

Bro, noted you want MBB VI which means you'll be spending more than RM50K per year with it. With ABB VI (I'm assuming non-PB card), you got to spend RM30K for auto annual fee waiver. Adding these two said amount, it comes out to be RM80K. Better you go apply Maybank 2 Cards Premier (click here to read my Comprehensive Review). The Maybank 2 Cards Premier AMEX overseas conversion rate is lower then MBB VI.

And if you are into Enrich Miles, click here and read my article I Earned FREE 15K Enrich Miles and see the conversion rate for the MBB 2 Cards Premier AMEX Reserve.

BUT if you only need a card to get your wife into our local airport lounges, just go get RHB Platinum Card which allows 4 FREE entries per year to most of our local airport lounges; but RHB Plat need to spend RM36K per year to get auto annual fee waived. If for KLIA only, go get Alliance Bank Platinum credit card with unlimited entries, swipe 12 times, auto annual fee waiver.

Best for our local airport lounge, go get RHB Premier Debit Card (no GST but annual fee RM50 but auto waived with some conditions) by getting RHB Premier Status which also allows 4 FREE entries to our local airport lounges.

And if your wife like go to airport lounge once a year, not worth getting another card and pay GST RM50. Better use the RM50 and have a really good meal outside lounge.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 10 2014, 01:08 AM
lkc7947
post May 10 2014, 08:31 AM

64 posts

For local airport lounge, I have my HLB VS card and my wife has my supp card as well so both of us entitled to enter for free every time. So now I am looking for a solution so that both of us can enter the lounge overseas for free. So that is why I am wondering whether I can use 2 priority pass at the same time with both under my name.

So as I have already had the ABB VI, which card with priority pass should I go for? Assuming that the annual income and the total annual spending is not an issue but I think I won't go for the privilege banking.
Mikeshashimi
post May 10 2014, 11:25 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

Just wanna ask sifus here.

I've always been against CCs. Why? Coz I don't like to live on other peoples' money, per se.

But then I read on the positives of a CC, the rebate, cashback and whatnot.

Am I right by thinking that I should get a CC coz I can get cashback and rewards. And at the same time I can still pay the amount on time without any charges, therefore, I'd be making a saving and getting rewards.

Hmm.. thanks for any feedback.
Human Nature
post May 10 2014, 11:30 AM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ May 10 2014, 11:25 AM)

I've always been against CCs. Why? Coz I don't like to live on other peoples' money, per se.

Am I right by thinking that I should get a CC coz I can get cashback and rewards. And at the same time I can still pay the amount on time without any charges, therefore, I'd be making a saving and getting rewards.

You are ready to start your journey with CC smile.gif
Mikeshashimi
post May 10 2014, 11:36 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 10 2014, 11:30 AM)
You are ready to start your journey with CC  smile.gif
Lol. That's mighty reassuring. blush.gif

I'm not too well versed on some perks and rewards. But for example when some say "X% cashback (per month)", and "zero monthly/annual fees for X times swiped a month".

What I was always worried about was the monthly/annual fees, I know it is small but I don't want to be paying for something I won't be using.

But recently I think, I can always use it for petrol payments (2 times a month minimum). So the other may be used for say, online purchases.

Maybe I need to sit down with Banks and see what they can offer. blush.gif

Anything I should take note of when considering a particular Bank's CC offering?
Human Nature
post May 10 2014, 11:43 AM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ May 10 2014, 11:36 AM)
Lol. That's mighty reassuring.  blush.gif

I'm not too well versed on some perks and rewards. But for example when some say "X% cashback (per month)", and "zero monthly/annual fees for X times swiped a month".

What I was always worried about was the monthly/annual fees, I know it is small but I don't want to be paying for something I won't be using.

But recently I think, I can always use it for petrol payments (2 times a month minimum). So the other may be used for say, online purchases.

Maybe I need to sit down with Banks and see what they can offer.  blush.gif

Anything I should take note of when considering a particular Bank's CC offering?
Make sure you understand the features of the card, read from the website and go to the 1st page of the specific threads here. Do read up the 1st post of this thread too. If still not sure, post your question.

There are many cards with zero annual fee or waiver with swipe condition. Do take note that there is a GST of RM50 for each principal card and RM25 for supplementary card/

Try to make a post here for recommendations:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2979093

Most important is see which card will suit your spending.
sj0217
post May 10 2014, 11:48 AM

6,483 posts

Yesterday went to BHP for petrol, due to terminal is unavailable so need to walk in to the counter for credit card payment.

Saw one guy bring a credit card (not sure what is this card, its black color with Amex, Citi Amex???) need to swipe for petrol as well, but staff told that unavailable for that Amex card, then the guy walk away and i asked the staff, why no accept for Amex? the staff then told me due to system error...

No idea what is this mean system error, but I have succeeded swipe for MBB Amex previously, have you guy experience this before at BHP station??
Mikeshashimi
post May 10 2014, 11:54 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 10 2014, 11:43 AM)
Make sure you understand the features of the card, read from the website and go to the 1st page of the specific threads here. Do read up the 1st post of this thread too. If still not sure, post your question.

There are many cards with zero annual fee or waiver with swipe condition. Do take note that there is a GST of RM50 for each principal card and RM25 for supplementary card/

Try to make a post here for recommendations:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2979093
Most important is see which card will suit your spending.
Thanks alot bro. notworthy.gif
victorywp
post May 10 2014, 03:45 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ May 10 2014, 11:48 AM)
Yesterday went to BHP for petrol, due to terminal is unavailable so need to walk in to the counter for credit card payment.

Saw one guy bring a credit card (not sure what is this card, its black color with Amex, Citi Amex???) need to swipe for petrol as well, but staff told that unavailable for that Amex card, then the guy walk away and i asked the staff, why no accept for Amex? the staff then told me due to system error...

No idea what is this mean system error, but I have succeeded swipe for MBB Amex previously, have you guy experience this before at BHP station??
means you just only used amex and successful but the other guy unable to use due to system error?
beyond86
post May 10 2014, 04:21 PM

1,956 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ May 10 2014, 12:25 PM)

last time i was also like that, pay everything by cash.
cc can give us alot of convenient and also emergency use.
as long as we spend what we got, not over, no debt, we can enjoy the benefit

125 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0327sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:44 AM