The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

TSarrow
post Apr 23 2014, 01:40 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 21 2014, 02:30 PM)
benibachi shrimp ? benibachi got sell shrimp as well ?
bro, Benibachi is the only one in japan that have his own shrimps farm.
see here

tzuen
post Apr 23 2014, 08:57 AM

430 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Apr 23 2014, 01:40 AM)
bro, Benibachi is the only one in japan that have his own shrimps farm.
see here

aarow Benibachi shrimps farm, is that giving you a hint? .... brows.gif brows.gif
jirochl
post Apr 24 2014, 09:19 AM

28 posts

Hey guys, anyone here wanna post some nice pics of your shrimp tanks or shrimps here? Can spice up this thread a bit.. Come come don't be shy biggrin.gif
sniper on the roof
post Apr 24 2014, 03:48 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(jirochl @ Apr 24 2014, 09:19 AM)
Hey guys, anyone here wanna post some nice pics of your shrimp tanks or shrimps here? Can spice up this thread a bit.. Come come don't be shy biggrin.gif
I'm sad.. it seems like another round of dying spree going on in my tank. Got one death last week and now another one. cry.gif

Dunno why

tzuen
post Apr 24 2014, 04:39 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 24 2014, 03:48 PM)
I'm sad.. it seems like another round of dying spree going on in my tank. Got one death last week and now another one.  cry.gif

Dunno why

shocking.gif shocking.gif

I wonder is it bcs your tank is too small to maintain the water parameter?
sniper on the roof
post Apr 24 2014, 04:54 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(tzuen @ Apr 24 2014, 04:39 PM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif

I wonder is it bcs your tank is too small to maintain the water parameter?
No idea.... it's stable for quite a while. Then last 2 weeks this hppened.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 24 2014, 05:28 PM

23,414 posts

Another one just dropped dead. Bloody hell.

Just added some prime and charcoal just in case.

This sucks
jirochl
post Apr 24 2014, 05:46 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 24 2014, 05:28 PM)
Another one just dropped dead. Bloody hell.

Just added some prime and charcoal just in case.

This sucks
Perhaps something other than your water parameters are killing your shrimps i.e. airborne pollutants? Tested your water parameters?
sniper on the roof
post Apr 24 2014, 05:59 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(jirochl @ Apr 24 2014, 05:46 PM)
Perhaps something other than your water parameters are killing your shrimps i.e. airborne pollutants? Tested your water parameters?
Yup.. Ph no change, Kh no change, Gh up 1 degree since 2-3 weeks ago, ammonia/no3/no4 all undetectable, TDS stable.
bluecoat
post Apr 24 2014, 10:33 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 24 2014, 05:59 PM)
Yup.. Ph no change, Kh no change, Gh up 1 degree since 2-3 weeks ago, ammonia/no3/no4 all undetectable, TDS stable.

this happen after you change water ?
U use tab water ? Chorine ,metal phosphate may be the cause.your photo for shrimp why environment like so clear. It stay at plastic bowl ?

This post has been edited by bluecoat: Apr 24 2014, 10:36 PM
sniper on the roof
post Apr 24 2014, 11:58 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 24 2014, 10:33 PM)
this happen after you change water ?
U use tab water ? Chorine ,metal phosphate may be the cause.your photo for shrimp why environment like so clear. It stay at plastic bowl ?
I use RO water and even with that I put small drop of prime.

I removed the dying shrimp and put it inside paper cup (photo)
bluecoat
post Apr 25 2014, 12:44 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 24 2014, 11:58 PM)

U put RO water also die ? Erm . Fully ro water ? Is your tank recycle before ? Or is the shrimp workimg well pass few month or is a new introduce shrimp into tank ?
sniper on the roof
post Apr 25 2014, 01:08 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 25 2014, 12:44 AM)
U put RO water also die ? Erm . Fully ro water ? Is your tank recycle before ? Or is the shrimp workimg well pass few month or is a new introduce shrimp into tank ?
That's why bengang. The tank running is cycled and the shrimps were around for months without deaths.
bluecoat
post Apr 25 2014, 04:31 PM

307 posts

I have A grade shrimp tank right now, i plan to go for SSS grade shrimp but worry about the SSS grade CRS tolerate water parameter level as it will more fragile. Any thing i need pay attention before introduce SSS grade shrimp . please advice
jirochl
post Apr 25 2014, 06:06 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 25 2014, 04:31 PM)
I have A grade shrimp tank right now, i plan to go for SSS grade shrimp but worry about the SSS grade CRS tolerate water parameter level as it will more fragile. Any thing i need pay attention before introduce SSS grade shrimp . please advice
I'm also a newbie in keeping CRS currently only have S/SS grade. I guess if your grade A CRS are doing well in your tank, SSS should do just fine if your parameters are right. Mind to share your current water parameters? You may need to check out the TDS difference before introducing them into your tank, use drip method for longer period with airstone during acclimatization if there's a huge difference (learned this from sifu arrow biggrin.gif ). There are many contradicting advice as some said TDS 100 and below is best for CRS and other said higher 150 - 200 is ideal. Mine is around 160 so far so good. Also, do make sure you refrain from kacau your tank too much like putting your itchy hand inside (contamination), never stirred up the soil, don't overfeed and they should be fine. Some people also use slow drip method during weekly water change, and remineralize their RO water to TDS 150 before putting them into the tank as CRS is very sensitive to water change. BTW, why not start with some less expensive SS first before trying out the SSS? They should be the same in terms of hardiness albeit the difference in patterns.
jirochl
post Apr 25 2014, 11:01 PM

28 posts

Anyone here interested to get some Malaya shrimps? Want to give away mine for FREE. I've got around 11-12 tails. Self pick up. Let me know guys..
calvinyoon
post Apr 26 2014, 01:03 AM

QUOTE(jirochl @ Apr 25 2014, 11:01 PM)
Anyone here interested to get some Malaya shrimps? Want to give away mine for FREE. I've got around 11-12 tails. Self pick up. Let me know guys..
location?
autocat
post Apr 26 2014, 01:11 AM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 24 2014, 11:58 PM)

If not mistaken u r using a paper cup to top up water everyday? Could it because the paper cup u used? There is a layer of wax, maybe the vendor change to different material(wax) which release toxic to the water?

This post has been edited by autocat: Apr 26 2014, 01:12 AM
sniper on the roof
post Apr 26 2014, 01:41 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(autocat @ Apr 26 2014, 01:11 AM)
If not mistaken u r using a paper cup to top up water everyday? Could it because the paper cup u used? There is a layer of wax, maybe the vendor change to different material(wax) which release toxic to the water?
Hmmm... maybe.

Think I'll change to plastic.
bluecoat
post Apr 26 2014, 02:32 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(jirochl @ Apr 25 2014, 06:06 PM)
I'm also a newbie in keeping CRS currently only have S/SS grade. I guess if your grade A CRS are doing well in your tank, SSS should do just fine if your parameters are right.  Mind to share your current water parameters? You may need to check out the TDS difference before introducing them into your tank, use drip method for longer period with airstone during acclimatization if there's a huge difference (learned this from sifu arrow  biggrin.gif ). There are many contradicting advice as some said TDS 100 and below is best for CRS and other said higher 150 - 200 is ideal. Mine is around 160 so far so good. Also, do make sure you refrain from kacau your tank too much like putting your itchy hand inside (contamination), never stirred up the soil, don't overfeed and they should be fine. Some people also use slow drip method during weekly water change, and remineralize their RO water to TDS 150 before putting them into the tank as CRS is very sensitive to water change.  BTW, why not start with some less expensive SS first before trying out the SSS? They should be the same in terms of hardiness albeit the difference in patterns.
My ph is 7.2 ,gh =3 kh=0 and temperature is 24

96 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:48 PM