141 Pages « < 135 136 137 138 139 > » Bottom

PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

nismo91
post Mar 19 2011, 10:24 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

yeah better try first. i doubt it can output directly, cause the 5-pin DIN transfer digital data, not raw audio signal. including maybe 3-5V for the LED.
Tim_HKG
post Mar 19 2011, 10:55 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Mar 19 2011, 09:44 PM)
Pls use the multimeter beeper / connectivity tester to check for short circuits...
I don't have such tools, by the way, I'm just a copycat of the information provided by beggarmaster2000...shame!

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Mar 19 2011, 10:24 PM)
yeah better try first. i doubt it can output directly, cause the 5-pin DIN transfer digital data, not raw audio signal. including maybe 3-5V for the LED.
The 4 wires(I guess they're power on/off, power led, volume +/-) soldered onto the pcb board was originated from the 5-pin cable comes off from the right satellite speaker, so does it mean it has the same kind of signal? While the other two wires soldered on the pcb board are for independent R&L satellite speakers, to be connected to new connectors.

This post has been edited by Tim_HKG: Mar 19 2011, 11:29 PM
nismo91
post Mar 19 2011, 11:04 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

im just worried the DC voltage, even though small, will damage the speakers. beside, your acs45.1 uses digital volume control (+ and -) so it's not so easy to bypass like those with analog knob.

if you got the left and right speaker connection right there should be no problem however you cannot turn it on or off and change volume.
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Mar 20 2011, 02:24 AM

1,254 posts

what digital data? analog speaker (ACS45.1) where got?
such a simple trace directly to the same point thingy
don't complicate things...

congratulations! you have did it!
just turn it on and watch the if it explodes or burn up!
otherwise, assemble and enjoy =)

i just noticed. lol Tim_HKG created a new account here just to do this thingy =)

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Mar 20 2011, 02:26 AM
nismo91
post Mar 20 2011, 02:51 AM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

what i mean by digital is the vol up and vol down button.
Tim_HKG
post Mar 22 2011, 12:49 AM

39 posts

After the first soldering job, I did power on it, fortunately no explosion! Without the heatsink attacted(quite dangerous?), I tested the R&L channels individually with just one satellite speaker, subwoofer not yet tested, IT SOUNDS, though seems not louder than before(weird?)!

Tonight, I re-soldered all the power-controlled wires connected on the pcb from downside to upside in order to make them coming out through the black plastic cover more easily, and changed the R&L internal speaker cables from copper to silver-material wires.

I haven't tested it again yet, and have it re-assembled to this stage as the pictures showed, hope it will work as before!

No matter it'll whether work again, I'd like to thank all the people here, especially "beggarmaster2000"! To your question, it's worthy of having a new account registered here, without doing it, I wouldn't have obtained the information from you. Thank you!

Very tired and haven't had my late late dinner yet, needed to take a break and have something to eat!

This post has been edited by Tim_HKG: Mar 22 2011, 12:48 PM
power911
post Mar 22 2011, 02:48 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Tim_HKG @ Mar 22 2011, 12:49 AM)
No matter it'll whether work again, I'd like to thank all the people here, especially "beggarmaster2000"! To your question, it's worthy of having a new account registered here, without doing it, I wouldn't have obtained the information from you. Thank you!

Very tired and haven't had my late late dinner yet, needed to take a break and have something to eat!
beggarmaster2000 is always amazing... just sometimes he could be a jerk laugh.gif

good to see updates biggrin.gif
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Mar 22 2011, 08:13 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(Tim_HKG @ Mar 22 2011, 12:49 AM)
After the first soldering job, I did power on it, fortunately no explosion!
yay! no smoke and fire! thanks to you too =)! i love acs45.1!!
BTW using old PSU cables is sounds crap. try using network cables instead... for the sats....
and use RCA, drill 2 new holes for it
for the volume control wires use a little hot glue to seal up the hole from the inside....

QUOTE(power911 @ Mar 22 2011, 02:48 PM)
beggarmaster2000 is always amazing... just sometimes he could be a jerk  laugh.gif

good to see updates biggrin.gif
*kicks* yala yala i'm emo-ass-o mar.... hahaha

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Mar 22 2011, 08:19 PM
stan001
post Mar 22 2011, 10:09 PM

623 posts

Just to share this with ACS 45.1 users..

I recently got this WM8501 USB DAC designed by chchyong89
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1680516

When I was listening using my Macbook Pro using the USB DAC vs built-in DAC to TA-2020 MKIII amp to my bookshelf speakers...

The sound quality differences was minimal ... can hear a bit better sound quality and also Line Out level...

So just now, I took the USB DAC , plug into my Win7 gaming machine connected to the ACS 45.1 ( built-in soundcard is from the Asus mobo )...

The sound quality differences was like "wow" so much differences...

Playing a .flac instrumental music, besides "line out" output (bypass internal amp), can really hear the music separation and the instruments was more "front"...

Just switch between the built-in soundcard vs the USB DAC from the Sound control panel... since the ACS45.1 have 2 sound input...

Software is foobar2000...

Those ppl that want to improved sound quality should try out this USB DAC..

This post has been edited by stan001: Mar 22 2011, 10:12 PM
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Mar 23 2011, 01:29 PM

1,254 posts

welcome back after that confusing commercial break by stan =)
(i don't understand what you trying to saying hahaha)
lets look at the weather nao =) its sunny outside...
i've downgraded my 2020 to 45.1 and damn it sounds better! especially with that damn dac!

also, it makes my sonic gear,eacan, divoom and whatever/anything sounds better... =)

hehe dun angry! pun intended!

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Mar 23 2011, 01:42 PM
Tim_HKG
post Mar 23 2011, 04:09 PM

39 posts

My ACS 45.1 is equipped with this kind of power cord, no ground wire? How can I change it to a standard and better power cord? To where will the ground wire be connected? Thanks in advance!

nismo91
post Mar 23 2011, 04:15 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

most multimedia computer don't need ground wire. they are insulated equipment. see the double square logo near the power cord?

this is a class II double square logo:

This post has been edited by nismo91: Mar 23 2011, 04:18 PM
stan001
post Mar 23 2011, 06:15 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Mar 23 2011, 01:29 PM)
welcome back after that confusing commercial break by stan =)
(i don't understand what you trying to saying hahaha)
lets look at the weather nao =) its sunny outside...
i've downgraded my 2020 to 45.1 and damn it sounds better! especially with that damn dac!

also, it makes my sonic gear,eacan, divoom and whatever/anything sounds better... =)

hehe dun angry! pun intended!
I'm saying the PC mobo soundcard/DAC is really lousy compared to MAC soundcard.. hahaha, so the USB DAC will help la..

No angry la... why should I be angry ??

Which "damn" DAC are u referring to ?? U r also confusing me la..

power911
post Mar 23 2011, 07:04 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Mar 23 2011, 04:15 PM)
most multimedia computer don't need ground wire. they are insulated equipment. see the double square logo near the power cord?

sometimes this double square logo isn't very effective XD
I got shocked quite a few times thru these double square equipped products sweat.gif tongue.gif
Tim_HKG
post Mar 23 2011, 10:16 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Mar 23 2011, 04:15 PM)

No such logo was found on the power cord, it doesn't matter! Anyhow, thank you!

Just came back with the new wires bought, need to get back to the final stage of the 1st-phase modification, report later!
power911
post Mar 23 2011, 10:52 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Tim_HKG @ Mar 23 2011, 10:16 PM)

Just came back with the new wires bought, need to get back to the final stage of the 1st-phase modification, report later!
it's not on the power cord... it should be near somewhere there... icon_idea.gif

whatever it is... if you want grounding... find the area which leaks lotsa electric(use a multimeter or test pen) [normally on the big metal piece(not heatsink)] ,solder the ground wire there and connect the ground to the earth pin whistling.gif
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Mar 23 2011, 11:34 PM

1,254 posts

haha what are you selling stan?
normal soundcards, mac or pc is crap and is MASS produced
where can fight with your custom dac?

i am implying that
stock/modded 45.1 will lose to 2020 anytime
the only special property for 45.1 is the dirty sound
also, stock 45.1 sounds crappy.

yes, we all know that your custom dac beats most mass produced soundcards..
of course it will make ANY (low end/high end) set sound better.

whats mac and 2020 with shelf speakers gotta do with altec sound reproduction? that part confused me

you want to say something about altec or 2020 or mac or custom dac?
QUOTE(Tim_HKG @ Mar 23 2011, 10:16 PM)

don't worry about grounding for this set... and don't really bother to upgrade the power cable... tha power amplifier inside is made to run on car batteries....

worry about your :
1# speaker cables, input cables and internal cables
2# caps. power filter FIRST then the rest

don't bother to overkill this set. at the end of the day with full mods... it will sound like a blaupunkt car headunit

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Mar 23 2011, 11:42 PM
stan001
post Mar 23 2011, 11:49 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Mar 23 2011, 11:34 PM)
haha what are you selling stan?
normal soundcards, mac or pc is crap and is MASS produced
where can fight with your custom dac?

i am implying that
stock/modded 45.1 will lose to 2020 anytime
the only special property for 45.1 is the dirty sound
also, stock 45.1 sounds crappy.

yes, we all know that your custom dac beats most mass produced soundcards..
of course it will make ANY (low end/high end) set sound better.

whats mac and 2020 with shelf speakers gotta do with altec sound reproduction? that part confused me

you want to say something about altec or 2020 or mac or custom dac?
I'm NOT selling it, some forumer design & sell it.. nothing to do with me,I'm just a consumer..

No no.. Mac soundcard is "pretty" good ... hehe

Ohh.. that confusing part... hahaha, glad that I confused you...

Ok... let me clarify... just ignore the "mac/ta-2020/bookshelf part"....

Back to main topics...

Really like to see Tim_HKG moded ACS 45.1 with all the nice pictures...

SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Mar 24 2011, 12:04 AM

1,254 posts

hmmn.. stan001 nebermind hahaha =)

i have a feelin about tim modding his set just for the wtf value (customised looks) direction
'oh i modded it, nice eh? uahhh fat cables!' hahaha
but i must compliment tim for his nice pictures while he is figuring his set out.

make sure you play counterstirke loud loud on it after mods!!! =)
Tim_HKG
post Mar 24 2011, 03:11 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Mar 24 2011, 12:04 AM)
hmmn.. stan001 nebermind hahaha =)

i have a feelin about tim modding his set just for the wtf value (customised looks) direction
'oh i modded it, nice eh? uahhh fat cables!' hahaha
but i must compliment tim for his nice pictures while he is figuring his set out.

make sure you play counterstirke loud loud on it after mods!!! =)
Oh master, please don't let me be misunderstood(grin)! I do really want to inprove the sound quality rather than its appearance!

By the way, the 1st-phase modification has just been roughly COMPLETED, now just figuring out should I change the speaker connectors to another kind, and also the power cord.

About the replacement of capacitors, actually I have had nearly all the capacitors bought even before the modification started. One of the shops' boss did find me some Elna, Rubycon, Black Gate..., but they are just too big in size, out of my soldering skill level! While another shop selling cheaper ones succeeded in getting almost all of them for me.

From tomorrow on, I'll start listening to it, noticing what's the main change of the sound quality, and will proceed to the 2nd-phase modification, replacement of the capacitors later. However, more than 40 pieces needed to be replaced, not an easy soldering task for an unskilled man like me! How long does it take for me?

This post has been edited by Tim_HKG: Mar 24 2011, 03:38 AM

141 Pages « < 135 136 137 138 139 > » Top

0.1155sec    1.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:29 AM