17 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 13 2013, 07:35 PM, updated 13y ago

24,193 posts

Notebook Recommendations! by PF T.J., on Flickr

Walao, the Recommendations thread V20 sure ended very fast laugh.gif
Time for V21 yo~

This thread is specially made to offer laptop/tablet PC recommendations to EVERYONE
However, in order for us to recommend you with laptops/tablet PCs which suits you the most, we would require some basic information from you. Hence please kindly state your the following when posting:
1. Preferred Brand
2. Budget
3. Usage
4. Preferred laptop/screen size

Laptop models and associated prices can be found here: LYN Notebook Price Catalog V4

Please do your research properly before buying ya, there are ORIGINAL and REFURBISHED notebooks out there. So don't get conned! icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

With the help of the sifus here, we hope that you will be able to find the best laptop for your usage~
Happy Hunting!

Thanks alot to God lee_what2004 sifu for his time in giving recommendations and updating the pricelist~

Special thanks to nexus2238, raymondtong94 sifus for their relentless participation in this thread, I'm sure many are grateful for your recommendations happy.gif Keep it up guys~

The following are the links to the previous threads:

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Oct 12 2013, 02:36 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 13 2013, 07:35 PM

24,193 posts

Top Contributors of V20 rclxm9.gif
Its thanks to these guys that the recommendation thread is still alive and kicking! rclxms.gif Thank you so much dear contributors, hope you guys can keep up the good work, and share your knowledge notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

nexus2238@488 posts!!!!!
devour@144 posts!!!!
raymondtong94@102 posts!!!
arc x@97 posts!!

*Contributors as in those who actually provide unbiased, useful information icon_rolleyes.gif

@nexus sifu, at this rate your should be OP already brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 13 2013, 07:44 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 13 2013, 08:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(samueltan777 @ Sep 13 2013, 08:45 PM)
1. Asus [or any other reliable brand]
2. Rm2000 net
3. Office use and lite editing
4. preferably 15.6" [might consider 14" too]

Thank you guys...in advance =D
First customer laugh.gif laugh.gif
Can consider these for 15 inchers (not really a lot of options for a RM2k budget unfortunately):

Dell
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M@RM1699, Ubuntu, 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899
Vostro 5560, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2009[2.2kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, ODD

Toshiba Satellite L850-1024X/XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL, 2 years local warranty, RM50 shopping voucher; colors: black/red/white

More options for 14" notebooks:
Acer E1-472G-54204G75k, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 750GB, W8

Asus K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD

Dell Inspiron 14-3421, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899

Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1699[2.33], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), Linux; W8SL@RM1999

HP Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate *EOL-ed

Toshiba
Satellite L840-1056X/XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years warranty; colors: black/red/white
Satellite M840-1070XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years local warranty; colors:red/white

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
* Try to fork out some money for warranty extension to 3 years if applicable (especially Dell) icon_rolleyes.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 13 2013, 09:06 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 13 2013, 09:00 PM)
gratz on the V21 topic. biggrin.gif
but dont you consider yourself as part of the contributor? tongue.gif
Thanks thanks, keep up the good work man notworthy.gif
TS not considered one la haha laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 13 2013, 09:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(samueltan777 @ Sep 13 2013, 09:13 PM)
Thanks man...that was a really quick reply !! =D

yeah i know Rm2000 cant get much...Btw...lets say I increase my budget:

1. Asus [or any reliable brand]
2. Rm2200
3. Office / lite editing
4. 14 - 15.6"

**ps. Is LENOVO a reliable brand ?? like the z400, g400s, g500s..are they reliable ?
**and which shop in lowyat do u recommend.
**sorry for asking so many questions..I am very new to lowyat forum and a newbie in selecting laptops. =/
For that budget, I would consider these:
14"
Acer V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD

Asus
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD
VivoBook S400CA-CA006H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM1999[1.76kg], 4GB, W8, 3-cell

Dell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2049 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate *EOL-ed
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Sony SVF14217SG, i3-3227U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors:black/white/pink

Toshiba Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty; colors: Blue/gold/white

15.6"
Dell Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M@RM1699, Ubuntu, 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899

Lenovo Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty

Toshiba Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; colors:silver/white

This time, I would probably go for Dell + 3 years warranty extension (~RM250), or Toshiba units since they already come with 3 years warranty laugh.gif

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 13 2013, 09:14 PM)
no lah, TJ, you are doing a good job  rclxms.gif I just drop by when things are going slow, and lately it happen quite frequently  tongue.gif
Appreciate your help man haha~
Do recommend more yo, I don't mind one... been here many years liao, its getting very very monotonous laugh.gif
I spent more time at Photography thread now, more interactive, and learning loads of new stuffs rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 13 2013, 09:27 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 13 2013, 09:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 13 2013, 09:33 PM)
sifu nexus also doing a lot of good job here. thumbup.gif
keep it up.

quite free at the moment, so i will be back to the suggesting thread some weeks. smile.gif
Thank you thank you notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Update: Added a silly cover photo lol Didn't want to put my AW photo to avoid people calling me biased laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 13 2013, 09:38 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 14 2013, 10:32 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Areman @ Sep 14 2013, 05:02 PM)
Ei,I need some help here.

Budget:2k
Usage:Photoshop,editing and for playing PES.
Assuming you are looking for a 14 incher nod.gif
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2049 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1949[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8SL, 3 cell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099

Lenovo Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate *EOL-ed

Toshiba
Satellite L840-1056X/XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years warranty; colors: black/red/white
Satellite M840-1070XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years local warranty; colors:red/white

* Prices in RRP, negotiable
* Try and extend warranty to 3 years if possible since these are budget-line notebooks icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 14 2013, 10:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(franzcys @ Sep 14 2013, 07:12 PM)
Hello

What's best netbook  that capable to run DOTA ?

Mainly serve as Music storage and playing Dota only
How much is your budget? hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 14 2013, 10:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(money_rule @ Sep 14 2013, 08:15 PM)
hi,
im looking for a laptop for my sister
she will be studying software design
so need to find a laptop around 2.5k to 3k
screen size 14 or 15

im read through some of the previous comment
i just wan to confirm that whether
y410p is the best choice for this price range ?

thank you =)
Yup, The Y410p/Y510p is currently the top pick if you are looking for a powerful gaming machine nod.gif These are pretty much the best-speced notebooks for the price~
However, I am not too sure whether software designing really needs such a high-end machine, unless if she is designing games or 3D stuffs hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 14 2013, 11:12 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Prothero @ Sep 14 2013, 10:40 PM)
Hi there, would like some help to buy a new laptop since I'm moving to study to another country later on (don't judge my intention to buy the laptop tongue.gif)

1. Preferred Brand - Any actually, as long as have good warranty period and cheap prices for good hardware (and also not so bad quality, I wouldn't want the hardware to break up so fast).

2. Budget - RM 3000-4000.

3. Usage - Gaming (World of Warcraft at moderate graphics and Dota 2). And doing courseworks of course.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size - Screens that can support wide screen and high resolution. Not sure about this really.

Thanks hope u guys can help! Drop me a PM or tag my name or just post here if u guys wanna make any suggestions.

P/S: A link to the suggested laptop would be great too
Where are you going oh?
Warranty support good here doesn't mean it will be good over there (if covered at all) laugh.gif
15.6"
For that price range, usually hese are recommended:
Acer V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8

Asus N550JV-CN077H, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

Dell
Inspiron 15R, i7-3537U + AMD HD8730M + (1920x1980; anti-glare)@RM3299[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard
GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8

*Need to upgrade warranty to international for certain brands. Please do check whether they are covered in the country you are going to prior to purchase nod.gif

*Just Google them up, shouldn't be too hard nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 14 2013, 11:15 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Sep 14 2013, 10:41 PM)
What different between Lenovo G and S series?
If compare among G480 and S410P which one most better?
Based on what I understand:
G = budget consumer notebooks with mobile processors. Normal notebooks, in general has higher processing power than "S".
S = budget consumer ultrabooks with ULV processors. Lighter and slimmer, with weaker CPU but longer battery lives.

For normal usage i.e. internet surfing, watching movies, playing music etc. The S lines will be enough icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 14 2013, 11:16 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tanflash1314 @ Sep 14 2013, 10:44 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Dell,Lenovo,Asus
2. Budget - Below RM1800
3. Usage - For medium setting
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15.6"
I'm interested with this...
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M@RM1699, Ubuntu, 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899 (new unit, no worries)

A question to ask - Can I have this computer with free-dos? And what is the price?
As mentioned in that specs. The RM1699 one runs on Ubuntu, which is pretty much FreeDOS already laugh.gif
That model is a good pick for the price, no doubts about that nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 14 2013, 11:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tanflash1314 @ Sep 14 2013, 11:16 PM)
15-3521, i3-3227U + 4GB RAM + AMD HD7670M + 500GB HDD + 2.25kg, Linux @ 1499, W8SL @ RM1599

Hi... I'm also interested with this... If this laptop comes with free-DOS...
What's the price??
The price is already in there what? hmm.gif
RM1499 nod.gif
The earlier pick is better though. Both the CPU and GPU are better

putochip123 seems to be giving a 8% promotion on Dell notebooks, might wanna try your luck there happy.gif
https://www.facebook.com/pages/DellAlienwar...?flyingspaghettimonster=ts&fref=ts

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 14 2013, 11:20 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 14 2013, 11:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tanflash1314 @ Sep 14 2013, 11:25 PM)
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M@RM1699, Ubuntu, 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899 (new unit, no worries)
15-3521, i3-3227U + 4GB RAM + AMD HD7670M + 500GB HDD + 2.25kg, Linux @ 1499, W8SL @ RM1599
Ha... I'm sorry... I thought Linux is another OS which comes with price..
So does that mean if i purchased it with Linux or Ubuntu OS....I can ask u guys to help me install a cracked Win8...?
Yeah, Linux is an OS that you can grab for free haha laugh.gif
We don't support the use of pirated products. But if you really want to use it, you can just check with sellers, some might be willing to help you out icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 14 2013, 11:55 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Stanic yo @ Sep 14 2013, 11:54 PM)
Hi all....i wish to buy a new laptop which price below RM2000 ..also has a good graphics card and about 4gb ram.....my friend say asus and lenovo brand better....can anyone introduce to me??...thx..
Please follow format given in the 1st page ya, easier for the sifus to recommend icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 14 2013, 11:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tanflash1314 @ Sep 14 2013, 11:46 PM)
ic...
Thanks alot yeah biggrin.gif
A question... http://www.game-debate.com/gpu/index.php?g...radeon-hd-7670m

it looks nt much difference?
and 7670m is 128 bit... Is it worth to buy it for +RM200?
Can take a look here a well:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html

Although many games were not benchmarked yet for the new AMD8670m, for those that were benchmarked, the performance is better nod.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 14 2013, 11:58 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 15 2013, 12:16 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Stanic yo @ Sep 15 2013, 12:00 AM)
1. asus or lenovo
2 below RM2000
3. School usage
4 preferably 14"
Assuming "school usage" doesn't involve gaming laugh.gif
14"
Asus
PRO45VJ-V0056X, i3-3120M +Intel HD4000@RM1999[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W7P
VivoBook S400CA-CA006H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM1999[1.76kg], 4GB, W8, 3-cell

Lenovo
S410p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, 2 yrs
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8

*Asus notebooks are alright, the only problem is with Asus Malaysia's very bad after sales support nod.gif
If you don't mind getting an Asus, the Vivobook is a great choice, since it sports an mSATA, which is no longer that common in a RM2k notebook nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 15 2013, 12:41 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tanflash1314 @ Sep 15 2013, 12:37 AM)
Hi... This person is an authorized seller?
I would like to buy with him... But don't know this person can be trusted well or nt... I'm new to lowyat tongue.gif
He is definitely a trusted seller nod.gif
He is the one we always look for when our Dell or Alienware machines (even non-Dell notebooks) needs upgrading~
Very friendly and reliable guy, no worries~
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 15 2013, 12:43 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(money_rule @ Sep 15 2013, 12:05 AM)
wad if keep the budget the same but reserve few hundred for ssd or msata?
which model will u recommend den?
thank you =)
If that is the case, I would recommend this one icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699

Use remaining budget for an SSD brows.gif
Again, can find putochip123 for Dell units since he is holding a 8% promotion for this month~ Can ask him to help you with mSATA/SSD upgrades directly as well lol
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 15 2013, 02:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(heliora10 @ Sep 15 2013, 12:07 PM)
hi all sifus,
car got broken into and lost my laptop  cry.gif  (yes I know how foolish that was, but it was a high traffic brightly lit area and I thought I was going off for a short while nia, lesson learned, do not leave things visible even for 1 min in your car here)

Don't think there's any FHD 13" with touch and stylus hmm.gif
Unless if you buy 3rd party styluses haha

Updated: As mentioned by God lee_what2004 sifu, the Vaio Duo 13 fits the description:
13"
Sony
Vaio SVD13211SGW, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 128GB SSD+ (1920x1080)@RM4999[1.3kg], 4GB, W8SL
Vaio SVP13218PGB, i7-4500U + Intel HD4400 + 256GB SSD + (1920x1080)@RM4999[1.06kg], 4GB, W8SL

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 15 2013, 02:50 PM

17 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0507sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:29 AM