21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Oct 6 2013, 03:41 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(han_solo @ Oct 5 2013, 10:12 PM)
Hi. I'm a newbie here. And I need some help to find the right laptop.

1. Preferred Brand - any will do
2. Budget - around 2k
3. Usage - multitasking, heavy adobe photoshop usage, video editing/rendering (usually Sony Vegas), heavy downloads, some programming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14" or 15"

I went to a store before and the store assistant recommended this one:

HP Pavillion m4-1001TX Notebook (2kg)
Intel i5-3230M Processor (2.6Ghz, 3MB L3 Cache)
4GB RAM DDR3 & 500GB Hard Disk
14" LED Backlit Display
NVIDIA GeForce 730M Graphics with 2048MB dedicated DVD Drive
Wireless, webcam, bluetooth
Window 8 64-bit

The thing is, I can't find any useful reviews for this model. It's like it is a rare model and it's not good enough for tech blogger to test it. Is it good enough for me or maybe you know some bad reviews about this model?

And please recommend any other option for me. I need some list.

BTW, I noticed that you tend to recommend Dell and ASUS and so little HP. Is there any reason for that?

Sorry for long 1st post.
If that HP m4 is local set, brand new sealed (not display set), and ~ RM2k, in term of spec it is about right for you.
For your budget, getting an i5, with medium level GPU (~ GT740M), will be suitable for your usage.

No lah, I will tend to go with best value for the money. It really depends on budget, for certain price range, some brands tend to have better deal, so I mention it more.
Currently for HP, you may also look at this:
Pavilion 14-N059TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

Price is RSP, negotiable.

nexus2238
post Oct 6 2013, 03:47 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(rrongan @ Oct 6 2013, 02:45 PM)
1. Asus,Acer,Lenovo,MSI,Dell
2. about RM3000
3. play high graphic gaming
4. bigger than 14" screen size

TQ very much...
Taper your expectation, gaming laptops are expensive smile.gif
With your budget, you probably could get models spec with GT750M, which mean for lots of new "high graphic games", you probably can only run them at medium level details.

Acer
V5-573PG-74504G50r, i5-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2899, 4GB, 500GB, W8
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8

Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3599[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr

Lenovo
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE40-2OC, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1600x900; anti-glare)@RM3499[1.8kg], 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Oct 6 2013, 03:53 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(zacktan @ Oct 6 2013, 03:46 PM)
Guys, I am currently looking at these two models..
Dell Inspiron 14R
HP Pavilion 14-n059TX

Both are about the same price within my budget and specs
are both almost the same but HP has a bigger HDD, other differences I am still unable to break them down..
I need some opinions.. mainly use it for multi-tasking, online surfing, watching movie and torrent.
And also hardware upgradable in the future, eg RAM and HDD to SSD. Thanks!

14R has quite a range of specs, I supposed you mean this:
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049

Spec wise, other than the HDD capacity, no major difference.
Other things such as keyboard, touchpad, screen, speakers, aesthetic, etc, are subjective, you have to make the call yourself smile.gif

Looking at your usage, both are actually packing too much power laugh.gif (well, since you did not mention what "task" you multi tongue.gif )

Both has 2 RAM slots. If you multi-task a lot, buy more RAM (4G stick ~ RM100, 8G stick ~ RM200).
Yes, for both models, you could buy SSD to replace the HDD.
nexus2238
post Oct 6 2013, 06:29 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(zacktan @ Oct 6 2013, 04:01 PM)
Thank you for your prompt reply. Appreciate the advice!  smile.gif
I should go test out both models. I personally like the look of HP. Dell looks kind of dull haha.
I do nothing major tasking, just have that thought of being sick of lagging PCs.
Since price difference is not that much, why not get a better one..

Any other brands, models I should look into that is within the same spec?
for your usage, "lagging PCs" will probably be addressed by SSD rather than more RAM.
If your budget is tight, may want to consider getting an i3, with only Intel IGPU, then throw in a 256G SSD smile.gif

Anyway, models with similar spec as the HP and Dell earlier:
Acer
V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD
Toshiba
Satelite L40-AS125XG/B/W, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299, 2GB, 750GB, W8
nexus2238
post Oct 6 2013, 06:49 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(LI2X @ Oct 6 2013, 04:36 PM)
Any sifu can help recommend notebooks for :

1. any reliable brand
2. price 2k to 3k
3. everyday usage like movie, surfing, microsoft office, adobe illustrator
4. processor at least i5-3337U
5. memory 4gb at least (maybe 2gb + free 2gb)
6. storage at least 750gb
7. graphic NVIDIA GT 740M will be great
8. DVD RW optional

And also what do you think of Sony VIAO?

Thanks in advance. Would really appreciate your advice.
Among your usage, only illustrator need that kind of power. And if you want to run illustrator really smooth, should aim for more RAM (8GB), and get a SSD (256G ~ RM600).
Don't be restricted by the HDD capacity. Prices difference between 1TB, 750GB, 500GB are minimal.

Acer
V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD
V5-573PG-74504G50r, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT750M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2899, 4GB, 500GB, W8
Asus
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD
S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[1.83kg], 4GB, W8
S551LB-CJ120H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2699[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8, 3-cell
N56VB-S3070H, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2899[/b][2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8
N550LF-CK064H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM3099[2.6kg], 4GB, 750GB
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699
HP
Lenovo
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty
Z510T, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2599[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs
MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
Sony
Vaio SVF14218SGW, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8SL
Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty
Satelite L40-AS125XG/B/W, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299, 2GB, 750GB, W8
Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty
Satelite L50-A107X/XW, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2499, 4GB, 1TB, W8

Sony Vaio? Look nice laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

nexus2238
post Oct 6 2013, 07:03 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(lil^pig @ Oct 6 2013, 06:39 PM)
hi all,

My bro is looking to buy a new laptop for his studies, but what i think is he is going to use it mostly for games. That's pretty typical and I don't blame him

within the budget of RM2,000. I'm looking at the below laptop.

ASUS A550CC-XX530H A-SERIES 15.6" LAPTOP/ NOTEBOOK
- Asus A550CC-XX530H A-Series 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook
- Intel® Core™ i5-3337U-1.8GHz
- 4GB DDR3 RAM, 750GB SATA HDD
- NVIDIA® GeForce® GT720M
- Genuine Windows® 8

I understand that this is MORE that suffice for powerpoints and excels. This should be enough for most games at moderate settings too right? If I'm not mistaken, he plays Dota2...I'm not sure what other games la.

Please help.

Any sellers can pm me too!
Look for sellers at the garage sales threads smile.gif

Yes, i5 and GT720M is more than sufficient for Excel and PowerPoints. Dota2, if he turn up the detail levels, then it will lag.
For the budget, if you want to indulge his "gaming need", aim for models spec with GT740M smile.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 7 2013, 06:47 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(sophan @ Oct 7 2013, 03:30 PM)
hi guys,

need some recommendation for a new laptop/notebook:

1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: RM3500
3. Usage: MS powerpoint,excel and word for study use, watching movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : light, good battery life, 15 inch

Thank you
Don't need powerful spec for your usage. i3 with Intel IGPU is more than sufficient.
15" normally will not be light.

Acer
R7-571-53338G1T, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000+ (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM2999[2.4kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8

Asus
S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499, 4GB, W8
S551LB-CJ120H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2699[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8, 3-cell
N550LF-CK064H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM3099[2.6kg], 4GB, 750GB

Dell
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3599[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr

Lenovo
Z510T, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2599[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs
Flex 15, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT720M + (1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSGD + 500GB HDD@RM2699, 4GB, W8

nexus2238
post Oct 8 2013, 04:05 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Oct 7 2013, 10:22 PM)
Im studying at One Academy will be doing Multimedia Media design which uses alot of Adobe software and need it to work fast and smooth so I dont waste time having crashes etc. What laptop, spcs is recommended? My budget is in the 3k range no more than 4k

I prefer 15 inch HD size...
Get models with i7 quad core, decent GPU, increase to lots of RAM (8GB at least, 16GB if you can), and definitely upgrade with SSD (to avoid all the bottleneck by scratch disc (if you know about Adobe) ).

Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

MSI
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-15, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3499[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 9 2013, 01:40 AM
nexus2238
post Oct 9 2013, 02:03 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(bobb_86 @ Oct 8 2013, 07:37 PM)
Hi guys,

Helping my mom buying laptop for her retirement project : writing books.

1. Relieable brand with good warranty
2. Below rm2k, maybe topup rm200 or rm300 hundred max if topup make big differents in overall performance.
3. Mostly writing, internet or some pictures viewing
4. Laptop for writing, hence bigger screen better

Actually I find samsung ativ lite quite fit the requirements.. but after looking at few review kinda need to think for other options..

so for sifus your help are very mush welcome..
In terms of spec, your mum don't need powerful CPU nor GPU. i3 (can even get by with Celeron smile.gif ) with Intel IGPU is more than sufficient.
Also don't need lots of RAM, 4GB is sufficient, unless she open up lots of tab when she surf net.

Since she is going to type a lot, a laptop with good keyboard is very important. Unfortunately, keyboard preference is kind of subjective. Generally, Lenovo / Sony / MacBook has keyboard that are well like. Ask your mum to type on a few models to find her preference.

Laptop with bigger screen tend to be heavier. So you may want to consider the trade-off between larger text on screen vs mobility.

Since she may look at screen (a rather static one as well) for long period of time, may want to consider whether she will like model spec with matte screen.

SSD is a worthwhile consideration as it make laptop more responsive (besides all the other benefits over HDD). 128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600.

Samsung
Book 9 Lite NP905S3G-K01MY, AMD A6-1450 + AMD HD8250 + 128GB SSD@RM1999[1.58kg], 4GB, W8
This is an interesting model. Except for a big screen (only 13"), it is quite ideal for your mum.
Price is RSP, negotiable.

Alternatively, instead of buying new, may be can scour the garage sales threads and look for 2nd hand MacBook Air 13" (2011 or later). Lots of writers live with MBA tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 9 2013, 09:50 AM
nexus2238
post Oct 10 2013, 11:39 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Oct 10 2013, 10:40 AM)
the Dell Inspiron 15 7000 seem like do not have full matte display right ? hmm.gif kindna unfortunate sweat.gif
Inspiron 7000 series touch all come with Corning Gorilla glass. Some like it, but no matte option.
Want matte screen, have to stick with Latitude 7000 series tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 10 2013, 11:40 AM
nexus2238
post Oct 10 2013, 11:34 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(supir_69 @ Oct 10 2013, 11:02 PM)
need some recommendation

1. Preferred Brand= Any
2. Budget= 3k and below
3. Usage= photoshop,lightroom
4. Preferred laptop/screen size= need 15 inch ips display

15" IPS, but < RM3k? hmm.gif

Closest:
Acer
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8

Asus

nexus2238
post Oct 10 2013, 11:39 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(SgtBoi @ Oct 10 2013, 09:36 PM)
Kindly suggest me a laptop for my sister.

She will use it for studies, movie, surf net.

Size <15inch

Light weight and won't get warm fast.

Thank you in advance. smile.gif
Budget?
Read the 1st post of this thread lah.
nexus2238
post Oct 10 2013, 11:48 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(amexX @ Oct 10 2013, 02:53 PM)
Hi guys,
Hope I am asking in the right thread.

I want something similar  to Samsung ATIV TAB or Lenovo thinkpad tablet 2 which i can buy locally.

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-XE300TZC-K01...d/dp/B00DVFMBRG.

http://www.amazon.com/Lenovo-ThinkPad-Tabl...U/dp/B009TLA7P4

Both models are quite thin n light, come with full Windows 8 and very good battery life.

I couldn't find any seller/shop selling these models locally.
Preferred Brand: None
Budget: Below 2.5k
Usage: For office usage / browsing
Preferred laptop/screen size: 10"
Optional: with a stylus is preferable.

Thank you.
ATIV Smart, Z2760 + Intel GMA + (1366x768; touch) + 64GB SSD@RM2499[774g w/o keyboard], 2GB, stylus, W8; color: mystic blue
Thinkpad Tablet2, Atom Z2760 + Intel HD + (1366x768; IPS touch)@RM2158[585g], 2GB, 64GB SSD, W8P, 1 yr warranty, optional keyboard dock,Digitizer & pen

These models are in Malaysia.
nexus2238
post Oct 11 2013, 06:12 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(stefan5469 @ Oct 11 2013, 12:25 AM)
Hello there, need help from experts about buying new laptop
1.Preferred Brand---HP, DELL, LENOVO
2. Budget---- less then RM2000
3. Usage---- casual gaming and programming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size---- 15' (may consider 14 as well)
Lastly I prefer a computer with free-DOS as i already have a Copy of windows.
Any recommendations ???
Dell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099
Inspiron 15R, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M @RM1999[2.32kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), Linux, 65WHr; W8SL@RM2199

HP

Lenovo
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB, W8
G400s, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1599, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
G500S, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

nexus2238
post Oct 11 2013, 03:55 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(cyril85 @ Oct 11 2013, 03:44 PM)
need some recommendation

1. Preferred Brand= Any
2. Budget= 2k and below
3. Usage= daily document(office), basic office system, online
4. Preferred laptop/screen size= 15 -16"

Don't need powerful CPU or GPU for your usage.
Unfortunately, most of the cheaper stuff are 14".

Asus
A550CC-XX530H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2099[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 15, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1299[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1499

Lenovo
G500S, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

FreeDOS mean you need to get and install OS yourself.
Use the remaining of your budget to increase RAM (Lenovo, 4G stick ~ RM100), extend warranty (Dell, to 3 years ~ RM300), get SSD (128G ~ RM300) to replace the HDD (keep as external storage).
If you are using it for business purpose, Dell Malaysia "next-biz-day on site" warranty is the best for you (call Dell if hardware problem, technician at your door to fix it within couple of days).

nexus2238
post Oct 11 2013, 04:03 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Oct 11 2013, 09:25 AM)
brand- no preference
budget - lesser better <2000
specs- unsure but must be able to run matlab,visual basic, solidworks.
- good battery life approx 5hours+

screen size - 13.3 or lesser. max 14inch
weight- approx 1.5kg
For Solidwork, you need a reasonable GPU.
For your budget, forget about 13" or less (or thin and light for that matter), stick with normal 14" laptop.
Your choice is simple. Hip and trendy, but suffer like hell when program run slow. Or bulky and dull, but at least you get things done laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Acer
E1-472G-54204G75k, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 750GB, W8
E1-472G-54204G50, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

Dell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099

HP

Lenovo
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB, W8

nexus2238
post Oct 11 2013, 06:49 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Oct 11 2013, 06:08 PM)
what do you think about

asus s200e

and lenovo s210t

specs too low to be able to run matlab, visual studio and solidworks?
VivoBook S200E, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768; touch)@RM1699[1.38kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8; 2-cell, 1 year
Ideapad S210T, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000 +(1366x768, touch)@RM1699[1.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8

i3 should run the number crunching part ok (weaker than the i5 recommended earlier), but the HD4000 could be a bit weak for 3D graphic of the Solidworks.
nexus2238
post Oct 12 2013, 12:05 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Ace4123N @ Oct 11 2013, 10:45 PM)
1. Msi or Lenovo
2. RM2800
3. Medium gaming / Officework
4. 14-15.6
QUOTE(Ace4123N @ Oct 11 2013, 11:16 PM)
I think i can push my budget a bit higher up to 3k..how about Lenovo y410 or Msi GP60  icon_question.gif
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM3199, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

GP60 is weak ass with GT740M, don't bother.
For your budget, the best GPU you could hope for is GT750M (GDDR5), and the cheapest one happen to be:
Dell

nexus2238
post Oct 12 2013, 01:03 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(SgtBoi @ Oct 10 2013, 09:36 PM)
Kindly suggest me a laptop for my sister.

She will use it for studies, movie, surf net.

Size <15inch

Light weight and won't get warm fast.

Thank you in advance. smile.gif
QUOTE(SgtBoi @ Oct 12 2013, 12:10 AM)
blush.gif Sorry. Budget would be below RM3000 as long it fulfill her needs.

My sister will use it mainly on surf net, video streaming, microsoft office.
Prefer light weight and the laptop not get warm easily.
At least 14 inch.
Just checked through Dell14 7000 and Lenovo Z400. Do both good enough? Any extra recommendation?
She does not need powerful CPU and GPU. i3 with Intel HD is sufficient.
Dell Next Biz Day on site warranty is good for student.

Vostro 5470, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell
Spend the remaining of her budget to extend warranty (to 3 years ~ RM300), buy SSD (128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600) to replace HDD (keep as external HDD), or increase RAM (need to get 8G stick to replace the 4G stick 5470 only has 1 RAM slot).

Inspiron 14 7000, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2699[2.02kg], 6GB(soldered), , W8SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr, No ODD

14 7000 looks and feels a lot nicer smile.gif but also dearer and slighter heavier. If she go for it, spend the remaining budget to extend warranty.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 12 2013, 09:40 AM
nexus2238
post Oct 12 2013, 09:51 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Oct 12 2013, 06:22 AM)
Pls. advise if below barnd/spec good for U student

Book 9 Lite NP905S3G-K01MY, AMD A6-1450 + AMD HD8250 + 128GB SSD@RM1999[1.58kg], 4GB, W8
The CPU is about Intel Celeron level, and the GPU is weaker than Intel HD4000.
Obviously it depends on what type of software you are expected to use in your study.
MS Office - should be fine.
AutoCAD, Solidwork - you will be in pain smile.gif

21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0481sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:23 AM