21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Sep 27 2013, 10:05 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(technubies @ Sep 27 2013, 04:16 AM)
hi! please help me..

Preferred Brand - any
Budget - tightly below 2k
Usage - autocad, office, browsing
Preferred laptop/screen size - 14" or 15"

sorry if it seems impossible wif the budget but if got i would be very grateful
You can get a decent laptop with your budget, just need to taper expectation a bit.
AutoCAD could make use of decent GPU.
For your budget, since you could not get FHD screen, just stick with 14". (You could always get a good external display and connect it to your laptop through HDMI / Displayport if you want).

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049

HP
Pavilion 14-N059TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

Lenovo
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8

Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Sep 28 2013, 03:51 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(happyshirt @ Sep 28 2013, 10:58 AM)
Hi hi, Looking for some recomendations please

1. Preferred Brand: Asus, HP, Lenovo just not Dell
2. Budget: below 3k. Prefer Haswell plse
3. Usage: Streaming, surfing, some word processing, excel, photoshop CSx
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: wanna small light one. 10 in 11 in like tat. ultrabook plse and i dont need touchscreen.
most 10 / 11" come with touchscreen now, especially those Haswell sepc, since Intel definition for Haswell ultrabook now is that it must have touchscreen laugh.gif

right now, iinm, there is no models that tick all your box hmm.gif Wait a bit longer if you can, say till Nov / Dec this year and hopefully more Haswelll spec machine will get launch in Malaysia.
nexus2238
post Sep 28 2013, 03:58 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Shengz @ Sep 28 2013, 11:08 AM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any brand
2. Budget - RM3000 or below
3. Usage - Office work, no gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 13" or 14"
5. Lightweight is a must (travel daily), use SSD if possible.

Thank you.
Apple (if you need Win OS, run bootcamp)
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 128GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3299[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

Dell
XPS13, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3199[1.36kg], 4GB, W8, backlit

HP
Envy SpectreXT 13-2215TU, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM2899[1.39kg], 4GB, W8,backlit keyboard

Lenovo
IdeaPad Yoga 13, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3399, 4GB, 2 years

Samsung
Book 9 Lite NP905S3G-K01MY, AMD A6-1450 + AMD HD8250 + 128GB SSD@RM1999[1.58kg], 4GB, W8
Series 7 Ultra, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999[JBL][1.46kg], 4GB, W8

Sony
Vaio SVT13126CVS, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch) + 128GB SSD@RM2899[1.66kg], 4GB, W8

If it is for "work", the Dell may be a good idea, as the warranty is next biz day on site (mean technician will go to your place to fix hardware problem), extend to 3 years for peace of mind.
nexus2238
post Sep 28 2013, 04:23 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(tws99 @ Sep 28 2013, 04:01 PM)
Preferred Brand : Any (Lenovo or Asus preferred)
Budget :  2.5k and below
Usage : Watching HD movies, editing photos (photoshop), editing videos (Sony Vegas Pro), casual gaming, MS Office  and browsing the web
Preferred Laptop/Screen Size : 14-15", light and portable, NO TOUCHSCREEN
Asus
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

Lenovo
S410p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, 2 yrs

Use the remaining of your budget to get SSD (128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600) and replace the HDD (keep as external HDD), increase RAM (4G stick ~ RM100, 8G stick ~ RM200).
nexus2238
post Sep 29 2013, 09:39 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(VanRonnie @ Sep 29 2013, 04:19 AM)
Hi sifu , i really need your help to choose a best laptop that fit my budget and needs as an student and i do not need a touch screen laptop because it's really useless for me .

1. Preferred Brand : Asus, HP, Lenovo , Acer
2. Budget : my limit budget only RM 2.2k -- the less the better
3. Usage : light gaming , movie , engineering programming , light editing of photo and video , online gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14'-15' and NO TOUCHSCREEN

Is LenovoG400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8 is a good choice for me ?

please let me know if you have another opinions . Thanks smile.gif
That G400s is a pretty good choice. The i5 M is good for your usage, probably can get a better GPU though (good for any 3D CAD, certain photo / video editing algorithm, and gaming).

Can also consider these:

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049

HP

Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty

Alternative, you could go with the G400s, then spend the remaining of your budget to get SSD (128G ~ RM300) to replace the HDD (keep as external HDD).
nexus2238
post Sep 29 2013, 08:35 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(happyit @ Sep 29 2013, 02:51 PM)
Why HP Pavilion 14-N059TX is lot cheap compare to HP ENVY Touchsmart 14-k028TX Sleekbook?
both of them around 2kg..and come with a backpack icon_question.gif
Envy Touchsmart 14-K028TX Sleekbook, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, ext OD

touch screen accounted for ~ RM200-300 of the difference.
The rest, you have to go out and look / touch / poke / type / click / listen / play / carry to see if the "premium" is worth it for you icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 29 2013, 09:04 PM
nexus2238
post Sep 29 2013, 08:40 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(_x_ @ Sep 29 2013, 08:20 PM)
Asking behalf for a friend

1. Preferred Brand: any brand
2. Budget : 2.3k max
3. Usage: assignments, video streaming, photoshop and lightroom and slight gaming (lol and dota2)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: any
5. additional needs: good battery and lightweight (if cannot meet the weight criteria wont mind)
Asus

Dell
Vostro 5470, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2249, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell

HP

Toshiba
Satelite L40-AS125XG/B/W, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299, 2GB, 750GB, W8

Prices are RSP, negotiable. Use remaining of budget to increase RAM (4G stick ~ RM100 (Asus Toshiba)).
nexus2238
post Sep 29 2013, 09:04 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(raysaw @ Sep 29 2013, 12:13 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: any brands will do except acer
2. Budget : below 2.8k
3. Usage: for assignment and playing dota 2 (stable and smooth)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14'-15' (prefer ultrabook)

another question....is that ultrabook can last longer if i on my notebook 24 hoours....does it will cause any heat problem?
For any laptop (be it ultrabook or not), leaving it on 24 hours is not the determining factor tongue.gif It's what kind of workload it is on that matter. 24 hours idle, 24 hours bit-torrent (only stress HDD), 24 hours doing intense rendering (stretch CPU), generate vastly different amount of heat.

ultrabook, being thin, has less space to dissipate heat.

Generally, it is a good idea to get external cooling solution (eg. cooling pad, table fan ... ) if you game or doing anything that going to stretch CPU or GPU.

Asus

Dell

Use the remaining of your budget to increase RAM (4G stick ~ RM100, 8G stick ~ RM200 (Asus). The 5470 only has 1 RAM slot, so you can only swap out the 4G with a 8G stick), extend warranty (Dell, to 3 years ~ RM300), get SSD (128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600) to replace the HDD (keep as external HDD).
nexus2238
post Oct 1 2013, 10:29 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(pasqualle @ Oct 1 2013, 09:23 AM)
hi all,

looking for a laptop for my dad.

1. Preferred Brand : None
2. Budget : below 2k
3. Usage : office, online, SAP
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14-15"

someone recommend me lenovo g400s. is it any good?
Is your dad using it for "business"? If yes, with the budget, probably should consider Dell, and opt for 3 years NBD on site warranty (~ RM300) (this mean if the laptop has any hardware problem, your dad give Dell a call, a technician will go to his place to fix it within couple of days).

For your dad usage, he don't need very powerful CPU nor GPU. i3 and Intel HD is good enough. Get more RAM (4G stick ~ RM100, 8G stick ~ RM200), and get SSD (128G ~ RM300) to replace the HDD (keep as external storage).

Inspiron 14-3437, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1399[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1649
Inspiron 15, i3-3217UU + Intel HD4000@RM1299 [2.32kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4 cell; W8SL @ RM1499

If you buy from Dell Online, use the chat button to negotiate deal.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 1 2013, 10:37 AM
nexus2238
post Oct 1 2013, 10:43 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Oct 1 2013, 10:36 AM)
since he is tight budget, if he takes dell vostro commericial series, upgrade warranty option will as below

1YR NBD to 1YR Pro Support

rm 60
1YR NBD to 3YRS NBD Onsite

rm 232

1YR NBD to 3YRS Pro Support

rm 319 wink.gif
sifu, cheapest Vostro 3460 or 3560 is over budget already tongue.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 1 2013, 11:09 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(tyroon @ Oct 1 2013, 10:57 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: any but not acer
2. Budget : 2.5k to 3.3k
3. Usage: Mainly gaming (smooth in FIFA, MW etc.), online, office and a little bit design if possible.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14'-15'

Are HP ENVY TS 15-j003TX NB PC or Asus ux32vd good options for 3d games?  doh.gif
Envy Touchsmart 15-J003TX, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch)@RM3399[2.56kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8, ext OD
UX32VD-R3001H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M + 24GB mSATA SSD + 500GB HDD@RM3099[1.45kg], 4GB, W8

For gaming, you should go for as good a GPU as you could afford within budget. In your case, that will be Nvidia GT750M or AMD equivalent.
Even though FIFA and CoD MW is not very GPU demanding, having GT750M means you could run them smooth in high details or high resolution (when you connect to external display for example).

You don't need touch screen, so don't waste money on the touchscreen of the 15-J003TX. The GT620M in the UX32VD is just weak (and it is a 13").

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699

Lenovo
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

nexus2238
post Oct 1 2013, 05:37 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Oct 1 2013, 11:18 AM)
Take

ASUSPRO P-Specs PRO45VA-VO056X - 14” Anti-Glare / i3-3120M / 4GB / 500GB / Intel HD4000 / W7 Pro
rm 1999 listed price =)

2 year warranty  laugh.gif
afraid laugh.gif sifu, how is the Asus pro support team coming along? you hear anything new?
nexus2238
post Oct 1 2013, 11:30 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(_x_ @ Sep 29 2013, 08:20 PM)
Asking behalf for a friend

1. Preferred Brand: any brand
2. Budget : 2.3k max
3. Usage: assignments, video streaming, photoshop and lightroom and slight gaming (lol and dota2)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: any
5. additional needs: good battery and lightweight (if cannot meet the weight criteria wont mind)
QUOTE(_x_ @ Oct 1 2013, 07:57 PM)
thanks for the suggestions biggrin.gif

my friend wanna know is the samsung ativ book 9 lite good? and is there an intel version of it?
Book 9 Lite NP905S3G-K01MY, AMD A6-1450 + AMD HD8250 + 128GB SSD@RM1999[1.58kg], 4GB, W8

If the user know the limitation of this Book 9 Lite, it is a beautiful machine. Due to the SSD, it is responsive. It is good for simple MS Office, surf net, watch video, that kind of thing.
But the CPU is really weak compared to the i5 in the models listed earlier. If your friend do photoshop and lightroom and start doing some heavy effect, that A6-1450 is really about Intel Celeron 1017U (ivy bridge) level.
And the HD8250 is NOT a discrete GPU, it is an IGPU that come with the A6-1450, and its performance is worse than Intel HD4000 (but should be very slightly better than Intel HD3000), so don't expect LOL or Dota2 to run well laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 1 2013, 11:32 PM
nexus2238
post Oct 1 2013, 11:42 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(qwertyazerty @ Oct 1 2013, 10:58 PM)
Hi sifus, in dire need of some help looking for a laptop since the Y510 is out of stock...

1. Any brand
2. Budget is 3k. (Can top up maybe to 3.2k)
3. Photo editing, digital painting, designing etc.
4. 14inch or bigger
-IPS and FHD (I believe this should be a must at this price range... correct me if I'm wrong)
-Preferably there's an ssd cache, but not a necessity.

Thanks in advance. Sorry for being so picky.
Luckily you did not go for the Y510p, that model has horrible screen for your usage tongue.gif

Acer
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8

Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3799[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 8GB, 500GB 7200RPM, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]
The 95% NTSC gamut screen option, calibrated, has better and more accurate colour reproduction than IPS screen thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 1 2013, 11:44 PM
nexus2238
post Oct 1 2013, 11:59 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(qwertyazerty @ Oct 1 2013, 11:55 PM)
Thanks a lot for your time looking and writing up the suggestion(s)! Will look into this particularly.  notworthy.gif
Over your budget, but worthwhile to have a look smile.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2613184
Prince J is from illegear, you can check out his thread and PM him if you have any question.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 2 2013, 12:02 AM
nexus2238
post Oct 2 2013, 12:10 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Oct 1 2013, 11:39 PM)
1. ANy Brand
2. Rm2500 net
3. Photoshop & Illustrator & abit of gaming
4. Any size
Asus

Dell

HP

Lenovo
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Sony
Vaio SVF14218SGW, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8SL

Toshiba

Use the remaining of your budget to increase RAM (4G stick ~ RM100), or extend warranty (Dell, to 3 years ~ RM300), or get SSD (128G ~ RM300) to replace the HDD (keep as external HDD).
nexus2238
post Oct 2 2013, 12:29 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Oct 2 2013, 11:21 AM)
Oh the sifu of this thread
just wondering is there dual bay laptop under budget 3k?
=w=/ your help is appreciated
Do you mean laptop with full size bay that can fit in 2 2.5" HDD?
iinm, no.

Closest will be this one, I think:

www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3799[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 8GB, 500GB 7200RPM, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2613184

nexus2238
post Oct 2 2013, 12:38 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Oct 2 2013, 09:54 AM)
The dell vostro can replace ram and hdd ? Coz I see from picture dell looks like slim factor...
Yes, you may swap the HDD out with SSD.
The 5470 only has 1 RAM slot. So if you want to increase RAM, you have to get a 8G stick and swap out the existing 4G stick (end up with a 4G stick spare sweat.gif ).
nexus2238
post Oct 2 2013, 12:46 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(_x_ @ Oct 2 2013, 07:56 AM)
Thanks for the input biggrin.gif.. The hp pavilion 14,can it's hdd be upgraded to ssd? And if can how much would it cost?
If you mean HP Malaysia customise for you, then no.
If you mean you buy a SSD aftermarket and do the upgrade yourself (or ask the re-seller to help), then yes.
SSD 128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600.
Can consider Intel, Plextor, Crucial.
Make sure you get the correct z-height (7mm or 9mm) SSD.
nexus2238
post Oct 2 2013, 02:58 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(amirasri89 @ Oct 2 2013, 12:42 PM)
prefered brand : any
Budget : 2k to 2.5k
Usage: online, movie, torrent
Preferred laptop/screen size: 14'-15' (hopefully FHD)

tq
no model with FHD screen within your budget. You can connect to external display that support FHD through HDMI.
You don't need powerful CPU or GPU. i3 with Intel HD is more than sufficient.

Acer
V5-471-33212G50b, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1599, 2GB, 500GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14-3437, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1399[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1549
Vostro 5470, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell

Lenovo
G400s, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1299, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; W8@RM1499

Samsung
NP370R4E, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Use the remaining of your budget to increase RAM (4G stick ~ RM100 (Acer)), extend warranty (Dell, to 3 years ~ RM300), buy SSD (128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600) to replace the HDD (keep as external HDD) (don't worry, the SSD will not spoilt because of torrenting biggrin.gif ).

If you want 15" with FHD, cheapest:
Acer
R7-571-53338G1T, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000+ (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM2999[2.4kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8
Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GP60-2OD, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT740M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999, 4GB, 750GB, W8, steel series KB

21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0545sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:00 PM