21 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Oct 12 2013, 12:24 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Oct 12 2013, 12:07 PM)
1. Preferred Brand
2. Budget
3. Usage
4. Preferred laptop/screen size

1. Any reliable brand with good driver and technical support( I just fried my Thinkpad SL410 fried Bios through the official lenovo update page by updating my bios)  cry.gif  cry.gif

2. RM500 2nd hand preferably a more recent laptop

3. mobile picture storage, web browsing and some office work

4. 14 inch as light and thin as possible
Errr ... this is thread for "NEW" laptop tongue.gif
Go to garage sale threads to look for used laptop.

What do mean by "fried" BIOS? hmm.gif
If you have follow proper instruction, normally you would have save a copy of the old BIOS, and you maybe just need to restore it hmm.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 12 2013, 05:13 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Oct 12 2013, 12:41 PM)
So there is no thread or corner that recomends people what kind of 2nd hand laptops to buy?

Long Story short while I was updating my Thinkpad bios it hangged and the fan was running extremely loudly, so I had to turn it off fearing that it will burn my mobo or cpu.

After turning it off by unplugging everything includding the AC batterypack and turning it on again the whole com was blank and the only thing that was working were the turn on button and the hard disk button. sad.gif

I sent it off to repair and they told me that it was the bios that was giving me problems and fixing it almost cost me the price of another lappy cry.gif
You mean you sent to official Lenovo Thinkpad service centre? If no, then send to them to get 2nd opinion.
As I said, BIOS don't get fried hmm.gif BIOS is "software" that get "stored" in ROM chip, and when you update BIOS, you just change what is stored in ROM.
You may have fried the ROM chip when you update BIOS, probably due to power spike hmm.gif (that's why unless it is absolutely critical, don't simply try to update BIOS if you are not sure what you are doing icon_rolleyes.gif )
Since ROM is soldered on mobo, normally technician will change the whole mobo rather than trying to change ROM chip.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 12 2013, 05:23 PM
nexus2238
post Oct 12 2013, 05:16 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(chinamsia @ Oct 12 2013, 04:24 PM)
U sure?  I've chat with Dell, he told me only dell 17r support
Don't know what transpire between you and the Dell sales smile.gif
As long as a laptop has a SATA port (i.e. the port that connect to the HDD), then the same SATA port can connect to SSD. laugh.gif
If you mean if laptop has a mSATA port for mSATA SSD, that's another matter.
nexus2238
post Oct 13 2013, 08:02 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Oct 13 2013, 07:46 AM)
hi need advise if below spec good enough for U student normal use

- Toshiba Satellite L40-AS109XB 14"
- Intel® Core™ i5-3337U-1.8GHz
- 4GB DDR3 RAM, 750GB SATA HDD
- NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 740M
Enough.
nexus2238
post Oct 13 2013, 08:04 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(martian7793 @ Oct 12 2013, 11:06 PM)
both Hp Pavilion 14-N059TX  and Lenovo Y400 have touch screen?
don't waste money on touch screen on normal laptop smile.gif
Poke poke on screen across keyboard is tiring and strain the hinge.
nexus2238
post Oct 13 2013, 08:06 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(chinamsia @ Oct 12 2013, 07:19 PM)
hmm.. any good software to check if hardisk is using sata or msata?
HDD is SATA lah doh.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 13 2013, 08:18 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Oct 12 2013, 10:25 PM)
Hi, can I ask for some advice? I'm stuck at a dead end, so might as well ask the people with better experiences:

1. No preferred brand.
2. RM3k-RM5k (the lower the better, I don't mind pressing it as low as possible, then I can buy another laptop / tablet for ultra-portability work)
3. Almost always on the go. Gaming is a "must". Medium to high if possible, I'm always primarily playing WoW, but would like to be able to play other games too, especially newer games.
4. None (as long as it has vga/hdmi out, i suppose i can always tune it to bigger screen / tv)
Note: Actually the Surface Pro 2 and the Dell Venue Pro 11 "wow-ed" me, but I was very disappointed in their GPU. I read that the AMD A10s are better, but I'm not sure how. I've checked MSI's gaming laptops but the entire range just baffles me. I've also checked the Illegear's offerings but maybe I'm not doing it right. Weight is probably a non-issue since I tend to carry a back pack of 10kg every day. Lenovo's Y510p seems like a very good  choice, but I'll like to hear more choices from other people with experiences. The laptop will act as a desktop replacement as well, but screen size should not be an issue since I'll plug it to a bigger screen at home. Its just something I can enjoy while being outside. I'm not the kind of guy that's on the eye candy, since I've always been gaming on my old Compaq Presario V3800 (its NOT a gaming laptop, but I just want to point that I'm not choosy with screens)

Can anyone offer good advice?
Don't expect to game on "high" details with those tablet you mentioned. They won't be spec with discrete GPU to handle GPU demanding games. And No, the IGPU come with A10 is still IGPU, won't do you any good in "high" details gaming.

If you go to the low end of your budget, the best GPU you can get now is GT750M.
Mid range within your budget, you may get GT765M.

What so "baffling" about MSI gaming laptop? Look? Feel? Anyway:

MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard
GX60-3BE, AMD A10-5750M + AMD HD8970 + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4399 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series multi color backlit KB (the GPU is awesome, but you need to know how to deal with the relatively weak CPU)

www.illegear.com
Stick with RE-15 for your budget.
Illegear RE-15, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3499[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]
Alternatively, have a look at this 13". Anything to lessen your 10kg back pack is good right? smile.gif
Illegear RE-13 Pro, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080 IPS)@RM3999[2kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), Backlit Keyboard, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

If you want to save money and keep to GT750M, the cheapest is this:
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699

Prices are RSP, negotiable.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 13 2013, 08:24 AM
nexus2238
post Oct 14 2013, 06:48 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 14 2013, 12:23 AM)
Entering next stage of life haha, expectations and expenditures also need to change already as there are bigger things in life now  sad.gif
Tying the knots? brows.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 14 2013, 10:06 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 14 2013, 10:05 AM)
Yeah, that is also being considered LOL  laugh.gif
Congratulation rclxms.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 14 2013, 03:46 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Oct 14 2013, 02:02 PM)
that is my live chat with Illegear Customer Service.
aww...
chat with Prince J right here lagi bagus lah smile.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 14 2013, 03:56 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Max Hell @ Oct 14 2013, 12:23 PM)
A bit old also can, as long as it supports win xp
new laptops with Windows OS in the market currently are pre-installed with W8. Business class laptop still has W7P.
No brands are releasing Win XP drivers for new models any more. (you realise MS Windows has gone through Vista, 7, 8 ... and 9 is already on the work biggrin.gif )

If you buy a laptop with W7, there is a build-in XP mode.

You should install whatever legacy applications you are using onto machine with W8, and try to run it in compatibility mode to see if it work. Getting stuck with legacy software is no fun.

Laptop is particular bad on running old OS since lots of the components are not off-the-shelf.
You can probably install W8 on old laptops, but getting Win XP to run on new models perfectly (without official drivers support from brand) is quite a challenge smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 14 2013, 04:11 PM
nexus2238
post Oct 14 2013, 04:10 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Oct 14 2013, 03:33 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: nope
2. Budget: 2-3k
3. Usage: gaming/coding/photo editing/light illustrator
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:14 / 15 inch
5: can get i7 or quad core cpu, also if can backlit keyboard

Don't see why you need quad core smile.gif

Not all the models listed below has backlit keyboard.
Asus
PRO45VJ-V0049X, i7-3520QM + Nvidia GT635M@RM3099[2.4kg], 8GB, 750GB, W7P

Fujitsu
LH532, i7-3632M + Nvidia GT620M@RM2299 [2.1kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

Lenovo
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM3199, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

MSI
GP60-2OD, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT740M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999, 4GB, 750GB, W8, steel series KB

Toshiba
Satellite M840-1034XG/XP/XQ, i7-3620QM + AMD HD7670M@RM2699, 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Oct 14 2013, 04:13 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 14 2013, 10:08 AM)
Have to graduate 1st, hopefully by end of this year  laugh.gif
That will be the day the virus get released to the atmosphere? Should I mark it in my calendar? laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 14 2013, 10:34 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 14 2013, 10:29 PM)
No worries man, virus project failed already  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Aiya, I was putting my money on a doomsday scenario wink.gif laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Good luck graduating this year thumbup.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 14 2013, 10:35 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Oct 14 2013, 10:29 PM)
Bro..how come 500gb hdd + 24gb sdd is better than 750gb?
Because with the mSATA SSD cache, the laptop will be more responsive.
nexus2238
post Oct 15 2013, 08:16 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(misterhaoyu @ Oct 15 2013, 12:23 AM)
Wow really? Lenovo > MSI ? (in terms of gaming speed)
not the brand lah doh.gif You need to see what is inside a model from each brand. For laptop used for gaming in your budget, go with as powerful a GPU as you can get.
If you just want to know the spec and RSP of the models you listed, go here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2656663

If your budget is around RM2k and your need is gaming, aim for models spec with GT740M.
Btw, follow the suggested format in the 1st post. Nobody know what kind of "dilemma" you are in you know cool2.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Oct 15 2013, 08:19 AM
nexus2238
post Oct 15 2013, 08:30 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(nasz2013 @ Oct 14 2013, 07:48 PM)
i dont want to clone a laptop..i just to know whether we have facing that kind of situation or not..do clone laptop really exist? like handphone, we have a clone one that look exactly the same like ori..
No one has bother to con by "cloning" a laptop lah smile.gif
Put it this way: Profit margin on a RM1.5k smart phone is high. Profit margin on a RM1.5k laptop is damn low laugh.gif
Profit margin for laptop normally is better on those with RM3-5k price tag, but buyers tend to be more careful when dealing with this price range.

We do come across people who don't do any research and end up paying RM2.5k for a laptop that has RM2.0k RSP though laugh.gif

On the other hand, like handphone, there are local set vs AP set, that kind of thing.
nexus2238
post Oct 16 2013, 06:02 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(yisien @ Oct 16 2013, 12:23 AM)
Hi, need some opinion for choosing the laptop..

1. Asus or Dell [preferably Asus]
2. Rm2000-Rm2500
3. Office use and surfing and entertainment [no gaming]
4. preferably 14" [the weight the lighter the better]
5. battery life the longer the better

Thank you very much!
VivoBook S400CA-CA006H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM1999[1.76kg], 4GB, W8, 3-cell

Price is RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Oct 17 2013, 04:43 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(hasbullah_t @ Oct 17 2013, 11:51 AM)
anyways, is the Dell Inspiron 14R mentioned above model codename is Dell Inspiron 14R-5437?
If you mean if that Inspiron is of the 14R-5437, then Yes.
nexus2238
post Oct 17 2013, 04:45 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Oct 16 2013, 06:11 PM)
any alternative to IdeaPad Z400 Touch 59-366600

Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM (2.2GHz up to 3.2 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache)
14" HD WLED Multi Touch
1TB HDD
Nvidia GT740M 2GB

RM 2,799 ??
please follow the suggested format at the 1st post of this thread so that we could understand your requirement better smile.gif

21 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0543sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:25 PM