7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

devour
post Sep 15 2013, 01:04 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(Fizzy-Fiz @ Sep 15 2013, 12:38 PM)
budget: up to rm3.5k
size: 13-14, ultrabook

prefer if have ssd and resolution above 1366x768

something that looks clean. good battery life is warranted with ultrabook?

Buying it for a girl. she said she wants something portable and "quick". usage, pretty much nothing other than browsing and movies.
Dell xps 13
devour
post Sep 15 2013, 01:12 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(Fizzy-Fiz @ Sep 15 2013, 01:10 PM)
any other suggestion? was thinking on saving some money

what about the specter i5 13?

other models that caught my eye

1) Samsung s7 ultra: only sub 3k model with fhd
2) envy specter: beautiful
3) vostro 3360: no ssd but can be added.
4) asus vivobooks.
vivobook s300 will be cheapest
devour
post Sep 17 2013, 10:53 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(jhulencherag @ Sep 17 2013, 03:45 PM)
Hi guys,

Just need some advice,am considering the Lenovo Flex 14 however just got some doubts:

1. Is it officially available in Malaysia or are the sellers in the Lowyat Forum importing units from overseas?

2. If they are imported units is the Warranty still honoured in Malaysia?

2. I can't seem to find an answer to this even after checking d Lenovo USA website,but does this model have VGA and Backlit Keyboard?

On the Lenovo USA website it states it has VGA but from the pics it only had 1 x HDMI.

And this model is not shown on d Lenovo Malaysia website.

Appreciate ur opinions?

Thanks guys.

Cheers.
i dont see have any vga port for this model laugh.gif , it already available since last week ..original Lenovo Malaysia unit

devour
post Sep 17 2013, 11:00 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 17 2013, 06:29 PM)
Any SIfu can recommend to me a good Laptop around Rm3K not for gaming but for Buz..............and reliable cos setting up computer is so difficult to me, a laymen in computer.

Where to buy to get best service and fair price and what specifications would be a welcome and may I thank Sifu in advance here. long usage time pls.
3k if buy normal consumer notebook will be enough spec but for commercial notebook, the spec you gonna get will be pretty normal , but you would get onsite warranty, reliable , sturdy laptop for sure drool.gif

1) HP 430 G1
4th generation Intel® Core™ i5-4200U
Integrated graphics:Intel® HD Graphics 4400
4GB DDR3L 1.35V SDRAM (1600 MHz) 1DM
500GB 5400 rpm SMART SATA II HDD
NO. Optional via USB port
13.3" diagonal HD LED-backlit anti-glare (1366 x 768)

2) Thinkpad TP E431

3) Asus
BU400A-W3212G
PRO45VJ-VO049X

4) Dell Vostro 3460 , Latitude E5430

devour
post Sep 17 2013, 11:44 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(engadgetz @ Sep 17 2013, 10:37 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - lenovo, asus
2. Budget - rm1200
3. Usage - for college use, IT field, programming c++, java etc
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 11"

Im currently eyeing on lenovo thinkpad edge E135. The price is rm1199. Is it suffice for my usage? Or any other laptop? Oh, i want laptop with removable battery. Thanks lowyat!
hmm.gif pretty hard to find e135 stock i think
devour
post Sep 18 2013, 12:04 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(sarahDUHlaw @ Sep 17 2013, 11:53 PM)
Hello !

Would like to ask about Asus A55VJ best price in Malaysia. And also, can I get a better laptop with the same specs for a good price ? My budget is <RM2k or maybe a little higher ?

Extreme newbie who doesn't know anything about laptops. biggrin.gif

Thankyou ! :3
Small tips, A55VJ is old model . try avoid it,.

if u like asus , consider newer one , -a550cc
devour
post Sep 19 2013, 11:30 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Sep 19 2013, 06:08 PM)
Does Toshiba Satellite L50-A100X has mSATA slot?
No

devour
post Sep 19 2013, 11:32 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(ahodil @ Sep 19 2013, 11:30 PM)
but im confused with the graphic, some says its intel and some says its nvidia sweat.gif
its switchable
devour
post Sep 20 2013, 12:45 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 20 2013, 12:16 AM)
Manufacturer websites are known to be slow in updates, and inaccurate, apart from those which sells online laugh.gif

Definitely the Z500 since it runs on a Mobile processor nod.gif
You might want to upgrade the RAM right away at the shop/COD since its not easy to upgrade yourself.
Can contact devour, he is very experienced with upgrading already iinm haha
sweat.gif pls dont said this, i still learning..... laugh.gif

by the way , can consider this - rm 2299

Toshiba L40 with refresh Haswell Processor Malaysia set coming stock

Satelite L40-
i 5-4200 U / 2G / 500GB(SATA) with Shock absorbers / GT740 -2G VGA / W8

3 year limited warranty !

This post has been edited by devour: Sep 20 2013, 12:48 AM
devour
post Sep 20 2013, 11:06 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 20 2013, 11:40 AM)

Since you are not into gaming, I would recommend going for the MSI GP60-2OD or Lenovo Y510p. Use your remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years; upgrade RAM to 8/16GB; and most importantly, swap the HDD to an SSD.
THe SSD will bring about an extremely huge performance gain in load times, will save you a lot of precious time thumbup.gif
unlucky , MSI gaming laptop only have 2 year warranty MAX and does not have upgrade / extend option
devour
post Sep 20 2013, 11:43 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(ahodil @ Sep 20 2013, 11:41 PM)
But somehow i feel the laptop a bit laggish especially when starting up  hmm.gif
uninstall the Mcafee AV
devour
post Sep 21 2013, 05:52 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 21 2013, 09:54 AM)
sure, why not?
just FYI, if you want to hard drive bays, you need to buy a caddy drive for the Z500 but will sacrifice your DVD-RW drive though.
warranty void lable stick on below keyboard , dont try upgrade ssd on z500 / z400 model nod.gif

This post has been edited by devour: Sep 21 2013, 05:52 PM
devour
post Sep 22 2013, 01:08 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(northclaw @ Sep 22 2013, 12:53 AM)
preferred brand-any
budget-2500
usage-gaming and engineering program

thanks smile.gif
add budget , get lenovo y400 with pre installed window 8 ,

i7 -3630, gt750 gpu, laugh.gif
devour
post Sep 22 2013, 03:41 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Sep 22 2013, 02:28 PM)
Which version of windows 8 installed for Lenovo S410P, Lenovo S410P Touch and Lenovo Y410P?
standard . window 8 single language biggrin.gif

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 22 2013, 11:38 AM)
not sure about this.
sometimes, it depends on where the warranty sticker is stick. i have done upgrades on a GX70 before but the warranty sticker is easy to be removed by a piece of thin blade.
correct , for some people , its easy , for some , its hard, just caution, dont take risk wub.gif

This post has been edited by devour: Sep 22 2013, 03:44 PM
devour
post Sep 22 2013, 06:15 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 22 2013, 06:00 PM)
You mean don't buy? haha  laugh.gif
biggrin.gif i mean if try to upgrade laptop;s with warranty void sticker label, dont take risk if you not confident to do that . laugh.gif
devour
post Sep 23 2013, 12:38 AM

2,227 posts

vostro 5460 - i 3 free dos version will cost u rm 13xx.. more rm 3xx from 1k ,. =)
devour
post Sep 23 2013, 12:40 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 23 2013, 12:16 AM)
I'm not sure whether its within 2 weeks, 1st or 3 months after purchase, but there is such a thing nod.gif
Probably because the start of warranty will be from the day the warranty is purchased?  hmm.gif

Dell also offers warranty extension for units that are about to become out-of-warranty  icon_rolleyes.gif
for Dell laptop warranty extension , better do it as soon as possible , or along purchase.. the pricing for extend will be double price once u miss it.. laugh.gif
devour
post Sep 23 2013, 12:42 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Sep 22 2013, 10:15 PM)
Thank...is it windows 8 pro 64bit?
Also what the screen resolution for Lenovo y410P is it same with Lenovo S410P?
both are consumer line products, hence only pre installed with window 8 single Language ( sometime like win 7 home premium ),...Not win 8 pro sweat.gif

- both with 1366 x 768
devour
post Sep 24 2013, 12:00 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Sep 23 2013, 10:56 AM)
Really. ..isn't windows 8 installation disk only 1 CD?
AND how to restore it back to notebook?
sweat.gif Installation ISO is different with OEM recovery disc
devour
post Sep 24 2013, 12:04 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(chriscrossx @ Sep 23 2013, 06:15 PM)
How about Toshiba? How is their warranty service in KL?
I'm currently unable to find Dell Inspiron 14R here in my area which is in Ipoh and I'm in need for a laptop in a few days ( trying to avoid buying online )
an easy way to distinct both warranty ..

Dell - std one year - on site after phone diagnose ( can upgrade ), warranty may transfer oversea depends case to case

Toshiba - std one year, usually free upgrade to 3 year - carry in Local limited warranty, some models do have RW, or WWW nod.gif

This post has been edited by devour: Sep 24 2013, 11:55 AM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0548sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:10 PM