131 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

{Official HTC One And The Only One Thread V8}, HTC Zoe/Blink Feed/Boom Sound/Sense 5

mansooriqbal
post Sep 19 2013, 03:01 PM

2,044 posts

https://www.facebook.com/notes/htc-malaysia...151878439240470

'Device must not be rooted with an unlocked bootloader'

unlocking bootloader... that means using custom rom voids your warranty? :S
adriancs
post Sep 19 2013, 04:28 PM

871 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Sep 19 2013, 03:01 PM)
https://www.facebook.com/notes/htc-malaysia...151878439240470

'Device must not be rooted with an unlocked bootloader'
unlocking bootloader... that means using custom rom voids your warranty? :S
Yes. Unlocking bootloader, rooting and installing custom ROM voids your warranty. Unless you return it to stock condition and lock back the bootloader before sending it in.

I already answered you before. How many times do you want to ask?
Xirality
post Sep 19 2013, 04:31 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(adriancs @ Sep 19 2013, 04:28 PM)
Yes. Unlocking bootloader, rooting and installing custom ROM voids your warranty. Unless you return it to stock condition and lock back the bootloader before sending it in.

this is normal in this forum. People asking same question all over again.
mansooriqbal
post Sep 19 2013, 04:31 PM

2,044 posts

QUOTE(adriancs @ Sep 19 2013, 04:28 PM)

Sorry I was still a bit confused. So that means you can lock bootloader and send it back? (y)
neo_ryder
post Sep 19 2013, 04:33 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Sep 19 2013, 04:31 PM)
Sorry I was still a bit confused. So that means you can lock bootloader and send it back? (y)
if u lock back bootloader, it still can be trace cos it state there RELOCK....
unless if u S-OFF, u can change that back to LOCKED
mansooriqbal
post Sep 19 2013, 04:42 PM

2,044 posts

QUOTE(neo_ryder @ Sep 19 2013, 04:33 PM)
if u lock back bootloader, it still can be trace cos it state there RELOCK....
unless if u S-OFF, u can change that back to LOCKED
in simple words. So can I put a custom rom? will it void my warranty?
coldfission
post Sep 19 2013, 04:46 PM

Agility's everything
1,325 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Sep 19 2013, 04:42 PM)
custom rom = void warranty
simple enough for you? hmm.gif
this is because u need to unlock the bootloader in order to install the custom recovery in your phone. the custom recovery is a tool where u need for custom rom installation.

if u afraid of voiding warranty then stick with the stock rom. period.
adriancs
post Sep 19 2013, 04:48 PM

871 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Sep 19 2013, 04:42 PM)
In simple words, yes.
mansooriqbal
post Sep 19 2013, 04:54 PM

2,044 posts

QUOTE(adriancs @ Sep 19 2013, 04:48 PM)
In simple words, yes.
Okay I get it now. Better stick with stock rom till warranty expires n then play with custom rom (y)
SUSnatzakaria
post Sep 19 2013, 04:56 PM

1,022 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Sep 19 2013, 04:54 PM)
Okay I get it now. Better stick with stock rom till warranty expires n then play with custom rom (y)
That's a mighty long wait
nuttyking91
post Sep 19 2013, 05:00 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 19 2013, 01:19 AM)
Win? We (with faulty cameras) are all losers here. I don't see how we can win if HTC decides to screw us over with a clearly faulty camera.
hahaha HTC One is at ur disposal. Get Note 3, S4, LG G2, Lumia 1020, Blackberry Z30, iPhone 5s, or Xperia Z1. Well i wouldn't say it's faulty. It's more to hardware + software design failure. laugh.gif over 70% of users will suffer from it. Even changing camera module also won't work for quite a number of ppl wor... what can u do about it? sweat.gif
choonwai11
post Sep 19 2013, 05:03 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Sep 19 2013, 04:31 PM)
let me do a summary,

-when you request unlock code from HTCDEV.com, HTC already have the record that you requested for unlock code.
-but this doesnt mean HTC know whether you use the unlock code or not.
-If u use the unlock code, the status will be "unlocked" in bootloader. even if you lock back the bootloader, the status become "relocked", so HTC will know you unlock bootloader once they see this status.

-if you use S-off method, you no need to reqeust unlock code from HTC, you can unlock, lock, change the status of relock to locked. HTC will not able to trace whether you unlock boot loader.

-in the HTCDEV.com, stated that "It is our responsibility to caution you that not all claims resulting or caused by or from the unlocking of the bootloader may be covered under warranty",from this statement, unlocking bootloader doesnt voids warranty, if only the defect is deem to be cause by unloacking bootloader, then the warranty will not cover. example, let said a physical button spoilt and it had nothing to do with unlocking bootloader, the warranty still cover.
-from another forum, a user with rooted HTC one succesfully claim warranty for a defect LCD(dead line).

but how HTC determine whether a defect is cause by unlock bootloader, i dun know.
adriancs
post Sep 19 2013, 05:49 PM

871 posts

QUOTE(choonwai11 @ Sep 19 2013, 05:03 PM)
let me do a summary,

-when you request unlock code from HTCDEV.com, HTC already have the record that you requested for unlock code.
-but this doesnt mean HTC know whether you use the unlock code or not.
-If u use the unlock code, the status will be "unlocked" in bootloader. even if you lock back the bootloader, the status become "relocked", so HTC will know you unlock bootloader once they see this status.

-if you use S-off method, you no need to reqeust unlock code from HTC, you can unlock, lock, change the status of relock to locked. HTC will not able to trace whether you unlock boot loader.

-in the HTCDEV.com, stated that "It is our responsibility to caution you that not all claims resulting or caused by or from the unlocking of the bootloader may be covered under warranty",from this statement, unlocking bootloader doesnt voids warranty, if only the defect is deem to be cause by unloacking bootloader, then the warranty will not cover. example, let said a physical button spoilt and it had nothing to do with unlocking bootloader, the warranty still cover.
-from another forum, a user with rooted HTC one succesfully claim warranty for a defect LCD(dead line).
but how HTC determine whether a defect is cause by unlock bootloader, i dun know.
Based on experience dealing with HTC's service partners in Malaysia, as long as they can detect you have an altered bootloader or custom ROM (whether through Relocked BL, or requested unlock code, or S-OFF and forgot to S-ON), warranty will be denied outright. This is true even back in the windows phone days. I have had hardware mechanical failure (unresponsive mechanical button) warranty denied because my phone was S-OFF.

So whether you want to argue with them or file a small claims, you can, but I know for a fact, first hand, that warranty will be denied first.
Xirality
post Sep 19 2013, 05:54 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(adriancs @ Sep 19 2013, 05:49 PM)
Based on experience dealing with HTC's service partners in Malaysia, as long as they can detect you have an altered bootloader or custom ROM (whether through Relocked BL, or requested unlock code, or S-OFF and forgot to S-ON), warranty will be denied outright. This is true even back in the windows phone days. I have had hardware mechanical failure (unresponsive mechanical button) warranty denied because my phone was S-OFF.

So whether you want to argue with them or file a small claims, you can, but I know for a fact, first hand, that warranty will be denied first.
They will check it?
adriancs
post Sep 19 2013, 06:07 PM

871 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Sep 19 2013, 05:54 PM)
They will check it?
No they will straight away give you a new phone and say they're sorry.
Xirality
post Sep 19 2013, 06:11 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(adriancs @ Sep 19 2013, 06:07 PM)
okay, I sense sarcasm.
mansooriqbal
post Sep 19 2013, 06:17 PM

2,044 posts

QUOTE(adriancs @ Sep 19 2013, 06:07 PM)
LOL.

HTC warranty is as lousy as Asus warranty. Don't expect DELL warranty treatment smile.gif

Btw to tell you guys i've given my 3 days old HTC one for RMA. Cosmetic Defect. They say no sure if HTC will replace. LOL. If they dont replace. I am going to flame at their manager direct.
n8210
post Sep 19 2013, 06:20 PM

2,678 posts

Hmm... was thinking of jumping from samseng to htc... but after reading this, i'm thinking this twice. samseng don't care if u r rooted or not.
frantic912
post Sep 19 2013, 06:20 PM

~ Demn ~
711 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Sep 19 2013, 05:54 PM)
They will check it?
Depends...sometimes they dont, sometime they do...
Xirality
post Sep 19 2013, 06:31 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Sep 19 2013, 06:20 PM)
Hmm... was thinking of jumping from samseng to htc... but after reading this, i'm thinking this twice. samseng don't care if u r rooted or not.
At first I also like you but still happy with it. Mine no defect lah whistling.gif

131 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:57 AM