91 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Ask a Mathematical Physicist

maximR
post Aug 14 2013, 03:28 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Aug 14 2013, 02:13 PM)
In Newtonian Kinetic Energy, as long as the object is not at microscopic level and the speed involved is very much lower than the speed of light, the mass is considered an absolute, or in a state of constant in an inertial frame of reference.

For beginners like me , how do I develop the intuition to manipulate the equation so p exists in that KE equation ?
Also , if KE becomes 2KE , p becomes 2p as well ? How to prove this ?

All right , noted . Thank you .

Here's a question from an SPM Olympiad Fizik book :

This post has been edited by maximR: Aug 14 2013, 06:24 PM
kingkingyyk
post Aug 14 2013, 05:59 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Aug 14 2013, 03:28 PM)

The answer is B? drool.gif
maximR
post Aug 14 2013, 06:02 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Aug 14 2013, 05:59 PM)
The answer is B?  drool.gif
According to the guy who provided the question , yes .
kingkingyyk
post Aug 14 2013, 06:05 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Aug 14 2013, 06:02 PM)
According to the guy who provided the question , yes .
If so, you may experience it when the car/bus where you sit brakes.
maximR
post Aug 14 2013, 06:09 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Aug 14 2013, 06:05 PM)
If so, you may experience it when the car/bus where you sit brakes.
Solution provided is about pressure , artificial gravity , inertia ... blink.gif
kingkingyyk
post Aug 14 2013, 06:17 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Aug 14 2013, 06:09 PM)
Solution provided is about pressure , artificial gravity , inertia ...  blink.gif
That's complicated.
My reason :
When you are sitting in a moving bus, you are moving as well. When the bus stops, your inertia causes you to continue to move.
Same to the question.
The initial state of the objects is static. When you push the box, the inertia will cause the object to try to stay in the initial state, that is not moving.

You might use Newton's Third Law to think about it.

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Aug 14 2013, 06:18 PM
TSCritical_Fallacy
post Aug 14 2013, 07:45 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

For beginners like me, how do I develop the intuition to manipulate the equation so p exists in that KE equation?
Also, if KE becomes 2KE, p becomes 2p as well? How to prove this?
Erratum: Please take note that there was a typo in the last line of the previous image. Last line “√(2p)” should be “√2*p”. Thanks Krevaki for pointing it out. It has been corrected.

Basically, it is very similar to proving Trigonometric Identities in SPM Add Maths. When you have the knowledge of momentum p = m*v, you will think of ways to express KE in terms of momentum and at the same time, conserving the dimensions of the original KE equation. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSCritical_Fallacy
post Aug 14 2013, 07:50 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(Intermission @ Aug 11 2013, 02:06 PM)
As a unsuccessful wannabe math olympian who never had any formal training in mathematical olympiads, I participated in this year's OMK Sulong 2013.
By the way, care to tell me about the reception of your Science Fair project? laugh.gif
Krevaki
post Aug 14 2013, 07:54 PM

1,282 posts

For beginners like me , how do I develop the intuition to manipulate the equation so p exists in that KE equation ?

All right , noted . Thank you .

The steel (?) ball and the helium balloon are attached to the box by strings. The connections are not rigid and when you move the box, you would expect their inertia to hold them in their original position.
Krevaki
post Aug 14 2013, 07:55 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Aug 14 2013, 07:45 PM)
Erratum: Please take note that there was a typo in the last line of the previous image. Last line “√(2p)” should be “√2*p”. Thanks Krevaki for pointing it out. It has been corrected.

Basically, it is very similar to proving Trigonometric Identities in SPM Add Maths. When you have the knowledge of momentum p = m*v, you will think of ways to express KE in terms of momentum and at the same time, conserving the dimensions of the original KE equation. icon_rolleyes.gif
Alamak, why mention my name? sweat.gif Anyway, you're welcome.
TSCritical_Fallacy
post Aug 14 2013, 08:33 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Aug 14 2013, 05:59 PM)
The answer is Bdrool.gif
QUOTE(maximR @ Aug 14 2013, 06:02 PM)
According to the guy who provided the question, yes.
Under normal circumstances, your daily experience, common sense plus Newton’s 1st Law generally would tell you the “rational” answer seems to be B. However, if B were the intended answer, why would the person who set the question bother to add the floating helium-filled balloon in the boxcar? Is it a tricky question? sweat.gif

There are 2 clues provided:
(1) If the helium-filled balloon wasn't tied to the floor of the boxcar, it would float all the way up to the ceiling.
(2) In physics, Impulse of Force is used to refer to a fast-acting force that is applied briefly: I = F*δt = m*δv.

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Aug 14 2013, 06:17 PM)
My reason:
When you are sitting in a moving bus, you are moving as well. When the bus stops, your inertia causes you to continue to move. Same to the question. The initial state of the objects is static. When you push the box, the inertia will cause the object to try to stay in the initial state, that is not moving. You might use Newton's Third Law to think about it.
QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Aug 14 2013, 06:44 PM)
Physical Chemistry : Keywords, Calculations, Logical Thinking.
Lastly, logical thinking is not just using our “common sense.” After all, “common sense” tells us the earth is flat. But even when “common sense” is correct, it may tell us, for example, that gravity cannot be pulling a thing down and pushing up the other at the same time. Therefore, critical thinking goes well beyond just using such basic principles. icon_idea.gif

Perhaps Krevaki and work_tgr can offer some clues as well. laugh.gif

kingkingyyk
post Aug 14 2013, 08:39 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Aug 14 2013, 08:33 PM)
Under normal circumstances, your daily experience, common sense plus Newton’s 1st Law generally would tell you the “rational” answer seems to be B. However, if B were the intended answer, why would the person who set the question bother to add the floating helium-filled balloon in the boxcar? Is it a tricky question? sweat.gif

There are 2 clues provided:
(1) If the helium-filled balloon wasn't tied to the floor of the boxcar, it would float all the way up to the ceiling.
(2) In physics, Impulse of Force is used to refer to a fast-acting force that is applied briefly: I = F*δt = m*δv.

Lastly, logical thinking is not just using our “common sense.” After all, “common sense” tells us the earth is flat. But even when “common sense” is correct, it may tell us, for example, that gravity cannot be pulling a thing down and pushing up the other at the same time. Therefore, critical thinking goes well beyond just using such basic principles. icon_idea.gif

Perhaps Krevaki and work_tgr can offer some clues as well. laugh.gif

The answer would be A then. unsure.gif
What I meant by "logical thinking" here is think based on law's logic. icon_idea.gif
Intermission
post Aug 14 2013, 10:23 PM

825 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Aug 13 2013, 10:47 PM)
I was well aware that Newton did not explicitly state that F = ma ( It's derived from his 2nd law ) , and I've read that force is defined as the rate of change of momentum early on when I first started learning dynamics . Did you really not read anything other than your SPM Physics reference book in form four and form five ?  blink.gif

But I didn't know that he said Ft α mv - mu
Admittedly, no. Not quite. I was paying more attention to the application rather than the origin of the ideas which was fine at SPM level. But now at A level I realize it would be imprecise to define or explain force using F=ma instead of F=(mv-mu)/t. That could pose some problems when answering structure questions at A level.

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Aug 14 2013, 07:50 PM)
By the way, care to tell me about the reception of your Science Fair project? laugh.gif
Of all posts, why quote this one? tongue.gif

Didn't manage to finish before the deadline due to many reasons but mostly because of my incompetence. Might participate again next year if possible.

QUOTE(maximR @ Aug 14 2013, 06:20 PM)
So that means after SPM I can straight away buy STPM books and start doing ?  drool.gif Good idea to fill those 3 months .
Hmm....I think A levels would serve a better purpose for this because for AS physics mechanics/Mathematics Mechanics 1 the knowledge from SPM can be extrapolated quite easily to fit the needs of the question. If you do exercises from STPM however, watch out for pre requisite knowledge.

Learn to relate different quantities together by the use of formula you already know. A good exercise would be proving formulas that you know, such as differentiation by 1st principle, proving E=mgh and E=0.5mv^2 from W=FS, proving P=h(rho)g from P=F/A and other formulas and so on. Proving trigonometric identities as mentioned by Critical_Fallacy is good too.

I couldn't stress how important this skill is if you are planning to study Physics/Mathematics/Further mathematics at A level/STPM.
TSCritical_Fallacy
post Aug 15 2013, 12:59 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Aug 14 2013, 06:09 PM)
Solution provided is about pressure , artificial gravity , inertia ...  blink.gif
QUOTE(Krevaki @ Aug 14 2013, 07:54 PM)
The steel (?) ball and the helium balloon are attached to the box by strings. The connections are not rigid and when you move the box, you would expect their inertia to hold them in their original position.
QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Aug 14 2013, 08:39 PM)
The answer would be A then.  unsure.gif
What I meant by "logical thinking" here is think based on law's logic.  icon_idea.gif
Perhaps watching the YouTube video below would give you new insights into the physics of helium balloon. icon_rolleyes.gif

ystiang
post Aug 15 2013, 02:04 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(manutd96 @ Aug 13 2013, 04:13 AM)
In a shooting competition, the probability that ali hits the target is 0.4. Find the minimum number of trials that ali needs to make such that the probability that he hits the target at least once is 0.8. << add maths question. How do I do it? Which method should I use? Is it part of binomial distribution?
P(X >= 1) = 1 - P(X < 1) = 1 - P(X = 0) = 0.8

Yup, binomial distribution.

TSCritical_Fallacy
post Aug 15 2013, 04:20 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(manutd96 @ Aug 13 2013, 04:13 AM)
In a shooting competition, the probability that ali hits the target is 0.4. Find the minimum number of trials that ali needs to make such that the probability that he hits the target at least once is 0.8. << add maths question. How do I do it? Which method should I use? Is it part of binomial distribution?
Technically speaking, the method employed by ystiang is called Complementary Cumulative Distribution Function. The solution is exactly the same as the one beautifully brought by ystiang, with a little extra information of how the principle of Cumulative Distribution Function works. wink.gif

manutd96
post Aug 15 2013, 06:19 AM

184 posts

Alright thanks people!
kingkingyyk
post Aug 15 2013, 09:25 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Aug 15 2013, 12:59 AM)
Perhaps watching the YouTube video below would give you new insights into the physics of helium balloon. icon_rolleyes.gif

Helium gas balloon will move forward, pendulum will move behind? shocking.gif
Weird guy.
Krevaki
post Aug 15 2013, 10:47 AM

1,282 posts

You're right! As the box moves to the right, the air gets compressed to the left, making the left side of the box denser than the right side. The helium balloon actually gets pushed to the right!
maximR
post Aug 15 2013, 01:20 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(Krevaki @ Aug 15 2013, 10:47 AM)
You're right! As the box moves to the right, the air gets compressed to the left, making the left side of the box denser than the right side. The helium balloon actually gets pushed to the right!
I get it now . nod.gif

But looking for explanations on the internet , there are some who use General Relativity to explain this . So is the explanation using air compression / buoyant force correct , or General Relativity , or both ?

91 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:05 PM