1,600 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
Feb 12 2014, 12:19 AM
16 posts Joined: Feb 2014 |
Best time to buy gold now that RM is at all time low.
Feb 12 2014, 01:08 AM
51 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
i am a student with zero commitment and doing some side business and thus got myself earned a saving around 5k and i planned to invest into gold.
After much research, i feel that the options left for me are to invest thru those bank that offer gold saving account aka maybank or CIMB or just go to any jewelry retail shop aka tomei/pohkong/nubex and get myself a quote from them. Other than that, any sifu here kindly advice me on whether there is any other alternative i can got myself cheap gold? or a much more appropriate way to invest such a small amount (5k)..? perhaps drop gold and go for silver? Hopefully someone can also clear my doubt as well on this few questions. Why is that gold coin are quantified in Oz and gold bar are quantified in gram or Ounce? What is the difference between gold bullion coin and gold dinar coin? Compared to all those types of bar and coin above, which one is the best to be invest? i had been told certain gold bar or gold coin with certain pattern has higher value..eg white house, bunga raya, dragon bar.. thanks in advance~~ ![]() This post has been edited by wong6516: Feb 12 2014, 01:15 AM |
Feb 12 2014, 02:20 AM
1,087 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
not going to hit 1300 after all, i guess
Feb 12 2014, 02:43 AM
16 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 6 2014, 01:34 AM) Inflation Rate in America? Pretty high, if you ask the actual people living there. I know the inflation coming out of the government agency cannot be trusted because they pick and choose the categories. I wouldn't say pretty high in USA. It is not too far off comparing to the published rate. I don't think anyone is able to tell you exactly how much. Maybe 2-2.5%. That is not pretty high comparing to the kind of inflation we see in Malaysia. Well, good question. Why is it that even though demand is high, gold prices is still going down. Very, very good question. Using gold to hedge inflation is just an old saying. I don't think it ever works. What is behind the scene is, in my opinion, demand and supply. Can anyone enlighten me why gold is a good hedge against inflation? Why not silver? Why not diamond? |
Feb 12 2014, 03:39 AM
2,547 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: KL |
QUOTE(bfoot @ Feb 12 2014, 02:43 AM) I know the inflation coming out of the government agency cannot be trusted because they pick and choose the categories. I wouldn't say pretty high in USA. It is not too far off comparing to the published rate. I don't think anyone is able to tell you exactly how much. Maybe 2-2.5%. That is not pretty high comparing to the kind of inflation we see in Malaysia. The functionality of Gold as a hedge against inflation is very simple. Perception. The perception that Gold is a very highly valued metal. The perception that will never change as long as man still exist. Using gold to hedge inflation is just an old saying. I don't think it ever works. What is behind the scene is, in my opinion, demand and supply. Can anyone enlighten me why gold is a good hedge against inflation? Why not silver? Why not diamond? Demand and Supply? Ok. I bet you do not read news or pay attention to world affairs then right? Gold is not a "hedge against inflation" based on current prices. If gold was simply a "hedge against inflation", I would not even advocate people to buy it. There are so many investment vehicles out there that can protect you against inflation and even give you better returns if you are clever. Stocks and Properties. But look at the dow jones index chart and tell me. Do you seriously think that long term investment in stocks is applicable today? |
Feb 12 2014, 10:55 AM
256 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
QUOTE(bfoot @ Feb 12 2014, 02:43 AM) I know the inflation coming out of the government agency cannot be trusted because they pick and choose the categories. I wouldn't say pretty high in USA. It is not too far off comparing to the published rate. I don't think anyone is able to tell you exactly how much. Maybe 2-2.5%. That is not pretty high comparing to the kind of inflation we see in Malaysia. Why every country government holding ton of gold not silver not diamond? Using gold to hedge inflation is just an old saying. I don't think it ever works. What is behind the scene is, in my opinion, demand and supply. Can anyone enlighten me why gold is a good hedge against inflation? Why not silver? Why not diamond? |
Feb 12 2014, 01:09 PM
10,001 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Gold futures contracts were untraded this morning on lack of buying interest for the precious metal, dealers said.
As at 9.30am, February 2014 and March 2014 were untraded and pegged at RM137.10 and RM137.40 a gramme, respectively. April 2014, May 2014 and June 2014 were also untraded and were pegged at RM138.15 a gramme, respectively. There was no turnover at opening while open interest totalled 1,601 contracts. Physical gold was one sen lower at RM133.09 a gramme.-- Bernama |
Feb 12 2014, 03:20 PM
7,142 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Sin City |
Gold prices rise amid China's missing bullion mystery
Gold has hit a a three-month high, defying most expert views that 2014 would see further falls in the precious metal a day after a report revealed 500-tonnes of bullion is missing somewhere in China. However, the recent rally still has many analysts questioning whether the recent turnaround is just a "dead cat bounce" or a sustained revision in market sentiment? The China Gold Association (CGA) report, which cites a figure similar to the net gold imports to China from Hong Kong of 1157 tonnes, has created a mystery surrounding what has happened to the country's indigenous supply. About 500 tonnes of gold from Chinese mines and scrap is unaccounted for by the CGA. According to brokers at Macquarie it "remains a mystery what happened to the other gold available in China". The missing gold will again raise questions over the strength of demand in the world's largest market for the metal amid concern that more gold is being traded on the black market. One conspiracy theory is that the People's Bank of China is simply stockpiling gold off balance sheet. |
Feb 12 2014, 06:14 PM
7,142 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Sin City |
The physical price of gold as at 5pm, stood at RM133.00 per gramme, down 10 sen from RM133.10 at 5pm yesterday - Bernama
Feb 12 2014, 06:30 PM
1,353 posts Joined: Jan 2014 From: Sunway South Quay |
Feb 13 2014, 05:06 AM
16 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(advgamer @ Feb 12 2014, 10:55 AM) How do you be sure the central banks are holding gold? If a politician could steal money in front of you and my face, what's stopping them from stealing the "gold" which no one has ever seen -- unless there is no gold. |
Feb 13 2014, 03:31 PM
10,001 posts Joined: May 2013 |
The gold futures contract on Bursa Malaysia Derivatives opened slightly higher today on mild buying interest, dealers said.
At 9.30am, February 2014 was traded at 70 sen or 14 ticks higher at RM137.90 a gramme, while March 2014 was untraded and pegged at RM137.65 a gramme. Meanwhile, April 2014, May 2014 and June 2014 were also untraded and pegged at RM137.15 a gramme. Turnover was at 28 lots, while open interest stood at 1,746 contracts. Physical gold was 51 sen better at RM133.51 a gramme.-- Bernama |
Feb 13 2014, 04:12 PM
1,255 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
QUOTE(TiramisuCoffee @ Feb 11 2014, 02:27 AM) And sgd1m how many kgs? Apparently someone did attempt to board a plane to try to lari with gold bars! Haha! How much are these 3 gold bars worth, you think? Emergency landing in KLIA after package found in plane’s toilet… but it’s just gold bars http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014...ld-bars-Flight/ If the gold legally belongs to a passenger, why make such a big fuss over it? Or is getting gold bars out of a country illegal? Does anyone know? |
Feb 13 2014, 07:31 PM
226 posts Joined: May 2008 |
hai, can cimb and pbb online statement show at wat price we bought the gold?
Feb 13 2014, 10:09 PM
3,902 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Feb 14 2014, 12:23 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,456 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
QUOTE(advgamer @ Feb 12 2014, 10:55 AM) According to; http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01n8278Indian housewives hold 11% of the World's gold. That is more than the reserves of USA, IMF, Switzerland and Germany put together. Indian housewives are smarter than central bankers? |
Feb 14 2014, 01:29 PM
1,600 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(TiramisuCoffee @ Feb 13 2014, 04:12 PM) Apparently someone did attempt to board a plane to try to lari with gold bars! Haha! How much are these 3 gold bars worth, you think? Yea, I had the same thing in my mind too when I read the news. It says less than 1kg. Assuming it's 1kg, it worth more or less rm100kEmergency landing in KLIA after package found in plane’s toilet… but it’s just gold bars http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014...ld-bars-Flight/ If the gold legally belongs to a passenger, why make such a big fuss over it? Or is getting gold bars out of a country illegal? Does anyone know? |
Feb 14 2014, 02:02 PM
12,268 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 3 2014, 10:43 PM) Fall in currency and equities which is what happened the in Jan 2014 which is why gold prices went up to US$1,280. But didnt last long and now gold is hovering around US$1,248 per ounce. Either way 2014 will not be a good year for gold. So my advice would be to look at other forms of investments. Since you wrote this, gold has gone fro $130.92 to $137.90.That's 5.34% in a matter of 11 days. No one is ever sure about gold's move |
| Change to: | 0.8834sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:12 PM |