51 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Discussion Goalkeeper's thread, Goalies welcomed...football, futsal...

tauyik
post Apr 25 2009, 01:33 AM

85 posts

when i was playing futsal with my friends, no one willing to be keeper, so as a water fish i stand up and become keeper~ whenever they shoot with full power~ i just avoid the ball~
for those who wack the ball super hard when 1 on 1 with me~ 2 words for u ''f*** you''

This post has been edited by tauyik: Apr 25 2009, 01:35 AM
giotto
post Apr 25 2009, 03:24 PM

3,051 posts

Haha, You should tell that to your friends, not here.

But anyways, when i'm running real close to the GK or have a 1 v 1 chance with the GK, generally i avoid smacking the ball hard. I mean its a little bit of common sense and courtesy not to do that la. But if in tournament or whatever competetive match, when you have to score, you will have to smack it lor.

Having said that, in one of those weekly futsal matches, don't have to give it all. If you have to risk injuring yourself or let in a goal, i rather let in a goal.
Hated
post Apr 25 2009, 05:56 PM

QUOTE(giotto @ Apr 25 2009, 04:24 PM)
Haha, You should tell that to your friends, not here.

But anyways, when i'm running real close to the GK or have a 1 v 1 chance with the GK, generally i avoid smacking the ball hard. I mean its a little bit of common sense and courtesy not to do that la. But if in tournament or whatever competetive match, when you have to score, you will have to smack it lor.

Having said that, in one of those weekly futsal matches, don't have to give it all. If you have to risk injuring yourself or let in a goal, i rather let in a goal.
ahhaha..my friends owez told me that..dont injured ur self..its juz for fun.. huhuh..
they told me,im to aggressive.. dont know y..juz dont feel to let them score...
heheheh bcoz of that...i can taste how strong my frends foot..straight at my head..
like petr cech lol.. ahahha..lucky nothin happent..ahhaha sweat.gif sweat.gif
SUSfuzzy
post May 8 2009, 05:20 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Well, handling a powerful shot isn't really a problem, I've learned to save using the more "shock absorbent" part of my body (hands, shins) that pretty much does not hurt regardless of the shot power. Learn how to avoid getting hit in the face or groin and you will find it is not painful at all handling a power shot.

The real concern comes from those who have no idea how to control their movement in a close-up situation. I've had studs, boots and kicks planted all over my body because a striker cannot recognize when he/she had missed their chance to score against me. That's where the danger comes in, you might already have your hand on the ball, but they continue to kick it, opening up a real possibility of injuries to your fingers or body and for what? A goal that would have been disallowed anyway in a competition?
subtwo1
post May 13 2009, 06:07 PM

is this forum still active?

well, i would like to share my experience as goalkeeper n i also want to ask for some of you who got more experience than me.

actually, i could play at any position but i started as goalkeeper first. since then everyone know me as a goalkeeper. started play since i was form 1 in my school team. but at that time, it is really hard just to get a place in the team. still remember my first game.
when i was in form4, i was chosen to be in the first eleven player n i be the goalkeeper. at that time, i was at the peak of my performance. i played for my team through the school tournament n manage to win the final. at the final, it was a draw 1-1 game. i save the two last penalty out of five.
everybody was cheering for me. really great time it was.
but the next year, form5, i don't show any courage to be a good goalkeeper n even let a stupid goal in. n in one match, i even lost control of myself n just walk out of the gme just like tht.
in matriculation college, i tried out as a striker in the college team but still i got the goalkeeper post.
untill now, i played as a goalkeeper. i'm studying at usm, engineering campus.

i need others opinion on how can i get to be perform in my top performance again like i did in form4? n what should i do just to get the courage to be a brave goalkeeper because i now realise tht i loved this position n i want to be in this position everytime i get a chance. please to those out there
that have the asnwer, help me. sad.gif

tq.

schmeichel7
post May 13 2009, 06:43 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Being a goalkeeper is 45% physical and 55% mental.

I've been playing in goal all my life and what I can advice is to always have a good mentality.. Being a goallie is the hardest position because you get satisfaction only from making a save (rarely scoring one.. but not impossible) and also your mistake can always be costly. So you have to have a strong mentality so if you concede goals or make mistakes.. be positive and always learn from that mistake.. What did I do wrong? How could I prevent it? And so and so..

You must always try to make yourself huge in the goal to close the angle of the opponent.. When you are one to one with an opponent, don't dive instantly but wait for the right timing.... My hero Schmeichel was good on doing this.. Remember that to close an angle, you must know your positioning.. Don't just sit on the line of the goal.. you have to move a bit..

Another thing is you must have good reflexes.. You can stop a goal by all means, including your feet if the ball is too low for your hands to reach. Teaching yourself how to react with good reflexes can only come from training and frequent playing...

Courage cannot be trained but you have to have good mentality. Nobody dies being a goalkeeper (as long as you don't knock your head to the goalpost).. Just be careful and do it properly.. example, if you want to dive to an opponent, use your stomach or body to capture the ball.. not your hands.. in a way you will close the angle and block the ball (at the same time protect yourself).. Words are too hard to describe how to do it.. you might need proper training, coaching and also watch some good videos of great goalkeepers to understand. I played in goal since I was in standard 4.. so more than 20 years already being a goalkeeper... You will learn from experience..
subtwo1
post May 13 2009, 07:12 PM

tq for the advice. hope i can use it next time.

but still, i have one more question. what is the best diving position that can produce less harm?

evrytme i dive, i frequently hit my pelvis on the ground so hard even tears coming out from my eyes.

what usually do you wear, a short or long tracksuit? which one is usuallt most comfortable n protecting?

schmeichel7
post May 13 2009, 09:24 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(subtwo1 @ May 13 2009, 07:12 PM)

but still, i have one more question. what is the best diving position that can produce less harm?

evrytme i dive, i frequently hit my pelvis on the ground so hard even tears coming out from my eyes.

what usually do you wear, a short or long tracksuit? which one is usuallt most comfortable n protecting?
Best diving position?

When you want to make a diving save.. always try to minimize the impact of the pelvis... How to? It is all down to how your move your feet..

It is hard to describe by words.. but don't fall diving by your pelvis first... try to make it in sequence.. from feet to knee then thigh...

I think it is better if you watch this video:

About the pants... Tough one.. because both has their pros and cons..

Short gk pants: Pros - Helps your feet to move easier and more comfy to wear
Cons - Doesn't protect your knees

Long gk pants: Pros - minimizes the scratches and protects more on the knees
Cons - Can be less comfy and heavy to wear especially when raining

I've been playing in goal for indoor (futsal) and outdoor (pitch). So what I can say (this is my preference).. if you are playing on a hard pitch (sandy and hard) better opt for long pants.. If the pitch is soft, green grass.. then you can go for the short gk pants..

If playing futsal, best is always to wear long pants.. What I would do is to also wear knee guards (pads) and elbow pads in the goalkeeper pants and jersey to protect both knees and elbows because the hard futsal pitch is very painful....

Every goalkeeper has their preferences.. Some goalkeepers like my hero and Barthez wears long gk pants when it is freezing cold in the winter. Some like Massimo Taibi and Dimitri Kharine always wears long pants.....

So it is up to you.. Personally long pants would be great.. But short pants are ok as well..
TStenno
post May 13 2009, 11:31 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(subtwo1 @ May 13 2009, 07:12 PM)

Diving. Depending on what type of shots Ur catching, for grounders I dun think U shud have any problems. For knee to waist level (& up) shots, the objective shud be to get the ball to the ground first (after catching it), & use it to cushion Ur fall. Do catching & diving drills.

Clothing. I agree with schmeichel. It depends on the the surface Ur playing & own preferences. I started using keeper's long pants back in school becoz we normally play in rough surfaces, plus our training ground was full of pebbles. Then when I was in Uni, I used short GK pants. But when I was playing in the KL League, I almost always (99%) used normal soccer short pants. I only used long pants for training, I always overdress in training. Also, I've never used any guards whatsoever (except ankle guards), but there's no harm if U wanna use them.
subtwo1
post May 14 2009, 01:18 AM

i've been having some problem in quessing the high ball specially freekick's ball.

whre should i stand during free kick, on the line or, center or behind the wall?

n can someone tell me what is the technique of reading penalty kick? how can i decide quickly?
TStenno
post May 14 2009, 03:41 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(subtwo1 @ May 14 2009, 01:18 AM)
i've been having some problem in quessing the high ball specially freekick's ball.

whre should i stand during free kick, on the line or, center or behind the wall?

n can someone tell me what is the technique of reading penalty kick? how can i decide quickly?
For freekicks of course U stand behind the wall la, unless the freekick is inside the penalty box. Where U stand behind the wall depends on where the freekick is taken, & how many men U have inside the wall. It is very, very important for U to put enuff men inside the wall & that U do it as quickly as possible. Normally, for freekicks on the edge of the box, if it's in the middle then U shud have at least 5 men in, 6 is good. If it's on the corners than maybe 5 is the max.

Penalty, for the keeper & the taker, is a gamble, lottery. I haven't seen a keeper fast enuff to wait for the ball to be kicked before diving. I think what Jens Lehmann did during the World Cup 2006 was the best option, that is to study the penalty taking habit of the players. But of course, if Ur in a local tourney there's no chance to do it la. My advice is, dive one way & one way only, & dun commit Urself too early. Time Ur dive. Practice, practice, practice...
subtwo1
post May 14 2009, 10:48 PM

tq.

but most of the top goalkeeper i saw during the freekick, they usually stand the side where the wall is not placed. like iker casillas. but still, he can save the ball. why is that?

plus, what is the most suitable exercise i should do to get my arm stronger? is pushup enough? or more?
TStenno
post May 15 2009, 12:29 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

but most of the top goalkeeper i saw during the freekick, they usually stand the side where the wall is not placed. like iker casillas. but still, he can save the ball. why is that?

I'm sorry, but how long have U been a keeper ? I certainly dun expect this kinda question from someone who at least have 2-3 years playing in them.

The purpose of the wall is to protect U, & so that U dun have to cover too much area in freekick situations. If U stand behind the wall, or on the side where the wall is positioned, kinda beat the purpose, won't it ? In setting up the wall, U wanna make sure it covers the most area possible, but U have to stand somewhere in between the exposed post & the wall. There's only so many players in the world who can place a freekick accurately past the wall. Most will go to the unguarded part, usually straight to the keeper.
EyraYus
post May 15 2009, 09:02 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ May 15 2009, 12:29 PM)
I'm sorry, but how long have U been a keeper ? I certainly dun expect this kinda question from someone who at least have 2-3 years playing in them.

The purpose of the wall is to protect U, & so that U dun have to cover too much area in freekick situations. If U stand behind the wall, or on the side where the wall is positioned, kinda beat the purpose, won't it ? In setting up the wall, U wanna make sure it covers the most area possible, but U have to stand somewhere in between the exposed post & the wall. There's only so many players in the world who can place a freekick accurately past the wall. Most will go to the unguarded part, usually straight to the keeper.
this remind me of an incident back then when I`m still a full time goalie... free kick right on the edge of the box.. I positioned the wall where I want.. and getting ready for the kick..

And to my horror... My wall actually BOW DOWN!! (tunduk) and let the ball go through em.. and even that I`m able to get a hand on it..still cant keep it in..

Well...its my last match as a goalie... I hate them..Their excuse.."biasanya dalam training ko blh tangkap kalau takda wall!"...
Hated
post May 16 2009, 06:40 PM

waa...so glad to see this thread alive again..
cheers to all goalie here...
wusup yus..pe cer.. ? hahahah
TStenno
post May 16 2009, 10:46 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ May 15 2009, 09:02 PM)
this remind me of an incident back then when I`m still a full time goalie... free kick right on the edge of the box.. I positioned the wall where I want.. and getting ready for the kick..

And to my horror... My wall actually BOW DOWN!! (tunduk) and let the ball go through em.. and even that I`m able to get a hand on it..still cant keep it in..

Well...its my last match as a goalie... I hate them..Their excuse.."biasanya dalam training ko blh tangkap kalau takda wall!"...
Two things I certainly dun wan the wall to do : bow down or jump up.
schmeichel7
post May 17 2009, 12:32 AM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(subtwo1 @ May 14 2009, 10:48 PM)
tq.

plus, what is the most suitable exercise i should do to get my arm stronger? is pushup enough? or more?
You can't learn everything by just asking these basic questions in this forum......

You have to learn a lot from training, from watching games, training videos etc etc.. A wall is meant for a purpose... to help you block the opponent's goal attempt.. You must understand and command the line of the wall.. tell them how many players you want to line up (5, 6?) adjust where the wall should be placed.. make sure it blocks the view and angle for the opponent..

You have a lot to learn...

QUOTE(EyraYus @ May 15 2009, 09:02 PM)

Reminds me of the funny Roberto Carlos World Cup 2002 advert.. I think it was from Pepsi, where he bowed to the japanese wall and they bowed back to him (japanese culture.. bowing means sign of respect) then he scores.. heck, the goallie also bows... hahaha..

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: May 17 2009, 12:32 AM
Hated
post May 17 2009, 01:09 AM

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ May 17 2009, 01:32 AM)

Reminds me of the funny Roberto Carlos World Cup 2002 advert.. I think it was from Pepsi, where he bowed to the japanese wall and they bowed back to him (japanese culture.. bowing means sign of respect) then he scores.. heck, the goallie also bows... hahaha..
yah2..still remember that advert so funny lol..
huhuhuh nod.gif
subtwo1
post May 17 2009, 02:43 PM

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ May 17 2009, 12:32 AM)
You can't learn everything by just asking these basic questions in this forum......

You have to learn a lot from training, from watching games, training videos etc etc.. A wall is meant for a purpose... to help you block the opponent's goal attempt.. You must understand and command the line of the wall.. tell them how many players you want to line up (5, 6?) adjust where the wall should be placed.. make sure it blocks the view and angle for the opponent..

You have a lot to learn...
tq. i am training everyday. n i'm glad tht i made some imprvement in my game. but still, how can i get my arm stronger?
EyraYus
post May 17 2009, 07:08 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ May 17 2009, 12:32 AM)

can anyone help me repair my youtube link? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by EyraYus: May 17 2009, 07:12 PM

51 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:02 AM