51 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Discussion Goalkeeper's thread, Goalies welcomed...football, futsal...

glozz
post Mar 6 2007, 08:38 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

Oh; hitting a finger and bending the finger back is part and parcel of the learning process. Mine swelled up so many times the first couple of years I lost count how many times already.

My balls have been kicked, hit, stepped on (thankfully without studs), etc. so much it's become natural for me liao. Hopefully it doesn't affect my sperm count. tongue.gif

It's all a question of technique. Simply put; if it hurts, you're doing something wrong.

Pertama is near Sogo. Al-ikhsan in BB plaza will have a good range.

This post has been edited by glozz: Mar 7 2007, 04:41 PM
the_registered
post Mar 7 2007, 04:26 PM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

Sometimes, I play as goally. My problem is with goal kicks. Cannot kick far. How to?
glozz
post Mar 7 2007, 04:39 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

Football or futsal?

Either-way; it doesn't matter. Most people would tell you just to brush up on your kicking power. I would say; work on your technique.

This will be abit hard to describe; but I'll try. I'm assuming you intend to goal-kick the ball to be meaningful for one of your teammates; and not just booting it for sheer power. Therefore; you should work on your ball chipping technique.

Ideally; use the instep of your feet and in ONE swooping technique; kick the ball using the instep at the lowest portion of the ball. This should give you a curvy cross. Not the most powerful; but keep developing this technique and if you want more power, start kicking a heavier ball to develop your power.

Kicking it this way should give you maximum height with minimum backlift. If the ball is not going high enough; adjust the power, or your kicking position.

This post has been edited by glozz: Mar 7 2007, 04:41 PM
scorps
post Mar 7 2007, 06:42 PM

Something you call love, but I call sex
9,572 posts

QUOTE(the_registered @ Mar 7 2007, 05:26 PM)
Sometimes, I play as goally. My problem is with goal kicks. Cannot kick far. How to?
make practice more and more,
the_registered
post Mar 8 2007, 07:59 PM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Mar 7 2007, 04:39 PM)
Football or futsal?

Either-way; it doesn't matter. Most people would tell you just to brush up on your kicking power. I would say; work on your technique.

This will be abit hard to describe; but I'll try. I'm assuming you intend to goal-kick the ball to be meaningful for one of your teammates; and not just booting it for sheer power. Therefore; you should work on your ball chipping technique.

Ideally; use the instep of your feet and in ONE swooping technique; kick the ball using the instep at the lowest portion of the ball. This should give you a curvy cross. Not the most powerful; but keep developing this technique and if you want more power, start kicking a heavier ball to develop your power.

Kicking it this way should give you maximum height with minimum backlift. If the ball is not going high enough; adjust the power, or your kicking position.
Your chipping techniques are going to be helpful not only for me, but for many others who are reading this. Thanks. I think I can't chip the ball because I intend to give a long pass to the strikers up agead, just like in EPL tongue.gif So how ar? Any exercises to increase kicking strength?
TStenno
post Mar 9 2007, 08:34 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(the_registered @ Mar 8 2007, 07:59 PM)
Your chipping techniques are going to be helpful not only for me, but for many others who are reading this. Thanks. I think I can't chip the ball because I intend to give a long pass to the strikers up agead, just like in EPL  tongue.gif  So how ar? Any exercises to increase kicking strength?
Currently I'm having this prob, can't kick very far & my goalkicks almost always will curve. I didn't have this prob before, just that after stopping (playing football) for almost 3 years, I seemed to forgot how to kick.

Recently I've solved this prob. My coach told me the key is Ur other leg (the one not used for kicking). It needs to be close to Ur kicking foot, about one and a half feet, or less. That will give U the power. If U see experienced keepers, they dun really have to kick hard, feet to ball contact is perfect.

Absorbing impact from shots Cushioning the ball is Ur elbow's job, very little should be passed to Ur wrists & fingers. That's why U should never attempt to catch direct shots with straight hands. I guess Lehmann is very good at catching these kinda shots, but I guess any experienced keeper shouldn't find it to be prob.
glozz
post Mar 9 2007, 09:44 AM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

Hmm; interesting. That would explain why sometimes I'm under-kicking the ball when I'm half asleep or not really concentrating. Will experiment with the foot position and check. Thanks.
TStenno
post Mar 9 2007, 10:28 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Mar 9 2007, 09:44 AM)
Hmm; interesting. That would explain why sometimes I'm under-kicking the ball when I'm half asleep or not really concentrating. Will experiment with the foot position and check. Thanks.
& another thing I forgot to mention is U have to have Ur eyes on the ball at all time when kicking.
glozz
post Mar 9 2007, 11:49 AM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

Oh; that's generally understood. I've been working on my dual-focus for widescreen awareness though.
Howard
post Mar 12 2007, 08:31 PM

167 posts

Do you all know where can I buy GK jersey????
SUSmxxuang
post Mar 12 2007, 09:22 PM

Retired Ah Long
2,041 posts

Injured my left ring finger...Now cannot bend my finger properly mad.gif
FauxHawk
post Mar 12 2007, 09:32 PM

<3
1,340 posts

QUOTE(Howard @ Mar 12 2007, 08:31 PM)
QUOTE(glozz @ Mar 6 2007, 12:28 PM)
Ermm; if you mean the sleeved shirts with pads; They're called goalie jerseys or goalie tops. You can find them in Pertama complex or Al-ikhsan. They're quite hard to find in normal retail shops.

As for helping; obviously. Ultimately the perfect technique is to dive without skinning the elbows; achieved via skimming the surface and landing at one go rather than dragging the elbow through the surface; whereby the friction would tear the skin. But to cater for errors made, wear one since none of us have too much skin to shed and we all make mistakes. heh.
I'm gonna buy one too...soon.....
glozz
post Mar 13 2007, 03:44 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

QUOTE(mxxuang @ Mar 12 2007, 09:22 PM)
Injured my left ring finger...Now cannot bend my finger properly  mad.gif
How'd you injure it eh? Would suggest that you combine heat creams with ice packs for relief.

This post has been edited by glozz: Mar 13 2007, 03:44 PM
TStenno
post Mar 15 2007, 11:07 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(Howard @ Mar 12 2007, 08:31 PM)
Any good sports store/shop should have at least one model. The difference is if u go to places like Nike Store or RSH, U'll only find branded ones, usually expensive. Go to Pertama complex, or any small shops & U can fidn cheaper ones, usually less than RM40. Or else U could just look for long-sleeved jersey, the paddings (usually on the elbows and shoulders) are not really that useful. Up to one's preference. I've stopped using goalkeepers jersey since 1998, I always use short sleeved jerseys, but I do have one long sleeve jersey for really cold games in the rain.

To prevent fingers from getting injured, especially in futsal games, tape Ur fingers. U can use athletic tapes, or normal thin surgical tapes (about RM4 per roll). U can also tape (or use elastic braces) for Ur wrists. Those expensive elastic finger guards are just for show only, tape is better.
seruzz2003
post Mar 15 2007, 07:14 PM

1,241 posts

i'm quite a good goalie,but my only problem is...I CAN'T DIVE.....dunno why,phobia and scared of diving,have this feeling i'm gonna break a few bones in my body by doing a dive
glozz
post Mar 15 2007, 07:17 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

It's all in your head. By practising good technique; you minimise impact. To me though; you seem to be scared of the ball.
FauxHawk
post Mar 16 2007, 06:21 PM

<3
1,340 posts

..BB plaza's al-ikhsan no more Gk jerseys already...

and i can dive, but only to my right.. can't seem to get myself to dive to the left,just doesn't feel normal to me...is it cause i'm right handed?

This post has been edited by FauxHawk: Mar 16 2007, 06:22 PM
SUSmxxuang
post Mar 16 2007, 08:21 PM

Retired Ah Long
2,041 posts

QUOTE(seruzz2003 @ Mar 15 2007, 07:14 PM)
i'm quite a good goalie,but my only problem is...I CAN'T DIVE.....dunno why,phobia and scared of diving,have this feeling i'm gonna break a few bones in my body by doing a dive
Playing with you for 2 years now, here's some comments if you wanna do goalkeeping :

1) Use your hands!!!
2) Fear not the ball
3) Positioning

QUOTE(FauxHawk @ Mar 16 2007, 06:21 PM)
..BB plaza's al-ikhsan no more Gk jerseys already...
and i can dive, but only to my right.. can't seem to get myself to dive to the left,just doesn't feel normal to me...is it cause i'm right handed?
You're more reluctant to dive to the right side? Yeah common problem, I have this same problem too...Can you pros help us? I'm also has the tendency to dive to the right.
glozz
post Mar 17 2007, 01:41 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

Actually; I used to have the same problem last time. I believe it's all in your head. But try to practise diving more to your weaker side during trainings and check your positions. If you're prone to diving a certain way; the body positioning would be the first to go.

I'm currently working on my 1-on-1 blocks on my weaker side. So; it's always a work-in-progress with the mind.
schmeichel7
post Mar 22 2007, 01:26 AM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

I've been playing as goalie for the whole life.. Started to play when i was 10 years old. I remember the sweet memories of being in goal while playing with mateds that was in form 5 while i was in standard 6. One time, there was a penalty and this dude whacked the ball direct to me and hit my stomach. Sweet..

Fingers getting sprained, knees and elbows feeling sore.. That's the package of being a goalie.. But the satisfaction u get when u are able to perform an acrobatic save, and your mates are in awe.. is priceless..

Being a goalie, u need to have very very good reflexes. Meaning u know what to do instantly in a fraction of seconds. U shouldn't think about what to do, but u should know what u should do... It all comes to practise. Things that you should bare in mind...

1. Positioning. The best is to be the center of the post. If an attack is coming from left side for example, make sure you face to the left and try to close the angle. Don't be too close to the goal line, try to be in front a bit.. If you are too close near the line, it is difficult to save a high or low attempt from the opponent, sometimes..

2. When you want to make a save, just throw yourself. Don't worry about you, but be careful la!

3. If an opponent kicks a ball and it is flying high, best is to push it out to the side or up. Doing this will make you look good and awesome (like Schmeichel usually does) but be careful when doing it.

4. If there is a high ball, 50-50 ball.. the best is for you to catch it. But judge it wisely...

5. When there is an attempt or one by one, throw yourself to the ground (slide) and make sure your stomach is facing the ball..

U cannot play in goal for 1-2 years and become so good afterwards. It takes time and practise.. and patience also. Because it's 25% physical and 75% psychology.

51 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0164sec    1.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:35 PM