Discussion Goalkeeper's thread, Goalies welcomed...football, futsal...

Howard
post Mar 12 2007, 08:31 PM

167 posts

Do you all know where can I buy GK jersey????
Howard
post Jun 5 2008, 02:38 PM

167 posts

this thread seems to be dying soon...

hey, no other active GKs over here already???

Anyway, I'm a GK too.

I normally play at Kuchai Lama Score Arena on every Friday Night @ 8.30pm-10.30pm @ Court 6. Do drop by and say hi if you're playing there at the same time too... biggrin.gif
Howard
post Jun 19 2008, 04:46 PM

167 posts

where did all other GKs go... sweat.gif

Just so y'all know, Glozz & I are making another round of online glove shopping spree by next week...

Whoever's interested, do PM either one of us to place your order. wink.gif
Howard
post Jun 23 2008, 10:59 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(fredzzz @ Jun 23 2008, 05:59 AM)
hi am newbie here...am also play as GK. am looking for glove and its very difficult to find in malaysia. i mean the better quality 1. any suggestion? and am interested for the GK coaching. any info?
thanks...^^
Hi Fredzzz, welcome to the GK family. I'm quite new to this forums too, just started being very active 1 month ago... tongue.gif

You have met one of the requirement to shop online by mentioning "its very difficult to find in malaysia". biggrin.gif In fact, if you are looking for "better quality", I'd strongly suggest you to buy it online, all gloves in malaysia are either very standard quality or extremely overpriced... I've seen a very standard non-finger save gloves is being sold @ RM 100++... ridiculous! vmad.gif

Anyway, below are some of the online store you could browse around to see what kind of gloves suit u or meet your preference... bear in mind shipping fee is involved here, but you can always join shipping with us... laugh.gif

www.prodirectsoccer.com
www.keeperskit.co.uk
www.just-keepers.com
www.soccer.com
www.great-save.com

if you are not so sure what you want to get... glozz can help you out, he's very good at poisoning when it comes to glove... brows.gif

more poisonous than cobra king... sweat.gif
Howard
post Jun 23 2008, 11:44 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Jun 23 2008, 11:19 AM)
Overpriced ? Hmm... hmm.gif

Fingertip Replique E5S (my current favorite) goes for about RM110 in Pertama. Maybe U can get for around RM100 la. Fingertip replique E6S from Prodirect is 19.99 pounds, around RM128. & that's is minus shipping. Not really overpriced I think. But I'll be the first to admit Malaysian market lacks choices. & there's simply not enuff demand. Nobody wanted (or even knew) about Sells gloves in Malaysia, so no importer la.

But then again, if U have money ... just go for it la.  icon_rolleyes.gif
You need to calculate the "price exclude VAT" for overseas purchase @ prodirectsoccer.com . biggrin.gif

yes, indeed, malaysian market lacks choices... I'm totally fed up and hence I opted for online store, which there are plenty of choices i can browse around, I spent about 3 hours in browsing for gloves in my previous order... sweat.gif

my current favorite is Adidas Fingersave Alround E6s... very comfy and it comes with 6mm ultra soft latex, durability is very good as well, used it for about 5 matches still no wear & tear, except there's a slight wear on the finger part, got stepped on by a striker yesterday... mad.gif cry.gif

No body wanted Sells gloves? glozz got a few of them... tongue.gif
Howard
post Jun 23 2008, 01:10 PM

167 posts

In futsal, any kind of injuries you could imagine is always POSSIBLE. shakehead.gif

A fren of mine almost had his finger broken while goalkeeping... he was trying to catch a high ball when a striker attempts to head the ball into the net, when the striker jumps, he causes the GK lost balance and the ball hit his ring finger directly and causes hyperextension, you can almost see the bone joint coming out between the finger and the palm... i almost had phobia on this and was thinking to quit futsal... unsure.gif sweat.gif

Personally I also had quite a number of finger injuries that stopped me from playing for a couple of weeks... ever since i realised there are gloves with fingersave feature, i stopped purchasing non-fs gloves. I'd rather spend a hundred bucks more for better protection... rather than losing my fingers due to some hero-wannabe strikers... which is not worth it at all... shakehead.gif

glozz, you're still young lah... i thought u wanted to be like an old fren of yours that is about 40+yo but yet still very fit and agile... brows.gif

you are quite there already, stop giving yourself excuses... icon_rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
Howard
post Jun 24 2008, 01:11 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(fredzzz @ Jun 23 2008, 03:47 PM)
hello all goalie....^^
good day....
hmm any recommend for finger save glove?
so confusing i saw the pro direct web, a lot of choices and prices.haha...but i love to browse there...^^
wat u mean by join shipping? how?
drool.gif
Recommendation? Well, go talk to glozz... he'll make sure you have an eyeful in choosing gloves... hehe thumbup.gif

yeap, prodirect is a bit messy on the website design, but just focus on the goalkeeper gloves section la... wink.gif

when ordering online, not only the price of the goods you have to pay for, you need to take the shipping fee into the account, which is a.k.a Delivery Charges... If you want to join shipping, we'll divide the shipping fee, can save a lil' bit on that. smile.gif

QUOTE(fredzzz @ Jun 23 2008, 07:31 PM)
wow u must be got quite numbers of gloves glozz???
He hasn't told you the TOTAL of gloves he had yet, he got it like to an extent where he had to give his gloves away to his frens FOC... you'll be surprised to know... biggrin.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Howard: Jun 24 2008, 01:14 AM
Howard
post Jun 24 2008, 09:41 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(fredzzz @ Jun 24 2008, 01:16 AM)
hahaha... i wont dare to know, sure will shock me to death...hahaha... notworthy.gif
Glozz u buy the gloves for collection or u use it all?
would like to see ur collection.
wanna ask u guys, why u all choose ur position as GK? why u all so dedicated as GK? icon_rolleyes.gif
well I started playing futsal as a GK 5 years ago... why dedicated as GK? there's really no reason behind it... just like it loh... cool.gif

oh well, let's just say that I'm not very good at dribbling and shooting, perhaps that explains everything? tongue.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Howard: Jun 24 2008, 09:42 AM
Howard
post Jul 3 2008, 01:45 PM

167 posts

Hey GKs, we will make another online order this month, prolly mid of the month...

whoever's interested, please post a reply here or PM for more information. smile.gif
Howard
post Jul 6 2008, 01:54 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(tengkurex @ Jul 6 2008, 01:47 PM)
Due to my increasing weight. Can't run faster anymore. So I switched to goalie.
then should do more running and keep yourself fit man... sweat.gif smile.gif
Howard
post Jul 13 2008, 09:44 PM

167 posts

Today's session... all i can say is.... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Howard
post Jul 13 2008, 11:44 PM

167 posts

ah well... his blunder in euro explains a lot... biggrin.gif

hope chelsea new manager won't sell him off... smile.gif
Howard
post Sep 30 2008, 01:17 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(zeneyam @ Sep 29 2008, 06:41 PM)
hai everyone there,im new to join this thread...hehe.i kind of suddenly love to play as a keeper role...but everytime i play,my knee,ankle is bleeding..what to buy to protect my skin when i am playing futsal ?thanks !  goalie the best!!
first of all, i am very curious why your ankle would bleed as a goalie...

anyway, knee & elbow injury is very common for new GK, to temporary protect yourself, go get elbow pads & knee pads to prevent yourself from getting scrapes/burns/scratch or worst to worst, bleed. However, you should not rely on these equipments too much as you should practice yourself to play with a proper technique, which could reduce the risk of getting unwanted injury such as joint dislocation or, whatever, futsal can have lots of injury wonderment...

watch more GK training videos to learn how to improve your GKeeping skills... There are plenty of free coaching on the Internet... Good luck and enjoyz

This post has been edited by Howard: Sep 30 2008, 01:20 AM
Howard
post Nov 25 2008, 02:14 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Nov 24 2008, 10:43 AM)
Ball is fine. Just that it leaks air quite bad. Oh well; I've got a pump; so no worries. I hope to buy a rugby ball later on today for use with tonight's session.

Added on November 24, 2008, 10:46 amAnyway; beats me, but Howard seems to think that it does make a diff. Always insists on using the stitched one instead of the glue wan. But then again; Howard's brain is kinda "stitched" too anyways.  tongue.gif
hell yes it does make a BIG difference! if you want to know, just try wetting the ball with water and you'll see the difference in material used...

secondly, i dunno what that kind of material called but it makes the ball "harder" and hence causing more impact after shooting...

thirdly, glued ball is more slippery when it gets wet from sweat or, perhaps, saliva... unsure.gif

lastly, i dun like it.... it actually killed off one of my very first glove with FS, imagine a big chunk of latex came off your glove after saving... NOT COOL bruce.gif

This post has been edited by Howard: Nov 25 2008, 02:15 AM
Howard
post Nov 25 2008, 08:04 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Nov 25 2008, 11:14 AM)
Nolarr; it's more like I run "assisted futsal GK training" sessions. I setup the coaching sessions and join in the training with a couple of other GKs (Howard used to train as well until he became too good for us liao  icon_question.gif ) and help them with their techniques and any problems. But I'm not a coach per se as I need the training myself; 'cause I don't think I'm good enough to be one.
very funny.... vmad.gif yawn.gif

I am in a damn bad shape now... i seriously need to get rid of all the projects over my shoulder soon before all my limbs become rusty... icon_question.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by Howard: Nov 25 2008, 08:05 PM
Howard
post Dec 10 2008, 07:39 PM

167 posts

you bugger won't stop buying stuff... recession lah!!! brows.gif
Howard
post Feb 1 2009, 05:59 PM

167 posts

it's almost certainly quiet everywhere in the forums for the past few days... forums also wanna celebrate holidays mah... hehe
Howard
post Feb 26 2009, 11:46 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Feb 17 2009, 07:10 PM)
In all honesty; Adidas gloves tend to be overpriced and not as good as what most people think. Their gloves tend not to be durable; and I've got the Adidas FS Carbon 2008 model. Just my opinions though. Wait till Howard the Adidas FS Fanboy comes here.  laugh.gif  rclxms.gif
here i come...! flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif

am using Adidas FS Alround & Carbon, '08 model... In overall, quite satisfied with the build quality and durability...

no gloves are best gloves... it all come down to your personal preference (build quality) and skills (durability)...

do go to some sports shops to test out different brands of gloves to understand your glove size as the size varies in different brand.

This post has been edited by Howard: Feb 26 2009, 11:54 AM
Howard
post Mar 6 2009, 07:42 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Mar 6 2009, 04:02 PM)
Lesson number 1. Change your name from Khai. Try something manly; like Kha-isu-ijai. Try to avoid names like Howard as it's kinda sissy.
you certainly thought that LYN is only accessible by you... vmad.gif mad.gif

anyway, glozz, i'm looking for a new glove, let me know when is your next order date, i'll tag along

This post has been edited by Howard: Mar 6 2009, 07:42 PM
Howard
post May 18 2009, 02:33 PM

167 posts

to avoid injury, it is best you go through proper training and practise as often as possible... proper technique will not harm your body in any way, except one thing, you can't avoid BULL player from hurting you... smile.gif

just think back why Cech wears his headgear, why almunia suffer ankle injury, why van der sar was absent from the game, why ben foster's fingers were broke... it is all resulted from BULL players... sweat.gif

eh giotto, best lah your animated signature... hahaha biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Howard: May 18 2009, 02:37 PM

0.0400sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:50 PM