148 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

U Mobile Fan Club v2 - New UMI Plan!, Questions? Problems? Deals? Come here!

sms2u
post Dec 13 2013, 10:10 AM

3,281 posts

QUOTE(rontol @ Dec 12 2013, 10:04 PM)
What do you guys think of upcoming 4g/lte announcement?

Will there be any diff or same ol story?
U MOBILE AWARDED LTE SPECTRUM

Kuala Lumpur, 6th December, 2012 – U Mobile Sdn Bhd, Malaysia’s most dynamic and innovative telco service provider, is pleased to be awarded a 20MHz block of the 2.6GHz spectrum by the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC).

In a letter issued by MCMC yesterday, it was outlined that U Mobile was awarded a spectrum block which the company notes as strategic.

“The position of our block of spectrum is strategic in that it provides U Mobile with the option of sharing spectrum and possibly collaborating through smart partnerships with other telcos,” said Jaffa Sany Ariffin, U Mobile CEO. “By sharing spectrum we would hope to benefit from reduced rollout costs and pass those savings onto our consumers.”

Jaffa added, “When LTE services are commercially available, the benefit will be an enriching and exciting mobile experience for our customers and it will undoubtedly bring significant change to the way we experience mobile communication services. We thank the MCMC for awarding us the spectrum and we look forward to providing our customers with even faster mobile internet services.”

The allocation of the 2.6GHz spectrum blocks by MCMC to eight telecommunications players signifies the next phase of the evolution of mobile internet in Malaysia, as it provides the gateway for 4G or Long-Term Evolution (LTE) technology.

Through its LTE services, U Mobile will aim to provide an even better value proposition to its customers with improved technology delivering mobile internet with speeds up to 100 Mbps, better smartphones and applications.

As a result of the spectrum allocation, U Mobile is well placed to play its role in assisting the Government in achieving its national agenda to provide high speed mobile data services for all Malaysians.

To get the latest updates on U Mobile products and services, please visit www.u.com.my
rontol
post Dec 13 2013, 01:15 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(sms2u @ Dec 13 2013, 10:10 AM)
U MOBILE AWARDED LTE SPECTRUM

Kuala Lumpur, 6th December, 2012 – U Mobile Sdn Bhd, Malaysia’s most dynamic and innovative telco service provider, is pleased to be awarded a 20MHz block of the 2.6GHz spectrum by the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC).

In a letter issued by MCMC yesterday, it was outlined that U Mobile was awarded a spectrum block which the company notes as strategic.

“The position of our block of spectrum is strategic in that it provides U Mobile with the option of sharing spectrum and possibly collaborating through smart partnerships with other telcos,” said Jaffa Sany Ariffin, U Mobile CEO. “By sharing spectrum we would hope to benefit from reduced rollout costs and pass those savings onto our consumers.”

Jaffa added, “When LTE services are commercially available, the benefit will be an enriching and exciting mobile experience for our customers and it will undoubtedly bring significant change to the way we experience mobile communication services. We thank the MCMC for awarding us the spectrum and we look forward to providing our customers with even faster mobile internet services.”

The allocation of the 2.6GHz spectrum blocks by MCMC to eight telecommunications players signifies the next phase of the evolution of mobile internet in Malaysia, as it provides the gateway for 4G or Long-Term Evolution (LTE) technology.

Through its LTE services, U Mobile will aim to provide an even better value proposition to its customers with improved technology delivering mobile internet with speeds up to 100 Mbps, better smartphones and applications.

As a result of the spectrum allocation, U Mobile is well placed to play its role in assisting the Government in achieving its national agenda to provide high speed mobile data services for c all Malaysians.

To get the latest updates on U Mobile products and services, please visit www.u.com.my
Yeah...know this...

I meant for 17th dec event... Do you guys think they will integrate with existing prepaid package?

hkenh
post Dec 13 2013, 08:33 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(rontol @ Dec 13 2013, 01:15 PM)
Yeah...know this...

I meant for 17th dec event... Do you guys think they will integrate with existing prepaid package?
Hope so. . . other telcos postpaid plans prices are really unreasonable. That is the sole reason I'm using prepaid and U Mobile.
epo
post Dec 14 2013, 01:03 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 11 2013, 02:39 PM)
3G
Signal always shows very good - full bar but cant surf

you mean if 3g, it is not sharing roaming on Maxis network?
Korek cheepet, user problem... Kakaka...
When in building and ur H showed low signal, force ur hp to 2G only then u'll not have any prob with call/sms
But for data will slow max to 64kbps only so try to search free wifi around...
quovadis123
post Dec 17 2013, 02:53 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

Hi Guys,

Recently change new phone, lenovo. I'm using Umobile postpaid U88.
http://www.u.com.my/postpaid-packages/new-postpaid-plans
My issue is,
I must on the data roaming to use the data of Umobile, last time in another phone just on data then can use data.
If not on the data roaming, the data is not working.

I want to ask is this data roaming will incur more charges to me if I call locally?
How about the data charges, will it incur additional charge or deduct my current quota?

This post has been edited by quovadis123: Dec 17 2013, 03:06 AM
TSwcypierre
post Dec 17 2013, 11:47 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

For those that are asking for the 4g LTE:
www.lowyat.net/2013/12/u-mobile-launches-4g-lte-available-for-almost-all-existing-and- new-prepaid-postpaid-and-broadband-plan-subscribers/
wkkm007
post Dec 18 2013, 02:53 PM

3,123 posts

TSwcypierre
post Dec 19 2013, 10:03 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 17 2013, 02:53 AM)
Hi Guys,

Recently change new phone, lenovo. I'm using Umobile postpaid U88.
http://www.u.com.my/postpaid-packages/new-postpaid-plans
My issue is,
I must on the data roaming to use the data of Umobile, last time in another phone just on data then can use data.
If not on the data roaming, the data is not working.

I want to ask is this data roaming will incur more charges to me if I call locally?
How about the data charges, will it incur additional charge or deduct my current quota?

are you seeing Maxis as the operator instead of U Mobile? As if you need roaming locally then it means that it can't find U Mobile's network within your range sweat.gif

btw, turn it off when you're at overseas or,,,,,,,,,,, face the consequences brows.gif

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Dec 18 2013, 02:53 PM)
rclxms.gif Where did you took this speedtest?
quovadis123
post Dec 19 2013, 11:57 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Dec 19 2013, 10:03 AM)
are you seeing Maxis as the operator instead of U Mobile? As if you need roaming locally then it means that it can't find U Mobile's network within your range  sweat.gif

btw, turn it off when you're at overseas or,,,,,,,,,,, face the consequences  brows.gif
rclxms.gif  Where did you took this speedtest?
Already turn it on, I refer to Umobile FAQ.
1. What are the charges for a call made while on DR?

Call charges are the same. There are no differences in rates for making calls whether in our coverage area or in domestic roaming coverage.

2. What are the charges for using data in DR?

You will be charged 5 sen/MB if you do not have any data plan.
TSwcypierre
post Dec 19 2013, 12:08 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 19 2013, 11:57 AM)
Already turn it on, I refer to Umobile FAQ.
1. What are the charges for a call made while on DR?

Call charges are the same. There are no differences in rates for making calls whether in our coverage area or in domestic roaming coverage.

2. What are the charges for using data in DR?

You will be charged 5 sen/MB if you do not have any data plan.
I've overlooked your question sweat.gif . anyway, it is the same. But my point is that turn it off when you're overseas or you'll be charged like hell
quovadis123
post Dec 19 2013, 12:14 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Dec 19 2013, 12:08 PM)
I've overlooked your question  sweat.gif . anyway, it is the same. But my point is that turn it off when you're overseas or you'll be charged like hell
Ok... No go oversea. Now economy bad le, everything d price increase.
Where got MOOD want go? sad.gif
If go oversea mean emigrate already, will use another telco. smile.gif
TSwcypierre
post Dec 19 2013, 12:18 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 19 2013, 12:14 PM)
Ok... No go oversea. Now economy bad le, everything d price increase.
Where got MOOD want go?  sad.gif
If go oversea mean emigrate already, will use another telco.  smile.gif
aiyo....... its not a must that you need to go for vacation ma....... probably work related leh?
wkkm007
post Dec 19 2013, 01:23 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Dec 19 2013, 08:03 AM)
are you seeing Maxis as the operator instead of U Mobile? As if you need roaming locally then it means that it can't find U Mobile's network within your range  sweat.gif

btw, turn it off when you're at overseas or,,,,,,,,,,, face the consequences  brows.gif
rclxms.gif  Where did you took this speedtest?
Berjaya Time Square inside the mall only blink.gif
andrewtho
post Dec 20 2013, 10:35 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

LTE but does not support Apple products because they do not have agreement to do so
sms2u
post Dec 23 2013, 09:49 AM

3,281 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Dec 20 2013, 10:35 AM)
LTE but does not support  Apple products because they do not have agreement to do so
How it regconise it is apple? Using ios? LTE support all other device including samsung?
TSwcypierre
post Dec 23 2013, 11:30 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(sms2u @ Dec 23 2013, 09:49 AM)
How it regconise it is apple? Using ios? LTE support all other device including samsung?
For LTE, it has a lot of different bands(frequency), not just LTE though, our existing 2g, 2.5g, 3g and 3.5g have a lot of different bands as well.

Taking iPhone 5 as an example: http://www.gsmarena.com/apple_iphone_5-4910.php

As the LTE band that UMobile is using is LTE 2600 and iPhone doesn't supports it, so iPhone can't use the LTE connection due to lack of support for the LTE 2600 band.

In conclusion, the support for your phone is dependent on whether the LTE band that is used is supported by your phone or not, and the problem is because of the operator that you are using are not granted with the band that your phone supports sweat.gif

If you have an iPhone 5 and you wanted to use the LTE network, then you will need to MNP to Celcom or Maxis as they are granted with the LTE 1800 band which is supported by iPhone 5
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Dec 23 2013, 11:43 AM
tommy3679582
post Dec 23 2013, 11:44 AM

61 posts

Hi. Good morning everyone.

i got a question regarding the new rm68 plan.
Can we choose our own number for supplementary lines ?
for example can i switch my mum maxis number (without contract) to be my supplementary line ?
orangutan
post Dec 24 2013, 10:18 AM

671 posts

QUOTE(tommy3679582 @ Dec 23 2013, 11:44 AM)
Hi. Good morning everyone.

i got a question regarding the new rm68 plan.
Can we choose our own number for supplementary lines ?
for example can i switch my mum maxis number (without contract) to be my supplementary line ?
Should be ok. Pay all dues to M first before MNP to U. You'll need to go to service center to do that.

orangutan
post Dec 24 2013, 10:23 AM

671 posts

I just renew my UMI 38 yesterday (auto-renew). They gave me bonus data of 250 MB but funny thing is that the bonus will expire by 31 December 2013.

Only 7 days to use the bonus 250MB!!!??? Am I missing something here?
idoblu
post Dec 24 2013, 10:34 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(orangutan @ Dec 24 2013, 10:23 AM)
I just renew my UMI 38 yesterday (auto-renew). They gave me bonus data of 250 MB but funny thing is that the bonus will expire by 31 December 2013.

Only 7 days to use the bonus 250MB!!!??? Am I missing something here?
Yup that's correct. The free part is valid for 7 days only so use it up before then

http://savemoney.my/u-mobile-with-umi-28-3...-december-2013/

148 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:48 AM