QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jul 7 2013, 12:31 AM)
30k? Honda already said 4k for the battery, and the Prius won't be so much more expensive. Also, the Prius 1 and 3 were very reliable, perhaps the C is too. Toyota has invested a lot into these cars, unlike cars like the Vios which were probably very cheap to develop. The Yaris (Vios hatchback) isn't very reliable, the Prius is extremely reliable.
But yes, mechanics may not be able to handle them...
As for airbags: They work very well, and especially side airbags are crucial IMHO. Of course you do need to wear your seatbelt at all times, while that is important for all cars it is even more so with airbags, as they can kill you if you don't wear your seatbelt (though you'll probably die anyway). Yes, even at slow speeds, like 30 km/h not wearing your seatbelt can be deadly.
As for feeling fast: A Kancil will make you feel like a racing driver at 80. A Mercedes S class will feel slower than that at 250.

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 7 2013, 08:50 AM)
my Prius regular maintenance is dirt cheap, may be even cheaper than a Vios as not much wear and tear parts to replace. Beltless operation, electric motor is zero maintenance, in case you never bothered to check. that 30k you mentioned will probably fit more for less known for durability brands that will have gearbox/engine problems.
(Prius with engine braking tech allows the brake pads to be replaced at 100k miles ~160k km, mine has reached 50k+ and still need not replace)
3 million Toyota hybrids now on the road and Toyota will have problems such as insufficient technician/foreman to service their own hybrid? Like it or not, technicians/foreman will have to upgrade to follow the trend, the same goes with turbo engines. SkyActiv is another new type of engine. People adapt, if they don't they are left out and opportunity arises for others. I seriously we shouldn't be having this kind of thinking and stick with the old NA ICE.
I know generally Malaysians are ignorant about tech, but even in FnF?

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 7 2013, 09:06 AM)
TS, i chose Prius C for you due to the following reasons. (As i have first hand experience with my Prius)
**Pros**
-Reliable Engine (Taken for Prius mk1 1.5L, tuned & upgraded for current Prius C)
-No 1 fuel saver car, easily reach 22-25km/L (~4L/100km)
-7 Airbags
-CBU Japan
-Good CVT transmission (Much better than my mom's CRZ, sorry CRZ fans/owners. They don't jerk and they are very reliable, just look up e-CVT design @Google.
-Great discount now, who knows if the tax exemption will ever be renewed for next year?
-Saves alot of $$$, BN is struggling to keep RON95 @RM1.90
-Regenerative braking, you rarely need to change your brake pads, how cool is that?

-Travel locally more with your family without worrying about petrol price!

**Cons**
-Not very likeable interior, apparently your $$$ goes under the hood more
-Subjective rear exterior design (I don't like it too)
-Not trying to be biased here, but nothing comes up anymore
Prius HSD is about efficiency, though performance aren't really lacking with all that torque from the electric motor, but it isn't exactly cutting everyone else too.
Your $$$, your choice

Thanks for the advise~
Im going to visit the showroom later~