131 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

martian7793
post Jul 28 2013, 07:50 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 28 2013, 07:20 PM)
The K46 looks somewhat like the Vivobook what?  hmm.gif
Can consider these as well:
14"
Acer V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200 + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD

Lenovo Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Sony
Vaio SVF14218SGW, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors: white/black
SVF14217SG, i3-3227U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors:black/white/pink

Toshiba Satellite S40t-AS102X, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2449[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; color: silver
ya..but k46 don have touch screen sad.gif
ya..i m now consider these few choices..i prefer light and thin one.. biggrin.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 28 2013, 08:10 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(martian7793 @ Jul 28 2013, 07:50 PM)
ya..but k46 don have touch screen  sad.gif
ya..i m now consider these few choices..i prefer light and thin one.. biggrin.gif
Do you really need touch screen? haha
It just a marketing gimmick... too much "poking" will only ruin the notebook's monitor hinges hmm.gif
juniorlcq
post Jul 28 2013, 08:44 PM

61 posts

1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - RM 3000 below
3. Usage - Microsoft Office , Gaming ( Dota 2 and HoN mostly ) , Watching movies , and some Engineering programming use ...
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15 inch

I have a question actually ,
1) I heard that the current Lenovo Y500 is already downgrade compare to the last Lenovo Y500 , right ? If it is , is there a change in price ? Is it still worth it to buy Lenovo Y500 ?

2) I also heard that the graphic card in Lenovo Y500 is already build in , meaning it is "un"-removable for future upgrade . Is this true ?

3) When is Lenovo Y510p coming out ?

This post has been edited by juniorlcq: Jul 28 2013, 08:52 PM
AlvinChoong
post Jul 28 2013, 10:52 PM

18 posts

1. Preferred Brand - Brand does not matter, I need a long lasting one.

2. Budget - RM 1.2k is my maximum ( I am a student)

3. Usage - This laptop will be for my mom, she does not do much gaming.She mostly does online shopping and office work. The games she plays are mostly facebook games, I know most devices can support facebook games with ease, but the last laptop she had lagged a lot even on facebook games.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 13" to 15"

(The cheaper the better, I am a student, so help pls.)
mudkipryan94
post Jul 28 2013, 11:11 PM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

QUOTE(AlvinChoong @ Jul 28 2013, 10:52 PM)

3. Usage - This laptop will be for my mom, she does not do much    gaming.She mostly does online shopping and office work. The games she plays are mostly facebook games, I know most devices can support facebook games with ease, but the last laptop she had lagged a lot even on facebook games.

Asus K42?
martian7793
post Jul 28 2013, 11:35 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 28 2013, 08:10 PM)
Do you really need touch screen? haha
It just a marketing gimmick... too much "poking" will only ruin the notebook's monitor hinges  hmm.gif
well..hmm..it looks cool! tongue.gif
i just check the weight of k46cb,Acer V5-473PG-54204G50 and Toshiba Satellite S40t-AS102X..3 of them also 2kg hmm.gif
both k46cb and toshiba s40t have ODD..but acer v5 also 2kg doh.gif
funkydude
post Jul 28 2013, 11:59 PM

40 posts

1. Preferred Brand - Asus, Lenovo, Dell (no Acer)
2. Budget - RM1500
3. Usage - Internet surfing, watching HD movies, light gaming (The Sims 3)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14"

For my sister. She is going oversea and I'm trying to find a good reliable laptop for her. Hope it's not to heavy and able to withstand warm environment.
Dark Lord
post Jul 29 2013, 01:19 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(martian7793 @ Jul 28 2013, 11:35 PM)
well..hmm..it looks cool!  tongue.gif
i just check the weight of k46cb,Acer V5-473PG-54204G50 and Toshiba Satellite S40t-AS102X..3 of them also 2kg  hmm.gif
both k46cb and toshiba s40t have ODD..but acer v5 also 2kg  doh.gif
If you dont mind getting 15", lenovo Z500 looks good. 2.2kg isn't that much heavier compare to 2kg.
blueheaven
post Jul 29 2013, 09:34 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 18 2013, 09:33 AM)
can can, for example, try to squeeze out an additional 4G stick rather than 2G stick  laugh.gif
LOL, I got a red G400s due to the lack of choices at the mall, and the Toshiba prices aren't within my budget.

That, and for RM1899, they offered a free 2 year extension on warranty and an additional 4G RAM.
nexus2238
post Jul 29 2013, 09:35 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(funkydude @ Jul 28 2013, 11:59 PM)
2. Budget - RM1500

For my sister. She is going oversea and I'm trying to find a good reliable laptop for her. Hope it's not to heavy and able to withstand warm environment.
Since you did not mention where your sister is going, can't tell if the International warranty of these brands will cover that country hmm.gif
Asus - most models come with 2 years international warranty (but certain cheap models only have 1 year warranty).
Dell - extend warranty to 3 years (~ RM300), then the warranty become international warranty.
Lenovo - most models come with 2 years international warranty (but certain cheap models only have 1 year warranty).

Asus
K46CM-WX060V, B987 + Nvidia GT630M@RM1799[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD
A45DR-VX044, A8-4500M + HD7470G@RM1499, 3GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 2 year warranty

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell
Inspiron 14R, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1549 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 4 cell

Lenovo
G480, Pentium 2020 + Intel HD@RM1399, 2GB, 500GB, W8
G480, i3-2348M + Intel HD3000@RM1299, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS; W8@RM1499
G480, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Jul 29 2013, 09:38 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(blueheaven @ Jul 29 2013, 09:34 AM)
LOL, I got a red G400s due to the lack of choices at the mall, and the Toshiba prices aren't within my budget.

That, and for RM1899, they offered a free 2 year extension on warranty and an additional 4G RAM.
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8
You mean this spec?
If yes, you get a good deals. This model only come with 1 year International Warranty. 2 year extension cost ~ RM260 (make sure you register for it asap), and 4G stick cost ~ RM100.
raymondtong94
post Jul 29 2013, 09:40 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(funkydude @ Jul 28 2013, 11:59 PM)
2. Budget - RM1500

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell

Lenovo
G480, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS

hope you can top up and pay a little more for a better performance G480, then get an 'ahem' version of windows. laugh.gif
prices are RRP and negotiable.
blueheaven
post Jul 29 2013, 09:41 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 29 2013, 09:38 AM)
G400s,  i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8
You mean this spec?
If yes, you get a good deals. This model only come with 1 year International Warranty. 2 year extension cost ~ RM260 (make sure you register for it asap), and 4G stick cost ~ RM100.
Yup that one. Had to negotiate twice, since the second guy said the offer was over.
nexus2238
post Jul 29 2013, 09:46 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(AlvinChoong @ Jul 28 2013, 10:52 PM)

3. Usage - This laptop will be for my mom, she does not do much    gaming.She mostly does online shopping and office work. The games she plays are mostly facebook games, I know most devices can support facebook games with ease, but the last laptop she had lagged a lot even on facebook games.

The current laptop that your mom is using - what is the spec? did you clean the laptop of dust (air inlet / outlet, fan ...)? Try clean install of OS and apps?

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, 1007U + Intel HD@RM999[1.99kg], Linux, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1099
Inspiron 14-3421, B997 + Intel HD@RM1199[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell

Extend warranty to 3 years, try to squeeze 4G RAM out of the re-seller/Dell Online.
If you are not in a hurry, wait for Haswell refresh, the IGPU in Haswell is more powerful, should not have any problem handling FB games.
nexus2238
post Jul 29 2013, 09:51 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(juniorlcq @ Jul 28 2013, 08:44 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - RM 3000 below
3. Usage - Microsoft Office , Gaming ( Dota 2 and HoN mostly ) , Watching movies , and some Engineering programming use ...
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15 inch
I have a question actually ,
1) I heard that the current Lenovo Y500 is already downgrade compare to the last Lenovo Y500 , right ? If it is , is there a change in price ? Is it still worth it to buy Lenovo Y500 ?

2) I also heard that the graphic card in Lenovo Y500 is already build in , meaning it is "un"-removable for future upgrade . Is this true ?

3) When is Lenovo Y510p coming out ?
1. ??? Y500 is Y500. What downgrade do you mean? Whether it is worth it or not is totally up to you. All we can tell you is that Y500 can handle your usage requirement. Local set that is within your budget is this spec:
Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM2999, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

2. Unless you go for high end gaming laptop using MXM GPU, all GPU in laptop are built in, and cannot be upgraded. Read this:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/863032
The thread is a bit old, but is still accurate.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2851949
Read this for things related to Lenovo Y series.
If you're not in a hurry, just wait.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 29 2013, 09:52 AM
nexus2238
post Jul 29 2013, 10:00 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Jul 28 2013, 02:46 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: any brand will do honestly, but one with a good after sales service and a solid build will be a plus. smile.gif
2. Budget: around the range of RM1k.
3. Usage: light document work and prolly some movies. No gaming.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13" to 15".

any ideas? biggrin.gif
Hard to find anything I'll consider "solid build" with your budget tongue.gif (but different people do have different perspective of "solidness" hmm.gif laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif )

Lenovo
S300, Pentium 997 + Intel HD3000 @RM1199[1.8kg], 2GB,500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS; W7HB/W8@RM1399, no ODD, 1 yr warranty
S300, 1007U + Intel HD @RM999[1.8kg], 2GB,500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS; W8@RM1199
G480, Celeron 1000M + Intel HD@RM999, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; W8@RM1199

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, 1007U + Intel HD@RM999[1.99kg], Linux, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1099
Inspiron 14-3421, B997 + Intel HD@RM1199[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell

Prices are RSP, negotiable a bit.
nexus2238
post Jul 29 2013, 10:04 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(hissyu @ Jul 28 2013, 02:45 PM)
wanted to buy a desktop... can i ask here?
self-customized:
nvindia quadro k2000
budget 3500rm。。。possible?

to run 3d Max1
Ask here lah smile.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2816827
nexus2238
post Jul 29 2013, 10:12 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Hezegroth @ Jul 28 2013, 02:06 AM)
Buying for my sister

1. Preferred Brand : Asus/HP
2. Budget : Rm 2000
3. Usage : Mainly for Studies and Net surfing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14
5. W7 prefered and optical drive available. lightweight it optional
Unless you opt for entry level business class laptop (spec with W7P), you won't find any new laptop models spec with W7.

Asus
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD
PRO45VJ-V0056X, i3-3120M +Intel HD4000@RM1999[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W7P

HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
ProBook 4440s, i5-3210M + Intel HD4000@RM2549, 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7P, anti-glare

nexus2238
post Jul 29 2013, 10:17 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Jul 27 2013, 05:10 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : MSI, Alienware, Lenovo, illegear.
2. Budget : <4.5k
3. Usage : gaming , studies , browsing.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13-15 inch

sifu notworthy.gif
Dell
Alienware 14, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 64GB mSATA + 750GB(7200rpm)@RM4999[2.77kg], 8GB, W8SL

Lenovo
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM2999, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE40-2OC, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1600x900; anti-glare)@RM3999[1.8kg], 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8
GX60-3AE, AMD A10-5750M + AMD XT HD7970 + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4399 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8
GX60-3BE, AMD A10-5750M + AMD HD8970 + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4399 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series multi color backlit KB
GE60K, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2899, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, 2 years warranty
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard
GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8

www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-13 Pro, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; IPS)@RM4199[2kg][Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080;matte)@RM3599[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]

lco7331
post Jul 29 2013, 12:03 PM

1. Preferred Brand - anything

2. Budget - up to 2k only

3. Usage - runs at least 15 hours perday, runs engineering programs smoothly, multitasking, HD video playback n streaming, low level games(plants vs zombies, dota, facebook games), light - no DVD drive

4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 11-14 inch, prefer touch screen

thx =D

131 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:41 AM