25 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 11:20 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Aug 6 2013, 11:09 AM)
not many good laptop in market currently... i go garage sales see all die die d...

looking for a laptop for lady around 2500-3000... Windows based, light, portable, nice built quality, reliable, asus, lenovo, hp?

anyone please help?
If you are not in a hurry, wait for Haswell ultrabook. Should be in the market within 2-3 months from Asus/Lenovo/HP.
nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 11:33 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(setheo @ Aug 6 2013, 10:48 AM)
I think his work requires COMM Port (RS232) to be able to communicate with other devices.

Having said that, I think bit difficult to find lappy with RS232 port nowadays. Might as well get a USB converter.
Every IT that has legacy hardware to support ask this question laugh.gif
Some IT told me certain devices need native serial port, won't work with USB converter hmm.gif
The last laptop with Serial Port that I remember:

HP ProBook 6550b / 6560b, sandy bridge spec.
Again, need to do lots of leg work to find this baby smile.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 12:00 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Aug 6 2013, 11:58 AM)
i look around no haswell laptop yet in the market except MacBook Air, but i doubt they can wait or not...
If they can't wait, then basically are previous year model with Ivy Bridge. The usual suspect.
nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 12:30 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(ncys1 @ Aug 6 2013, 12:05 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Anything but Acer & Samsung (unless Samsung Easy Settings can be overcome)
2. Budget: Below RM2,000 (Can't go higher than that)
3. Usage: Photoshop, Video Editing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14' to 15.6'
Asus
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1999 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

HP
Pavilion 14-e018/019/020TX, i5-3230M + AMD HD8670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8

Lenovo
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB, W8
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8

Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 12:36 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kptmams @ Aug 6 2013, 12:08 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: any
2. Budget: Max RM 1600
3. Usage: studying in multimedia, programming, engineering
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : max 15 inches

must have at least 1 GB gpu, intel core i proc.
Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899
Inspiron 14R, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1699[2.33], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), Linux; W8SL@RM1999

Lenovo
G400s, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1449, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB, W8

FreeDOS mean you need to get OS yourself. You should be able to get cheap legal OS from your school.
nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 12:49 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Aug 6 2013, 12:13 PM)

Samsung 7 Ultra is within budget? hmm.gif
Series 7 Ultra, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999[JBL][1.46kg], 4GB, W8

Other than the usual suspect that you know of, can consider these models that come into market recently:
HP
Split x2, i5-3339Y + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1366x768;touch)@RM2899, 4GB, W8

Lenovo
ThinkPad Twist S230U, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB +(1366x768, IPS touch)@RM3408(1.58kg), 4GB, W8P, 1 yr warranty

nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 02:32 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Xehanort @ Aug 6 2013, 01:48 PM)
Yes, my "numerical computation" means matlab, mathematica those things....
im fine with keyboard without numpad though.... tongue.gif
in this case, so it is better to go with normal mobile cpu instead of ULV cpu right ?  blink.gif

how is the lenovo y510p ?
just googled it a bit and found that it has problem with the intel wireless 2230N  rclxub.gif
Yes, for your usage, normal M or QM CPU will be better than ULV, at the expense of battery running time.
If you don't need numpad, and can live with HD (1366x768) screen, then can consider 14". Just be aware that running quad core in smaller 14" means less space to dissipate heat tongue.gif

Fujitsu
LH532, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT620M@RM2299 [2.1kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

HP
Envy Dv4-5205TX, i7-3630M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2699[Beats], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Z400 touch, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2799, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Toshiba
Satellite M840-1034XG/XP/XQ, i7-3620QM + AMD HD7670M@RM2699, 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty

The wireless issue with Y510p is not universal though. Some users report ok usage, some face major signal dropping on/off phenomena. If you do decide to go with Y410p/510p, and face this issue, quickly return the set for replacement set or refund.

nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 02:35 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Skyfe11 @ Aug 6 2013, 02:23 PM)
hi could you pm me the full specs for the lenovo y410p and also best price.
and also what are your thoughts on the illegear re15. ive never heard of that brand before. how reliable are they? Thanks
I'm not a re-seller.
Look for re-sellers here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/Notebooks&Tablets
For everything on Lenovo Y series, read this:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2851949

For users comment on illegear, read this:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2613184
illegear basically is badged Clevo barebone.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 6 2013, 02:35 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 02:47 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(mufever11 @ Aug 6 2013, 01:20 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Any Common Brand in Malaysia
2. Budget : around RM2500( can higher a bit)
3: Usage: uni usage(mechanical engineering, mostly autocad) no need gaming
4: Preferred Laptop/screen size : 14' to 15.6'

The weight and the design not so important as long as can run smoothly with minimum lag smile.gif
For your usage, the ideal is i7 quad core, lots of RAM (8G or more), SSD.
If you do 3D modelling on AutoCAD, discrete GPU still help (gaming is side benefit).

See my reply to Xehanort smile.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 05:00 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Aug 6 2013, 04:35 PM)
Any review / comments on these laptop? what is the difference between i5-3339Y and i5-3337U
I think all 3 models have been reviewed on www.notebookcheck.net
Y CPU is even more power efficient than U CPU.
nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 05:03 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(elaine786 @ Aug 6 2013, 04:32 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Asus
2. Budget : around RM1800
3: Usage: uni usage - assignments, movies
4: Preferred Laptop/screen size : 14' to 15.6
icon_question.gif
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8 (this is getting harder to find)
K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W8, OD
A55VD-SX825/826/837/933, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT610M@RM1699[2.52kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8

nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 05:04 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(dota2test0 @ Aug 6 2013, 05:01 PM)
sifu Do you mind enlightening us about how do u choose the ubuntu version?  rclxms.gif  Thanks in advance.
It's in the link that I give? sweat.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 05:12 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(dota2test0 @ Aug 6 2013, 05:06 PM)
Its in the link there but how do u manage to get the link? I can't seem to find anything with ubuntu on dell malaysia website
Not all Dell models has Ubuntu option mah tongue.gif
And sometimes you really has to ask the person who manage the Dell website, why that 14R spec don't show up in 14R page, but show up here:
http://www.dell.com/my/p/weekly-deals.aspx...en&s=dhs&~ck=mn

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 6 2013, 05:12 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 05:32 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(LeonOni @ Aug 6 2013, 03:14 PM)
Good day,
Need recommendation on:

1. Preferred Brand : Any Common Brand in Malaysia
2. Budget : around RM1300( can higher a bit)
3: Usage: Surf Net and watch hd movies.
4: Preferred Laptop/screen size : 14' to 15.6'

Thanks in advance.
Don't need powerful CPU for your usage.
Acer
V5-431-10074G50, 1007 + Intel HD@RM1299[2.1kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8

Asus
X401A-091/092/093R, B820 + Intel HD@RM1299[1.85kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: black/white/green; 1 year warranty

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, 1007U + Intel HD@RM999[1.99kg], Linux, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1099
Inspiron 14-3421, B997 + Intel HD@RM1199[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell

HP
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b010TU, B987 + Intel HD@RM1399, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Toshiba
Satellite C800-1022, Pentium 2020M + Intel HD@Rm1369, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL, 2 years local warranty

nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 06:22 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Tuneman @ Aug 6 2013, 03:15 PM)
Good day,

Request your kind recommendation.

1) Preferred Brand : Any brand
2) Budget : up to RM2500
3) Usage: Casual gaming, office work & watching movies
4) Preferred Laptop/screen size : 14' to 15.6'. Touch screen if possible

Thanks for the help.
Acer
V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD

Asus
S551-LB, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x767; touch)@RM2699, 4GB, 750GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, Touch) @RM2299 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

HP
Touchsmart 14-k028TX Sleekbook, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, ext OD

Lenovo
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty
Z500T, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2499[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty

Sony
Vaio SVF14219SGW, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2699[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL
SVF14217SG, i3-3227U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL

Toshiba
Satellite S40t-AS102X, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2449[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty

nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 11:02 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(mufever11 @ Aug 6 2013, 08:28 PM)
Thanks smile.gif .Compare to what you reply to Xehanort, does lenovo y400, hp pavilion m4-1002TX,asus a45vm-vx029,lenovo u400 touch with i5 good enough for me?
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Local set is getting harder to find. AP set, you are taking risk on Lenovo Malaysia warranty support.

HP M4-1002TX, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT730M, 4GB, 1TB, W8
Should be sufficient for your usage.

Asus A45VM-VX029, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT630M
Should be sufficient for your usage. But are you sure you can still find this model?

Lenovo U400, ULV CPU + GT610M
A bit weak for your requirement.

Why are you asking about all the old models? hmm.gif Looks like something that come up 4 months ago hmm.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 6 2013, 11:03 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 6 2013, 11:14 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(ncys1 @ Aug 6 2013, 06:16 PM)
Ahaha, I have notebook from Samung (NP535U3C-A01MY). I don't like the delay in Easy Settings and the fact that it takes over the battery profiles and all. Uninstalling it means the hotkeys won't work any more :/, that's why. It's a small thing, but it kind of irks me.
don't understand. Windows Control Panel is always available for you if you don't like to use Samsung Easy Setting hmm.gif The battery profile in Easy Setting is actually more extensive than what's available from windows, iinm. Obviously, the hotkey control (which share the same keys as Function keys) will only work if the software is there.
It's the same thing as Lenovo you know smile.gif All brands install some bloatware into their laptops, but some of brand software actually is necessary for the laptop to work laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 6 2013, 11:15 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 7 2013, 06:43 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(ncys1 @ Aug 7 2013, 12:16 AM)
Ahaha, mostly using this for general day-to-day computing. My only complaint for 535U3C is that the hotkeys and everything take time to change/there's a delay. I'm so used to having my hotkeys responding almost instantaneously tongue.gif

I'm most probably getting the stick of RAM tomorrow, so we shall see man. biggrin.gif

I was thinking of getting an SSD, but at RM300 a pop for a 120GB  shocking.gif, I was like "Nope, I'm going to get the RAM instead."
my hunch is that SSD will probably give you a larger shift in user experience though tongue.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 7 2013, 06:53 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(unixcorp @ Aug 7 2013, 03:54 AM)
Hi there.. Need help on buying a new laptop..  icon_question.gif

1. Preferred Brand:
Any

2. Budget:
Lower than RM2000

3. Usage:
Work stuffs (Office) and internet browsing

4. Preferred laptop/screen size:
Any size.. Ultrabook if can..  sweat.gif

p/s: I hope can get Haswell processor..

Thanks all..  icon_rolleyes.gif
if you want Haswell, and you want ultrabook, currently there is only 1 brand release models to Malaysia:
Apple
MacBookAir 11", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 128GB SSD@RM2999[1.08kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX
MacBookAir 11", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 256GB SSD@RM3599[1.08kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 128GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3299[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 256GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3899[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

The other brands has not released any Haswell ultrabook in Malaysia. Wait for 2-3 more months if you can.

Asus
K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W8, OD

Dell
Vostro 5460, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + (32GB mSATA SSD + 500GB(5400rpm))@RM2199[1.54kg], 4GB, W8SL, 3 cell

HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b010TU, B987 + Intel HD@RM1399, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB; AMD HD7450M/W8@RM2199
S400T, i5-3337U + AMD HD 7450M +(1366x768, touch)@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8

nexus2238
post Aug 7 2013, 10:04 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(afiqq13 @ Aug 7 2013, 07:03 AM)
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Aug 7 2013, 09:57 AM)
i hope that will be released in the market soon.
Pray that GT750M is not spec with DDR3 tongue.gif

25 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0522sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:57 PM