131 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

devour
post Jul 11 2013, 01:03 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(john_makaay @ Jul 10 2013, 09:56 PM)
which lappy to buy if have budget around RM 1.8k- RM 2k? Exclude Acer...

Good performance for hd movie and other simple stuffs....
can consider Hp pavillion 14 also
devour
post Jul 11 2013, 01:11 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(michael_och @ Jul 10 2013, 09:01 PM)
Preferred brand: Any...no Acer
Budget: 2k to 2.5k
Usage: Programming, Gaming(Fifa, nba2k) and normal use
Preferred laptop/screen size: 14''

lenovo y400 laugh.gif
SeowJiao
post Jul 11 2013, 03:23 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 10 2013, 07:47 PM)
How extensive is your Matlab usage? Heavy 3D modelling? Unless it is very heavy, Intel HD4000 should be able to handle it pretty ok.
What is "light gaming"? Game titles please. This will determine if you need discrete Nvidia / AMD GPU.
I havent started my course studies, so take it as mediocre ~ slightly heavy usage, just in case..
Well, games like Dota 2/maplesea. Please enlighten me! haha thanks! biggrin.gif
mudkipryan94
post Jul 11 2013, 07:07 AM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jul 10 2013, 04:56 PM)
ASUS K46CV cant search this name at Google also? blink.gif
shyt..typo.. ==!

This post has been edited by mudkipryan94: Jul 11 2013, 07:15 AM
mudkipryan94
post Jul 11 2013, 07:09 AM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

QUOTE(x3cream @ Jul 10 2013, 11:14 PM)
My cousin has it, it's bulky for me xD I cannot carry tongue.gif just kidding! well mainly because of the price I dont wanna get one so expensive because I wanna get a new phone too xD addition, I'm just a moderate gamer which I just dont want it laggy and can support most of the games that's all smile.gif So I saw this G400S or Z400 seems good but Im not sure if the graphic card support or not rclxub.gif
nod.gif i see.. den wise get Asus K46CB smile.gif
else levono Z500 smile.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 11 2013, 07:20 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 10 2013, 09:53 PM)
HP got harman/kardon? hmm.gif

based on what I've tried so far, the harman/kardon speakers in high end Toshiba notebooks are always very impressive, even without a subwoofer thumbup.gif
Review has it that the JBL speakers in Dell XPS are good too, but too bad no more jor... same goes to the Bang & Olufsen in the Asus NX90.
Not too sure about the Dyaudio on MSI units but should be good~
Forget about Klipsch and Beats laugh.gif

I have a feeling Onkyo speakers are not good as well since even Illegear users are complaining about too much treble iirc  hmm.gif

At the end of the day, I guess it doesn't matter also la... buy a harman/kardon soundstick III or a JBL creature and all the in-built speaker problems are settled  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
you are right. I was blur already about the Harman Kardon. It's in the Toshiba. Even the one in the small netbook (my previous maid from Philippine bought a netbook before she went home) was better than the speakers in my Thinkpad T420 laugh.gif

Yes, Dyaudio on MSI is also good. Certain MSI model also has gold-coated audio out port, those audio buff particularly like it hmm.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 11 2013, 07:34 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(SeowJiao @ Jul 10 2013, 05:47 PM)
Preferred Brand - any
Budget - max 3k
Usage - engineering courses programs like MATLAB, light gaming, normal usage - fb/youtube
Preferred laptop/screen size - 13-14", preferably ultrabooks

Considered dell xps 13 (i5 one) before, but not sure if it can support my daily uses... pls advise.. thank you!! icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(SeowJiao @ Jul 11 2013, 03:23 AM)
I havent started my course studies, so take it as mediocre ~ slightly heavy usage, just in case..
Well, games like Dota 2/maplesea. Please enlighten me! haha thanks!  biggrin.gif
Intel HD4000 could handle Dota2 and Maplestory. But you may want Nvidia / AMD GPU since it will make the experience better.
With that in mind, and considering your budget, I think you are better off looking at 14".

Asus
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

Dell
Vostro 5460, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + (32GB mSATA SSD + 500GB(5400rpm))@RM2199[1.54kg], 4GB, W8SL, 3 cell

HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Sony
Vaio SVF14218SGW, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Use the remaining of your budget to extend warranty (Dell, HP, 3 years, ~ RM250), increase RAM (Asus, HP, 8G stick ~ RM200), or swap HDD out for SSD (SSD 128G ~ RM300+/-, 256G ~ RM600+/-).
beebee
post Jul 11 2013, 09:01 AM

3,091 posts

hi sifus, need your help very much smile.gif

Preferred Brand - Lenovo/Toshiba preferred but open to other suggestions
Budget - max 2.2k
Usage - Assignments, Office Work, Web Surfing, Occasionally gaming, Diablo 3/Starcraft 2
Preferred laptop/screen size - 13-14", preferably around 1.5kg to 2.2kg

Currently eyeing the 3 lappies below from this thread

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2876746

RM2000 U410 / I5-3317U / 4GB / 500GB+32GB SSD / Nvidia GT610 1GB / 14" / W7HP / 2year warranty

RM2140 Z500 / I5-3230 / 4GB / 1TB / Nvidia GT740 2GB / 15.6" / W8
RM2140 Z480 / I7-3632 / 4GB / 1TB / Nvidia GT640 2GB / 14" / W8

This post has been edited by beebee: Jul 11 2013, 09:11 AM
jimmylim85
post Jul 11 2013, 09:48 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

1. Preferred Brand : Any will do. Quality made is prefered
2. Budget : RM 2k - 2.5k
3. Usage : Internet and video
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 11 - 14
5. Prefer longer battery life, lightweight and slim.

Btw is HDD + mSATA cache better deal than just purely running on SSD? Because I'm sure performance of hybird (HDD+mSATA) wouldn't be as bad as just running one HDD 5400rpm right?

Second thing, if the slim factor doesn't have RJ45 LAN PORT, will a normal USB > LAN dongle work perfectly and stable? Because there are times I need LAN port for router setting adjustment.

Thank you
nexus2238
post Jul 11 2013, 10:05 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(beebee @ Jul 11 2013, 09:01 AM)
hi sifus, need your help very much smile.gif

Preferred Brand - Lenovo/Toshiba preferred but open to other suggestions
Budget - max 2.2k
Usage - Assignments, Office Work, Web Surfing, Occasionally gaming, Diablo 3/Starcraft 2
Preferred laptop/screen size - 13-14", preferably around 1.5kg to 2.2kg

Currently eyeing the 3 lappies below from this thread

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2876746

RM2000 U410 / I5-3317U / 4GB / 500GB+32GB SSD / Nvidia GT610 1GB / 14" / W7HP / 2year warranty

RM2140 Z500 / I5-3230 / 4GB / 1TB / Nvidia GT740 2GB / 15.6" / W8
RM2140 Z480 / I7-3632 / 4GB / 1TB / Nvidia GT640 2GB / 14" / W8
Depends on the level of details you turn on for StarCraft 2, it could tax even the high end GPU.
GT610M will be a disappointment in gaming.
Z500 is 15".
You don't need i7. At your budget, you should spend your money on as good a GPU you can get.
13" normally don't have discrete GPU that can handle games well.

Consider these:
Lenovo
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8 (not easy to find stock now)
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty

Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty

beebee
post Jul 11 2013, 10:21 AM

3,091 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 11 2013, 10:05 AM)
Depends on the level of details you turn on for StarCraft 2, it could tax even the high end GPU.
GT610M will be a disappointment in gaming.
Z500 is 15".
You don't need i7. At your budget, you should spend your money on as good a GPU you can get.
13" normally don't have discrete GPU that can handle games well.

Consider these:
Lenovo
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8 (not easy to find stock now)
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty

Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty

thanks for the quoted prices, where to get the above prices?
nexus2238
post Jul 11 2013, 10:24 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(beebee @ Jul 11 2013, 10:21 AM)
thanks for the quoted prices, where to get the above prices?
RSP - recommended selling price set by laptop brands, i.e. printed on brands brochure. You could get cheaper price than that from any re-sellers.
beebee
post Jul 11 2013, 10:27 AM

3,091 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 11 2013, 10:24 AM)
RSP - recommended selling price set by laptop brands, i.e. printed on brands brochure. You could get cheaper price than that from any re-sellers.
thanks, how about Dell Vostro 5460 Series? issit any better?
jedrek_eng123
post Jul 11 2013, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(devour @ Jul 10 2013, 08:26 PM)
can consider this

Asus -A550CC-XX545H/XX530H/ XX544H  - RED/ grey / white ----15.6"/I5-3337U/4G/750G/gt 720 -2VG/8X ODD/W8/BAG

Hi Guy,

This is the latest model and upgrade of A55VD , right?
i had search it before in market but out of stock ady.........
this model Available in m'sia? when?

Tqvm....
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 11 2013, 10:48 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 11 2013, 07:20 AM)
you are right. I was blur already about the Harman Kardon. It's in the Toshiba. Even the one in the small netbook (my previous maid from Philippine bought a netbook before she went home) was better than the speakers in my Thinkpad T420  laugh.gif

Yes, Dyaudio on MSI is also good. Certain MSI model also has gold-coated audio out port, those audio buff particularly like it  hmm.gif
Ahh, you are probably referring to the Toshiba NB520 netbook (10.1")... the speakers on that thing is really kick@ss man, it can easily pawn any 14/15" notebooks with normal speakers... hell its even better than my M14x's Klipsch LOL tongue.gif

Looks like newer Samsung models have JBL speakers already... but since they are in ultrabooks, not really sure whether they are good or not... maybe you can try them out when you have the chance sifu brows.gif
Samsung 7 series ultra and 7 Book, seemed pretty okay for the price... direct competitors to the XPS13 apart from warranty
13"
Series 7 Ultra, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999[JBL][1.46kg], 4GB, W8
ATIV Book 7 NP740U3E-X01MY, i5-3337U + AMD HD8570M + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; touch)@RM3499[1.65kg][JBL], 4GB, W8

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jul 11 2013, 10:50 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 11 2013, 10:51 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jedrek_eng123 @ Jul 11 2013, 10:39 AM)
Hi Guy,

This is the latest model and upgrade of A55VD , right?
i had search it before in market but out of stock ady.........
this model Available in m'sia? when?

Tqvm....
The specs offered on the A55VD has always been daylight-robbery man laugh.gif
Try to avoid those, go for the S550 instead if you have the budget, or other brands nod.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 11 2013, 10:55 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(beebee @ Jul 11 2013, 10:27 AM)
thanks, how about Dell Vostro 5460 Series? issit any better?
Depends on your priority.
Vostro 5460 is lighter than any of those Lenovo / Toshiba model. If you extend Dell warranty to 3 years (cost RM250), Dell on site warranty also is good.
The GT630M in Vostro 5460 is weaker than the GT740M / 640M.

Other models you may consider:
Asus
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

Dell
Vostro 5460, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + (32GB mSATA SSD + 500GB(5400rpm))@RM2199[1.54kg], 4GB, W8SL, 3 cell

HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Sony
Vaio SVF14218SGW, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8SL

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 11 2013, 11:04 AM
wenn94
post Jul 11 2013, 11:14 AM

Hey guys, I'm going to buy my first laptop so I need some suggestions.

1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: Below 2k (If there are good choices I would increase my budget)
3. Usage: Assignments (business student), play games like the Sims 3(but rarely play unless I have much free time), light video editing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14"
5. light and portable, nice battery life

Thank you very much smile.gif
TheGrimReaper
post Jul 11 2013, 11:20 AM

62 posts

1. Budget around RM2.5k and below.
2. Any brands except Apple and HP
3. Screen 15.6"
4. I want to use it to play high graphics games.
5. Thin and lightweight.

THANKS thumbup.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 11 2013, 11:36 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(wenn94 @ Jul 11 2013, 11:14 AM)
Hey guys, I'm going to buy my first laptop so I need some suggestions.

1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: Below 2k (If there are good choices I would increase my budget)
3. Usage: Assignments (business student), play games like the Sims 3(but rarely play unless I have much free time), light video editing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14"
5. light and portable, nice battery life
Thank you very much smile.gif
14"
Lenovo Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate

Can consider this one as well, it has a weaker CPU, but offers much longer battery life; and not to mention 3 years local limited warranty and color picks brows.gif
14"
Toshiba Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty; colors: Blue/gold/white

131 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:09 PM