131 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Aug 25 2013, 07:00 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(tribal94 @ Aug 25 2013, 04:30 PM)
Any recommendation where to buy this one with freeDOS?
Check out the re-sellers at LYN garage sales threads smile.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 25 2013, 07:02 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(ryzer47 @ Aug 25 2013, 03:30 AM)
Lenovo
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty

Toshiba
Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty

which one more better?
Both has the same CPU+GPU.
It's up to your preference on other stuffs (screen, keyboard, touchpad, speakers, look, ... ). Go out and check on the real things to decide icon_rolleyes.gif
nexus2238
post Aug 25 2013, 07:15 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(ladyfairyna @ Aug 25 2013, 11:21 AM)
1. Any brand
2. Budget: less than 2.5k
3. For documents, excel, watching movie, surfing internet
4. Screen: 12-14"
4GB RAM, fast boot
Preferably long battery life and lightweight
International warranty for at least 1 year
Don't need powerful CPU or discrete GPU.
For fast boot - opt for SSD. If laptop don't come standard spec with SSD, you could swap in SSD to replace the HDD aftermarket, normally will not void laptop hardware warranty. SSD 128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600.

Acer
V5-131-10074G50, 1007U + Intel HD@RM1149, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL
V5-132P-3322Y6G50b, i3-3229Y + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768)@RM1799, 6GB, 500GB, W8
V5-171-53312G50s, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000@RM1799, 2GB, 500GB, W8
S3-371-53334G50, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Asus
VivoBook S200E, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768; touch)@RM1699[1.38kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8; colors: Grey/Pink/White, 2-cell, 1 year
S300CA-C1050H, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Dell
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + HD 4000@RM1,549[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM1,749

Lenovo
Yoga 11s, i3-3229Y + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1366x768, IPS touch)@RM2599, 4GB, W8, 2 years; colors: grey/orange
S300, 1007U + Intel HD @RM899[1.8kg], 2GB,500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS; W8@RM1099

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Gabranth
post Aug 25 2013, 08:39 PM

206 posts

hi guys. i need help on choosing between lenovo models:

G405s, A8-5550M + AMD HD8570M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, W8
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Usage: for photo & video editing. simple autocad drawing and multitasking and light online gaming.

i went to lowyat plaza the salesman suggest me to get the A8-5550M bcoz it got 4 cores (good for multitasking i guess) compare to i5-3230 (which only has 2 cores) isnt true?

BTW about the gpu. i check on the internet, the AMD HD8570M gpu is a bad gpu compared to Nvidia GT720M. Plus, isnt true AMD processors easily get overheating problems?

any comments from sifus I would appreciate it very much notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Gabranth: Aug 25 2013, 10:04 PM
natedrake
post Aug 25 2013, 09:10 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 25 2013, 06:53 PM)
All depends on level of usage tongue.gif
MS Office - just don't open too many apps, it should be fine.
Eclipse - should be fine, just don't expect too much, ok?
Tomcat - if server is not for CPU intensive stuff (eg. only file, email, etc that kind of things), should be ok.
MySQL - just don't put too much server side computation.
alright thanks bro
eddydo
post Aug 25 2013, 09:40 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

Hello everybody!

1. Any reliable brand which last long and with good service and maintanance
2. Max rm3000 with everything covered.(ssd, ram upgrades and stuff) Just a student and don't wanna burn my dad's wallet. But if there is a valuable upgrade i would top up.
3. Mainly photo and video editing.
4. Minimum 15".

Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by eddydo: Aug 25 2013, 09:43 PM
xYondaimex
post Aug 25 2013, 10:13 PM

104 posts

Hello all sifus! need some help here, looking to buy a laptop asap

Preferred brand: Any
Budget: Rm1800
Usage: Gaming (Dota 2) and Multitasking
Preferred size: Any

babybacillus
post Aug 25 2013, 11:16 PM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 23 2013, 10:34 PM)
Use remaining budget to upgrade RAM to at least 4GB, and also extend warranty to 3 years  icon_rolleyes.gif
If you are a girl, check out the Sony  brows.gif
Sorry again.
If you would really to recommend me, which one to choose among all the option you gave me?

I'm sorry but I really have no idea on all the spec at all... rclxub.gif
babybacillus
post Aug 25 2013, 11:18 PM

QUOTE(babybacillus @ Aug 25 2013, 11:16 PM)
Sorry again.
If you would really to recommend me, which one to choose among all the option you gave me?

Oh btw I heard about the i Processor. What is the minimum "i" to have for now (I heard from friend now they have i6 in the market ald)?
cycoxz
post Aug 26 2013, 12:53 AM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 24 2013, 11:25 PM)
Definitely the MSI for performance, since its running on a real, quad-core i7 nod.gif
Comes with 2 years international warranty~

As for cooling, its hard to say. The MSI has a more powerful i7, but its at the same time thicker as well; whereas the Asus has a relatively "power-saving" i7, but its much slimmer.

My vote will go to MSI on this one  icon_rolleyes.gif
I heard MSI that warranty service is quite poor in the lowyat MSI forum?

besides the models i state,
1. Msi Ge60-20c i7
2. Asus N-Series N550JV-CN077H

Is there any other options?

1. Any brands
2. 3.6k max
3. AutoCAD AutoDesk Photoshop gaming
4. Prefer international warranty for a year cauz going to study at uk for a year.
Will be using for a long period so need quite decent cooling

Thank You
zenjiazenjia
post Aug 26 2013, 10:15 AM

72 posts

1. Preferred Brand - Any brand as good as prefer.
2. Budget - Around RM 2500
3. Usage - Online Streaming, normal video, work like Ms office, photoshop, gaming like FIFA, 3D.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - Above 14"
5. i5 and above processor, dedicated GPU
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 26 2013, 12:49 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Gabranth @ Aug 25 2013, 08:39 PM)
hi guys. i need help on choosing between lenovo models:

G405s, A8-5550M + AMD HD8570M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, W8
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Usage: for photo & video editing. simple autocad drawing and multitasking and light online gaming.

i went to lowyat plaza the salesman suggest me to get the A8-5550M bcoz it got 4 cores (good for multitasking i guess) compare to i5-3230 (which only has 2 cores) isnt true?

BTW about the gpu. i check on the internet, the AMD HD8570M gpu is a bad gpu compared to Nvidia GT720M. Plus, isnt true AMD processors easily get overheating problems?

any comments from sifus I would appreciate it very much  notworthy.gif
I am not really very knowledgeable regarding this, but here goes laugh.gif
The i5 is capable of churning out much more processing power as compared to the AMD APUs (stock). And although the AMD has 4 cores, it really depends on whether the program is optimized for them?

Those two GPUs are merely entry level ones, so can't really expect too much from them.
As for AMD overheating issues, that's a long long time ago haha...

Still, current AMD processors are not really competitive, unless if you have a very tight budget... otherwise you will be better off with Intel ones.

Oh ya, might wanna upgade the RAM to 8GB if you are into photo/video editing hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 26 2013, 12:53 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Aug 25 2013, 09:40 PM)
Hello everybody!

1.  Any reliable brand which last long and with good service and maintanance
2. Max rm3000 with everything covered.(ssd, ram upgrades and stuff)  Just a student and don't wanna burn my dad's wallet. But if there is a valuable upgrade i would top up.
3. Mainly photo and video editing.
4. Minimum 15".

Thanks smile.gif
Pretty much these two, since other 15 inchers don't really come with "true" i7 processors (needed for your usage):
15.6"
Dell
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8

Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

THe Dell would give a slighter faster user experience because of the SSD, but it has a slightly weaker CPU and GPU.
The Y510p is superior in almost every way haha, apart from warranty support I guess hmm.gif

* prices in RRP, negotiable
* it might be wise to top up to get on-site warranty support for both the Dell or the Lenovo
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 26 2013, 12:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(babybacillus @ Aug 25 2013, 11:16 PM)
Sorry again.

QUOTE(babybacillus @ Aug 25 2013, 11:18 PM)
Oh btw I heard about the i Processor. What is the minimum "i" to have for now (I heard from friend now they have i6 in the market ald)?
Since you are a girl, just go for the Sony haha, you should be able to appreciate the design more laugh.gif
14"
Sony
Vaio SVF14218SGW, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors: white/black

Vaio SVF14217SG, i3-3227U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors:black/white/pink

Both are suitable for your usage, just pick the one/color you like more, and upgrade to 8GB RAm if you want nod.gif

As for the Core i processors, there are basically 3 i.e. i3, i5, and i7.
For normal usage, i3 and i5 are more than enough, so no worries there icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 26 2013, 01:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(cycoxz @ Aug 26 2013, 12:53 AM)
I heard MSI that warranty service is quite poor in the lowyat MSI forum?

besides the models i state,
1. Msi Ge60-20c i7
2. Asus N-Series N550JV-CN077H

Is there any other options?

1. Any brands
2. 3.6k max
3. AutoCAD AutoDesk Photoshop gaming
4. Prefer international warranty for a year cauz going to study at uk for a year.
Will be using for a long period so need quite decent cooling
Thank You
Does the Lenovo y510p covers warranty in the UK? I'm not too sure, might want to check with resellers on this:
15.6"
Lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

All these notebooks are good enough, its just a matter of user preference now I suppose?
Even a notebook with the best cooling system will not be able to cool properly once its clogged with dust (just like our house fan haha).. so its more important that you clean the fans/ heatsink once in a while for it to cool properly icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 26 2013, 01:03 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(zenjiazenjia @ Aug 26 2013, 10:15 AM)

1. Preferred Brand - Any brand as good as prefer.
2. Budget - Around RM 2500
3. Usage - Online Streaming, normal video, work like Ms office, photoshop, gaming like FIFA, 3D.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - Above 14"
5. i5 and above processor, dedicated GPU
Can consider these:
14"
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699

15.6"
Dell Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8850M (GDDR5)@RM2449 [2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2649

*Prices in RRP, negotible
* use remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years on-site (~Rm250) to be able to enjoy the best Dell warranty service in M;sia laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 26 2013, 01:05 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xYondaimex @ Aug 25 2013, 10:13 PM)
Hello all sifus! need some help here, looking to buy a laptop asap

Preferred brand: Any
Budget: Rm1800
Usage: Gaming (Dota 2) and Multitasking
Preferred size: Any
Can consider these:
14"
Asus K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD

Dell
Inspiron 14 (3420), i3-3110M + Nvidia GT625M@RM1599[2.1kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Inspiron 14-3421, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899

Lenovo G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB, W8

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
lawr0202
post Aug 26 2013, 01:18 PM

29 posts

I would like to ask something...

What is "real quad-core i7" & "true i7 processors" and how to know that they are real/true?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 26 2013, 01:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lawr0202 @ Aug 26 2013, 01:18 PM)
I would like to ask something...

What is "real quad-core i7" & "true i7 processors" and how to know that they are real/true?
They are all called i7 processors laugh.gif
Most of the time when people are talking about i7 processors, they refer to those really powerful, quad core variants, those that have a "MQ" (Haswell) or "QM" (Ivy Bridge/ Sandy Bridge) suffixes in the code name

There are some dual-core i7 processors as well, which are essentially higher-clocked i5 processors.
Those come with suffices "U" (Haswell) or "M" (Ivy Bridge) etc.
These processors are probably marketing gimmicks to attract less informed users? hmm.gif

* Sorry if I left out something haha XD

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 26 2013, 01:24 PM
lawr0202
post Aug 26 2013, 02:13 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 26 2013, 01:23 PM)
They are all called i7 processors laugh.gif
Most of the time when people are talking about i7 processors, they refer to those really powerful, quad core variants, those that have a "MQ" (Haswell) or "QM" (Ivy Bridge/ Sandy Bridge) suffixes in the code name

There are some dual-core i7 processors as well, which are essentially higher-clocked i5 processors.
Those come with suffices "U" (Haswell) or "M" (Ivy Bridge) etc.
These processors are probably marketing gimmicks to attract less informed users? hmm.gif

* Sorry if I left out something haha XD
ICIC, thanks for the info

In your earlier post comparing MSI GE60 2OC i7 and ASUS N550JV-CN077H, you mentioned about the MSI is running on a real, quad-core i7 whereas the ASUS has a relatively "power-saving" i7

But aren't both them have the "MQ" suffix (i7-4700MQ & i7-4702MQ respectively)?

131 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:52 AM